DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 13 should recite “…decreasing its volume
Claim 7 line 1 should uncapitalize “Claim” to be consistent with the structure of the other claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 2 recites the broad recitation “…the volume of the urine collection bottle (6) in an unsqueezed state is in the range from 2 to 3.5 litres…” in lines 1-2, and the claim also recites “…preferably about 2.7 litres…” in line 3 which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. Claim 2 additionally recites “…the volume of the urine collection bottle (6) in a squeezed state is in the range from 1 to 1.9 litres…” in lines 3-4 and recites “…preferably about 1.5 litres…” in line 4 which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the features introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the cap" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (CN 105596137 B) in view of Steer (US 4714465 A) and Meador (US 5409117 A).
Regarding claim 1, Gao teaches a urine collection device comprising:
- a pouch [Fig. 1 Item 3], where the pouch comprises a pouch hole [see Fig. 1, the opening is above Item 1, where Item 11 is shown entering through into Item 3, see also machine translation page 3 lines 17-20 “…the urinary body is placed on the genital of the user, and the coronary groove fixing portion 2 is fixed at the coronary groove, the socket portion 1 is deployed upward, and the bottom of the urination portion 3 is fitted to the glans, and the gas injection joint 6 is injected. Injecting air into the air chamber 5, so that the soft covering sleeve 4 is completely covered on the genitals”] for receiving urine [see machine translation page 3 line 20 “…sleeve 4 is completely covered on the genitals, and the urinum body is completely fixed; after the user urinates…”], and a urine outlet opening [see examiner Figure 1 below for interpretation of the urine outlet opening] for removing urine from the pouch [see machine translation page 3 ln. 22 “…the generated pressure discharges the urine in the urination part 3 into the urine collecting bottle 7…”], wherein the urine outlet opening is provided with a valve [Fig. 1 Item 8] for closing and opening of the urostomy pouch [The examiner notes that the “valve” in Gao is disclosed as a “check valve” (see machine translation pave 3 ln. 33), which opens the system whenever the cracking pressure has been reached and closes the system whenever the pressure falls below the cracking pressure”],
- a flexible tube [see examiner figure 1 below] comprising a first [see examiner figure 1 below] and a second ends [see examiner figure 1 below], where the first end of the flexible tube is connected to the opening of the pouch [see examiner figure 1 below, the examiner notes the “tube” is connected to the “opening” of the pouch through Item 8],
- a urine collection bottle [Fig. 1 Item 7] comprising a bottle hole [see Fig. 1, the “hole” extends through Item 16, see also machine translation page 3 ln. 22 “…the generated pressure discharges the urine in the urination part 3 into the urine collecting bottle 7…”] configured to be connected to the second end of the flexible tube [see examiner figure 1 below, the examiner notes the “tube” is connected to the “bottle hole” through Item 16] in such a manner that a sealed fluid communication is provided between the urostomy pouch and the urine collection bottle [The examiner notes that the system of Gao requires pressure to push the urine into the “bottle” from the “pouch”. Thus, if the system was not sealed, pressure would not build and the system of Gao would not function.], in result of which urine released by a user of the device is forcibly transferred from the pouch via flexible tube to the urine collection bottle [see machine translation page 3 ln. 22 “…the generated pressure discharges the urine in the urination part 3 into the urine collecting bottle 7…”].
Gao teaches a pouch, but fails to explicitly teach the pouch is a urostomy pouch.
Steer teaches a urostomy pouch [col. 1 ln. 46 “urostomy applicance”, see also Figs. 1 and 2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Gao and incorporate the teachings of Steer to include the pouch is a urostomy pouch. Doing so configures the system to collect urine from a patient that passes urine through a stoma instead of through the genitals.
Gao teaches a urine collection bottle [Fig. 1 Item 7], but fails to explicitly teach the bottle comprises a corrugated wall formed such as to provide that said urine collection bottle is squeezable, decreasing its volume allowing to create a negative pressure within the urostomy pouch, the flexible tube and the squeezed urine collection bottle.
Meador teaches the bottle comprises a corrugated wall [see Figs. 19a-c, lateral edges of Item 14] formed such as to provide that said bottle is squeezable [col. 7 lns. 41-42 “…closure base 82 is pushed toward floor 14 of container 12b”], decreasing its volume allowing to create a negative pressure within the urostomy pouch, the flexible tube and the squeezed urine collection bottle [col. 7 lns. 54-56 “…a negative (or if already negative, a more negative) intra-container pressure is induced relative to the ambient pressure…”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Gao and incorporate the teachings of Meador to include the bottle comprises a corrugated wall formed such as to provide that said urine collection bottle is squeezable, decreasing its volume allowing to create a negative pressure within the urostomy pouch, the flexible tube and the squeezed urine collection bottle. Doing so configures the system to provide an accessible means to create a negative-pressure environment to move the urine from one location to another.
Examiner Figure 1
Regarding claim 5, Gao, Steer, and Meador teach a method of use of the urine collection device according to claim 1 comprising the following steps:
- squeezing [Meador col. 7 lns. 41-42 “…closure base 82 is pushed toward floor 14 of container 12b”] the urine collection bottle [Gao Fig. 1 Item 7] using the corrugated wall of the urine collection bottle [see Meador Figs. 19a-c, lateral edges of Item 14];
- connecting the squeezed urine collection bottle to the urostomy pouch [Gao Fig. 1 Item 3 modified by Steer col. 1 ln. 46 “urostomy applicance”, see also Figs. 1 and 2] via the flexible tube [see examiner Figure 1 above] creating fluidly connected and from environment sealed system of the urostomy pouch, the flexible tube, and the urine collection bottle [The examiner notes that the system of Gao requires pressure to push the urine into the “bottle” from the “pouch”. Thus, if the system was not sealed, pressure would not build and the system of Gao would not function.], and maintaining an air pressure in the urine collection bottle, the flexible tube, and the urostomy pouch that is lower than an air pressure of surrounding environment [Meador col. 7 lns. 54-56 “…a negative (or if already negative, a more negative) intra-container pressure is induced relative to the ambient pressure…”].
Regarding claim 6, Gao, Steer, and Meador teach the method according to claim 5 further comprising the steps of:
- keeping the valve [Gao Fig. 1 Item 8] of the urostomy pouch in a closed state [the “valve” of Gao is a check valve, which remains closed until a cracking pressure is reached], when the squeezed urine collection bottle is connected to the to the urostomy pouch through the flexible tube [see examiner figure 1 above]; and
- opening the valve of the urostomy pouch when the squeezed urine collection bottle is connected to the urostomy pouch via the flexible tube [Gao page 3 ln. 22 “…the generated pressure discharges the urine in the urination part 3 into the urine collecting bottle 7…”, the examiner notes the fluid could not move if valve (Gao Fig. 1 Item 8) was not open], and Meador teaches maintaining the air pressure in the urine collection bottle, the flexible tube, and the urostomy pouch that is lower than the air pressure of the surrounding environment [Meador col. 7 lns. 54-56 “…a negative (or if already negative, a more negative) intra-container pressure is induced relative to the ambient pressure…”].
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao, Steer, and Meador as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Daugirdas (US 20040181171 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Gao, Steer, and Meador teach the urine collection device according to claim 1, wherein Gao teaches the urine collection bottle, but fails to explicitly teach the volume of the urine collection bottle (6) in an unsqueezed state is in the range from 2 to 3.5 litres, preferably about 2.7 litres, and the volume of the urine collection bottle (6) in a squeezed state is in the range from 1 to 1.9 litres, preferably about 1.5 litres. Upon review of the disclosure, the range of 2 to 3.5 litres, preferably about 2.7 litres uncompressed and 1 to 1.9 litres, preferably about 1.5 litres compressed not stated as critical or important (see par. 012).
However, Daugirdas teaches a similar system in the same field of endeavor utilizing a urine container with a volume from 1 to 2 liters of fluid.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the filing date of the invention to adjust the volume to an optimal range/value, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. See MPEP 2144.05.II. The Examiner notes that a particular parameter must be recognized as a result effective variable, in this case, that parameter is volume which achieves the recognized result of optimizing the amount of urine to safely and comfortably contain while also providing enough volume to create a negative pressure to move the specimen, therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the filing date of the invention would have found the claimed range through routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See also In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claims 3-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao, Steer, and Meador as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Greensmith (GB 2223681 A).
Regarding claim 3, Gao, Steer, and Meador teach the urine collection device according to claim 1, wherein the bottle hole [see Gao Fig. 1, the “hole” extends through Item 16, see also machine translation page 3 ln. 22 “…the generated pressure discharges the urine in the urination part 3 into the urine collecting bottle 7…”] of the urine collection bottle [Gao Fig. 1 Item 7] and the second end of the flexible tube [see examiner figure 1 above] comprise a connector [Gao Fig. 1 Item 16] allowing the second end of the flexible tube to be attached to the bottle hole of the urine collection bottle [see Gao Fig. 1 and examiner Figure 1], completely isolating said urine collection bottle from the surrounding environment [The examiner notes that the system of Gao requires pressure to push the urine into the “bottle” from the “pouch”. Thus, if the system was not sealed, pressure would not build and the system of Gao would not function.], but fails explicitly to teach the connection is threaded.
Greensmith teaches the connection is threaded [Greensmith Fig. 1 Item 6, see also page 1 “The attachment consists of a plastic connection between the open exit of the ostomy bag and a plastic/polythene flexible tube of suitable length, which is attached via a screw connector to a plastic/polythene container”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the teachings of Gao, Steer, and Meador with the teachings of Greensmith to include the connection is threaded. Doing so removably secures the tube to the urine collection bottle in a desired manner to enable the uncoupling of components for cleaning/cheaper replacement as well as secure connection during use to prevent unwanted uncoupling of the components.
Regarding claim 4, Gao, Steer, Meador, and Greensmith teach the urine collection device according to claim 3, wherein the device comprises a cap [Greensmith Fig. 1 Item 7] attached to the second end of the flexible tube [see examiner Figure 1] and adapted to be screwed [Greensmith Fig. 1 Item 9, see also Greensmith page 1 “The attachment consists of a plastic connection between the open exit of the ostomy bag and a plastic/polythene flexible tube of suitable length, which is attached via a screw connector to a plastic/polythene container”] onto the bottle hole of the urine collection bottle [Gao Fig. 1 Item 7].
Regarding claim 7, Gao, Steer, and Meador teach the method according to Claim 5, wherein the step of connecting the squeezed urine collection bottle [Gao Fig. 1 Item 7] to the urostomy pouch [Gao Fig. 1 Item 3 modified by Steer col. 1 ln. 46 “urostomy applicance”, see also Figs. 1 and 2] via the flexible tube [see examiner figure 1 above] by a connector [Gao Fig. 1 Item 16], but fails to explicitly teach the connection is performed by screwing the cap of the flexible tube onto the bottle hole of the squeezed urine collection bottle.
Greensmith teaches the connection is performed by screwing [page 1 “The attachment consists of a plastic connection between the open exit of the ostomy bag and a plastic/polythene flexible tube of suitable length, which is attached via a screw connector to a plastic/polythene container”] the cap [Fig. 1 Item 7] of the tube [Fig. 1 Item 5] onto the hole of the container [Fig. 1 Item 9].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the teachings of Gao, Steer, and Meador with the teachings of Greensmith to include the connection is performed by screwing the cap of the flexible tube onto the bottle hole of the squeezed urine collection bottle. Doing so removably secures the tube to the urine collection bottle in a desired manner to enable the uncoupling of components for cleaning/cheaper replacement as well as secure connection during use to prevent unwanted uncoupling of the components.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN M HANEY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3791