DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 16-23, & 25-32 of U.S. Application No. 19/103411 filed on 06/26/2026 have been examined.
Office Action is in response to the Applicant's amendments and remarks filed06/26/2026. Claims 16, 19, 21-23, 25-27, & 30-31 are presently amended, and Claims 1-15, & 24 are Cancelled. Claims 16-23, & 25-32 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
In regards to the previous claim objections: the amendments to the claims overcome the previous claim objection(s). Therefore, the previous claim objection(s) is/are withdrawn.
In regards to the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b): the amendments to the claims overcome the previous 35 USC § 112(b) rejection. Therefore, the previous 35 USC § 112(b) rejection is withdrawn.
In regards to the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102: Applicants amendments overcome the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102. Therefore, the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102 is withdrawn.
In regards to the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103: Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new grounds of rejection is made in view of US 2022/0176771A1 (“Wada”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-23, 25, 27, & 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0233181A1 (“Reiss”), in view of US 2011/0248017A1 (“Etscheid”), in view of US 2022/0176771A1 (“Wada”).
As per claim 16 Reiss discloses
A method for operating an electric flow heater in a vehicle (see at least Reiss, para. [0043]: FIG. 1 shows the outer construction of an example of a heating device 100 according to the present invention. As an example, FIG. 1 shows an air heater for the automotive high Voltage range with integrated electronic components.),
wherein the flow heater comprises multiple electrical heating circuits for electrical generation of a respective heating power in a heating section through which a medium which is to be heated flows (see at least Reiss, para. [0044]: FIG. 2 shows a modular construction of the electronic means in Sandwich form in which the various modules are interconnected via a circuit board 210. In particular this refers to the electronic control means 220 and the power switches 230. The electronic control means 220 comprises components for open-loop and closed-loop control according to the present invention. In particular the power switches 230, as constituent parts of the control device according to the invention, are used for the direct adjustment of the heating power by Switching a controlled current on and off through the heating elements of a heating stage,), the method comprising:
actuating, via a control circuit, a respective controllable electrical switching element of the respective heating circuit, in order to execute a power control of a respective heating power of the respective heating circuit, wherein a sum of heating powers is adjusted to a total heating power (see at least Reiss, para. [0045]: In the illustrated example the heating device comprises four heating stages 1 to 4. The four heating stages comprise a first heating stage 330 and (in the illustrated example three) further heating stages 335. According to the present invention the first heating stage 330 can be controlled continuously or in Small steps (quasi-continuously). The other heating stages 335 are binary heating stages, the power of which can be Switched between Zero and a maximum value only. A group of power switches 320 provides direct control of the heating stages. The power Switches are each assigned to one of the heating stages. For the control of the power Switches the electronic control means 310 is employed which according to a preferred embodiment is implemented as a microcontroller.),
wherein the control circuit executes a distribution of the total heating power into the heating powers of the multiple electrical heating circuits, in accordance with configuration data, wherein the distribution, which is defined by the configuration data, is independent of current temperature of the medium which is to be heated (see at least Reiss, para. [0046-0047]: Here, a first adjustment of the heating power can occur according to a power demand assuming nominal conditions for the operating and ambient parameters. Examples of the manufacturer's set nominal conditions are, for example, an on-board electrical voltage of 350 V and the assumption of an air temperature of 0°C. with an air heater. Furthermore, the nominal conditions also include a specified flow velocity (e.g. an airflow rate of 300 kg/h or 101/min for a liquid medium.… For the readjustment the closed-loop control device requires the value of the on-board electrical voltage 350, the specified set value 370 for the power to be consumed by the heating device and the measured value of the total heating current 360. The total heating current includes the value of the current averaged over a cycle frame or a plurality of cycle frames for a heating stage controlled by means of the modulation of the current (e.g. PWM). The averaging can take place by means of Software in a microcontroller.).
However Reiss does not explicitly disclose
the configuration data provide for different installation positions or spatial installation locations of the flow heater in the vehicle and for different distributions of the total heating power for different vehicle models, and
via the control circuit, the configuration data are selected as are provided for an actual installation position or installation location of the flow heater, and actuation is executed according to the configuration data selected.
Etscheid teaches
the configuration data provide for different installation positions or spatial installation locations of the flow heater in the vehicle (see at least Etscheid, para. [0026]: Depending on the arrangement of the aggregate systems to be connected within the respective motor vehicle, very different lengths of the individual lines may be necessary, which also has an effect on the resistances of the respective heating elements and thus also with a predefined supply Voltage—on their heating power.), and,
via the control circuit, the configuration data are selected as are provided for an actual installation position or installation location of the flow heater, and actuation is executed according to the configuration data selected (see at least Etscheid, para. [0027]: Thus, a concrete, previously determined heating power (P=UI) can be predefined taking into account certain parameters (such as line length, ambient temperature or such). But it is also possible to specify a different physical parameter (e.g. geometric parameter. Such as mate rial, number, diameter and length of the heat conductors, the outside or ambient temperature, operating temperature of the SCR system and/or a pre-determined thawing time) as a desired value, wherein this desired value is then automatically transformed into a desired heating power and/or into an effective Voltage by the system.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reiss to incorporate the teaching of the configuration data provide for different installation positions or spatial installation locations of the flow heater in the vehicle, and via the control circuit, the configuration data are selected as are provided for an actual installation position or installation location of the flow heater, and actuation is executed according to the configuration data selected of Etscheid, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for the respective actual heating power of each heating element can advantageously be regulated via a power regulator by varying the PWM mark-to-space ratio to a predefined desired heating power (see at least Etscheid, para. [0011]).
Wada teaches
the configuration data provide for different distributions of the total heating power for different vehicle models (see at least Wada, para. [0098]: As described above, in the thermal request mediating device 1 according to this embodiment, control for thermal requests of a plurality of units is layered, and distribution of an amount of heat in each thermal circuit and mediation of the requested amounts of heat between the thermal circuits (adjustment of the amounts of heat requested by the thermal circuits) are performed in different control layers. Accordingly, the thermal requests of the units do not need to be individually considered at the time of mediation of the requested amounts of heat between the thermal circuits, and the requested amounts of heat between the thermal circuits do not need to be considered at the time of distribution of the amount of heat in each thermal circuit. Accordingly, it is possible to efficiently perform mediation of the thermal requests from a plurality of units mounted in the vehicle and distribution of the amounts of heat to the units. Since the individual thermal requests form the units are not directly referred to at the time of mediation of the requested amounts of heat between the thermal circuits, the thermal request mediating device 1 according to this embodiment can be applied to a case in which the constituent units of the thermal circuits vary depending on a vehicle model, a grade, a configuration of a power train, or the like, and excellent versatility can be achieved.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reiss to incorporate the teaching of the configuration data provide for different distributions of the total heating power for different vehicle models of Wada, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a thermal request mediating device that can appropriately mediate amounts of discharged heat of thermal circuits in a vehicle including a thermal circuit for cooling a passenger compartment and a thermal circuit for cooling a battery (see at least Wada, para. [0011]).
As per claim 17 Reiss discloses
wherein the configuration data of the control circuit are permanently stipulated, or are modified during operation of the control circuit, or a selection of different configuration data is executed by the control circuit, depending upon a current operating situation detected, and the actuation of heating circuits is executed in accordance with the configuration data selected (see at least Reiss, para. [0047]: For the readjustment the closed-loop control device requires the value of the on-board electrical voltage 350, the specified set value 370 for the power to be consumed by the heating device and the measured value of the total heating current 360. The total heating current includes the value of the current averaged over a cycle frame or a plurality of cycle frames for a heating stage controlled by means of the modulation of the current (e.g. PWM). The averaging can take place by means of Software in a microcontroller.).
As per claim 18 Reiss discloses
wherein, via the configuration data, a condition for actuating the switching elements is stipulated by the control circuit, which dictates a respective upper limit for the heating power of one, a number, or each of the heating circuits (see at least Reiss, para. [0047]: For the readjustment the closed-loop control device requires the value of the on-board electrical voltage 350, the specified set value 370 for the power to be consumed by the heating device and the measured value of the total heating current 360. The total heating current includes the value of the current averaged over a cycle frame or a plurality of cycle frames for a heating stage controlled by means of the modulation of the current (e.g. PWM). The averaging can take place by means of Software in a microcontroller.).
As per claim 19 Reiss discloses
wherein, via the configuration data, a condition which is to be fulfilled by the control circuit is stipulated which provides for a coordinated switching of the switching elements of at least two of the heating circuits, electrical heating lines of which are arranged in the flow heater in direct mutual proximity (see at least Reiss, para. [0060]: The maximum power in the example in FIG. 5, 750 W, is here achieved through permanently switching in the first heating stage (refer to Stage 1 in FIG. 6, max. 750 W). This means that the time period of the control is equal to the length of the cycle frame or expressed differently, a mark-space ratio (duty ratio) of 100%. It can also be alternatively achieved through permanently Switching in the second, binary heating stage with 750 W of power with the first heating stage switched off.),
wherein coordinated switching provides for a dependence of the heating power and/or a circuit state of one of the heating circuits which is switched in a coordinated manner upon the heating power and/or circuit state of another of the heating circuits which is switched in a coordinated manner (see at least Reiss, para. [0071]: In the range from 0 to 750 watts a finely stepped control, as described above, is only possible by using the first heating stage. In the following range between 750 watts and 1500 watts (i.e. again a range of 750 watts) the second heating stage is Switched on in a binary manner, whereas the first heating stage Supplies the fine control within this range according to the above concept. In the following range comprising 750 watts (from 1500 watts to 2250 watts) this occurs analogously with the Switching on of the third heating stage, whereby the second heating stage is Switched off again.).
As per claim 20 Reiss does not explicitly disclose
wherein, via the configuration data, a condition which is to be fulfilled by the control circuit is stipulated which dictates a synchronized switching.
Etscheid teaches
wherein, via the configuration data, a condition which is to be fulfilled by the control circuit is stipulated which dictates a synchronized switching (see at least Etscheid, para. [0053]: As is still evident from the diagrams in FIG.9, the heating elements are preferably driven at a time offset with respect to the PWM control, such that their PWM signals (cf. FIG.9 the voltage pulses U, U and Us) do not, or only partly overlap in time. For example, it is possible to drive the heating elements R and R with operating voltages U and U during the pause times of the control of the heating element R and/or of its operating voltage U, wherein in contrast to the illustration in FIG. 9, the voltage pulses U and U of the parts diagrams b) and c) can be offset in time to one another within the pause of U according to diagram a) (see the Voltage pulse for U shown hatched and with dashed lines in diagram b)). Due to this measure, the maximum total current of the heating system is advantageously kept Small.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reiss to incorporate the teaching of wherein, via the configuration data, a condition which is to be fulfilled by the control circuit is stipulated which dictates a synchronized switching of Etscheid, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for the respective actual heating power of each heating element can advantageously be regulated via a power regulator by varying the PWM mark-to-space ratio to a predefined desired heating power (see at least Etscheid, para. [0011]).
As per claim 21 Reiss does not explicitly disclose
wherein the synchronized switching is a staggered and/or phase-displaced switching of at least two of the switching element.
Etscheid teaches
wherein the synchronized switching is a staggered and/or phase-displaced switching of at least two of the switching element (see at least Etscheid, Fig. 9 & para. [0031-0034] & para. [0053]: As is still evident from the diagrams in FIG.9, the heating elements are preferably driven at a time offset with respect to the PWM control, such that their PWM signals (cf. FIG.9 the voltage pulses U, U and Us) do not, or only partly overlap in time. For example, it is possible to drive the heating elements R and R with operating voltages U and U during the pause times of the control of the heating element R and/or of its operating voltage U, wherein in contrast to the illustration in FIG. 9, the voltage pulses U and U of the parts diagrams b) and c) can be offset in time to one another within the pause of U according to diagram a) (see the Voltage pulse for U shown hatched and with dashed lines in diagram b)). Due to this measure, the maximum total current of the heating system is advantageously kept Small.)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reiss to incorporate the teaching of wherein the synchronized switching is a staggered and/or phase-displaced switching of at least two of the switching elements of Etscheid, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for the respective actual heating power of each heating element can advantageously be regulated via a power regulator by varying the PWM mark-to-space ratio to a predefined desired heating power (see at least Etscheid, para. [0011]).
As per claim 22 Reiss does not explicitly disclose
wherein the phase-displaced switching is dictated for such heating circuits, electrical heating lines of which and/or electric power supply lines of which are arranged in immediate mutual proximity.
Etscheid teaches
wherein the phase-displaced switching is dictated for such heating circuits, electrical heating lines of which and/or electric power supply lines of which are arranged in immediate mutual proximity (see at least Etscheid, para. [0053]: As is still evident from the diagrams in FIG.9, the heating elements are preferably driven at a time offset with respect to the PWM control, such that their PWM signals (cf. FIG.9 the voltage pulses U, U and Us) do not, or only partly overlap in time. For example, it is possible to drive the heating elements R and R with operating voltages U and U during the pause times of the control of the heating element R and/or of its operating voltage U, wherein in contrast to the illustration in FIG. 9, the voltage pulses U and U of the parts diagrams b) and c) can be offset in time to one another within the pause of U according to diagram a) (see the Voltage pulse for U shown hatched and with dashed lines in diagram b)). Due to this measure, the maximum total current of the heating system is advantageously kept Small.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reiss to incorporate the teaching of wherein the phase-displaced switching is dictated for such heating circuits, electrical heating lines of which and/or electric power supply lines of which are arranged in immediate mutual proximity of Etscheid, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for the respective actual heating power of each heating element can advantageously be regulated via a power regulator by varying the PWM mark-to-space ratio to a predefined desired heating power (see at least Etscheid, para. [0011]).
As per claim 23 Reiss does not explicitly disclose
wherein, via the control circuit, actuation of the switching element is executed in the form of a pulse-width modulation (PWM) and, via the configuration data, the synchronized switching is dictated for all, or only for a number of switching frequencies which are provided for the PWM.
Etscheid teaches
wherein, via the control circuit, actuation of the switching element is executed in the form of a pulse-width modulation (PWM) and, via the configuration data, the synchronized switching is dictated for all, or only for a number of switching frequencies which are provided for the PWM (see at least Etscheid, para. [0053]: As is still evident from the diagrams in FIG.9, the heating elements are preferably driven at a time offset with respect to the PWM control, such that their PWM signals (cf. FIG.9 the voltage pulses U, U and Us) do not, or only partly overlap in time. For example, it is possible to drive the heating elements R and R with operating voltages U and U during the pause times of the control of the heating element R and/or of its operating voltage U, wherein in contrast to the illustration in FIG. 9, the voltage pulses U and U of the parts diagrams b) and c) can be offset in time to one another within the pause of U according to diagram a) (see the Voltage pulse for U shown hatched and with dashed lines in diagram b)). Due to this measure, the maximum total current of the heating system is advantageously kept Small.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reiss to incorporate the teaching of wherein, via the control circuit, actuation of the switching element is executed in the form of a pulse-width modulation (PWM) and, via the configuration data, the synchronized switching is dictated for all, or only for a number of switching frequencies which are provided for the PWM of Etscheid, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for the respective actual heating power of each heating element can advantageously be regulated via a power regulator by varying the PWM mark-to-space ratio to a predefined desired heating power (see at least Etscheid, para. [0011]).
As per claim 25 Reiss does not explicitly disclose
wherein the control circuit executes a different setting of the distribution of the total heating power and/or a different actuation of switching elements, according to configuration data for different operating states of the flow heater, the different operating states being distinguished with respect to flow conditions of the medium, and/or for different operating modes, and the different operating modes being distinguished with respect to a fluidic coupling of the heating section with different vehicle components of the vehicle.
Etscheid teaches
wherein the control circuit executes a different setting of the distribution of the total heating power and/or a different actuation of switching elements, according to configuration data for different operating states of the flow heater, the different operating states being distinguished with respect to flow conditions of the medium, and/or for different operating modes, and the different operating modes being distinguished with respect to a fluidic coupling of the heating section with different vehicle components of the vehicle (see at least Etscheid, para. [0027]: Thus, a concrete, previously determined heating power (P=UI) can be predefined taking into account certain parameters (such as line length, ambient temperature or such). But it is also possible to specify a different physical parameter (e.g. geometric parameter. Such as mate rial, number, diameter and length of the heat conductors, the outside or ambient temperature, operating temperature of the SCR system and/or a pre-determined thawing time) as a desired value, wherein this desired value is then automatically transformed into a desired heating power and/or into an effective Voltage by the system.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reiss to incorporate the teaching of wherein the control circuit executes a different setting of the distribution of the total heating power and/or a different actuation of switching elements, according to configuration data for different operating states of the flow heater, the different operating states being distinguished with respect to flow conditions of the medium, and/or for different operating modes, and the different operating modes being distinguished with respect to a fluidic coupling of the heating section with different vehicle components of the vehicle of Etscheid, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for the respective actual heating power of each heating element can advantageously be regulated via a power regulator by varying the PWM mark-to-space ratio to a predefined desired heating power (see at least Etscheid, para. [0011]).
As per claim 27 Reiss discloses
wherein, via the configuration data for different potential operating situations which are continuously and/or presently provided for the flow heater in the vehicle, differing proportional components of the respective heating power in the total heating power and/or upper power limits for one or more, or for all of, the heating circuits are dictated and, via the control circuit, situation data are ascertained which indicate an actual operating situation, and actuation is executed in accordance with associated configuration data, and/or wherein configuration data in corporate a code flag, according to a state of which a control is executed such that distribution is only activated in accordance with a vehicle parameter logic, with respect to a national version, a target market, material variants of heating plates and/or in consideration of a dedicated cold climate vehicle (see at least Reiss, para. [0063]: A simple example of an assignment table 500 of this nature is shown in FIG. 5. In the left column 510 the individual controllable power stages (nominal powers corresponding to nominal conditions) are stored as fixed values. As can be taken exemplarily from the listed table 500, in this example the maximum power consumption of the heating stage (with permanent actuation) is 750 W. The range from 0 to 750 W is divided into eight stages so that a finely stepped (quasi-continuous) adjustment of the heating power is possible with steps below 100 watts.).
As per claim 30 Reiss discloses
An electrical flow heater (see at least Reiss, para. [0043]: FIG. 1 shows the outer construction of an example of a heating device 100 according to the present invention. As an example, FIG. 1 shows an air heater for the automotive high Voltage range with integrated electronic components.), comprising:
multiple electrical heating circuits, each of which is connected via a respective and controllable electric switching element to a terminal apparatus for supplying electrical energy to a respective heating circuit (see at least Reiss, para. [0044]: FIG. 2 shows a modular construction of the electronic means in Sandwich form in which the various modules are interconnected via a circuit board 210. In particular this refers to the electronic control means 220 and the power switches 230. The electronic control means 220 comprises components for open-loop and closed-loop control according to the present invention. In particular the power switches 230, as constituent parts of the control device according to the invention, are used for the direct adjustment of the heating power by Switching a controlled current on and off through the heating elements of a heating stage,);
a control circuit of the flow heater for power control of electric power which is converted via the switching elements in a respective heating circuit, wherein the control circuit is operatively configured to (see at least Reiss, para. [0045]: The other heating stages 335 are binary heating stages, the power of which can be Switched between Zero and a maximum value only. A group of power switches 320 provides direct control of the heating stages. The power Switches are each assigned to one of the heating stages. For the control of the power Switches the electronic control means 310 is employed which according to a preferred embodiment is implemented as a microcontroller.):
actuate, via the control circuit, a respective controllable electrical switching element of the respective heating circuit, in order to execute the power control of a respective heating power of the respective heating circuit, wherein a sum of the heating powers is adjusted to a total heating power (see at least Reiss, para. [0045]: In the illustrated example the heating device comprises four heating stages 1 to 4. The four heating stages comprise a first heating stage 330 and (in the illustrated example three) further heating stages 335. According to the present invention the first heating stage 330 can be controlled continuously or in Small steps (quasi-continuously). The other heating stages 335 are binary heating stages, the power of which can be Switched between Zero and a maximum value only. A group of power switches 320 provides direct control of the heating stages. The power Switches are each assigned to one of the heating stages. For the control of the power Switches the electronic control means 310 is employed which according to a preferred embodiment is implemented as a microcontroller.),
wherein the control circuit executes a distribution of a total heating power into the heating powers of the heating circuits, in accordance with configuration data, wherein the distribution, which is dictated by the configuration data, is independent of current temperature of a medium which is to be heated is designed for executing a method according to claim 16 (see at least Reiss, para. [0046-0047]: Here, a first adjustment of the heating power can occur according to a power demand assuming nominal conditions for the operating and ambient parameters. Examples of the manufacturer's set nominal conditions are, for example, an on-board electrical voltage of 350 V and the assumption of an air temperature of 0°C. with an air heater. Furthermore, the nominal conditions also include a specified flow velocity (e.g. an airflow rate of 300 kg/h or 101/min for a liquid medium.… For the readjustment the closed-loop control device requires the value of the on-board electrical voltage 350, the specified set value 370 for the power to be consumed by the heating device and the measured value of the total heating current 360. The total heating current includes the value of the current averaged over a cycle frame or a plurality of cycle frames for a heating stage controlled by means of the modulation of the current (e.g. PWM). The averaging can take place by means of Software in a microcontroller.).
However Reiss does not explicitly disclose
the configuration data provide for different installation positions or spatial installation locations of the flow heater in the vehicle and for different distributions of the total heating power for different vehicle models, and
via the control circuit, the configuration data are selected as are provided for an actual installation position or installation location of the flow heater, and actuation is executed according to the configuration data selected.
Etscheid teaches
the configuration data provide for different installation positions or spatial installation locations of the flow heater in the vehicle (see at least Etscheid, para. [0026]: Depending on the arrangement of the aggregate systems to be connected within the respective motor vehicle, very different lengths of the individual lines may be necessary, which also has an effect on the resistances of the respective heating elements and thus also with a predefined supply Voltage—on their heating power.), and,
via the control circuit, the configuration data are selected as are provided for an actual installation position or installation location of the flow heater, and actuation is executed according to the configuration data selected (see at least Etscheid, para. [0027]: Thus, a concrete, previously determined heating power (P=UI) can be predefined taking into account certain parameters (such as line length, ambient temperature or such). But it is also possible to specify a different physical parameter (e.g. geometric parameter. Such as mate rial, number, diameter and length of the heat conductors, the outside or ambient temperature, operating temperature of the SCR system and/or a pre-determined thawing time) as a desired value, wherein this desired value is then automatically transformed into a desired heating power and/or into an effective Voltage by the system.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reiss to incorporate the teaching of the configuration data provide for different installation positions or spatial installation locations of the flow heater in the vehicle, and via the control circuit, the configuration data are selected as are provided for an actual installation position or installation location of the flow heater, and actuation is executed according to the configuration data selected of Etscheid, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for the respective actual heating power of each heating element can advantageously be regulated via a power regulator by varying the PWM mark-to-space ratio to a predefined desired heating power (see at least Etscheid, para. [0011]).
Wada teaches
the configuration data provide for different distributions of the total heating power for different vehicle models (see at least Wada, para. [0098]: As described above, in the thermal request mediating device 1 according to this embodiment, control for thermal requests of a plurality of units is layered, and distribution of an amount of heat in each thermal circuit and mediation of the requested amounts of heat between the thermal circuits (adjustment of the amounts of heat requested by the thermal circuits) are performed in different control layers. Accordingly, the thermal requests of the units do not need to be individually considered at the time of mediation of the requested amounts of heat between the thermal circuits, and the requested amounts of heat between the thermal circuits do not need to be considered at the time of distribution of the amount of heat in each thermal circuit. Accordingly, it is possible to efficiently perform mediation of the thermal requests from a plurality of units mounted in the vehicle and distribution of the amounts of heat to the units. Since the individual thermal requests form the units are not directly referred to at the time of mediation of the requested amounts of heat between the thermal circuits, the thermal request mediating device 1 according to this embodiment can be applied to a case in which the constituent units of the thermal circuits vary depending on a vehicle model, a grade, a configuration of a power train, or the like, and excellent versatility can be achieved.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reiss to incorporate the teaching of the configuration data provide for different distributions of the total heating power for different vehicle models of Wada, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a thermal request mediating device that can appropriately mediate amounts of discharged heat of thermal circuits in a vehicle including a thermal circuit for cooling a passenger compartment and a thermal circuit for cooling a battery (see at least Wada, para. [0011]).
As per claim 31 Reiss discloses
A vehicle comprising the electrical flow heater according to claim 30 (see at least Reiss, para. [0042]: The present invention relates to an adjustable electrical motor-vehicle heater, which preferably can be formed as an air or hot water heater.).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reiss, in view of Etscheid, in view of Wada, in view of US 2020/0101820A1 (“Wenger”).
As per claim 26 Reiss does not explicitly disclose
wherein, via the control circuit, accordance with the configuration data, the distribution of the total heating power and/or the actuation of switching elements is executed based on a respective operating history, the operating history indicating an age and/or hours of service and/or a total quantity of energy converted by the respective heating circuit.
Wenger teaches
wherein, via the control circuit, accordance with the configuration data, the distribution of the total heating power and/or the actuation of switching elements is executed based on a respective operating history, the operating history indicating an age and/or hours of service and/or a total quantity of energy converted by the respective heating circuit (see at least Wenger, para. [0066]: In some embodiments, where one or more of the above noted components of the climate control system 225 are electrically isolated, a total electrical power input may be available from one or more of the controller 230, the vehicle control system 220, the climate controller 255), a battery management system, and a monitoring system (e.g., the data logging device 260). & para. [0078]: In some embodiments, the user interface can provide a graphical time-domain historical data of the climate control system 225. The time-domain historical data being displayed can be, for example, total energy utilization, energy use per unit of time in operation, total energy cost, energy cost per unit of time in operation, etc. for one or more components of the climate control system 225 or the climate control system 225 as a whole. para. [0081]: The alert threshold discussed above can include, for example, a total energy cost threshold, a compressor utilization threshold, a temperature setpoint threshold, a humidity setpoint threshold, etc. In some embodiments, the alert threshold can be based on a particular moment in time or based on a moving average, for example if the moving average of a climate control system setpoint exceeds a certain threshold. Accordingly, the controller 230 can provide energy budgeting of the transport vehicle 200 or for a fleet of transport vehicles. Anomalous operation may include, for example, cooling cycles running continuously but not reducing the internal space temperature, a higher than normal compressor runtime for one transport vehicle in a fleet relative to the other transport vehicles, or setpoints or other temperatures or humidities of the transport vehicle 200 that diverge from other transport vehicles of the same fleet or from a moving average of the transport vehicle 200.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reiss to incorporate the teaching of wherein, via the control circuit, accordance with the configuration data, the distribution of the total heating power and/or the actuation of switching elements is executed based on a respective operating history, which operating history indicates an age and/or hours of service and/or a total quantity of energy converted by the respective heating circuit of Wenger, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to minimize use of the climate control system for battery cooling or leverage a more energy or cost efficient procedure (see at least Wenger, para. [0087]).
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reiss, in view of Etscheid, in view of Wada, in view of US 2010/0133356A1 (“Shank”).
As per claim 28 Reiss does not explicitly disclose
wherein the situation data are ascertained from an on-board communication network to which the control circuit is coupled, and/or by a sensor circuit of the flow heater.
Shank teaches
wherein the situation data are ascertained from an on-board communication network to which the control circuit is coupled, and/or by a sensor circuit of the flow heater (see at least Shank, para. [0086]: Operational parameters will be sent via communications such as serial communications using a proprietary bus or other standard bus protocol. A computer could be connected to the module using an appropriate interface cable to allow for reading and interpreting data. In addition to reading data for diagnostics, the invention could include communications and interface means to allow for programming of the microcontroller after the assembly of the device is complete.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reiss to incorporate the teaching of wherein the situation data are ascertained from an on-board communication network to which the control circuit is coupled, and/or by a sensor circuit of the flow heater of Shank, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow for programming of the microcontroller after the assembly of the device is complete (see at least Shank, para. [0086]).
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reiss, in view of Etscheid, in view of Wada, in view of US 2020/0298663A1 (“Allgaeuer”).
As per claim 29 Reiss does not explicitly disclose
wherein the control circuit, further to an employment of configuration data and in a servicing mode, receives new configuration data, and the configuration data are entirely or partially replaced and/or expanded by the new configuration data received
Allgaeuer teaches
wherein the control circuit, further to an employment of configuration data and in a servicing mode, receives new configuration data, and the configuration data are entirely or partially replaced and/or expanded by the new configuration data received (see at least Allgaeuer, para. [0157]: To this end, the first actuator S1 is set to a second switched position, the second actuator S2 is set to a first switched position, and the third actuator S3 is set to the first switched position thereof. On account thereof, the heat source 24 and the high-voltage accumulator 16 are able to be temperature-controlled in a mutually independent manner. The second switched state, by virtue of the separation of the HVA circuit 10 and the cooling circuit 8, offers the possibility of choosing and various modes for the high-voltage accumulator 16 and the heat source 24 in a mutually independent manner. Potential operating modes are, for example, a first HVA cooling operation, a homogenization operation, a second HVA heating operation, a first heat source cooling operation. The HVA pump 22 or the cooling circuit pump 44, or both, are activated, depending on the operating mode.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reiss to incorporate the teaching of wherein the control circuit, further to an employment of configuration data and in a servicing mode, receives new configuration data, and the configuration data are entirely or partially replaced and/or expanded by the new configuration data received of Allgaeuer, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to further enable various operating modes for the thermal system and thus a flexible thermal management (see at least Allgaeuer, para. [0010]).
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reiss, in view of Etscheid, in view of Wada, in view of US 2023/0364969A1 (“Maeda”).
As per claim 32 Reiss does not explicitly disclose
wherein the vehicle is an electric vehicle
Maeda teaches
wherein the vehicle is an electric vehicle (see at least Maeda, para. [0041]: The thermal management system 1according to the present embodiment is applied to an electric vehicle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reiss to incorporate the teaching of wherein the vehicle is an electric vehicle of Maeda, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to fully effectively use the heat generated by the temperature adjustment target (see at least Maeda, para. [0039]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMED ABDO ALGEHAIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668