DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claims 1-10 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Osborne et al (US 20020106622 A1) hereafter Osborne.
Regarding claim 1, Osborne teaches a portable electronic device comprising: a memory (Para 0050, the interactive program tabulates the section's results and stores the data in local memory at step 405) configured to be able to store a record in an activated state (Activate) and a record in a deactivated state (Deactivate) (Para 0061, a utility for viewing all active or all active and inactive records);and one or more processors coupled to the memory (Para 0020, a computer central processing unit) and configured to: search for, based on a search command input from an external device, a record corresponding to the search command from the records stored in the memory by including the record in the deactivated state (Deactivate) in a search target (Para 0061, a utility for performing searches according to predefined criteria, a utility for creating customized certification status reports, a utility for viewing all active or all active and inactive records); an output a search result corresponding to the searched record to the external device (Para 0063, a web page 504 that would be encountered if an administrator selected the custom report utility offered on web page 501).
Regarding claim 2, Osborne teaches the portable electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to output a search result corresponding to the record in the activated state (Activate) and a search result corresponding to the record in the deactivated state (Deactivate) as search results in a distinguishable manner (Para 0061, a utility for viewing all active or all active and inactive records, a utility allowing the administrator to manage the records, and a help utility).
Claim 5 is the method claim corresponding to the device claim 1, and is analyzed and rejected accordingly.
Claim 6 is the method claim corresponding to the device claim 2, and is analyzed and rejected accordingly.
Claim 9 is the product claim corresponding to the device claim 1, and is analyzed and rejected accordingly.
Claim 10 is the product claim corresponding to the device claim 2, and is analyzed and rejected accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osborne in view of Chen et al (US 20170161333 A1) hereafter Chen
Regarding claim 3, Osborne teaches the portable electronic device according to claim 1, as shown above. Osborne does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the search command includes, as a parameter, identification information for designating at least one of the record in the activated state (Activate) and the record in the deactivated state (Deactivate) as the search target.
In analogous art, Chen teaches wherein the search command includes, as a parameter, identification information for designating at least one of the record in the activated state (Activate) and the record in the deactivated state (Deactivate) as the search target (Para 0026, a search granularity status for a defined search granularity class can have an integrity status, pending status, or an inactive status). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Osbourne to include the teaching of Chen. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to implement this modification in order to provide search query granularity, as taught by Chen (Para 0002, A data synchronization stream of data records to generate a search index based on the one or more search granularity classes is indexed).
Regarding claim 4, Osborne in view of Chen teaches the portable electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the search command is capable of designating one file or a plurality of files including the record, as a parameter (Para 0013, a computer system, such as a managed file transfer (MFT) system, may receive a search request from a target computer system, where the target computer system is requesting near-real time access to data stored in one or more computer systems of the cloud environment, as well as near-real time access to data from a synchronization data stream). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Osbourne to include the teaching of Chen. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to implement this modification in order to provide search query granularity, as taught by Chen (Para 0002, A data synchronization stream of data records to generate a search index based on the one or more search granularity classes is indexed).
Claim 7 is the method claim corresponding to the device claim 3, and is analyzed and rejected accordingly.
Claim 8 is the method claim corresponding to the device claim 4, and is analyzed and rejected accordingly.
Conclusion
/B.T.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2166
/SANJIV SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2166