DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 1. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a harvesting platform" in line 4. However, it is not clear if this is the same component as “an electrically driven agricultural platform” set forth in claim 1 line 1. Specifically, it is unclear if these components are one and the same, or two different platforms altogether.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the power take-off" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the feeding channel " in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the transmission shaft" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the sensors" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the left and right worm motors" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the other mobile elements " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the worm drive gear" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the electronic module" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 7, 10-11 use the phrase “responsible for.” This is found indefinite as it is not clear what specific limitation is required of each component used with the phrase.
Regarding claim 6, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 14, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 2-14 are rejected as they depend upon claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Risius (US 20220071093 A1) in view of Reed (US 20230389473 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Risius discloses an electrically driven agricultural platform, wherein the elements of the platform responsible for extracting and harvesting the agricultural crop are electrically driven, which comprises:
- a harvesting platform (10);
- harvesting lines (20);
- a generator (12);
- a control module (16);
- at least one sensor (26, paragraphs 0073-75);
- cables (18, paragraph 0048);
- a plurality of motors (34); and
- mechanical clutches (36).
Risius does not disclose a feeder worm.
In the same field of endeavor, Reed discloses a feeder worm (116) driven by a motor (425), wherein the motor that drives the worm is the same type of motor used to drive the other platform/header components (see fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided Risius with a feeder worm driven by its own motor, as disclosed Reed, as a way of transporting harvested crop from the harvesting lines to the body of the combine harvester for threshing/separating.
Regarding claim 2, Risius, of the resultant combination, discloses the platform according to claim 1, wherein the harvesting platform (10) is responsible for extracting, harvesting and moving the corn agricultural crop.
Regarding claim 3, Risius, of the resultant combination, discloses the platform according to claim 1, wherein the harvesting lines (20) are coupled to the motors (34) and receive the crop and comprise belts (24), plates (22), rollers (27) and helicoids (see fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 4, Reed, of the resultant combination, discloses the platform according to claim 1, wherein the feeder worm (116) is connected to the motors (425) and moves the crop harvested by the harvesting lines towards the center of the platform (paragraphs 0014-0015).
Regarding claim 5, Risius, of the resultant combination, discloses the platform according to claim 1, wherein the generator (12) is coupled to the power take-off and is responsible for electrically supplying the other elements, in which the generator (12) is connected to the transmission shaft of the feeding channel of the harvester, transforms the mechanical energy supplied by the transmission shaft into electrical energy, and transmits the electrical energy generated to the control module (16).
Regarding claim 6, Risius, of the resultant combination, discloses the platform according to claim 1, wherein the control module (16) is supplied by the generator (12), receives information about the platform through the sensors (26) and cables, in which the control module (16) uses such information to control and supply power to the parts under its influence, such as the motors (34).
Regarding claim 7, the resultant combination discloses the platform according to claim 1, wherein the control module (Risius: 16) is capable of independently controlling each motor (Risius: 34), including the right and left worm motors (Reed: 425) responsible for the rotation of the feeder worm (Reed: paragraphs 0014-0015).
Regarding claim 9, Risius, of the resultant combination, discloses the platform according to claim 1, wherein the cables (18) carry logical information to the control module (16) and interconnect the motors (34), the generator (12), the control module (16) and the sensor (26) at the power and logical level.
Regarding claim 10, Risius, of the resultant combination, discloses the platform according to claim 1, wherein the motors (34) move the other mobile elements of the harvesting platform responsible for cutting and harvesting the agricultural crop, in which the motors (34) are coupled to the mechanical clutches (36) responsible for moving each harvesting line (20).
Regarding claim 11, the resultant combination discloses the platform according to claim 10, wherein the motors of the feeder worm (Reed: 116) are motors of the same nature as the motors (Risius: 34), responsible for moving the feeder worm (Reed: 116) through the worm drive gear (Risius: 36).
Regarding claim 12, the resultant combination discloses the platform according to claim 10, wherein the feeder worm (Reed: 116) is coupled to motors (Risius: 34) at its ends that guarantee the supply of energy for its movement.
Regarding claim 13, Risius, of the resultant combination, discloses the platform according to claim 1, wherein the mechanical clutches (36) are coupled to the motors (34) that will be responsible for moving each harvesting line (20) existing in the harvesting platform.
Regarding claim 14, Risius, of the resultant combination, discloses the platform according to claim 1, wherein the motors (34) and the generator (12) are coupled to the electronic module (16), capable of collecting data such as speed, torque, temperature and voltage of the elements and controlling the motors (paragraph 0071).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Risius (US 20220071093 A1) in view of Reed (US 20230389473 A1), and further in view of Garrett (WO 2023235160 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Risius, of the resultant combination, discloses the platform according to claim 1. Risius further discloses that it is known in the art to sense height (paragraph 0075).
The combination does not disclose wherein the sensor is a height sensor that provides information to the control module to adjust the height of the platform in relation to the ground.
In the same field of endeavor, Garrett discloses a height sensor (110) used to adjust a height of the platform in relation to the ground (paragraph 0026-27) and adjust header functions (paragraph 0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the combination with height sensors, as disclosed by Garrett, as a way of maintaining the platform at an appropriate height when the terrain changes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. DE 102007049250 B4 discloses individual motors used to drive individual row unit components.
/MADELINE I RUNCO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3671