Pursuant to communications filed on 02/11/2025, this is a First Action Non-Final Rejection on the Merits wherein claims 16-29 are currently pending in the instant application.
-. It is noted that claims 1-15 have been cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/11/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns / lines numbers or figures in the reference(s) as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Examiner has also cited references in PTO-892 but not relied on, which are relevant and pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure, and may also be reading (anticipatory/obvious) on the claims and claimed limitations. Applicant is advised to consider the references in preparing the response/amendments in-order to expedite the prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The use of the phrase “can be” is indefinite. It is not clear if Applicant is intending the claim limitations using the phrase “can be” to be optional or that the phrase should be interpreted as a definite statement (for example, using "are" or simply deleting the phrase; (i.e., “each of which are occupied by an autonomous mobile robot” and "a ground transport circuit where the autonomous mobile robots/automatically guided vehicles circulate”. The term “can be” is indefinite because it is susceptible to more than one plausible construction. It is unclear whether the limitation refers to a capability that is required to be present in the invention or whether it refers to a system capability that is a mere possibility that is not required. In other words, it is unclear whether a method for transporting items can practice the invention of claim 16 by satisfying all of the other limitations of claim 16.
The verb form of the word “can” carry multiple meanings in the English language. It can be used to indicate physical ability or some other specified capability. It can also be used to indicate a possibility or probability.
Accordingly, appropriate correction is earnestly solicited.
Claims 25, 26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) (or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, fourth paragraph) as being of improper dependent form, because each fails to incorporate all limitations of and further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. Specifically, claim 25 depends upon independent claim 16, claim 26 depends upon dependent claim 25, and claim 28 depends upon dependent claim 27; however, these dependent claims fail to properly narrow or maintain proper structural/functional continuity relative to their respective parent claims.
Applicants may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Accordingly, appropriate correction is earnestly solicited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
. Claims 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 25 recites “A computer program comprising instructions for carrying out the method according to claim 16” is interpreted as being directed to a program itself (e.g., software), and software claims are not patentable. The claim is not a process occurring as a result of executing the program, a machine programmed to operate in accordance with the program, nor a manufacture structurally and functionally interconnected with the program in a manner which enables the program to act as a computer component and realize its functionality. It's also clearly not directed to a composition of matter. Thus, the claim is software per se not being embodied in a manner as to be executable.
Accordingly, appropriate correction is earnestly requested.
Claim 26 recites “a computer-readable medium comprising a computer program according to claim 25”. The claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. A patentable subject matter is required to be directed to one of the following four statutory categories of 35 U.S.C 101: process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter.
The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is obliged to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification during proceedings before the USPTO. During patent examination the pending claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable medium (also called machine readable medium and other such variations) typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media, particularly when the specification is silent. See MPEP 2111.01. When the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim covers a signal per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter. Transitory embodiments are not directed to statutory subject matter.
The USPTO recognizes that applicants may have claims directed to computer readable media that cover signals per se, which the USPTO must reject under 35 U.S.C. 101 as covering both non-statutory subject matter and statutory subject matter. In an effort to assist the patent community in overcoming a rejection or potential rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 in this situation, the USPTO suggests the following approach. A claim drawn to such a computer readable medium that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 by adding the limitation “non-transitory” to the claim. Therefore, Applicant should amend the claim 26 to recite for example, A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having program code embodied therewith,….”.
Such an amendment would typically not raise the issue of new matter, even when the specification is silent, because the broadest reasonable interpretation relies on the ordinary and customary meaning that includes signals per se. The limited situations in which such an amendment could raise issues of new matter occur, for example, when the specification does not support a non-transitory embodiment because a signal per se is the only viable embodiment such that the amended claim is impermissibly broadened beyond the supporting disclosure.
Accordingly, appropriate correction is earnestly requested.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101. The subject matter of claim 27 raises the same eligibility issues discussed above with respect to claim 25 under the “computer program” section. Accordingly, the rejection of claim 25 is incorporated herein by reference and applies equally to claim 27.
Accordingly, appropriate correction is earnestly requested.
Examiner notes wherein the claims have been addressed below, in view of the prior art of record, as best understood by the Examiner considering the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, the 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, and the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections provided herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, and 24-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Russell et al (US 10,037,029 – From IDS), “Russell”.
Regarding claims 16, 25-29, Russell discloses a method for transporting items in an intralogistics system using autonomous mobile robots (see figure 1: mobile robotic devices RD 130-146 – see col. 1, lines 28-36 disclosing Mobile robotic devices can be used in a number of different environments to accomplish a variety of tasks. For example, mobile robotic devices can deliver items, such as parts or completed products, within indoor environments, such as warehouses, hospitals and/or data centers. When mobile robotic devices are deployed, they can use one or more possible paths to and from delivery and/or other locations. These paths can be determined using one or more route planning algorithms.) or automatically guided vehicles, each capable of transporting one item in a transport circuit of said system (see col. 6, lines 29-33 disclosing Mobile robotic devices 130, 132, 134, 136, 138, 140, 142, 144, 146 can operate in environment 100. These tasks can include conveying material within environment 100; e.g., conveying material to and from warehouse area 110 and loading docks 120, 124, 126), the method comprising
a step of forming a convoy comprising at least two mobile robots traveling at the same speed at least along one section of said circuit, wherein said convoy formation step is performed in a so-called introduction section and comprises defining a grid of theoretical positions, each of which can be occupied by an autonomous mobile robot (see col. 12, lines 10-21A disclosing a model of a convoy of robotic devices following along an edge can be generated by representing the starting, central, and/or ending locations of convoy and, if necessary, the velocity of the leading robotic device in the convoy—the other robotic devices are instructed to follow, and so will either follow at the same velocity as the leading robotic device or will fall behind. If the one or more robotic devices follow a leading robotic device at the same velocity (e.g., to form a convoy), the following robotic device(s) can be each instructed to follow a preceding robotic device while keeping at least a minimum following distance between the following robotic device (i.e., itself) and the preceding robotic device.),
said grid comprising a plurality of parallel tracks and a plurality of successive parallel ranks crossing said tracks and forming an angle different from zero therewith, the convoy comprising two or more robots of different ranks positioned in such a way that two robots of successive ranks of the same track are spaced apart by a predetermined minimum distance (d) (see col. 4, lines 16-23 disclosing The roadmap can be considered to have two types of regions: edge interaction regions (EIRs), or regions having or otherwise related to multiple edges; i.e., areas at or near intersections, and edge non-interaction regions (ENRs), or regions not having related to multiple edges. Example edge interaction regions can include areas at or near intersections and areas where two or more edges are close to each other but may not intersect ( e.g., regions with close parallel lines.).
Regarding claim 24, Russell discloses, wherein the convoy is spaced apart from a following convoy by a predetermined safety distance (see col. 7, lines 46-53 disclosing To determine whether a robotic device is proximate to another robotic device and so may have an interaction with another robotic device, a comparison of distance between robotic devices to a threshold distance (e.g., 5 meters, 10 feet, 3*the maximum stopping distance of a robotic device). If the distance between robotic devices is within the threshold distance, the two robotic devices can be considered to be proximate.).
Regarding claim 25, Russell discloses a computer program comprising instructions for carrying out the method according to claim 16 (see figures 7A-7B showing program storage devices).
Regarding claim 26, Russell discloses a computer-readable medium comprising a computer program according to claim 25 (see figures 7A-7B showing program storage devices – cluster storage devices).
Regarding claim 27, Russell discloses an intralogistics transport system comprising: a plurality of autonomous mobile robots or automatically guided vehicles, each capable of transporting one object, - a ground transport circuit where the autonomous mobile robots/automatically guided vehicles can circulate, and - a computer program, according to claim 25 (see rejection of claims 1 and 25 above).
Regarding claim 28, Russell discloses a facility for sorting items comprising a sorting area and a transport system according to claim 27 (see figure 1 and 4A showing the warehouse 110 and convoy 402).
Regarding claim 29, Russell discloses an automatic item storage facility (warehouse 110), comprising an item storage area having a plurality of storage levels and raising and lowering means connecting said levels; said facility further comprises a transport system according to claim 27 (see figure 1 and 4A showing the warehouse 110 and convoy 402).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-23 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record does not disclose the combination of limitations found in dependent claims 17-23. The combination of the claimed limitations are novel and found to be allowable over the prior art. The cited references taken singly or in combination do not anticipate or make obvious the Applicant's claimed invention. A hypothetical prior art rejection would require impermissible hindsight reasoning.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached form PTO-892.
-. US 6904335 to Solomon – directed to system of self-organizing mobile robotic agents (MRAs) in a multi-robotic system (MRS) is disclosed. MRAs cooperate, learn and interact with the environment. The system uses various AI technologies including genetic algorithms, genetic programming and evolving artificial neural networks to develop emergent dynamic behaviors.
-. US 12280781 to Chen et al – directed to method for controlling a plurality of autonomous mobile robots (AMRs) in a manufacturing environment having an intersection includes obtaining a plurality of routes associated with the plurality of AMRs, velocity information associated with the plurality of AMRs.
-. US 11709502 to Kichkaylo – directed to Apparatus and methods related to routing robots are provided. A roadmap of an environment that includes first and second robots can be received.
/JAIME FIGUEROA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656