DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3, 5, and 7 all reference “in a perpendicular direction perpendicular to the peripheral direction of the peripheral wall”. This appears to be saying that the perpendicular direction is perpendicular to the direction perpendicular to the peripheral wall – which would be in the same direction as the peripheral wall. The Examiner believes the Applicant intended to claim something more along the lines of “in a [[perpendicular]] direction perpendicular to the peripheral direction of the peripheral wall”. For purposes of further consideration, claims 3, 5, and 7 have been interpreted as the Examiner believes the claims were intended to be written. Further clarification and/or correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Balderson (WO 93/19445) (cited by Applicant).
Regarding Claim 1
Balderson teaches a container (below – Fig. 1) comprising: a container body (3) to accommodate an object; a cap (5) detachably attachable to the container body, the cap including a peripheral wall; and a shrink label (6) to cover at least the peripheral wall of the cap and including a one-dimensional barcode (2) displayed on the shrink label, wherein an expression below is satisfied, L/(2 x circular constant x R) < 0.45, where L is a display width of the one-dimensional barcode in a peripheral direction of the peripheral wall, and R is a radius of the peripheral wall, as can be seen in Fig. 1 below (Pg. 3, Ln. 15 – Pg. 4, Ln. 16).
Regarding Claim 2
Balderson teaches the one-dimensional barcode (2) includes multiple bars arranged in the peripheral direction of the peripheral wall, as can be seen in Fig. 1 above.
Regarding Claim 7
Balderson teaches the shrink label (6) includes at least one perforation (7) connecting one end and another end of the shrink label in a direction perpendicular to the peripheral direction of the peripheral wall, as can be seen in Fig. 1 above.
Regarding Claim 11
Balderson teaches the shrink label (6) covers a region other than the container body, as can be seen in Fig. 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moser (US 7596927) in view of Balderson (WO 93/19445) (cited by Applicant).
Regarding Claim 1
Moser teaches a container (below – Fig. 2 and 4) comprising: a container body (13) to accommodate an object; a cap (15) detachably attachable to the container body, the cap including a peripheral wall (27); and a shrink label (10) to cover at least the peripheral wall of the cap and including wan image (shown at “Brand”) displayed on the shrink label, wherein an expression below is satisfied, L/(2 x circular constant x R) < 0.45, where L is a display width of the one-dimensional image in a peripheral direction of the peripheral wall, and R is a radius of the peripheral wall (Col. 3, Ln. 51 – Col. 5, Ln. 39).
Moser does not specifically teach the shrink label including a one-dimensional barcode displayed on the shrink label, wherein an expression below is satisfied, L / (2 x circular constant x R) < 0.45, where L is a display width of the one-dimensional barcode in a peripheral direction of the peripheral wall, and R is a radius of the peripheral wall.
Balderson teaches a container (Fig. 1) comprising: a container body (3) to accommodate an object; a cap (5) detachably attachable to the container body, the cap including a peripheral wall; and a shrink label (6) to cover at least the peripheral wall of the cap and including a one-dimensional barcode (2) displayed on the shrink label, wherein an expression below is satisfied, L/(2 x circular constant x R) < 0.45, where L is a display width of the one-dimensional barcode in a peripheral direction of the peripheral wall, and R is a radius of the peripheral wall, as can be seen in Fig. 1 above (Pg. 3, Ln. 15 – Pg. 4, Ln. 16).
Moser and Balderson are analogous inventions in the field of containers having shrink labels. Because both Moser and Balderson teach shrink labels with images on them, it would have appeared obvious to one skilled in the art, at the time of filing, to substitute the images of the shrink label of Moser with the teachings of the one-dimensional barcode of Balderson to achieve the predictable result of creating a shrink label having a brand image on it. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding Claim 2
Moser in view of Balderson (hereinafter “modified Moser”) teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Balderson further teaches the one-dimensional barcode (2) includes multiple bars arranged in the peripheral direction of the peripheral wall, as can be seen in Fig. 1 above.
Regarding Claim 3
Modified Moser teaches all the limitations of claim 2 as stated above. Modified Moser further teaches each of the multiple bars may extend from one end to another end of the shrink label (10) in a direction perpendicular to the peripheral direction of the peripheral wall. [As can be seen in Fig. 4 above, the “Brand” imaging is able to extend the entire length of each of the shrink labels.]
Regarding Claim 4
Modified Moser teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Modified Moser further teaches the shrink label (10) includes a label top portion covering a part of a top of the cap, and the one-dimensional barcode is able to be displayed on the label top portion of the shrink label. [As can be seen in Fig. 4 above, the “Brand” imaging is able to extend the entire length of each of the shrink labels.]
Regarding Claim 5
Modified Moser teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Modified Moser further teaches the one-dimensional barcode is capable of including: a first one-dimensional barcode on a first position of the shrink label; a second one-dimensional barcode on a second position different from the first position in a direction perpendicular to the peripheral direction of the peripheral wall of the cap; and an interval between the first one-dimensional barcode and the second one-dimensional barcode in the perpendicular direction, and the interval is smaller than a height of the peripheral wall in the perpendicular direction. [As can be seen in Fig. 4 above, the “Brand” imaging is able to be repeated with a gap (or interval) between each recitation along length of each of the shrink labels.]
Regarding Claim 6
Modified Moser teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Modified Moser further teaches a first one-dimensional barcode is on a first position of the shrink label; and a second one-dimensional barcode is on a second position different from the first position in the peripheral direction of the peripheral wall. [As can be seen in Fig. 4 above, the “Brand” imaging is able to be repeated with a gap (or interval) between each recitation along a width of each of the shrink labels.]
Regarding Claim 7
Modified Moser teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Modified Moser further teaches the shrink label includes at least one perforation (33) connecting one end and another end of the shrink label in a direction perpendicular to the peripheral direction of the peripheral wall.
Regarding Claim 8
Modified Moser teaches all the limitations of claim 7 as stated above. Modified Moser further teaches the shrink label includes a label top portion covering a part of a top of the cap, and the one-dimensional barcode is displayed on the label top portion of the shrink label. [As can be seen in Fig. 4 above, the “Brand” imaging is able to extend the entire length of each of the shrink labels.]
Regarding Claim 9
Modified Moser teaches all the limitations of claim 7 as stated above. Modified Moser further teaches the perforation (33) is at a perforation region different from a barcode region, in which the one-dimensional barcode is displayed, of the shrink label, as can be seen in Fig. 4 above.
Regarding Claim 11
Modified Moser teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Modified Moser further the shrink label (10) covers a region other than the container body.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Moser as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kitcher et al. (US 2015/0096913) (hereinafter Kitcher).
Regarding Claim 10
Modified Moser teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above. Moser further teaches the container body includes resin. However, modified Moser does not teach the container body includes a pattern forming portion including a concave portion or a convex portion on a surface of the container body.
Kitcher teaches a container (below – Fig. 1 and 2) comprising: a container body to accommodate an object, wherein the container body includes resin, and the container body includes a pattern forming portion (34) including a concave portion on a surface of the container body (Paragraphs [0024] – [0030]).
Modified Moser and Kitcher are analogous inventions in the field of container bodies. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the container body of modified Moser with the teachings of the pattern forming portion of Kitcher in order to allow the bottle to carry a brand logo.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Further pertinent prior art includes but is not limited to that which is listed in the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JENNIFER CASTRIOTTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/DON M ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733