DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed 11 February 2025, in which claims 1-10 were canceled and claims 11-20 were added, has been entered.
Specification
The substitute specification filed 11 February 2025 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 7243934 B2). Lee et al. discloses a wheel suspension for a vehicle, comprising:
(claim 11) a wheel bearing (including knuckle #2; column 2; figures 1-6) on which a vehicle wheel (#1) of the vehicle is to be mounted so as to rotate relative to the wheel bearing about a wheel rotation axis (#CL3; column 3; figure 3);
a plurality of wheel links (including upper arm #4, lower arm #5, assist arm #7, trailing arm #8) articulated to the wheel bearing (#2) to guide the wheel bearing (columns 2-5; figures 1-9);
a support spring (coil spring #9) supported on a first (lower arm #5) of the wheel links and thereby connected to the wheel bearing (#2) via the first wheel link, via which support spring the wheel bearing is supportable (via spring seat #9a) on a structure (vehicle body) of the vehicle in a sprung manner (columns 3-4; figures 1-6);
a vibration damper (shock absorber #10) functionally connected parallel to the support spring (#9) and arranged completely outside the support spring, via which vibration damper the wheel bearing (#2) is supportable on the structure (vehicle body) in a damped manner (columns 3-4; figures 1-6);
wherein the first wheel link (#5) is arranged, viewed in a vehicle longitudinal direction, on a different side (rear side) of the wheel rotation axis (#CL3) from at least a second (including assist arm #7, trailing arm #8, and/or front portion of upper arm #4) of the wheel links (figure 3);
the vibration damper (#10) is connected to the wheel bearing (#2) by bypassing all of the wheel links (#4, 5, 7, 8) of the wheel suspension provided for guiding the wheel bearing of the wheel suspension (lower end of shock absorber #10 passes through a space between lower arm #5 and assist arm #7 to couple to lower end of knuckle #2; column 3, lines 8-10; figures 1-6);
each of the wheel links (#4, 5, 7, 8) of the wheel suspension provided for guiding the wheel bearing (#2) of the wheel suspension is arranged on exactly one side of the vibration damper (#10; figures 1-6);
(claim 12) wherein all of the wheel links (#4, 5, 7, 8) of the wheel suspension provided for guiding the wheel bearing (#2) of the wheel suspension are configured as link rods (figures 1-9);
(claim 13) wherein the second wheel link (including assist arm #7, trailing arm #8, and/or front portion of upper arm #4) and the vibration damper (#10) are connected to a common structural element (knuckle #2) of the wheel bearing which is configured in one piece (figures 1-6);
(claim 14) wherein the first wheel link (#5) is also connected to the common structural element (#2) which is configured in one piece (figures 1-6);
(claim 15) wherein the common structural element (#2) is a primary formed structural element (figures 1-6);
(claim 20) a vehicle comprising at least one wheel suspension (vehicle mentioned throughout specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 7243934 B2) in view of Cakrawala et al. (US 2019/0003022 A1). Lee et al. does not specifically disclose the common structural element (knuckle #2) is a cast structural element or formed of a light metal. Cakrawala et al. teaches a wheel suspension comprising a common structural element (knuckle #100), wherein the common structural element is a cast structural element, and is formed of a light metal (cast steel discussed throughout specification). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wheel suspension of Lee et al. to include the common structural element is a cast structural element and is formed of a light metal, as taught by Cakrawala et al., so as to reduce weight and improve fuel efficiency of the vehicle, while providing excellent strength and toughness of the common structural element (Cakrawala et al.: paragraphs 0003, 0007, 0008, 0017, 0043). In addition, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (MPEP 2144.07). Also, the method of forming the device, in this case casting, is not germane to the issue of patentability and carries little patentable weight.
Claim(s) 16, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 7243934 B2) in view of Wolf-Monheim et al. (US 2020/0282788 A1). Lee et al. does not specifically disclose the common structural element (knuckle #2) is a cast structural element or formed of a light metal, or the wheel link (#4, 5, 7, 8) is made of sheet metal. Wolf-Monheim et al. teaches a wheel suspension (#1) comprising a common structural element (wheel carrier #2) and a wheel link (control arms #4, 10, 15), wherein the common structural element is a cast structural element, and is formed of a light metal (paragraphs 0017, 0034), and wherein the wheel link is configured as a sheet metal link (paragraph 0017). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wheel suspension of Lee et al. to include the common structural element is a cast structural element and is formed of a light metal, and the wheel link is sheet metal, as taught by Wolf-Monheim et al., so as to minimize weight and provide a low cost, low complexity, and efficient wheel suspension (Wolf-Monheim et al.: paragraphs 0013-0014). In addition, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (MPEP 2144.07). Also, the method of forming the device, in this case casting, is not germane to the issue of patentability and carries little patentable weight.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 7243934 B2) in view of Kaneko et al. (US 5829768 A). Lee et al. does not specifically disclose the wheel link (#4, 5, 7, 8) is forged. Kaneko et al. teaches a wheel suspension comprising a wheel link configured as a forged link (the forging process discussed throughout the specification is suitable for use in a suspension of a vehicle as an upper arm, a lower arm or as a knuckle that connects these arms; column 1, lines 7-11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wheel suspension of Lee et al. to include the wheel link is forged, as taught by Kaneko et al., so as to reduce weight and improve fuel economy without impairing strength and other desired suspension characteristics (Kaneko et al.: Abstract; column 1, lines 44-64; column 2, line 47-column 3; column 7, line 58-column 8, line 20). Also, the method of forming the device, in this case forging, is not germane to the issue of patentability and carries little patentable weight.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art discloses vehicle suspensions. Of particular note:
Pelz et al. (US 6357772 B1) discloses a vehicle wheel suspension comprising a wheel bearing, a plurality of wheel links, a support spring supported on a first of the wheel links, and a vibration damper, wherein the first wheel link is on a different side of a wheel rotation axis from at least a second of the wheel links, the vibration damper is connected to the wheel bearing by bypassing all the wheel links, and each of the wheel links is arranged on exactly one side of the vibration damper.
Rumpel et al. (US 5192100 A), Buschjohann et al. (US 10279838 B2), Kleemann et al. (US 10315695 B2), and Sakuma (US 10377418 B2) disclose a cast structural element.
/LAURA FREEDMAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3614