DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“heartbeat waveform acquisition unit configured to…” in claims 1, 18
“cardiac cycle estimation unit configured to …” in claim 1
“heart rate calculation unit configured to …” in claims 1, 15, 18
“body movement determination unit configured to …” in claim 11
“display unit configured to …” in claims 12, 15
“display control unit configured to …” in claims 12, 15
“weight calculation unit configured to …” in claims 13, 16
“respiratory rate calculation unit configured to … ” in claims 13, 16
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 - 6 and 10 - 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 - 6 and 10 - 17 are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors. Each of claims 2 - 6 and 10 - 17 include at least one limitation that generally narrates processing activities instead of properly setting forth structural features of the claimed device. For example, in claim 2, “obtains the estimated value based on identification” fails to adequately set forth the required structural details. The claim requires an active state of ‘obtaining’, and is therefore a hybrid apparatus/method claim, which the Federal Circuit has held are indefinite under §112, second paragraph. See Rembrandt Data Techs., LP v. AOL, LLC, 641F.3d 1331, 1339 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (holding apparatus claim reciting active transmitting step indefinite). This is a critical defect because it is unclear whether the claim covers a device that is merely capable of performing the recited function or if the function must actually be performed. Similar logic applies to each of claims 3 - 6 and 10 - 17. Examiner suggests amending these claims to conform with current U.S. practice by replacing narratives of processing activities with limitations that properly use “configured to” language to clearly outline the algorithmic steps performed by the various “units”.
Claim 7 is indefinite because it is unclear what the recited “range” is a range of. The claim appears to be missing words that describe what is intended.
Claim 15 is indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the bed corresponding to a heartbeat of the subject” (lines 4 - 5), as the prepositional phrase is grammatically misplaced. It is unclear what is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,4908,60. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to using load detectors to acquire a heart rate of a subject on a bed. In particular: Claim 1 is suggested by reference claim 1. The “estimated value of a cardiac cycle of the subject based on transitions of the heartbeat waveform” correspond to any value of the waveform used in the reference claims to calculate the heart rate, for example the peak (reference claim 3, 9), etc. Claim 20 is suggested by reference claim 6.
Claims 1, 7, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,690,776. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to using load detectors to acquire a heart rate of a subject on a bed. In particular:
Claim 1 is suggested by reference claim 8. The “estimated value of a cardiac cycle of the subject based on transitions of the heartbeat waveform” correspond to any value of the waveform used in the reference claims to calculate the heart rate, for example the integrated value (reference claim 1), etc. Claim 7 is suggested by reference claim 8 - 9. Claim 20 is suggested by reference claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a mental-process type abstract idea) without significantly more.
Independent claim 1:
With regard to Step 1, the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., a device.
With regard to Step 2A: Prong 1, the claim recites limitations directed towards:
obtaining an estimated value of a cardiac cycle of the subject based on transitions of the heartbeat waveform; and
calculating a heart rate of the subject based on the heartbeat waveform and the estimated value.
As drafted, these limitations amount to nothing more than steps that can practically be performed in the human mind and/or with the aid of pen/paper. Therefore, the limitations recite a mental-process type abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).
With regard to Step 2A: Prong 2, the claim recites additional elements involving:
the subject being on a bed, which merely limits the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use;
“units” configured to perform the mental step, which amounts to no more than an instruction to implement the judicial exception on a computer;
a heartbeat waveform acquisition unit configured to acquire a heartbeat waveform, which is a “unit” for extra-solution activity (i.e., data gathering); and
the heartbeat waveform indicating a temporal fluctuation of a load value corresponding to a heartbeat of the subject based on an output of a load detector located at the bed, which merely limits the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Therefore, the recited additional elements do not, either individually or as a whole, integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
With regard to Step 2B, as explained above, the additional limitations are directed towards limiting the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, an instruction to implement the judicial exception on a computer, and a “unit” for extra-solution activity (i.e., data gathering). Therefore, when considered separately and in combination, the additional limitations do not result in the claim, as a whole, amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Independent claim 15:
With regard to Step 1, the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., a device.
With regard to Step 2A: Prong 1, the claim recites a limitation directed towards:
calculating a heart rate of the subject based on a temporal fluctuation of an output of a load detector located at the bed corresponding to a heartbeat of the subject.
As drafted, the limitation amounts to nothing more than a step that can practically be performed in the human mind and/or with the aid of pen/paper. Therefore, the limitation recites a mental-process type abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).
With regard to Step 2A: Prong 2, the claim recites additional elements involving:
the subject being on a bed, which merely limits the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use;
a “unit” configured to perform the mental step, which amounts to no more than an instruction to implement the judicial exception on a computer;
a display unit and display control unit configured to control display content, which are hardware for mere extra-solution activity (i.e., data output);
the display control unit changing a display mode of the heart rate at the display unit between a period when the subject is present on the bed and a period when the subject is not present on the bed, which is extra-solution activity involving limiting the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Therefore, the recited additional elements do not, either individually or as a whole, integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
With regard to Step 2B, as explained above, the additional limitations are directed towards limiting the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, an instruction to implement the judicial exception on a computer, and hardware for extra-solution activity (i.e., data output). Therefore, when considered separately and in combination, the additional limitations do not result in the claim, as a whole, amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Independent claim 18:
With regard to Step 1, the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., a device.
With regard to Step 2A: Prong 1, the claim recites limitations directed towards:
calculating a heart rate of the subject based on the heartbeat waveform;
calculating an autocorrelation function of the heartbeat waveform;
detecting a peak of the autocorrelation function;
calculating the heart rate based on a position of the peak detected;
calculating a first autocorrelation function of the heartbeat waveform included in a first period;
calculating a second autocorrelation function of the heartbeat waveform included in a second period after the first period;
calculating a third autocorrelation function of the heartbeat waveform included in a third period after the second period;
calculating a sum of the first autocorrelation function and the second autocorrelation function at a first time as the autocorrelation function; and
calculating a sum of the second autocorrelation function and the third autocorrelation function at a second time after the first time as the autocorrelation function;
As drafted, these limitations amount to nothing more than steps that can practically be performed in the human mind and/or with the aid of pen/paper and/or read on a mathematical processes. Therefore, the limitations recite a mental-process type abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).
With regard to Step 2A: Prong 2, the claim recites additional elements involving:
the subject being on a bed, which merely limits the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use;
“units” configured to perform the mental step, which amounts to no more than an instruction to implement the judicial exception on a computer;
a heartbeat waveform acquisition unit configured to acquire a heartbeat waveform, which is a “unit” for extra-solution activity (i.e., data gathering); and
the heartbeat waveform indicating a temporal fluctuation of a load value corresponding to a heartbeat of the subject based on an output of a load detector located at the bed, which merely limits the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Therefore, the recited additional elements do not, either individually or as a whole, integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
With regard to Step 2B, as explained above, the additional limitations are directed towards limiting the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, an instruction to implement the judicial exception on a computer, and a “unit” for extra-solution activity (i.e., data gathering). Therefore, when considered separately and in combination, the additional limitations do not result in the claim, as a whole, amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Independent claim 20:
With regard to Step 1, the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., a system.
With regard to Step 2A: Prong 1, the claim recites limitations directed towards:
obtaining an estimated value of a cardiac cycle of the subject based on transitions of the heartbeat waveform; and
calculating a heart rate of the subject based on the heartbeat waveform and the estimated value.
As drafted, these limitations amount to nothing more than steps that can practically be performed in the human mind and/or with the aid of pen/paper. Therefore, the limitations recite a mental-process type abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).
With regard to Step 2A: Prong 2, the claim recites additional elements involving:
the subject being on a bed, which merely limits the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use;
“units” configured to perform the mental step, which amounts to no more than an instruction to implement the judicial exception on a computer;
a heartbeat waveform acquisition unit configured to acquire a heartbeat
the heartbeat waveform indicating a temporal fluctuation of a load value corresponding to a heartbeat of the subject based on an output of a load detector located at the bed, which merely limits the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use;
a bed and a load detector located at the bed, which are generic hardware for extra-solution activity, and would necessarily be required in any implementation of the system.
Therefore, the recited additional elements do not, either individually or as a whole, integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
With regard to Step 2B, as explained above, the additional limitations are directed towards limiting the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, an instruction to implement the judicial exception on a computer, and hardware for extra-solution activity. Therefore, when considered separately and in combination, the additional limitations do not result in the claim, as a whole, amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Dependent claims:
claims 2 - 10 and 19 recite details of the calculations, which (1) merely further limit the judicial exceptions and do not prevent the steps from being performed mentally and/or with the aid of pen/paper; and/or (2) read on mathematical functions. Claim 10 also recites plural load detectors, which are generic hardware for extra-solution activity.
claim 11 recites limitations directed towards determine presence or absence of body movement and calculations therefore, which read on mental steps and/or mathematical functions.
claim 12 recites limitations directed towards a display unit and display control unit configured to control display content, which are hardware for mere extra-solution activity (i.e., data output). The claim also recites the display control unit changing a display mode of the heart rate at the display unit between a period when the subject is present on the bed and a period when the subject is not present on the bed, which is extra-solution activity involving limiting the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
claims 13 and 16 recite limitations directed towards calculate a weight of the subject and determining if the subject is in the bed, which read on mental steps and/or mathematical functions.
claims 14 and 17 recite limitations directed towards calculations which merely further limit the judicial exceptions and do not prevent the steps from being performed mentally and/or with the aid of pen/paper. The claim also recites display details, which are extra-solution activity.
Therefore, when considered separately and in combination, the additional limitations do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, or result in the dependent claims amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Akatsu et al. (US 2020/0121530).
Regarding claims 1 and 20, Akatsu shows a heart rate acquisition system (fig. 1 - 2) and device (heart rate calculating unit, [0135]) configured to acquire a heart rate of a subject on a bed (monitoring a subject on a bed, abstract), the heart rate acquisition device comprising:
a heartbeat waveform acquisition unit configured to acquire a heartbeat waveform indicating a temporal fluctuation of a load value corresponding to a heartbeat of the subject based on an output of a load detector located at the bed (extracts the heart beat component from the load signal fed from the load detecting unit 1, [0135]);
a cardiac cycle estimation unit configured to obtain an estimated value (amplitude, [0137]) of a cardiac cycle of the subject based on transitions of the heartbeat waveform (estimates the cardiac output of one heart beat cycle of the subject S, [0137]); and
a heart rate calculation unit configured to calculate a heart rate of the subject based on the heartbeat waveform and the estimated value (heart rate calculating unit, [0135] - 0137]).
The system comprises the bed and load detector (load detectors …bed, [0039] and fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akatsu in view of Jain et al. (US 2017/0071551).
Regarding claim 2, Akatsu discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above.
Akatsu fails to show obtaining the estimated value based on identification of a bottom of the heartbeat waveform, a rising zero crossing point of the heartbeat waveform, a peak of the heartbeat waveform, and a falling zero crossing point of the heartbeat waveform.
Jain discloses heartbeat analysis. Jain teaches obtaining the estimated value based on identification of a bottom of the heartbeat waveform, a rising zero crossing point of the heartbeat waveform, a peak of the heartbeat waveform, and a falling zero crossing point of the heartbeat waveform (peak … trough … zero-crossing, [0150], [0154], [0162]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Akatsu to include obtaining the estimated value based on identification of a bottom of the heartbeat waveform, a rising zero crossing point of the heartbeat waveform, a peak of the heartbeat waveform, and a falling zero crossing point of the heartbeat waveform, as taught by Jain, in order to use standard statistical characteristics of the waveform to calculate the heart rate.
Claim 7 is rejected 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akatsu in view of Agarwal et al. (US 2021/0169442 ).
Regarding claim 7, Akatsu discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above.
Akatsu fails to show calculating an autocorrelation function of the heartbeat waveform, detecting a peak of the autocorrelation function, and calculating the heart rate based on a position of the peak.
Agarwal discloses heartbeat analysis. Agarwal teaches calculating an autocorrelation function of the heartbeat waveform, detecting a peak of the autocorrelation function, and calculating the heart rate based on a position of the peak (heart rate … peaks of an autocorrelation function, [0134]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Akatsu to include calculating an autocorrelation function of the heartbeat waveform, detecting a peak of the autocorrelation function, and calculating the heart rate based on a position of the peak, as taught by Agarwal, in order to use standard statistical calculations to calculate the heart rate.
Claims 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akatsu in view of Wako et al. (US 2018/0235822).
Regarding claim 12, Akatsu discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Akatsu further shows a display unit and a display control unit configured to control display content of the display unit (monitor displays the condition of the subject S determined by the condition determining unit, [0120]).
Akatsu is not specific to changing a display mode of the heart rate at the display unit between a period when the subject is present on the bed and a period when the subject is not present on the bed.
Wako discloses a watching bed. Wako teaches changing a display mode of the heart rate at the display unit between a period when the subject is present on the bed and a period when the subject is not present on the bed (“output of the bed-departure/bed-presence detection unit … input to the display unit 120 including a load display unit 120A, a center-of-gravity display unit 120B, a respiratory rate display unit 120C, and a heartbeat rate display unit 120D, and displayed”, [0112]. Note that any change in displayed content is interpreted as changing a display “mode”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Akatsu to include changing a display mode of the heart rate at the display unit between a period when the subject is present on the bed and a period when the subject is not present on the bed, as taught by Wako, in order to allow a user to visualize the heart rate when the subject tis on the bed.
Regarding claim 15, Akatsu shows a heart rate acquisition system device (heart rate calculating unit, [0135]) configured to acquire a heart rate of a subject on a bed (monitoring a subject on a bed, abstract), the heart rate acquisition device comprising:
a heart rate calculation unit configured to calculate a heart rate of the subject (heart rate calculating unit, [0135] - 0137]) based on a temporal fluctuation of an output of a load detector (load detectors …bed, [0039] and fig. 2) located at the bed corresponding to a heartbeat of the subject;
a display unit and a display control unit configured to control display content of the display unit (monitor displays the condition of the subject S determined by the condition determining unit, [0120]).
Akatsu is not specific to changing a display mode of the heart rate at the display unit between a period when the subject is present on the bed and a period when the subject is not present on the bed.
Wako discloses a watching bed. Wako teaches changing a display mode of the heart rate at the display unit between a period when the subject is present on the bed and a period when the subject is not present on the bed (“output of the bed-departure/bed-presence detection unit … input to the display unit 120 including a load display unit 120A, a center-of-gravity display unit 120B, a respiratory rate display unit 120C, and a heartbeat rate display unit 120D, and displayed”, [0112]. Note that any change in displayed content is interpreted as changing a display “mode”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Akatsu to include changing a display mode of the heart rate at the display unit between a period when the subject is present on the bed and a period when the subject is not present on the bed, as taught by Wako, in order to allow a user to visualize the heart rate when the subject tis on the bed.
Claims 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akatsu and Wako as applied to claims 12 and 15 above, and further in view of Demirli (US 2020/0315367).
Regarding claims 13 and 16, the combined invention of Akatsu and Wako discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Akatsu further shows a weight calculation unit configured to calculate a weight of the subject based on the output of the load detector and/or a respiratory rate calculation unit configured to calculate a respiratory rate of the subject based on the output of the load detector (monitoring the subject includes finding an appearance (aspect) of a body motion and/or respiration of the subject, determining whether or not the subject is present on the bed BD, [0048]).
Akatsu fails to show when the weight of the subject calculated is equal to or less than a threshold and/or when the respiratory rate of the subject is not calculated, the display control unit determines that the subject is not present on the bed.
Demirli discloses a bed with sensing features. Demirli teaches when the weight of the subject calculated is equal to or less than a threshold and/or when the respiratory rate of the subject is not calculated, the display control unit determines that the subject is not present on the bed (“processor 136 can determine that the user is present on the bed 112 if the detected pressure increases above a specified threshold (so as to indicate that a person or other object above a certain weight is positioned on the bed 112) …increase in pressure in combination with detected slight, rhythmic fluctuations in pressure as corresponding to the user being present on the bed 112. The presence of rhythmic fluctuations can be identified as being caused by respiration or heart rhythm (or both) of the user…”, [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Akatsu and Wako to include when the weight of the subject calculated is equal to or less than a threshold and/or when the respiratory rate of the subject is not calculated, the display control unit determines that the subject is not present on the bed, as taught by Demirli, in order to facilitate confirming whether or not the user is on the bed.
Claims 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akatsu and Wako as applied to claims 12 and 15 above, and further in view of Brodnick (US 2015/0119736).
Regarding claims 14 and 17, the combined invention of Akatsu and Wako discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Akatsu further shows a weight calculation unit configured to calculate a weight of the subject based on the output of the load detector and/or a respiratory rate calculation unit configured to calculate a respiratory rate of the subject based on the output of the load detector (monitoring the subject includes finding an appearance (aspect) of a body motion and/or respiration of the subject, determining whether or not the subject is present on the bed BD, [0048]).
Akatsu fails to show the heart rate calculation unit sequentially calculates the heart rate, and the display control unit displays a median of a plurality of the heart rates sequentially calculated at the display unit.
Brodnick discloses heartbeat detection. Brodnick teaches the heart rate calculation unit sequentially calculates the heart rate, and the display control unit displays a median of a plurality of the heart rates sequentially calculated at the display unit (“representative heartbeats … computing and displaying the median”, [0114]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Akatsu and Wako to include the heart rate calculation unit sequentially calculates the heart rate, and the display control unit displays a median of a plurality of the heart rates sequentially calculated at the display unit, as taught by Brodnick, in order to increase the accuracy of the representation of the heart rate.
Conclusion
/AMELIE R DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798