DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 02/12/2025 has been considered and made of record.
Oath/Declaration
The oath/declaration filed on 02/12/2025 is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. [US 2010/0033940], in view of Harrigan [US 2020/0344924].
Regarding claim 1, Yamaguchi et al. disclose an electronic control device (figures 1-9), comprising:
a first circuit board (7, figures 3a-3b and 5a-5b) and a second circuit board (7, figures 3a-3b and 5a-5b) disposed to face each other, where a gap (a space is between the first and second circuit boards 7 & 8, figures 3a-3b and 5a-5b) is provided between mounting surfaces, of respective ones of the first circuit board and the second circuit board, each mounted with an electronic component (electronic component(s) 15 and/or 16 mounted on the second circuit board 8, figures 5a-5b) and
a shield member (4a & 4b, figures 1 and 2a-2b) that is disposed in the gap between the first circuit board and the second circuit board and blocks a noise; and
a conductive member (3a-3h, figure 1-5a-5b) that connects the first circuit board and the second circuit board to the shield member,
wherein the shield member is a frame body (4a & 4b, figure 1) forming a closed path that surrounds an entire circumference of a periphery of the electronic components each mounted on one of the first circuit board and the second circuit board and that has a width corresponding to the gap (figures 1 and 5a-5b).
Yamaguchi et al., disclose the claimed invention except for an electronic component mounted on the first printed circuit board.
Harrigan discloses a shielded printed circuit board assembly (100, figures 1A-1B) comprising a first printed circuit board (104, figures 1A-1B) coupled to a second printed circuit board (102, figures 1A-1B) through a shielded member (106, figures 1A-1B), a plurality of electric components (108 & 118, figure 1A) are mounted on the second printed circuit board and a plurality of electric components ( 112, figure 1A) are mounted on the first printed circuit board (figure 1A).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to mount at least one electric component(s) on a first printed circuit board of Yamaguchi et al., as suggested by Harrigan, in order to improve fitting more parts into a tighter space of a compact electronic device.
Regarding claim 2, Yamaguchi et al., in view of Harrigan, further disclose wherein the conductive member includes:
a first conductive member (5a, figures 2a, 3a and 5a) that connects a first end surface, on a side of the first circuit board of the shield member to the mounting surface of the first circuit board; and
a second conductive member (5b, figures 2a, 3a and 5a) that connects a second end surface, on a side of the second circuit board, of the shield member to the mounting surface of the second circuit board, a plurality of the first conductive members (3a-3h, figure 1-5a-5b) are arranged along the first end surface at distances less than or equal to a half of a wavelength of an electromagnetic wave constituting the noise or at distances less than or equal to a quarter of the wavelength, and a plurality of the second conductive members are arranged along the second end surface at distances less than or equal to a half of the wavelength or at distances less than or equal to a quarter of the wavelength.
Regarding claim 3, Yamaguchi et al., in view of Harrigan, further disclose wherein the first conductive members are connected to a ground (9 and/or 11, figure 3a-3b and 5a-5b, paragraph 0036) provided on the first circuit board, and the second conductive members are connected to a ground (10 and/or 12, figures 3a-3b and 5a-5b; paragraph 0036) provided on the second circuit board.
Regarding claim 4, Yamaguchi et al., disclosed claimed invention except for wherein the shield member is formed of aluminum, copper, carbon fiber, a conductive resin, or a material in which a surface of a non-conductive material is coated with a conductive resin.
Harrigan further discloses wherein the shield member is formed of aluminum (paragraph 0028).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use aluminum material to make a shield member in an electronic control device of Yamaguchi et al., as suggested by Harrigan, in order to provide a high strength-to-weight ratio for a shield member in a control device.
Regarding claim 12, Yamaguchi et al., in view of Harrigan, further disclose a spacer (1, figures 2b, 3b and 5b) that maintains the gap between the first circuit board and the second circuit board, wherein the spacer is fixed to the shield member.
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al., in view of Harrigan, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fujiwara et al. [US 20210014994], and Lindstedt et al. [US 2022/0046809].
Regarding claim 5, Yamaguchi et al., in view of Harrigan, disclose the claimed invention except for a heat dissipation plate disposed, inside the shield member, between the electronic component mounted on the first circuit board and the electronic component mounted on the second circuit board; and heat dissipation materials in contact with the electronic components and the heat dissipation plate; and a housing that accommodates the first circuit board, the second circuit board, the shield member, the conductive members, the heat dissipation plate, and the heat dissipation materials; and a heat sink provided outside the housing, wherein the heat dissipation plate is connected to the heat sink through or via the shield member and the housing.
Fujiwara et al., disclose an electronic control device (100, figures 6 and 14) comprising a heat dissipation plate (31, figure 6) disposed, inside a shield member (20, figure 6), between an electronic component (22, figure 6) mounted on a first circuit board (17, figure 6) and an electronic component (23, figure 6) mounted on a second circuit board (18, figure 14); and heat dissipation materials (34, figure 6) in contact with the electronic components and the heat dissipation plate; and a housing (16 & 21, figure 6) that accommodates the first circuit board, the second circuit board, the shield member, the conductive members, the heat dissipation plate, and the heat dissipation materials (figures 6 and 14).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add a heat dissipation plate disposed inside a shield member of a control device of Yamaguchi et al., in view of Harrigan, as suggested by Fujiwara et al., in order to conduct thermal energy away from components on multiple circuit boards of a control device.
Lindstedt et al., disclose an electronic device (figures 1-7A-7B) comprising at least one heat sink (174, figure 7A, paragraph 0050) mounted outside a housing and a heat dissipation plate (a carrier 133, figure 7A) is connected to the heat sink through a housing (135, figure 7A).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add an external heat sink connected a heat dissipation plate of a control device of Yamaguchi et al., in view of Harrigan, and Fujiwara et al., as suggested by Lindstedt et al., in order to conduct heat away from a control device.
Regarding claim 6, Yamaguchi et al., in view of Harrigan, and Lindstedt et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the heat dissipation plate includes: a first base projecting toward the electronic component mounted on the first circuit board; and a second base projecting toward the electronic component mounted on the second circuit board, and the heat dissipation materials fill a space between the electronic component mounted on the first circuit board and the first base and a space between the electronic component mounted on the second circuit board and the second base.
Fujiwara et al., further disclose wherein the heat dissipation plate includes a first base (a top member 34, figure 6) projecting toward the electronic component mounted on the first circuit board; and a second base (a bottom member 34, figure 6) projecting toward the electronic component mounted on the second circuit board, and the heat dissipation materials fill a space between the electronic component mounted on the first circuit board and the first base and a space between the electronic component mounted on the second circuit board and the second base (figure 6).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add a first base and a second base between a heat dissipation plate and a plurality of components of the first and second circuit boards in a control device of Yamaguchi et al., in view of Harrigan, and Lindstedt et al., as suggested by Fujiwara et al., in order to absorb heat from components cross multiple circuit boards and transfer it to a heat dissipation plate of a control device.
Regarding claim 7, Yamaguchi et al., in view of Harrigan, and Fujiwara et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the heat sink includes a plurality of fins that extend, regardless of an installation posture of the housing, along a gravity direction and are arranged to be spaced from each other in a horizontal direction.
Lindstedt et al., further disclose wherein the heat sink includes a plurality of fins (174, figure 7A) that extend, regardless of an installation posture of the housing, along a gravity direction and are arranged to be spaced from each other in a horizontal direction (figures 2A-2B, 3A-3B and 4A).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a heat sink including a plurality of fins thereon on a control device of Yamaguchi et al., in view of Harrigan, and Fujiwara et al., as suggested by Lindstedt et al., in order to rapidly transfer and dissipate heat away from a control device.
Regarding claim 8, Yamaguchi et al., in view of Fujiwara et al., disclosed the claimed invention except for wherein each of the shield members, the heat dissipation plate, and the heat sink is formed of aluminum, copper, or carbon fiber.
Harrigan further discloses wherein the shield member is formed of aluminum (paragraph 0028).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use aluminum material to make a shield member in an electronic control device of Yamaguchi et al., in view of Fujiwara et al., as suggested by Harrigan, in order to provide a high strength-to-weight ratio for a shield member in a control device.
Lindstedt et al., further disclose the heat dissipation plate (a carrier 33 and/or 133 is/are formed of aluminum, paragraph 0045-0046), and the heat sink is formed of aluminum (paragraphs 0045-0046), copper, or carbon fiber.
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use aluminum material to make a heat dissipated plate and a heat sink in an electronic control device of Yamaguchi et al., in view of Fujiwara et al., and Harrigan, as suggested by Lindstedt et al., in order to conduct thermal energy away from components on multiple circuit boards of a control device.
Regarding claim 9, Yamaguchi et al., in view of Harrigan, and Fujiwara et al., and Lindstedt et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the shield member, the heat dissipation plate, and the heat sink are integrally formed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to integrally form a shield member, a heat dissipation plate, and a heat sink in a control device of Yamaguchi et al., in view of Harrigan, and Fujiwara et al., and Lindstedt et al., in order to continuously conduct heat away from components on multiple circuit boards to a heatsink of a control device, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150U.S. 164 (1893).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al., in view of Harrigan, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zielinski et al. [US 2011/0274287].
Regarding claim 10, Yamaguchi et al., in view of Harrigan, disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the electronic control device is mounted on a vehicle, the electronic control device further comprising a housing that accommodates the first circuit board, the second circuit board, the shield member, and the conductive member; and a bracket that connects the housing to a frame ground of a vehicle body, wherein the shield member is connected to the bracket.
Zielinski et al., disclose a control device (10, figures 1-5) being mounted on a vehicle (see abstract or paragraph 0018), wherein the electronic control device further comprising a housing (14 & 16, figures 1-5) that accommodates a plurality of components within (figures 1-5); and a bracket (20, figures 1-5) that connects the housing to a frame ground of a vehicle body (15, figures 1-5), wherein a shield member (48, figures 1-5) is connected to the bracket.
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a metallic bracket that connected to a shield member in a control device of Yamaguchi et al., in view of Harrigan, as suggested by Zielinski et al., in order to ground a control device to a ground vehicle’s chassis.
Regarding claim 11, Yamaguchi et al., in view of Harrigan, disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the bracket is formed of aluminum, copper, carbon fiber, a conductive resin, or a material in which a surface of a non-conductive material is coated with a conductive resin.
Zielinski et al., further disclose a control device’s bracket is formed of a material in which a surface of a non-conductive material is coated with a conductive resin (paragraphs 0001-0008).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a bracket design of Zielinski et al., with a control device of Yamaguchi et al., in view of Harrigan, in order to provide an electrically conductive grounding path between a control device and an automotive vehicle.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al., in view of Harrigan, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kagawa et al. [US 2011/0199748].
Regarding claim 13, Yamaguchi et al., in view of Harrigan, disclose the claimed invention except for a housing that accommodates the first circuit board, the second circuit board, the shield member, and the conductive member, wherein the housing is made of metal or resin.
Kagawa et al., disclose an electronic control device (1, figure 3) comprising a housing (8 & 6, figure 3) that accommodates a first circuit board (4A, figure 3), a second circuit board (4B, figure 3), and wherein the housing is made of metal or resin (paragraph 0030).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a metal housing to enclose a first circuit board, a second circuit board, a shield member, and a conductive member in a control device of Yamaguchi et al., in view of Harrigan, as suggested by Kagawa et al., in order to protect a control device’s components.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ono et al. [US 2005/0260867] disclose board connecting component and three-dimensional connecting structure; and
HA et al. [US 2021/0014970] disclose electronic device including interposer;
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center.
for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HUNG S. BUI/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841
/HUNG S. BUI/Primary Patent Examiner, 2841/2800