DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-8) in the reply filed on 11/24/2025 is acknowledged. Claim 9 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a linear movement device” in claim 1
“a first swinging device” in claim 1
“a second swinging device” in claim 5.
In this case, the linear movement device is interpreted as guide rails 41 & 42 and drive devices 43 and 44 which are a pair of air or hydraulic cylinders and the like according to [0025] or equivalent thereof.
The first swinging device is interpreted as a pair of first swinging members 33 and 34, which are separate members or an integrated member having a rectangular frame shape according to [0022] & [0024] and a pair of first drive devices 35 and 36 according to [0022] or equivalent thereof.
The second swinging device is interpreted as a second swinging member 51, and a pair of second drive devices 52 and 53 according to ([0042]) or equivalent thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “a first swinging device” in Claim 1 and “a second swinging device” in Claim 5 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification discloses “a first swinging device” in claim 1 as a pair of first swinging members which are either separate members or an integrated member having a rectangular frame shape according to [0022] & [0024] and the structure of a pair of first drive devices according to [0022]. However, it still fails to disclose structure that performs the function in the claim. Similarly, the specification discloses “a second swinging device” in claim 5 as a pair of second swinging and the structure of a pair of second drive devices according to [0042]. However, it still fails to describe structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Radowick (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2002/0073535).
Regarding Claim 1, Radowick teaches a device (Fig. 1A, 11) for attaching an aircraft engine (17A, 207) ([0067]: a left-hand tilt rotor nacelle carries a rotor engine. Furthermore, examiner notes that the claim language such as “for attaching an aircraft engine” is a statement of intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the structure of Radowick's device is clearly capable of performing the intended use. (see MPEP 2114)), the device comprising:
a linear movement device (Fig. 9, 171a, 171b, 179 & Fig. 11A, 191) configured to support a support frame (Fig. 1A, 15) for supporting an aircraft engine (17A, 207) along a horizontal direction to freely move along a movement direction (Fig. 1A, D) orthogonal to a rotation center axis (Fig. 17A, a rotation center axis of the nacelle (207) extends in a horizontal direction) of the aircraft engine ([0068]; A linear movement device supports a support frame (15) through a back plate component (201) having the support frame (15) mounted to a sliding plate component (191)) (Fig. 1A, the vertical movement direction D is perpendicular to the horizontal rotation center axis) (Examiner notes that the claim language such as “configured to support a support frame … of the aircraft engine” is a statement of intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the structure of Radowick's linear movement device is clearly capable of performing the intended use. (see MPEP 2114)); and
a first swinging device (Fig. 8, 125, 126 & Fig. 9, 175) configured to support the support frame (Fig. 1A, 15) to freely swing about a first center axis (Fig. 1A, axis of rotation E) parallel with the rotation center axis (Fig. 17A, a rotation center axis of the nacelle (207) extends in a horizontal direction which is parallel to E). (Examiner notes that the claim language such as “configured to support the support frame … the rotation center axis” is a statement of intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the structure of Radowick's first swinging device is clearly capable of performing the intended use. (see MPEP 2114))
Regarding Claim 2, Radowick teaches the device for attaching the aircraft engine according to claim 1, the device further comprising:
a traveling carrier (Fig. 19, 17), wherein
the first swinging device (Fig. 8, 125, 126 & Fig. 9, 175) is disposed on the traveling carrier (Fig. 19, 17, 61 & 91) (Fig. 8, the first swinging device is disposed on the traveling carrier through intermediate components such as 111), the first swinging device (Fig. 8, 125, 126 & Fig. 9, 175) supports the linear movement device (Fig. 9, 171a, 171b, 179, 191) (Fig. 12, the first swinging device supports the linear movement device through 161), and the linear movement device (Fig. 9, 171a, 171b, 179, 191) supports the support frame (Fig. 1A, 15) ([0068]: Attachment pads 221 allow back plate component 201 to be releasably coupled to sliding plate component 191.).
Regarding Claim 3, Radowick teaches the device for attaching the aircraft engine according to claim 2, wherein a pair of support members (Fig. 7A, 119 & 123) are disposed on one side and another side in a direction of the first center axis (Fig. 1A, axis of rotation E) of the traveling carrier (Fig. 19, 17, 61 & 91), a pair of first swinging members (Fig. 7A, 125) constituting the first swinging device (Fig. 8, 125, 126 & Fig. 9, 175) are supported by the pair of support members (Fig. 7A, 119 & 123) to freely swing ([0062]), and the linear movement device (Fig. 9, 171a, 171b, 179, 191) supports the support frame (Fig. 1A, 15) to freely move with respect to the pair of first swinging members (Fig. 8, 125, 126 & Fig. 9, 175) ([0065]).
Regarding Claim 4, Radowick teaches the device for attaching the aircraft engine according to claim 2,
wherein the traveling carrier (Fig. 19, 17, 61 & 91) includes at least three wheels (Fig. 19, 29) that is able to be steered ([0105]: four casters 29).
Regarding Claim 5, Radowick teaches the device for attaching the aircraft engine according to claim 1, the device further comprising:
a second swinging device (Fig. 13, 217) configured to support the support frame (Fig. 1A, 15) to freely swing about a second center axis (Fig. 13, 219) that is orthogonal to the first center axis (Fig. 1A, axis of rotation E) and runs along the horizontal direction ([0076]).
(Examiner notes that the claim language such as “configured to support the support frame … the horizontal direction” is a statement of intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the structure of Radowick's second swinging device is clearly capable of performing the intended use. (see MPEP 2114))
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcome the above 112(b) rejection.
Conclusion
/JUN S YOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726 6/2/2026