DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 2016 0002788.
KR 2016 002788 discloses a re-closable container (10) with zipper (14), comprising: a container body (12) having an opening at an upper end for receiving and retrieving at least part of a content of the container body (see Fig. 3); and a zipper (14) for selectively closing and releasing the opening, the zipper having a zipper line along which the zipper extends from a first side to a second side of the container body (see Figs. 1, 2); characterised by a notch (either end of 13b) arranged underneath the zipper line and at the first or/and at the second side of the container body, the notch configured to remove the zipper by tearing off the zipper from the container body along a tearing line (13b), the tearing line extending from the first to the second side of the container body (see Fig. 1).
KR 2016 002788 further discloses the notch is a punching out (either end of 13b, product-by-process limitation, see MPEP 2113); the tearing line includes laser scoring for supporting propagation of the tearing off along the tearing line (product-by-process limitation, see MPEP 2113); the container is sealed at the upper end and above the zipper line (see Fig. 1), the container further comprises a further notch (either end of 13a) arranged above the zipper line, the further notch arranged at the first or/and at the second side of the container body, and the further notch is configured to open the sealed container by tearing off the upper end from the container body along a further tearing line (13a), the further tearing line extending from the first to the second side of the container body (see Fig. 1); the further notch is a sharp pencil cut (see Fig. 1); the further tearing line includes laser scoring for supporting propagation of the tearing off along the further tearing line (product-by-process limitation, see MPEP 2113); the container is a pouch (see Figs. 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 8, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2016 0002788 in view of Official Notice.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, KR 2016 002788 discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the multiple lines in the further tearing line as claimed.
The Examiner takes official notice it is old and notoriously well known, and is capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known, to use multiple parallel lines for a tearing line in packaging pouches as claimed.
It further would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use multiple parallel lines for a tearing line in packaging pouches as claimed, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claims 11-13, KR 2016 002788 discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the particular materials as claimed.
The Examiner takes official notice it is old and notoriously well known, and is capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known, to use the claimed materials in production of packaging pouches as claimed.
It further would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the claimed materials in production of packaging pouches as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Claim(s) 9, 10, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2016 002788.
Regarding claims 9, 10, 16, and 17, KR 2016 002788 discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the differing tear forces as claimed.
However, it is noted that the general knowledge of those having ordinary skill in the art since prior to the invention by applicant included the ability/motivation to vary the shape of opening notches in packaging to achieve a desired force required for opening.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the first notch opening force larger than the further notch opening force by a factor of 1.5 to 3, or 2 to 3 or 2, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 15, KR 2016 002788 discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the differing notch sizes as claimed.
However, it is noted that the general knowledge of those having ordinary skill in the art since prior to the invention by applicant included the ability/motivation to vary the shape of opening notches in packaging to have different sizes.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to construct the packaging where the further notch is wider than the notch as claimed, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PETER N HELVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734
July 9, 2026