Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by D1 (JP 2005201314).
For claim 1, D1 discloses a segment seal (segment seals 1, 2, 3. Abstract. P3, para. [2]) that is disposed with rotation thereof restricted between a housing (40) and a rotating shaft (50) extending through the housing, and seals a space between the housing and the rotating shaft (seal segments are restricted between the housing 40 and shaft 50 by springs 10, 11.), the segment seal, comprising:
a base ring (carbon ring 3,) fitted onto the rotating shaft and comprised by a plurality of segments segmented in a circumferential direction (abstract); and
a resin ring (1, 2) disposed side by side in an axial direction with the base ring (3),
wherein at least a portion of the base ring (3) is disposed on a high-pressure side in the axial direction of the resin ring (Figure 2), and
the resin ring (1,2) has a higher thermal expansion coefficient than the base ring (Thermal expansion of carbon is 0.67, and resin 31. See https://www.americanelements.com>images, and attached sheet.)
For claim 2, D1 discloses the segment seal according to claim 1, wherein the resin ring is attached to the base ring (In the assembled state, the resin ring (1,2) is attached to the base ring (3). Figures 1-3.)
For claim 4, D1 discloses the segment seal according to claim 2, wherein a position of an outer-diameter-side portion of the resin ring (1, 2) is restricted by the base ring (In use, a position of an outer-diameter-side portion of the resin ring is restricted by the base ring. Outer diameter portion of resin ring toward 11 defines the outer diameter side portion. Figure 2), the resin ring (1,2) has an axial surface including an inner peripheral end portion of the resin ring (Inner diameter portion of resin ring has an axial surface, Figure 2.), and the axial surface of the resin ring (1,2) is parallel to an axial surface of the base ring (3) opposite the axial surface of the resin ring (Figure 2.)
For claim 7, D1 discloses the segment seal according to claim 1, wherein the base ring (3) is held in an annular shape by an annular garter spring (11) disposed around outer peripheral surfaces of the segments comprising the base ring (Figure 2.)
For claim 8, D1 discloses the segment seal according to claim 1, wherein the segment seal is pressed against an installation surface of the housing (40) by a biasing member (10) for biasing the base ring in the axial direction (Figure 2.)
For claim 9, D1 discloses the segment seal according to claim 8, wherein the biasing member is attached to the base ring (Biasing member 10 is attached to the base ring 3 via 2. Figure 2.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5-6, 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (JP 2005201314) in view of D2 (JPH 0178772).
For claim 3, D1 discloses the segment seal according to claim 2, but does not disclose wherein the base ring (3) has a protrusion or a depression formed on a side surface of the base ring, and the resin ring (1,2) has an engagement portion that is engaged with the protrusion or the depression.
D2 teaches a seal assembly seal rings 3, 3. One seal ring 3 has a protrusion 10 on a side surface, and the other seal ring 3 has depression to receive the protrusion 10 for secured assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 such that, the base ring (3) has a protrusion or a depression formed on a side surface of the base ring, and the resin ring (1,2) has an engagement portion that is engaged with the protrusion or the depression, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a secured assembly.
For claim 5, D1 discloses the segment seal according to claim 4, but does not disclose wherein the base ring (3) has a recess that is open on an inner diameter side, and the resin ring is disposed in the recess.
D2 teaches a seal assembly seal rings 3, 3. Seal ring 3 on the right has a recess that is open on an inner diameter side of the other seal ring 3. Seal ring 3 on the left is disposed in the recess of the seal ring 3 on the left via 10, for secured assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 such that, the base ring (3) has a recess that is open on an inner diameter side, and the resin ring is disposed in the recess, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a secured assembly.
For claim 6, D1 discloses the segment seal according to claim 1, wherein the resin ring (1,2) is comprised by a plurality of resin segments segmented in the circumferential direction (P3, para. [2]), and
each of the resin segments are fixed to each of the segments comprising the base ring.
D2 teaches a seal assembly seal rings 3, 3. One seal ring 3 has a protrusion 10 on a side surface, and the other seal ring 3 has depression to receive the protrusion 10 for secured assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 such that, each of the resin segments are fixed to each of the segments comprising the base ring, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a secured assembly.
For claim 10, D1 discloses the segment seal according to claim 2, wherein the resin ring (1,2) is comprised by a plurality of resin segments segmented in the circumferential direction (P3, para. [2]), and
each of the resin segments are fixed to each of the segments comprising the base ring.
D2 teaches a seal assembly seal rings 3, 3. One seal ring 3 has a protrusion 10 on a side surface, and the other seal ring 3 has depression to receive the protrusion 10 for secured assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 such that, each of the resin segments are fixed to each of the segments comprising the base ring, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a secured assembly.
For claim 11, D1 discloses the segment seal according to claim 10, wherein a position of an outer-diameter-side portion of the resin ring (1, 2) is restricted by the base ring (In use, a position of an outer-diameter-side portion of the resin ring is restricted by the base ring. Outer diameter portion of resin ring toward 11 defines the outer diameter side portion. Figure 2), the resin ring (1,2) has an axial surface including an inner peripheral end portion of the resin ring (Inner diameter portion of resin ring has an axial surface, Figure 2.), and the axial surface of the resin ring (1,2) is parallel to an axial surface of the base ring (3) opposite the axial surface of the resin ring (Figure 2.)
For claim 12, D1 discloses the segment seal according to claim 11, but does not disclose wherein the base ring (3) has a recess that is open on an inner diameter side, and the resin ring is disposed in the recess.
D2 teaches a seal assembly seal rings 3, 3. Seal ring 3 on the right has a recess that is open on an inner diameter side of the other seal ring 3. Seal ring 3 on the left is disposed in the recess of the seal ring 3 on the left via 10, for secured assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 such that, the base ring (3) has a recess that is open on an inner diameter side, and the resin ring is disposed in the recess, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a secured assembly.
For claim 13, D1 discloses the segment seal according to claim 3, wherein the resin ring (1,2) is comprised by a plurality of resin segments segmented in the circumferential direction (P3, para. [2]), and
each of the resin segments are fixed to each of the segments comprising the base ring.
D2 teaches a seal assembly seal rings 3, 3. One seal ring 3 has a protrusion 10 on a side surface, and the other seal ring 3 has depression to receive the protrusion 10 for secured assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 such that, each of the resin segments are fixed to each of the segments comprising the base ring, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a secured assembly.
For claim 14, D1 discloses the segment seal according to claim 13, wherein a position of an outer-diameter-side portion of the resin ring (1, 2) is restricted by the base ring (In use, a position of an outer-diameter-side portion of the resin ring is restricted by the base ring. Outer diameter portion of resin ring toward 11 defines the outer diameter side portion. Figure 2), the resin ring (1,2) has an axial surface including an inner peripheral end portion of the resin ring (Inner diameter portion of resin ring has an axial surface, Figure 2.), and the axial surface of the resin ring (1,2) is parallel to an axial surface of the base ring (3) opposite the axial surface of the resin ring (Figure 2.)
For claim 15, D1 discloses the segment seal according to claim 14, but does not disclose wherein the base ring (3) has a recess that is open on an inner diameter side, and the resin ring is disposed in the recess.
D2 teaches a seal assembly seal rings 3, 3. Seal ring 3 on the right has a recess that is open on an inner diameter side of the other seal ring 3. Seal ring 3 on the left is disposed in the recess of the seal ring 3 on the left via 10, for secured assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 such that, the base ring (3) has a recess that is open on an inner diameter side, and the resin ring is disposed in the recess, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a secured assembly.
For claim 16, D1 discloses the segment seal according to claim 4, wherein the resin ring (1,2) is comprised by a plurality of resin segments segmented in the circumferential direction (P3, para. [2]), and
each of the resin segments are fixed to each of the segments comprising the base ring.
D2 teaches a seal assembly seal rings 3, 3. One seal ring 3 has a protrusion 10 on a side surface, and the other seal ring 3 has depression to receive the protrusion 10 for secured assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 such that, each of the resin segments are fixed to each of the segments comprising the base ring, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a secured assembly.
For claim 17, D1 discloses the segment seal according to claim 16, wherein a position of an outer-diameter-side portion of the resin ring (1, 2) is restricted by the base ring (In use, a position of an outer-diameter-side portion of the resin ring is restricted by the base ring. Outer diameter portion of resin ring toward 11 defines the outer diameter side portion. Figure 2), the resin ring (1,2) has an axial surface including an inner peripheral end portion of the resin ring (Inner diameter portion of resin ring has an axial surface, Figure 2.), and the axial surface of the resin ring (1,2) is parallel to an axial surface of the base ring (3) opposite the axial surface of the resin ring (Figure 2.)
For claim 18, D1 discloses the segment seal according to claim 17, but does not disclose wherein the base ring (3) has a recess that is open on an inner diameter side, and the resin ring is disposed in the recess.
D2 teaches a seal assembly seal rings 3, 3. Seal ring 3 on the right has a recess that is open on an inner diameter side of the other seal ring 3. Seal ring 3 on the left is disposed in the recess of the seal ring 3 on the left via 10, for secured assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 such that, the base ring (3) has a recess that is open on an inner diameter side, and the resin ring is disposed in the recess, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a secured assembly.
For claim 19, D1 discloses the segment seal according to claim 5, wherein the resin ring (1,2) is comprised by a plurality of resin segments segmented in the circumferential direction (P3, para. [2]), and
each of the resin segments are fixed to each of the segments comprising the base ring.
D2 teaches a seal assembly seal rings 3, 3. One seal ring 3 has a protrusion 10 on a side surface, and the other seal ring 3 has depression to receive the protrusion 10 for secured assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 such that, each of the resin segments are fixed to each of the segments comprising the base ring, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a secured assembly.
For claim 20, D1 discloses the segment seal according to claim 19, wherein a position of an outer-diameter-side portion of the resin ring (1, 2) is restricted by the base ring (In use, a position of an outer-diameter-side portion of the resin ring is restricted by the base ring. Outer diameter portion of resin ring toward 11 defines the outer diameter side portion. Figure 2), the resin ring (1,2) has an axial surface including an inner peripheral end portion of the resin ring (Inner diameter portion of resin ring has an axial surface, Figure 2.), and the axial surface of the resin ring (1,2) is parallel to an axial surface of the base ring (3) opposite the axial surface of the resin ring (Figure 2.)
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides example of invention. A few of the prior art cited but not applied includes Miller (US Pub. 2016-0010483); Garrison (US Pub. 2016-0053808); and Kuroki (US 9,316,316).
/NATHAN CUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675