Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: a “;” should be used in place of “,” to separate the claim limitations such as in line 11 and line 17. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 8-10 are objected for the same.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: first segmentation unit, second segmentation unit, classification unit in claims 1, 5, 6, and 8-10.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the prostatic cancer lesions and extra-prostatic cancer lesions" in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 8, 9 and 10 contain similar language and therefore are rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7 and 9-10are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Madabhushi et al. (US 2018/0276498 A1 hereinafter Madabhushi).
As to claim 1, Madabhushi teaches a computer-implemented method comprising:
providing a trained machine learning model (machine learning classifier C.sub.R and machine learning classifier C.sub.S are trained; [0038]);
receiving patient data, the patient data comprising a multi-parametric MRI image set of an examination region (a surface of interest (SOI) of a region of tissue demonstrating PCa represented in multi-parametric MRI imagery, and a set of radiomic features from the region of tissue; [0018]) comprising a prostate region of a male human patient (Radiomic features extracted from prostate tissue images; [0020]);
inputting the patient data into the trained machine learning mode, wherein the trained machine learning model comprises a first segmentation unit, a second segmentation unit, and a classification unit (Fig. 7);
wherein the first segmentation unit is configured to receive the multi- parametric MRI image set of the examination region comprising the prostate region of the male human patient and to generate one or more first segmented images based on the multi-parametric MRI image set one or more received images and model parameters (generate first segmented prostate; 720 Fig. 7),
wherein the second segmentation unit is configured to receive the one or more first segmented images and the multi-parametric MRI image set of the examination region and to generate one or more second segmented images based on the one or more first segmented images (generate second segmented prostate; 722 Fig. 7), the multi-parametric MRI image set and the model parameters, wherein the prostatic cancer lesions and extra-prostatic cancer lesions, if present, are segmented in the one or more second segmented images, and
wherein the classification unit is configured to assign the one or more second segmented images to one of at least two classes based on the model parameters, each class corresponding to a prostate cancer local stage (receive probability from first and second classifiers; 760 762 Fig. 7);
receiving from the trained machine learning model a predicted prostate cancer local stage and optionally the one or more first and/or second segmented images (determine if cancer is present; 780 786 784; Fig. 7), and
outputting the predicted prostate cancer local stage and optionally the one or more first and/or second segmented images, and/or storing the predicted prostate cancer local stage and optionally the one or more first and/or second segmented images on a data storage, and/or transmitting the predicted prostate cancer local stage and optionally the one or more first and/or second segmented images to a remote computer system (display classification; 790 Fig. 7).
As to claim 2, Madabhushi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the multi-parametric MRI image set comprises one or more T2-weighted images and/or one or more apparent diffusion coefficient maps (These changes in the shape and volume of the prostate may be observed in T2 weighted (T2w) MRI images; [0003]).
As to claim 3, Madabhushi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the multi-parametric MRI image set consists of one or more T2-weighted images and/or one or more apparent diffusion coefficient maps (These changes in the shape and volume of the prostate may be observed in T2 weighted (T2w) MRI images; [0003]).
As to claim 4, Madabhushi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein each class corresponds to a prostate cancer local stage according to the tumor, nodes, and metastases staging system developed by the American Joint Committee on Cancer (predicted survival time between the two classes of patients (BCR−, BCR+); [0018]).
As to claim 6, Madabhushi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein each of the first segmentation unit, second segmentation unit, and classification unit comprises an artificial neural network (a convolutional neural network (CNN); [0062]).
As to claim 7, Madabhushi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the trained machine learning model was trained on training data, the training data comprising, for each reference patient of a multitude of reference patients, input data and target data, the input data comprising a multi-parametric MRI image set of an examination region comprising a prostate region of the reference patient, and the target data comprising one or more target images in which, if present, prostate gland, prostatic cancer lesions and extra-prostatic cancer lesions are segmented, and a prostate cancer local stage for the reference patient (A set of pre-treatment images of a region of tissue demonstrating PCa is accessed. Spatially contextual SOI of the prostate capsule are uniquely identified from statistically significant shape differences between BCR+ and BCR− atlases created from the training images. To create subpopulation atlases of each of the groups, prostates inside a given subpopulation (i.e. BCR+ or BCR−) are registered to a representative template.; [0033]).
As to claim 9, it is the system claim of claim 1 and therefore is mapped similarly. Please see above for details.
As to claim 10, it is the computer readable medium claim of claim 1 and therefore is mapped similarly. Please see above for details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madabhushi.
As to claim 5, Madabhushi does not explicitly teach wherein each of the first segmentation unit second segmentation unit, and classification unit is trained separately. However, within the field of invention, the training of the different components would be either together or separate, therefore having limited selection within the art and it would have been obvious to try. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have training the first segmentation unit second segmentation unit, and classification unit is trained separately because there is limited options and would have been obvious to try.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lay et al. (US11200667 B2) teach Detection of Prostate Cancer in Multi-parametric MRI Using Random Forest with Instance Weighting and MR Prostate Segmentation by Deep Learning with Holistically nested Networks.
Yu et al. (US 20210312615 A1) teach a method for training artificial intelligence entities (AIE) for abnormality detection.
Reaungamornrat et al. (US 20230289984 A1) teach Systems and methods for automatically registering a first input medical image and a second input medical image are provided. The first input medical image in a first modality and the second input medical image in a second modality are received. One or more objects of interest are segmented from the first input medical image to generate a first segmentation map and one or more objects of interest are segmented from the second input medical image to generate a second segmentation map. A first point cloud is extracted from the first segmentation map and a second point cloud is extracted from the second segmentation map. A transformation for aligning the first point cloud and the second point cloud is determined to register the first input medical image and the second input medical image. The transformation is output.
Contact Information
CLAIRE X. WANG
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/CLAIRE X WANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1774