This communication is in response to the application filed on 02/11/2025. Claims 1-5, and 7-8 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/11/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US. PGPub. No. 20210141887 to KIM et al. (hereinafter KIM).
Regarding claim 1, KIM discloses an information processing device (FIG. 1, electronic device 100) comprising:
at least one memory (FIG. 1, memory 170) configured to store instructions (¶0056, “… the memory 170 may be configured to store application programs executed in the electronic device 100, data or instructions for operations of the electronic device 100, and the like…”); and
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to (¶0056, “… the application programs may be stored in the memory 170, installed in the electronic device 100, and executed by the controller 180 to perform an operation (or a function) of the electronic device 100.”):
calculate a probability that biometric information corresponds to a subject, or the biometric information does not correspond to the subject, based on a first score indicating a degree to which the subject is spoofed and a second score indicating the degree of similarity between the biometric information and registered biometric information (¶0015-¶0016, “the security module may calculate a matching score by comparing the first biometric information or the second biometric information with previously registered user information, and calculate a final score by combining the calculated matching score with a fake relevance score of the biometric information,…”, wherein the final score is a value serving a condition for determining user authentication which may be a probability that a user (subject) is a genuine user or a probability that a user is fake (another person)), (¶0181, “The spoofing score is a score obtained by converting a possibility that the biometric information is fake information. Therefore, the anti-spoofing score is a score obtained by converting a possibility that the biometric information is not fake information…”), (¶0127-¶0128, FIG. 4B, wherein a probability that a user who has inputted biometric information is determined as a genuine user “…A false acceptance rate (FAR) indicates an error rate determined to be a genuine user although the user is a genuine user. FAR is a concept contrary to FRR, and since the higher the FAR is, the lower the threshold value, and thus a probability that the user who has entered biometric information is determined as a genuine user is increased, the security of the biometric authentication may be reduced.”); and perform authentication related to the subject based on the probability (¶0015, “…perform user authentication by applying a variable decision function generated on the basis of the context information and the fake relevance score of the biometric information to the calculated final matching score.”). See also ¶0026.
Regarding claim 2, KIM discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the biometric information comprises a plurality of different types of biometric information of the subject (¶0071, “The input unit 120 may be configured to provide an audio or video signal (or information) input to the electronic device or information input by a user to the electronic device. For the input of the audio information, the electronic device 100 may include one or a plurality of cameras 121. The camera 121 processes a image frame, such as still picture or video, acquired by an image sensor in a video phone call or image capturing mode…”), (¶0174, “The security module 181 may perform multimodal biometric authentication using different biometric sensors according to the characteristic information of biometric information.”), (¶0119-¶0120, FIG. 3A, “Multimodal biometric authentication may be divided into four types according to the time of fusioning a plurality of biometric information…”),
wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to:
calculate the probability for each of the plurality of different types of biometric information (¶0121-¶0123, FIG. 3C, “FIG. 3C has shown a score fusion method 330. The score fusion method 330 is a method of combining matching scores calculated for each of the plurality of biometric information in the step of matching biometric information.”); and
perform authentication relating to the subject based on the probability for each of the plurality of different types of biometric information (¶0187, FIG. 8, “the variable decision function is generated not only during the primary user authentication 810 but also during the secondary user authentication 880. It is the same not only in the case of serial multimodal biometric authentication as shown in FIG. 8A but also in the case of parallel multimodal biometric authentication in which the primary and secondary user authentications are simultaneously performed.”).
Regarding claim 3, KIM discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to calculate the probability based on an environment under which the first score is obtained (¶0026, “…calculating a final score (probability) by combining the calculated matching score with a fake relevance score (first score) of biometric information; and performing the first user authentication by applying a variable decision function generated based on the context information and the fake relevance score of biometric information to the calculated final score.”, wherein the final score is calculated under a condition (environment) that a fake relevance score including an anti-spoofing score has been obtained as disclosed in ¶0015-¶0016), (¶0028, “An electronic device determine a variable determination criterion in consideration of a fake relevance score related to a surrounding environment at the time of performing biometric authentication according to the present disclosure may and the characteristics of biometric authentication to perform biometric authentication, thereby improving all the usability, convenience and sensing accuracy of biometric authentication.”,).
Regarding claim 4, KIM discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to:
calculate a third score indicating a quality of the biometric information (¶0016, “the fake relevance score of the biometric information may include at least one of an anti-spoofing score and a quality score, and the variable decision function may be generated by combining at least one of the anti-spoofing score and the quality score with the context information.”), (¶0182, “The quality score is related to the detection of the characteristics of biometric information, and the quality of the detected biometric information is converted into a score.”), (¶0189, “…a final score may be calculated by combining the biometric fake relevance score (e.g., anti-spoofing score, quality score, etc.) of biometric information with the calculated matching score. Then, the variable decision function generated based on the context information and the fake relevance score of biometric information is applied to the calculated final matching score to perform authentication.”)
calculate the probability based on an environment under which the first score and the second score are obtained (¶0026, “…calculating a final score (probability) by combining the calculated matching score (second score) with a fake relevance score (first score) of biometric information; and performing the first user authentication by applying a variable decision function generated based on the context information and the fake relevance score of biometric information to the calculated final score.”, wherein the final score is calculated under a condition (environment) that a fake relevance score including an anti-spoofing score has been obtained as disclosed in ¶0015-¶0016), (¶0028, “An electronic device determine a variable determination criterion in consideration of a fake relevance score related to a surrounding environment at the time of performing biometric authentication according to the present disclosure may and the characteristics of biometric authentication to perform biometric authentication, thereby improving all the usability, convenience and sensing accuracy of biometric authentication.”,).
Regarding claim 5, KIM discloses the information processing device according to 4, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to:
calculate the third score if the biometric information comprises a plurality of different types of biometric information of the subject (¶0016, “the fake relevance score of the biometric information may include at least one of an anti-spoofing score and a quality score, and the variable decision function may be generated by combining at least one of the anti-spoofing score and the quality score with the context information.”), (¶0113, “…The previously registered user information is biometric information stored in advance by a user prior to performing biometric authentication. The user store fingerprint information, face information, voice information, vein information, iris information, and the like in advance in the memory 170 in a templet shape.”), (¶0200-¶0201, “Referring to FIG. 8B, an anti-scooping score 811, a quality score 812, and a matching score 813 are calculated based on the first biometric information sensed through the sensor (A). In addition, a variable determination criterion is set 815 in consideration of the anti-scooping score (SA), the quality score (QA) and the matching score (MA) related to the characteristics of the first biometric information as a whole, by including context information (CA) 814 collected at the time of sensing the first biometric information. Furthermore, matching & decision 816 is then carried out to apply the set variable determination criterion to the final score…”), (¶0174, “The security module 181 may perform multimodal biometric authentication using different biometric sensors according to the characteristic information of biometric information.”), (¶0187, “the variable decision function is generated not only during the primary user authentication 810 but also during the secondary user authentication 880. It is the same not only in the case of serial multimodal biometric authentication as shown in FIG. 8A but also in the case of parallel multimodal biometric authentication in which the primary and secondary user authentications are simultaneously performed.”); and
calculate the probability for each of the plurality of different types of biometric information, based on: (1) the second score or (2) the second score and at least one of the first score and the third score. (¶0121-¶0123, FIG. 3C, “FIG. 3C has shown a score fusion method 330. The score fusion method 330 is a method of combining matching scores (second scores) calculated for each of the plurality of biometric information in the step of matching biometric information.”), (¶0026, “… calculating a final score by combining the calculated matching score with a fake relevance score of biometric information; and performing the first user authentication by applying a variable decision function generated based on the context information and the fake relevance score of biometric information to the calculated final score. “), (¶0187, FIG. 8, “the variable decision function is generated not only during the primary user authentication 810 but also during the secondary user authentication 880. It is the same not only in the case of serial multimodal biometric authentication as shown in FIG. 8A but also in the case of parallel multimodal biometric authentication in which the primary and secondary user authentications are simultaneously performed.”);
Regarding claim 7, KIM discloses an authentication method execute by a computer, the
method comprising (¶0010, “An object of the present disclosure is to provide an electronic device capable of performing multimodal biometric authentication according to a determination criterion modified according to a context in consideration of various environmental factors at the time of performing multimodal biometric authentication, and a control method thereof.”):
acquiring biometric information (¶0071, “…The camera 121 processes a image frame, such as still picture or video, acquired by an image sensor in a video phone call or image capturing mode….”), (¶0111, “In the acquisition step 210, biometric information may be acquired through a biometric sensor. The biometric information may include a user's own biometric information such as fingerprint, face, voice, vein, iris, and the like.”);
calculating, a probability that biometric information corresponds to the subject, or the biometric information does not correspond to the subject, based on a first score indicating a degree to which the subject is spoofed and a second score indicating the degree of similarity between the biometric information and registered biometric information (¶0015-¶0016, “the security module may calculate a matching score by comparing the first biometric information or the second biometric information with previously registered user information, and calculate a final score by combining the calculated matching score with a fake relevance score of the biometric information,…”, wherein the final score is a value serving a condition for determining user authentication which may be a probability that a user (subject) is a genuine user or a probability that a user is fake (another person)), (¶0181, “The spoofing score is a score obtained by converting a possibility that the biometric information is fake information. Therefore, the anti-spoofing score is a score obtained by converting a possibility that the biometric information is not fake information…”), (¶0127-¶0128, FIG. 4B, wherein a probability that a user who has inputted biometric information is determined as a genuine user “…A false acceptance rate (FAR) indicates an error rate determined to be a genuine user although the user is a genuine user. FAR is a concept contrary to FRR, and since the higher the FAR is, the lower the threshold value, and thus a probability that the user who has entered biometric information is determined as a genuine user is increased, the security of the biometric authentication may be reduced.”); and
performing authentication related to the subject based on the probability (¶0015, “…perform user authentication by applying a variable decision function generated on the basis of the context information and the fake relevance score of the biometric information to the calculated final matching score.”). See also ¶0026. and
Regarding claim 8, KIM discloses a non-transitory storage medium storing a program that causes a computer of an information processing device to execute (¶0236, “The foregoing present disclosure may be implemented as codes readable by a computer on a medium written by the program. The computer-readable media includes all types of recording devices in which data readable by a computer system can be stored. Examples of the computer-readable media may include ROM, RAM, CD-ROM, magnetic tape, floppy disk, and optical data storage device…”)
acquiring biometric information (¶0071, “…The camera 121 processes a image frame, such as still picture or video, acquired by an image sensor in a video phone call or image capturing mode….”), (¶0111, “In the acquisition step 210, biometric information may be acquired through a biometric sensor. The biometric information may include a user's own biometric information such as fingerprint, face, voice, vein, iris, and the like.”);
calculating, a probability that biometric information corresponds to a subject, or the biometric information does not correspond to the subject, based on a first score indicating a degree to which the subject is spoofed and a second score indicating the degree of similarity between the biometric information and registered biometric information of the subject's biometric information (¶0015-¶0016, “the security module may calculate a matching score by comparing the first biometric information or the second biometric information with previously registered user information, and calculate a final score by combining the calculated matching score with a fake relevance score of the biometric information,…”, wherein the final score is a value serving a condition for determining user authentication which may be a probability that a user (subject) is a genuine user or a probability that a user is fake (another person)), (¶0181, “The spoofing score is a score obtained by converting a possibility that the biometric information is fake information. Therefore, the anti-spoofing score is a score obtained by converting a possibility that the biometric information is not fake information…”), (¶0127-¶0128, FIG. 4B, wherein a probability that a user who has inputted biometric information is determined as a genuine user “…A false acceptance rate (FAR) indicates an error rate determined to be a genuine user although the user is a genuine user. FAR is a concept contrary to FRR, and since the higher the FAR is, the lower the threshold value, and thus a probability that the user who has entered biometric information is determined as a genuine user is increased, the security of the biometric authentication may be reduced.”); and
performing authentication related to the subject based on the probability (¶0015, “…perform user authentication by applying a variable decision function generated on the basis of the context information and the fake relevance score of the biometric information to the calculated final matching score.”). See also ¶0026.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US. 20150113634, US. 20180130475, US. 20190347391, and US.10803159.
/MUDASIRU K OLAEGBE/Examiner, Art Unit 2495
/FARID HOMAYOUNMEHR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2495