DETAILED ACTION
This non-final Office action is in response to the claims filed on February 12, 2025.
Status of claims: claims 1-10 are cancelled; claims 11-22 are hereby examined below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 12, 2025 was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Number 1 in Figure 1 is not identified in the specification. Correct the figures or amend the specification is suggested.
“Shading ad/or visibility protection element” recited in at least claim 11 isn’t identified in the figures
“Drive” recited in claim 13 isn’t illustrated in the figures.
“Body pillar trim” recited in claim 17 isn’t illustrated in the figures.
Claim Objections
Claims 19 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 19 and 20 – shouldn’t “bow” be replaced with something along the lines of rod since applicant’s element 91 appears more like a rod, than a bow and bow is not defined in applicant’s specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 202014103873U1.
DE 202014103873U1 discloses a motor vehicle, comprising:
a shading and/or visibility protection device for a rear window and a rear flap containing the rear window, the rear flap being pivotably secured to a body of the motor vehicle,
(see the last sentence of the paragraph below from the machine translation of DE 202014103873U1; see also the definition of tailgate below)
wherein the shading and/or visibility protection device comprises a shading and/or visibility protection element 106 which is displaceably arranged on the rear flap with respect to the rear window, and a lateral guide 116,118,152,110 provided for the shading and/or visibility protection element, the lateral guide being arranged on the body (see paragraph below as well as FIGS. 1 and 2). (claim 11)
TAILGATE definition and meaning | Collins English Dictionary
DE 202014103873U1 further discloses wherein the shading and/or visibility protection element for the rear window is a rollable web (see FIG. 2), a foldable web, a large number of shutter slats, or a displaceable plate element. (claim 12)
DE 202014103873U1 further discloses wherein the lateral guide comprises a drive for displacing the shading and/or visibility protection element, wherein the drive is an electric drive 110. (see FIG. 1) (claim 13)
DE 202014103873U1 further discloses wherein the shading and/or visibility protection element is displacable from below or from above relative to the rear window, and is secured at that location to the rear flap. (see FIG. 2; note the coil 112 positioned below the window and paragraph from the machine translation of DE 202014103873U1 above) (claim 14)
DE 202014103873U1 further discloses wherein the lateral guide is formed at both a left side and a right side of the body. (see FIG. 1 and paragraph from the machine translation of DE 202014103873U1 above) (claim 16)
DE 202014103873U1 further discloses wherein the lateral guide is arranged on a rearmost body pillar (“C-pillar” – see paragraph from the machine translation of DE 202014103873U1 above and FIGS. 1, 2 and 4) and is integrated in a body pillar trim. (claim 17)
DE 202014103873U1 further discloses wherein the lateral guide has a carrier 118 which, when the rear flap is closed, is configured for engagement with the shading and/or visibility protection element. (claim 18)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 202014103873U1, as applied to claim 11 above, in view of JP 2004314870.
DE 202014103873U1 fails to disclose wherein the shading and/or visibility protection element is integrated in a rear flap trim.
JP 2004314870 teaches of a shading and/or visibility protection element 1 integrated in a flap trim. (see Fig. 1)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the DE 202014103873U1 rear flap trim such that the shading and/or visibility protection element is integrated therewith, as taught by JP 2004314870 with a reasonable expectation of success for aesthetic reasons and to protect the shading and/or visibility protection element from dirt, debris, and water. (claim 15)
Claims 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 202014103873U1, as applied to claim 18 above, in view of US 8397788 to Weinbrenner et al. (hereinafter “Weinbrenner”)
DE 202014103873U1 fails to disclose wherein the engagement is with a transverse bow on the shading and/or visibility protection element.
Weinbrenner teaches of a transverse bow 22-24 on a shading and/or visibility protection element 15. (see col. 3)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify DE 202014103873U1 with a transverse bow, as taught by Weinbrenner with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow for any curvature and non-constant spacing between the lateral guides. (claim 19)
DE 202014103873U1, as applied above, further discloses wherein the transverse bow has a variable length in order to compensate for a non-constant spacing between the shading and/or visibility protection element and the lateral guide in a guiding direction. (see col. 3 of Weinbrenner, note that elements 23,24 telescope within element 22; see FIG. 2) (claim 20)
DE 202014103873U1, as applied above, further discloses wherein the engagement is carried out when the rear flap is being closed, or the engagement is carried out by a drive of the carrier only when the rear flap is closed. (Note, in this case, engagement is carried out when the rear flap is being closed.) (claim 21)
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 202014103873U1, as applied to claim 18 above, in view of US 5172745 to Wang.
DE 202014103873U1 discloses wherein, before the rear flap is opened, the shading and/or visibility protection element is displacable into a position of non-use
DE 202014103873U1 fails to disclose the displacement is automatic and the shading and/or visibility protection element is movable out of engagement with the lateral guide.
Wang teaches of automatic displacement of a shading and/or visibility protection element 31 and that the protection element is movable out of engagement with a lateral guide 2. (see col. 2 of Wang and FIG. 1)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the DE 202014103873U1 shading and/or visibility protection element with automatic displacement, as taught by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success in order to assist with rewinding of the shading and/or visibility protection element before opening of the rear flap; thus preventing damage to the shade and/or visibility protection device during opening of the rear flap. (claim 22)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Marcus Menezes/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634