DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-14 are pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 6/2/26 is acknowledged.
Claim 15 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to the nonelected species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The language is indefinite because the limitation “sweat sensitive area” does not definitively state what the limitation refers to. Any skin areas could be considered sweat-sensitive. All structural elements of the invention must be clearly and consistently identified and positively recited in the claim language. For purposes of examination we are interpreting the limitation to mean “any area of skin on the wearer”. Appropriate clarification is required.
Any remaining claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph as being dependent from a rejected base claim.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke § 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke § 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
In the instant case there does not appear to be any means for language in the claims and/or language to be considered under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 AIA
a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 9, 10, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Diaz US 20170119063 A1 (herein after Diaz).
.
Regarding claim 1, Diaz discloses a functional bra (Abstract, as seen in annotated Figure 17 and 18), comprising: a front section shaped to cover at least a portion of a chest area of a wearer (as seen in annotated Figure 17 and 18), including a pair of cup portions (as seen in annotated Figure 17 and 18) shaped to accommodate respective ones of breasts of the wearer (as seen in annotated Figure 17 and 18), and a back section (as seen in annotated Figure 17 and 18) shaped to cover at least a portion of a back of the wearer (as seen in annotated Figure 17 and 18), wherein at least one of the cup portions (as seen in annotated Figure 17 and 18), and the back section is formed from knit fabric (Abstract, as seen in annotated Figure 17 and 18) with different knit structures representing zones of different breathability (paragraph 0003 and 0065) including at least a cool zone (as seen in annotated Figure 17 and 18) and a support zone (as seen in annotated Figure 17 and 18), wherein the cool zone is adapted to cover a sweat-sensitive area on skin of a wearer (as seen in annotated Figure 18), and has a different knit structure than the support zone with a higher breathability (paragraph 0099).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Front section)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Back section)][AltContent: textbox (Cup portions)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Support zone)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Cool zone)][AltContent: oval]
Regarding claim 2, Diaz discloses wherein the knit fabric is fabricated from a single yarn composed of a stretchable material (paragraph 0040), the stretchable material being a blend of polyester and elastane or polyamide and elastane (paragraph 0087).
Regarding claim 5, Diaz discloses wherein the knit structure of the cool zone (as seen in annotated Figure 18) has a wider or coarser mesh than the support zone (paragraph 0111), leading to larger meshes for air passage in the cool zone (372, as seen in annotated Figure 18, paragraph 0099) and a better support of the support zone (as seen in annotated Figure 18).
Regarding claim 8, Diaz discloses wherein the cool zone (as seen in annotated Figure 18) is at least partially enclosed by the support zone (as seen in annotated Figure 18).
Regarding claim 9, Diaz discloses, wherein the cool zone (paragraph 0099, as seen in Figure 18) is adapted to cover at least a portion of a thoracic spine area (as seen in Figure 18) and an upper or lower edge area of the breast (E- paragraph 0065, as seen in Figure 4 – section E includes a pattern of dropped stitches that allow for air permeability and as such better ventilation at the lower central region of the breasts).
Regarding claim 10, Diaz discloses wherein the cool zone is provided on the cup portions and extends at least one of: partially along a pair of neckline portions of respective ones of the cup portions, wherein the neckline portions continuously transition into each other, and partially along a pair of lower edge portions of respective ones of the cup portions; and/or wherein the cool zone is provided on the back section (as seen in annotated Figure 17 and 18 of Diaz) and extends at least partially along a thoracic spine portion of the back section (as seen in annotated Figure 17 and 18 of Diaz).
Regarding claim 11, Diaz discloses wherein the functional bra is composed of the knit fabric as a single layer (paragraph 0093 and 0096).
Regarding claim 14, Diaz discloses a pair of shoulder portions (as seen in annotated Figure 17 and 18) extending between respective ones of cup portions (as seen in annotated Figure 17 and 18) and the back section (as seen in annotated Figure 17 and 18) and adapted to extend over respective ones of shoulders of the wearer (as seen in annotated Figure 17 and 18), and/or a midriff portion which underlies the cup portions and is adapted to extend at least partially around a portion of a wearer (as seen in annotated Figure 17 and 18), and/or an opposed pair of side sections extending between the front section (as seen in annotated Figure 17 and 18) and the back section (as seen in annotated Figure 17 and 18) and shaped to cover at least a portion of respective ones of sides under arms of the wearer (as seen in annotated Figure 17 and 18).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Cup portion)][AltContent: textbox (Shoulder portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Side portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Back portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Midriff portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 AIA
Claims 3, 4 and 6, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diaz US 20170119063 A1 (herein after Diaz).
Regarding claim 3, the functional bra of Diaz discloses all the limitations of claim 3 except Diaz does not disclose wherein the knit fabric is composed of a blend including 80 to 98% polyamide/nylon and an inversely corresponding percentage of elastane/spandex.
Diaz discloses wherein the knit fabric is composed of a blend including polyamide/nylon and elastane/spandex (paragraph 0087 of Diaz).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the invention to have constructed bra being made of a material with a percentage of polyamide/nylon being between 80- 98%, and the percentage of elastane/spandex being between 20-2%, proportionally to the polyamide/nylon, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges that would be discovered through routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, would be deemed through routine experimentation and as such is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions. See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007). Constructing the bra being made of a material with a percentage of polyamide/nylon being between 80- 98%, and the percentage of elastane/spandex being between 20-2%, proportionally to the polyamide/nylon, would provide necessary support and elasticity to the bra to ensure comfort for the wearer.
Regarding claim 4, the modified functional bra of Diaz discloses all the limitations of claim 4 and further teaches wherein the functional bra further comprises a midriff portion (as seen in annotated Figures 17 and 18), which underlies the cup portions (as seen in annotated Figures 17 and 18) and is adapted to extend at least partially around a portion of a torso under the breast of the wearer (as seen in annotated Figures 17 and 18), and is formed from knit fabric (as seen in annotated Figures 17 and 18) composed of a blend including polyamide/nylon and an inversely corresponding percentage of elastane/spandex (paragraph 0087), however, Diaz does not disclose thebra being made of a material with a percentage of polyamide/nylon being between 70-95%, and the percentage of elastane/spandex being between 30-5%%, inversely proportional to the polyamide/nylon.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the invention to have constructed bra being made of a material with a percentage of polyamide/nylon being between 70-95%, and the percentage of elastane/spandex being between 30-5%%, proportionally to the polyamide/nylon, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges that would be discovered through routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, would be deemed through routine experimentation and as such is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions. See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007). Constructing the bra being made of a material with a percentage of polyamide/nylon being between 70-95%, and the percentage of elastane/spandex being between 30-5%, proportionally to the polyamide/nylon, would provide necessary support and elasticity to the bra to ensure comfort for the wearer.
Regarding claim 6, the modified functional bra of Diaz discloses all the limitations of claim 6 and further teaches wherein the volumetric mass density of the knit fabric in the cool zone is lower than in the support zone (paragraph 0063 – Diaz teaches the knit structures and stitch density being varied throughout the garment the cool zone includes patterns that are more open, the support zones having less stretch having less resilience or openess), however, Diaz does not disclose the bra having a knitted cool zone with a volumetric mass density that is about 1,5 to 20 times lower than the support zone.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the invention to have constructed bra having a knitted cool zone with a volumetric mass densitythat is about 1,5 to 20 times lower than the support zone, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges that would be discovered through routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, would be deemed through routine experimentation and as such is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions. See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007). Constructing the bra having a knitted cool zone with a volumetric mass density that is about 1, 5 to 20 times lower than the support zone would make the material in the cool zones lighter, improve its breathability and ultimately make the bra more comfortable to wear.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diaz US 20170119063 A1
(herein after Diaz) in view of Gunasekara WO 2022035381 A1 (herein after Gunasekara).
Regarding claim 7 the functional bra of Diaz discloses all the limitations of 7 except Diaz does not disclose wherein the knit structure of the cool zone is at least one of a jacquard knit and an open knit mesh and/or wherein the knit structure of the support zone is a jersey knit.
Gunasekara teaches wherein the knit structure of the cool zone is at least one of a jacquard knit and an open knit mesh (Page 2, lines 8-13) and/or wherein the knit structure of the support zone is a jersey knit (Page 40, lines 9-14).
Diaz and Gunasekara are analogous art to the claimed invention in that they relate to ventilated support bras.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the invention to have modified the material of Diaz by constructing the knit structure of the cool zone being at least one of a jacquard knit and an open knit mesh and/or wherein the knit structure of the support zone is a jersey knit as taught by Gunasekara, in order to be able to vary the stiches and patterns creating areas of lesser density stitches and areas of greater stitch density. The modification would be a simple modification to create a garment that had different properties in different areas, such as a more open pattern allowing for air to pass through an area with higher stich density allowing for less stretch and greater rigidity hence better support.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diaz US 20170119063 A1
(herein after Diaz) in view of Sze US 20160360801 A1 (herein after Sze).
Regarding claim 10 the functional bra of Diaz discloses all the limitations of 10 and further discloses the cool zone is provided on the back section (as seen in annotated Figure 17 and 18 of Diaz) and extends at least partially along a thoracic spine portion of the back section (as seen in annotated Figure 17 and 18 of Diaz) however, Diaz does not disclose wherein the cool zone is provided on the cup portions and extends at least one of: partially along a pair of neckline portions of respective ones of the cup portions, wherein the neckline portions continuously transition into each other, and partially along a pair of lower edge portions of respective ones of the cup portions.
Sze teaches wherein the cool zone is provided on the cup portions (as seen in annotated Figure 1) and extends at least one of: partially along a pair of neckline portions of respective ones of the cup portions (as seen in annotated Figure 1), wherein the neckline portions continuously transition into each other (as seen in annotated Figure 1), and partially along a pair of lower edge portions of respective ones of the cup portions (as seen in annotated Figure 1).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Cool zone)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Cup portion)][AltContent: oval]
Diaz and Sze are analogous art to the claimed invention in that they relate to ventilated support bras.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the invention to have modified the configuration of the bra of Diaz by constructing the cool zone being on the cup portions and extending at least one of: partially along a pair of neckline portions of respective ones of the cup portions, wherein the neckline portions continuously transition into each other, and partially along a pair of lower edge portions of respective ones of the cup portions as taught by Sze, in order to better ventilate the bra top. The modification would be a simple modification to, make the garment more comfortable to wear, reduce perspiration and ensure the wearer could comfortably wear the garment for extended periods of time.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diaz US 20170119063 A1 (herein after Diaz) in view of Gaudet US 20050255789 A1 (herein after Gaudet).
Regarding claim 12, the functional bra of Diaz discloses all the limitations of claim 12 and further discloses wherein the functional bra comprises a double layer of knit fabric (paragraph 0027) disposed to overlap the front section (as seen in Figure 22, paragraph 0102), wherein the layers are composed of the same material (paragraph 0078) and knit structure (paragraph 0078), however Diaz does not disclose wherein the layers may define a cavity for receiving a foam cup.
Gaudet teaches wherein the layers may define a cavity (Abstract, paragraph 0008, as seen in Figures 3 and 4) for receiving a foam cup (Abstract).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Foam pad with ventilation openings.)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Gaudet is analogous art to the claimed invention in that it relates to ventilated support bras.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the invention to have modified the bra top of Diaz by constructing the layers having a cavity for receiving a foam cup as taught by Gaudet, in order to provide more support for the breast and better fit and placement of the cup portion. The modification would be a simple modification to ensure the garment provided shape and support to the breast.
Regarding claim 13, the modified functional bra of the combined references discloses wherein the functional bra comprises a foam cup between the layers (Abstract, paragraph 0008, as seen in Figures 3 and 4 of Gaudet), wherein the foam cup is provided with ventilation elements (38, Abstract, paragraph 0008, as seen in Figures 3 and 4 of Gaudet) for enhanced breathability (Abstract, paragraph 0008, as seen in Figures 3 and 4 of Gaudet).
Conclusion
/Catherine M. Ferreira/
Examiner, Art Unit 3732
/ALISSA J TOMPKINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3732