DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-4,7 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (KR 20210036896, provided in IDS) in view of Alhara Hideaki (JP 2008141582) and Yang et al. (KR 20210049582, provided in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a portable TV comprising: a display module for outputting content (e.g., element 110 in fig. 1b), a housing accommodating the display module (e.g., element 10 in fig. 1b), four legs attachable/detachable to/from a lower case of the housing (e.g., element 13 in fig. 1b), and a controller (e.g., section, technical field, also processor 130 functions to control the overall operation of the video and audio device 100, including a controller, disclosed throughout the disclosure), and operate in a mode immediately before shutdown, wherein the mode includes a first mode and a second mode, wherein the first mode is a mode in which the display module maintains a state of being coupled with the housing, and the second mode is a mode in which the display module is in a standing state in the housing (e.g., determination of the mode according to an event, and driving state of a driving unit such that a display is exposed or received in a state corresponding to determined mode, display in a first mode of outputting media art content while being received in the housing according to a first event, when a second mode is initiated according to a second event, through the speaker in a state in which a part of the display is exposed to the outside through the upper end of the housing, and when a third mode is initiated according to a third event, video content in a state in which the entire display is exposed to the outside through the upper end of the housing …) disclosed through-out the disclosure consider equivalent to the claimed limitation.
Park fails to explicitly teach, wherein the controller is configured to: detect opening of an upper case of the housing.
Alhara, in the field of broadcasting television receiver, and throughout the disclosure teaches, detection of opening/closing of casing/housing, by placing a magnet on the housing, in order to control displaying video on a main display unit.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the housing of the video-audio system of Park, in accordance with the teaching of Alhara, by using a magnet on the upper case, in order to detect opening/closing state of the housing.
Park also fails to explicitly teach, determination of current location of the TV, determine whether the current location is the same as a location immediately before shutdown; if the current location is the same as the location immediately before shutdown.
Yang, throughout the disclosure teaches, the electronic device may refer to various devices that control a display. The electronic device may be an electronic blackboard, a TV, a desktop PC, etc., and further teaches, location information of an electronic device can be transmitted to an external server, and a processor compares second location information included in identification information of the device with the first location information … of each of plurality of pieces of content so as to identify content corresponding to the device among the plurality of pieces of content, thus consider to be equivalent to the above claimed limitation.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of video-audio system of Park, in accordance with the teaching of Yang , in order to control display of a plurality of contents, as suggested by the reference.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Park and Yang, teach the portable TV of claim 1, wherein the controller automatically connects a first external device last connected to the TV when operating in the mode immediately before shutdown (e.g., Park throughout the disclosure teaches, when a mode is determined according to an event, the processor controls the communication unit so as to automatically connect communication with the source device, thus consider equivalent to the claim).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Park and Yang, teach the portable TV of claim 2, wherein the controller outputs an audio signal of the first external device through an audio output unit attached to the upper case of the housing when the TV operates in the first mode (Park, fig. 1, and indication of, the video-audio device includes, a display, speakers, a second mode of outputting audio content through the speaker while a part of the display is exposed through the upper end of the housing according to a second event …, speakers may be installed in the housing separately from the video and audio device, throughout the disclosure, considered equivalent to the limitation as claimed).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Park and Yang, teach the portable TV of claim 1, wherein
the controller outputs a content selection screen on the display module when the TV operates in the second mode (Park, throughout the disclosure teaches, the first to third events for initiating the first to third modes may be events in which each mode is selected by a user command. For example, an event in which a mode is selected by a user …, and further indicates, … events in which a specific type of content is selected, an event in which a preset time arrives, an event in which the exposure degree of the video and audio device is manually adjusted, etc. For example, the processor automatically operates in the first mode when a media art content selection command is input, automatically operates in the second mode when an audio content selection command is input, and automatically operates in a second mode when an image content selection command is input, thus considered equivalent to the limitation as claimed).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Park and Yang teach the portable TV of claim 1, further comprising a microphone (Yang, Fig. 14, microphone 170), wherein the controller determines the current location of the TV on the basis of first noise information received through the microphone, wherein the noise information includes a noise pattern (Yang, indication of noise information, and also electronic device determines that the identification information is quite if the noise information is 30db or less , and is normal if the noise is more than 30db to less than or equal to 60db, etc., throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Park and Yang teach the portable TV of claim 1, further comprising an illuminance sensor, wherein the controller determines the current location of the TV on the basis of an amount of light detected through the illuminance sensor (Yang, indication of, identification information of each of plurality of pieces of content can include at least one temperature information, illumination information, noise information, etc., and for location information, see claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Park and Yang teach the portable TV of claim 1, further comprising a network interface unit (e.g., communication interface LAN, disclosed by Yang), wherein the
controller receives location information of the TV through the network interface unit, and determines
the current location of the TV on the basis of the location information (e.g., for location information, see claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Park and Yang teach the portable TV of claim 10, wherein the network interface unit is connected to a server (Yang, abstract, communication interface and server, see also entire disclosure), wherein the controller receives image information regarding the current location of the TV from the server, and outputs the image information through the display module (Yang, abstract and entire disclosure).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Park and Yang teach the portable TV of claim 11, wherein the controller receives the image information on the basis of the current time (Yang, indication display content at a specific time, and also time controller, disclosed throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claims 13-15, the limitations claimed are substantially similar to claims 1-2 above, and has been addressed in the above claims 1-2 and 4.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 5-6, 8 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
should be directed to Behrooz Senfi, whose telephone number is (571)272-7339. The examiner can
normally be reached on Monday-Friday 10:00-6:00.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Christopher Kelley can be reached on 571 272 7331. The fax phone number for the organization where
this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see
http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact
the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a
USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-
9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571 -272-1000.
/BEHROOZ M SENFI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482