DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed in the Information Disclosure Statement(s) filed on 2/12/2025 and 6/16/2026 have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449 form or PTO/SB/08A and 08B forms).
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 15-16, 23 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sahin et al. (US 2021/0111938, cited in an IDS, hereinafter “Sahin”).
Regarding claims 1, 15 and 30, Sahin discloses a wireless communication device (communications device 100, Figs. 1 and 2) for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory (memory 102, Fig 2); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory (processor 103 in operative communication with or embody the memory 102, para. 0080-0081), configured to:
generate a chirp signal associated with performing radio frequency (RF) sensing (chirp signals implemented for short-range wireless sensing, and simultaneous radar and communications, para. 0067),
wherein the chirp signal has a waveform that is compatible with a cyclic prefix (CP) orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) waveform used for communication (transmit plurality of chirp signals including a cyclic prefix via OFDM symbols, para. 0004-0009); and
transmit the chirp signal in association with performing RF sensing (transmit chirp signals, para. 0004; chirp signals applied for short range wireless sensing and radar applications, para. 0067).
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Sahin further discloses within one OFDM symbol, the chirp signal comprises a chirp and a CP comprising to the chirp (plurality of sequenced chip signals including a cyclic prefix, para. 0009).
Regarding claim 3, Sahin further discloses the chirp is a linear chirp (linear chirp transmissions, para. 0012).
Regarding claim 4, Sahin further discloses wherein a frequency of the chirp ramps up within the one OFDM symbol (up-chirp, para. 0005).
Regarding claims 9 and 23, Sahin further discloses within one OFDM symbol, the chirp signal comprises one or more chirps and one or more zero-padding portions (plurality of sequenced chirp signals via DFT-spreading scheme with OFDM, para. 0012, and zero padding in the DFT-s-OFDM symbol, para. 0132).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahin et al. (US 2021/0111938, cited in an IDS, hereinafter “Sahin”) in view of Ma et al. (US 2024/0396677).
Regarding claim 5, Sahin discloses everything applied to claim 2 above, but does not expressly disclose the chirp is a triangular chirp.
Ma et al. discloses a similar OFDM communication system that generates a transmission signal including both a communication signal and a sensing signal (para. 0004, 0032), wherein the sensing signals are composed of four sawtooth chirp signals within the time period of one symbol (para. 0061-0062, Fig. 5, sawtooth chirp signals are “triangular”).
Because both Sahin and Ma et al. disclose communication systems which transmit communication signals and sensing signals in a transmission signal, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the application was filed, to substitute one sensing chirp signal for another, for the predictable result of sending the four sawtooth chirp signals.
Regarding claim 6, Sahin discloses everything applied to claim 2 above, but does not expressly disclose the frequency of the chirp ramps up within the one OFDM symbol and ramps down within the one OFDM symbol.
Ma et al. discloses a similar OFDM communication system that generates a transmission signal including both a communication signal and a sensing signal (para. 0004, 0032), wherein the sensing signals are composed of four sawtooth chirp signals within the time period of one symbol (para. 0061-0062, Fig. 5, sawtooth chirp signals are “triangular” and ramp up and down within the same OFDM symbol time).
Because both Sahin and Ma et al. disclose communication systems which transmit communication signals and sensing signals in a transmission signal, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the application was filed, to substitute one sensing chirp signal for another, for the predictable result of sending the four sawtooth chirp signals that ramp up and down in the OFDM symbol time.
Regarding claim 8, Sahin discloses everything applied to claim 2 above, but does not expressly disclose the chirp includes multiple repetitions of a frequency pattern.
Ma et al. discloses a similar OFDM communication system that generates a transmission signal including both a communication signal and a sensing signal (para. 0004, 0032), wherein the sensing signals are composed of four sawtooth chirp signals within the time period of one symbol (para. 0061-0062, Fig. 5, sawtooth chirp signals are repeated 4 times).
Because both Sahin and Ma et al. disclose communication systems which transmit communication signals and sensing signals in a transmission signal, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the application was filed, to substitute one sensing chirp signal for another, for the predictable result of sending the 4 repeated sawtooth chirp signals.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 24-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/David S Huang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631 7/11/2026