DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing filed on February 12, 2025 Claims 1-14 and 16-21 have been examined in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 2/12/2025, 8/22/2025, and 4/28/2026 has been acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-14 are drawn to a method and claims 16-21 are drawn to a device (i.e. a manufacture). As such, claims 1-14 and 16-21 are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
Under Step 2A Prong 1, the claims are analyzed to determine whether the claims recite any judicial exceptions including certain groupings of abstract ideas (i.e., mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity such as a fundamental economic practice, or mental processes).
Claims 1, 16 and 17 recite a game control method, comprising: providing, by a terminal device, a graphical user interface, and displaying a virtual scene of a current virtual battle task on the graphical user interface; in response to detecting that the current virtual battle task meets a preset condition, dropping a virtual supply in the virtual scene; determining a target scene area corresponding to the virtual supply dropped in the virtual scene; and in response to detecting that a virtual object moves into the target scene area, displaying an orientation guidance identifier on the graphical user interface, and controlling a direction indicator of the orientation guidance identifier according to a target position of the virtual supply in the virtual scene. If claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, include a mental process and/or certain methods of organizing human activity, the limitations fall under the abstract ideas judicial exception and therefore recite ineligible subject matter. Accordingly, claims 1, 16, and 17 recite abstract ideas.
Representative Claim 1: A game control method, comprising: providing, by a terminal device, a graphical user interface, and displaying a virtual scene of a current virtual battle task on the graphical user interface; in response to detecting that the current virtual battle task meets a preset condition, dropping a virtual supply in the virtual scene; determining a target scene area corresponding to the virtual supply dropped in the virtual scene; and in response to detecting that a virtual object moves into the target scene area, displaying an orientation guidance identifier on the graphical user interface, and controlling a direction indicator of the orientation guidance identifier according to a target position of the virtual supply in the virtual scene.
Representative Claim 16: An electronic device, wherein the electronic device comprises: a processor, a memory and a bus, the memory stores machine-readable instructions executable by the processor, when the electronic device is running, the processor communicates with the memory through the bus, and by executing the machine-readable instructions, the processor is configured to: provide a graphical user interface, and displaying a virtual scene of a current virtual battle task on the graphical user interface; in response to detecting that the current virtual battle task meets a preset condition, control to drop a virtual supply in the virtual scene; determine a target scene area corresponding to the dropped virtual supply in the virtual scene; and in response to detecting that a virtual object moves into the target scene area, display an orientation guidance identifier on the graphical user interface, and control a direction indicator of the orientation guidance identifier according to a target position of the virtual supply in the virtual scene.
Representative Claim 17: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein a computer program is stored on the computer-readable storage medium, and when executing the computer program, the processor, is configured to: provide, by a terminal device, a graphical user interface, and display a virtual scene of a current virtual battle task on the graphical user interface; in response to detecting that the current virtual battle task meets a preset condition, control to drop a virtual supply in the virtual scene; determine a target scene area corresponding to the dropped virtual supply in the virtual scene; and in response to detecting that a virtual object moves into the target scene area, display an orientation guidance identifier on the graphical user interface, and control a direction indicator of the orientation guidance identifier according to a target position of the virtual supply in the virtual scene.
(Examiner notes: The underlined claim terms above are interpreted as additional elements beyond the abstract idea and are further analyzed under Step 2A - Prong Two)
The additional elements are instructions for applying the judicial exceptions with a generic computing device as, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional elements of a terminal device, an electronic device, processors, and non-transitory computer-readable storage mediums are generic computer components for performing the above method, per MPEP 2106.05(f). Under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional elements are generic components of a computing device used to apply the abstract idea.
Under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the recited steps of a game control method, comprising: displaying a virtual battle task; dropping a virtual supply; determining a target area corresponding to the virtual supply drop; displaying an orientation guidance identifier; and controlling a direction indicator according to a position of the virtual supply (i.e., one or more concepts performed in the human mind, such as one or more observations, evaluations, judgments, opinions), then it also falls within the “Mental Processes” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas. The recited steps are a simulation that applies an abstract idea, specifically mental processes (observation (displaying a virtual battle task; dropping a virtual supply; displaying an orientation guidance identifier), and/or evaluation (determining a target area corresponding to the virtual supply drop and controlling a direction indicator according to a position of the virtual supply)). If claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, include a mental process and/or certain methods of organizing human activity (CMOHA), the limitations fall under the abstract ideas judicial exception and therefore recite ineligible subject matter. Accordingly, claims 1, 16, and 17 recite abstract ideas.
Dependent Claims 2-14, and 18-21 further narrow the abstract ideas of displaying a virtual battle task; dropping a virtual supply; determining a target area corresponding to the virtual supply drop; displaying an orientation guidance identifier; and controlling a direction indicator according to a position of the virtual supply (i.e., one or more concepts performed in the human mind, such as one or more observations, evaluations, judgments, opinions), then it also falls within the “Mental Processes” and is an abstract idea and then it also falls within the “Organizing Human Processes” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas and then also falls within the “Organizing Human Processes” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas.
Independent claim(s) 1, 16, and 17 recite/describe nearly identical steps (and therefore also recite limitations that fall within this subject matter grouping of abstract ideas), and this/these claim(s) is/are therefore determined to recite an abstract idea under the same analysis.
As such, the Examiner concludes that claims 1, 16, and 17 recite an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong One: YES).
Under Step 2A Prong 2 the claims are analyzed to determine whether the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2A - Prong Two: In prong two of step 2A, an evaluation is made whether a claim recites any additional element, or combination of additional elements, that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. An “addition element” is an element that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception (i.e., an element/limitation that sets forth an abstract idea is not an additional element). The phrase “integration into a practical application” is defined as requiring an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using “displaying a virtual battle task; dropping a virtual supply”, “determining a target area corresponding to the virtual supply drop”, “displaying an orientation guidance identifier”, and “controlling a direction indicator according to a position of the virtual supply” etc. (Claims 1, 16, and 17) are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer.
Similarly, the limitations of applying “displaying a virtual battle task; dropping a virtual supply”, “determining a target area corresponding to the virtual supply drop”, “displaying an orientation guidance identifier”, and “controlling a direction indicator according to a position of the virtual supply” etc. Independent Claim(s) 1, 16, and 17, and dependent claims 2-14 and 18-21 are recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components in a vehicle. This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Further, the additional limitations beyond the abstract idea identified above, serves merely to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Specifically, it/they serve(s) to limit the application of the abstract idea to computerized environments (e.g., displaying a virtual battle task; dropping a virtual supply; determining a target area corresponding to the virtual supply drop; displaying an orientation guidance identifier; and controlling a direction indicator according to a position of the virtual supply etc.). This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The recited additional element(s) of displaying a virtual battle task; dropping a virtual supply; determining a target area corresponding to the virtual supply drop; displaying an orientation guidance identifier; and controlling a direction indicator according to a position of the virtual supply (Claim(s) 1, 16, and 17), additionally and/or alternatively simply append insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, (e.g., mere pre-solution activity, such as data gathering, in conjunction with an abstract idea). This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Dependent claims 2-14 and 18-21 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective dependent claims is/are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim (i.e. they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim).
The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claim(s) is/are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong two: NO).
Step 2B: In step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, is/are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. This analysis is also termed a search for an "inventive concept." An "inventive concept" is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong 2”, the identified additional elements in independent claim(s) 1, 16, and 17, and dependent claims 2-14, and 18-21 are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer, and/or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Therefore, the claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
The recited additional element(s) of displaying a virtual battle task; dropping a virtual supply; determining a target area corresponding to the virtual supply drop; displaying an orientation guidance identifier; and controlling a direction indicator according to a position of the virtual supply (Claim(s) 1, 16, and 17), additionally and/or alternatively simply append insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, (e.g., mere pre-solution activity, such as data gathering, in conjunction with an abstract idea) i.e. selecting users (i.e. using a user interface) is similar to “Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data”, is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here) (See MPEP 2106.05(d) (II)).
This conclusion is based on a factual determination. Applicant’s own disclosure in paragraphs [0065] and [0075] acknowledges that “A graphical user interface is an interface display format for communication between a person and a computer, which allows a user to manipulate icons, logos or menu options on the screen using an input device such as a mouse or keyboard, and also allows a user to manipulate icons or menu options on the screen by performing touch operations on a touch screen of a touch terminal to select commands, start programs or perform other task”, and “In an optional implementation, taking a game as an example, a local terminal device stores a game program and is configured to present a game screen. The local terminal device is configured to interact with the player through a graphical user interface. That is, the game program is downloaded and installed and run conventionally through an electronic device” (i.e. conventional nature of using a computer and/or computer program). This additional element therefore does not ensure the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Viewing the additional limitations in combination also shows that they fail to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. When considered as an ordered combination, the additional components of the claims add nothing that is not already present when considered separately, and thus simply append the abstract idea with words equivalent to “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer or/and append the abstract idea with insignificant extra solution activity associated with the implementation of the judicial exception, and/or simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception.
The dependent claims 2-14, and 18-21 are dependent from claim 1, and include all the limitations of the independent claims, but fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective independent claims is/are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim (i.e. they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim). Therefore, the dependent claims recite the same abstract idea. The limitations of the dependent claims fail to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For example:
The limitations of claims 2, 3, 6, 8, 9, 11, 13, and 14, recite clarifications of having a target position located in a target area, detecting a distance between two virtual objects and displaying an orientation guidance identifier, generating a virtual supply at a preset height, updating the supply location identifier to be displayed at the target position, displaying supply area identifiers for supplies in different map areas, displaying supplies with colors according to levels of the virtual supply, removing the supply area identifier when supplies are picked up, and executing a vehicle summoning event once a battle task reaches a preset time point. Such clarifications, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, are merely defining/selecting a type of data to be manipulated which, per MPEP 2106.05(g), is insignificant extra-solution activity. Therefore, the limitations fail to provide any teaching that integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For this reason, the analysis performed on the independent claims is also applicable on these claims.
The limitations of claim 4, 5, 7, 10, 12, 18, 19, 20, and 21 recite clarifications of displaying a supply area identifier, overlaying a supply area identifier with a preset area, displaying the supply area corresponding to the virtual supply in the thumbnail map, updating the position identifier in the map in real time, having a preset ratio for the thumbnail map, having the overlay map be semi-transparent, displaying a brightness, shape, color, or pattern, and displaying object identifiers for other virtual objects of the same type. The limitations are further instructions for applying the judicial exceptions with a generic computing device/interface acting as an intermediary for performing the abstract ideas of displaying a virtual battle task; dropping a virtual supply; determining a target area corresponding to the virtual supply drop; displaying an orientation guidance identifier; and controlling a direction indicator according to a position of the virtual supply, see MPEP 2106.05(f). Therefore, the limitations fail to provide any teaching that integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For this reason, the analysis performed on the independent claims is also applicable on these claims.
The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements is/are sufficient to ensure the claim(s) amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above (Step 2B: NO).
Therefore, claims 1-14 and 16-21 are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2020/0316470 A1) in view of Feng (WO 2021/249134 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yang discloses a game control method, comprising ([0006] Embodiments of this disclosure provide a distance information display method in a virtual scene, a terminal, and a computer device, to resolve the problem in the related art that the user needs to open a map interface to view a distance between a virtual object controlled by a teammate and a current controlled object of the user, [0054] the virtual scene is further used for a virtual scene battle between at least two virtual roles):
providing, by a terminal device, a graphical user interface, and displaying a virtual scene of a current virtual battle task on the graphical user interface ([0169] The display screen 1905 is configured to display a user interface (UI). The UI may include a graph, text, an icon, a video, and any combination thereof);
in response to detecting that the current virtual battle task meets a preset condition, dropping a virtual supply in the virtual scene ([0120] A shooting game scene in which virtual objects are born in a birth region and are uniformly dropped to an arena region for arena activities is used as an example); and
in response to detecting that a virtual object moves into the target scene area, displaying an orientation guidance identifier on the graphical user interface ([0129] A location of the icon 1502 in the virtual compass 1501 may indicate an orientation of the marked location point relative to the current controlled object), and
controlling a direction indicator of the orientation guidance identifier according to a target position of the virtual supply in the virtual scene ([0105] the indication icon 740 is displayed at an edge of a scene picture of the virtual scene 700, and indicates, by using an arrow, an orientation of the target location point B relative to the current controlled object 710).
However, Yang is not relied upon disclosing determining a target scene area corresponding to the virtual supply dropped in the virtual scene.
Feng teaches determining a target scene area corresponding to the virtual supply dropped in the virtual scene ([0054] In one possible scenario, the target hotspot used to indicate the center of the target interaction area can be displayed in the target virtual scene, as shown in Figure 5).
Yang and Feng are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of shooting games. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention to modify a game control method as disclosed by Yang, further including determining a target scene area corresponding to the virtual supply dropped in the virtual scene as taught by Feng for the purpose of obtaining the target virtual scene for virtual object interaction, thereby improving the richness of the target virtual scene (Feng, [0053]).
Regarding Claim 2, Yang discloses wherein the target position is located in the target scene area ([0025] obtain location information of a target location point (target position) in the virtual scene, the target location point comprising a location point at which an indication icon exists in a scene picture of the virtual scene (target scene area)).
Regarding Claim 16, Yang discloses an electronic device, wherein the electronic device comprises ([0006] Embodiments of this disclosure provide a distance information display method in a virtual scene, a terminal, and a computer device (electronic device)):
a processor, a memory and a bus, the memory stores machine-readable instructions executable by the processor, when the electronic device is running, the processor communicates with the memory through the bus, and by executing the machine-readable instructions, the processor is configured to ([0028] According to another aspect , a computer device is provided , including a processor and a memory , the memory storing at least one instruction , at least one program , a code set or an instruction set , and the at least one instruction , the at least one program , the code set or the instruction set being loaded and executed by the processor to implement the foregoing distance information display method in a virtual scene):
provide a graphical user interface, and displaying a virtual scene of a current virtual battle task on the graphical user interface ([0120] A shooting game scene in which virtual objects are born in a birth region and are uniformly dropped to an arena region for arena activities is used as an example);
in response to detecting that the current virtual battle task meets a preset condition, control to drop a virtual supply in the virtual scene ([0120] A shooting game scene in which virtual objects are born in a birth region and are uniformly dropped to an arena region for arena activities is used as an example);
in response to detecting that a virtual object moves into the target scene area, display an orientation guidance identifier on the graphical user interface ([0129] A location of the icon 1502 in the virtual compass 1501 may indicate an orientation of the marked location point relative to the current controlled object), and
control a direction indicator of the orientation guidance identifier according to a target position of the virtual supply in the virtual scene ([0105] the indication icon 740 is displayed at an edge of a scene picture of the virtual scene 700, and indicates, by using an arrow, an orientation of the target location point B relative to the current controlled object 710).
However, Yang is not relied upon disclosing determine a target scene area corresponding to the dropped virtual supply in the virtual scene.
Feng teaches determine a target scene area corresponding to the dropped virtual supply in the virtual scene ([0054] In one possible scenario, the target hotspot used to indicate the center of the target interaction area can be displayed in the target virtual scene, as shown in Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 17, Yang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein a computer program is stored on the computer-readable storage medium, and when executing the computer program, the processor is configured to:
provide, by a terminal device, a graphical user interface, and display a virtual scene of a current virtual battle task on the graphical user interface ([0120] A shooting game scene in which virtual objects are born in a birth region and are uniformly dropped to an arena region for arena activities is used as an example);
in response to detecting that the current virtual battle task meets a preset condition, control to drop a virtual supply in the virtual scene ([0120] A shooting game scene in which virtual objects are born in a birth region and are uniformly dropped to an arena region for arena activities is used as an example);
in response to detecting that a virtual object moves into the target scene area, display an orientation guidance identifier on the graphical user interface ([0129] A location of the icon 1502 in the virtual compass 1501 may indicate an orientation of the marked location point relative to the current controlled object), and
control a direction indicator of the orientation guidance identifier according to a target position of the virtual supply in the virtual scene ([0105] the indication icon 740 is displayed at an edge of a scene picture of the virtual scene 700, and indicates, by using an arrow, an orientation of the target location point B relative to the current controlled object 710).
However, Yang is not relied upon disclosing determine a target scene area corresponding to the dropped virtual supply in the virtual scene.
Feng teaches determine a target scene area corresponding to the dropped virtual supply in the virtual scene ([0054] In one possible scenario, the target hotspot used to indicate the center of the target interaction area can be displayed in the target virtual scene, as shown in Figure 5).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2020/0316470 A1) in view of Feng (WO 2021/249134 A1), and in further view of Li (CN 111991800 A).
Regarding Claim 3, Yang discloses wherein displaying the orientation guidance identifier on the graphical user interface in response to detecting that the virtual object moves into the target scene area comprises:
in response to detecting that the virtual object moves into the target scene area, detecting a distance between the virtual object and the virtual supply in the target scene area ([0021] the distance between the target location point and the current controlled object being greater than a distance threshold).
However, Yang is not relied upon disclosing in response to detecting that the distance between the virtual object and the virtual supply in the target scene area is less than a preset distance threshold, displaying the orientation guidance identifier on the graphical user interface
Li teaches in response to detecting that the distance between the virtual object and the virtual supply in the target scene area is less than a preset distance threshold, displaying the orientation guidance identifier on the graphical user interface ([n0007] Sound sources within a preset range determined by the virtual character; and a virtual object that performs a preset operation on the virtual character, [n0009] determining the sub-identifier in the first graphic identifier that corresponds to the target virtual object includes: obtaining the first orientation information of the target virtual object; and determining the sub-identifier in the first graphic identifier that corresponds to the first orientation information, [n0067] For example, when a virtual object within a preset range determined according to the virtual character hits the virtual character with a gun, then the virtual object is determined to be the target virtual object for performing the preset operation on the virtual character, rather than the sound source virtual object).
Yang and Li are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of shooting games. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention to modify a game control method as disclosed by Yang, further including in response to detecting that the distance between the virtual object and the virtual supply in the target scene area is less than a preset distance threshold, displaying the orientation guidance identifier on the graphical user interface as taught by Li for the purpose of determining distance information from the virtual character (Li, [0065]).
Claims 4, 5, 12, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2020/0316470 A1) in view of Feng (WO 2021/249134 A1), and in further view of Wang (US 2020/0298116 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Yang is not relied upon disclosing displaying a supply area identifier corresponding to the virtual supply in a map area corresponding to the target scene area in a scene thumbnail map displayed in the graphical user interface.
Wang teaches displaying a supply area identifier corresponding to the virtual supply in a map area corresponding to the target scene area in a scene thumbnail map displayed in the graphical user interface ([0084] in a video game scene, the target position may be a position point marked on the global map by a user or a teammate, and the position point may be displayed on the global map as an identifier of the user who marks the position point).
Yang and Wang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of shooting games. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention to modify a game control method as disclosed by Yang, further including displaying a supply area identifier corresponding to the virtual supply in a map area corresponding to the target scene area in a scene thumbnail map displayed in the graphical user interface as taught by Wang for the purpose of describing geographic characteristics of the virtual scene (Wang, [0043]).
Regarding Claim 5, Yang is not relied upon disclosing wherein displaying the supply area identifier corresponding to the virtual supply in the map area corresponding to the target scene area in the scene thumbnail map displayed in the graphical user interface comprises:
overlaying and displaying a supply area identifier with a preset area corresponding to the virtual supply at the map area corresponding to the target scene area in the scene thumbnail map displayed in the graphical user interface.
Feng teaches overlaying and displaying a supply area identifier with a preset area corresponding to the virtual supply at the map area corresponding to the target scene area in the scene thumbnail map displayed in the graphical user interface ([0056] users can click on the minimap (thumbnail map) C1 to access specific information on the minimap, which displays the positions of the virtual object C2 and the target hotspot C3 on the minimap. Based on the line connecting the two, corresponding prompts are generated, indicating the direction of the target hotspot C3 relative to the virtual object's position C2. The distance between the target hotspot C3 and the virtual object's position C2 is calculated based on the map scale, thus guiding the virtual object towards the target hotspot and ensuring the accuracy of virtual object interaction).
Regarding Claim 12, Yang is not relied upon disclosing displaying a virtual object identifier corresponding to the virtual object in the scene thumbnail map displayed in the graphical user interface; wherein a position of the virtual object identifier in the scene thumbnail map is updated in real time according to a movement of the virtual object in the virtual scene.
Feng teaches displaying a virtual object identifier corresponding to the virtual object in the scene thumbnail map displayed in the graphical user interface ([0056] users can click on the minimap (thumbnail map) C1 to access specific information on the minimap, which displays the positions of the virtual object C2 and the target hotspot C3 on the minimap);
wherein a position of the virtual object identifier in the scene thumbnail map is updated in real time according to a movement of the virtual object in the virtual scene ([0075] determine the real-time position coordinates of the virtual objects in the target virtual scene; then, update the regional position coordinates of the target interactive area based on the real-time position coordinates, and the target interactive area can be updated at the position indicated by the regional position coordinates).
Regarding Claim 18, Yang is not relied upon disclosing wherein a ratio of the occupied area of the supply area identifier in the scene thumbnail map to a total area of the scene thumbnail map is equal to a preset ratio threshold, wherein the preset ratio threshold is determined according to a ratio of an actual area of the target scene area to an area of the entire virtual scene.
Wang teaches wherein a ratio of the occupied area of the supply area identifier in the scene thumbnail map to a total area of the scene thumbnail map is equal to a preset ratio threshold, wherein the preset ratio threshold is determined according to a ratio of an actual area of the target scene area to an area of the entire virtual scene ([0043] Certainly, the terminal may further display thumbnails of virtual scenes within a specific distance around the current virtual object on the current display interface… Specific display positions and shapes of the first target area and the second target area may be set according to an operating habit of the user)
Regarding Claim 19, Yang is not relied upon disclosing wherein the supply area identifier is overlaid on the map area in a semi-transparent form.
Wang teaches wherein the supply area identifier is overlaid on the map area in a semi-transparent form ([0076] the terminal may further display the target horizontal bar dial in the visual field picture of the virtual object according to target transparency… the target transparency may be 50% or 75%).
Claims 6-8, 10, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2020/0316470 A1) in view of Feng (WO 2021/249134 A1), in view of Wang (US 2020/0298116 A1), and in further view of Yao et al. (WO 2022/057624 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Yang is not relied upon disclosing wherein dropping the virtual supply in the virtual scene comprises: generating the virtual supply at a preset height of the virtual scene; and controlling the virtual supply to move from the preset height to the target position of the virtual scene.
Yao teaches generating the virtual supply at a preset height of the virtual scene ([0079] The virtual vehicles can be airplanes, hot air balloons, [0080] The virtual vehicle prop 307 appears at the starting point (preset height) of the throwing route indicated by the target throwing route in the virtual environment); and
controlling the virtual supply to move from the preset height to the target position of the virtual scene ([0081] by introducing airdrop-type virtual items into the virtual item system, and allowing users to plan a throwing route on the virtual environment map via gestures, airdrop-type virtual items can be thrown along the target throwing route).
Yang and Yao are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of shooting games. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention to modify a game control method as disclosed by Yang, further including generating the virtual supply at a preset height of the virtual scene; and controlling the virtual supply to move from the preset height to the target position of the virtual scene as taught by Yao for the purpose of expanding the throwing range of virtual items, making it less likely for other virtual objects to dodge, thereby improving the hit rate of virtual items (Yao, [0081]).
Regarding Claim 7, Yang is not relied upon disclosing wherein displaying the supply area identifier corresponding to the virtual supply in the map area corresponding to the target scene area in the scene thumbnail map displayed in the graphical user interface comprises: during a process of controlling the virtual supply to move from the preset height to the target position of the virtual scene, displaying the supply area identifier corresponding to the virtual supply in the map area corresponding to the target scene area in the scene thumbnail map displayed in the graphical user interface.
Yao teaches wherein displaying the supply area identifier corresponding to the virtual supply in the map area corresponding to the target scene area in the scene thumbnail map displayed in the graphical user interface comprises:
during a process of controlling the virtual supply to move from the preset height to the target position of the virtual scene, displaying the supply area identifier corresponding to the virtual supply in the map area corresponding to the target scene area in the scene thumbnail map displayed in the graphical user interface ([0054] In response to the trigger operation of the target item control, the throwing route setting control is displayed. The target item control is the usage control corresponding to the airdrop type virtual item, and the throwing route setting control displays a virtual environment map, [0153] Drop airdrop-type virtual items in the virtual environment according to the distribution quantity, wherein the number of airdrop-type virtual items dropped is positively correlated with the distribution quantity).
Regarding Claim 8, Yang is not relied upon disclosing in response to detecting that the virtual supply moves from the preset height to the target position of the virtual scene, controlling the supply area identifier to be updated to a supply location identifier displayed at a position of the scene thumbnail corresponding to the target position.
Yao teaches in response to detecting that the virtual supply moves from the preset height to the target position of the virtual scene, controlling the supply area identifier to be updated to a supply location identifier displayed at a position of the scene thumbnail corresponding to the target position ([0123] three points can be pre-marked in the virtual environment (target position), and the coordinates of these three pre-marked points can be determined in the virtual environment map (scene thumbnail). This establishes a positional mapping relationship between the virtual environment map and the virtual environment. When determining the actual throwing route, the starting point of the route can be connected to the three points in the virtual environment map to determine three directional line segments).
Regarding Claim 10, Yang is not relied upon disclosing displaying a timing control on the graphical user interface; wherein the timing control is configured to display a countdown according to a moment when the virtual supply is generated at the preset height of the virtual scene and a moment when the virtual supply moves from the preset height to the target position of the virtual scene; and adjusting a display form of the supply area identifier corresponding to the virtual supply displayed in the map area corresponding to the target scene area in the scene thumbnail map according to the countdown displayed in the timing control.
Feng teaches displaying a timing control on the graphical user interface ([0063] displayed by using a timer); and
wherein the timing control is configured to display a countdown according to a moment when the virtual supply is generated at the preset height of the virtual scene and a moment when the virtual supply moves from the preset height to the target position of the virtual scene ([0051] before the countdown reaches zero, the target interaction area is considered to be within the effective time. During this effective time, the virtual object needs to enter the target interaction area to obtain the interaction value);
adjusting a display form of the supply area identifier corresponding to the virtual supply displayed in the map area corresponding to the target scene area in the scene thumbnail map according to the countdown displayed in the timing control ([0051] If the existence time of the target interaction area reaches the effective time (countdown reaches zero), the target interaction area will disappear and may be refreshed based on the mechanism, appearing in other locations in the target virtual scene).
Regarding Claim 13, Yang discloses controlling to delete the supply area identifier corresponding to the virtual supply from the map area corresponding to the target scene area in the scene thumbnail map ([0129] the marked location point (identifier) set by the player in the map of the birth region is removed (deleted after the current controlled object gets on an airplane)).
However, Yang is not relied upon disclosing in response to detecting that the virtual supply in the target scene area is picked up.
Yao teaches in response to detecting that the virtual supply in the target scene area is picked up ([0082] when a user equips (picks up) an airdrop-type virtual item to a virtual object and enters a game).
Regarding Claim 14, Yang discloses wherein the preset condition comprises one of the following items:
a game process of the current virtual battle task reaches a preset time point ([0006] which needs to consume a specific operating time (preset time point)).
However, Yang is not relied upon disclosing a virtual object in the current virtual battle task executes a virtual vehicle summoning event, wherein the virtual vehicle is configured to drop the virtual supply into the virtual scene; and a number of surviving virtual objects in the current virtual battle task reaches a set number.
Yao teaches a virtual object in the current virtual battle task executes a virtual vehicle summoning event, wherein the virtual vehicle is configured to drop the virtual supply into the virtual scene ([0079] Optionally, the airdrop-type virtual item can be loaded onto a virtual vehicle and dropped according to the target throwing route. The virtual vehicles can be airplanes, hot air balloons, etc); and
a number of surviving virtual objects in the current virtual battle task reaches a set number ([0086] based on the item type of the airdrop virtual item, the conditions for using the airdrop virtual item can be that the number of times the first virtual object (the controlled virtual object) defeats the second virtual object within the target time period meets a quantity threshold).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2020/0316470 A1) in view of Feng (WO 2021/249134 A1), in view of Wang (US 2020/0298116 A1), and in further view of de Mesentier Silva et al. (US 2022/0118364 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Yang discloses displaying supply area identifiers corresponding to virtual supplies displayed in map areas corresponding to different target scene areas in the scene thumbnail map differently ([0110] according to the distance information of the target location point, a target size of the indication icon of the target location point; and adjust a size of the indication icon of the target location point to the target size).
However, Yang is not relied upon disclosing wherein the different target scene areas are configured to drop virtual supplies of different levels.
de Mesentier Silva teaches wherein the different target scene areas are configured to drop virtual supplies of different levels ([0015] For example, a set of content generation algorithms or models may be stored for a role playing shooter game including… a content generation algorithm or model for generating loot or item drops (virtual supplies)… Each of the content generation algorithms or models may generate content based in part on the player persona such that players with different player personas may be presented with different dynamically generated content. In operation, the gaming system or persona system may retrieve a algorithm or model corresponding to the content to be dynamically generated and input at least a portion of the player's persona into the algorithm or model generate the desired content based at least in part on the player's player persona, [0036] the persona system 130 may retrieve information indicating the percentage of the area of maps or levels played by the player that the player explored).
Yang and de Mesentier Silva are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of interacting with virtual objects in video games. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention to modify a game control method as disclosed by Yang, further including wherein the different target scene areas are configured to drop virtual supplies of different levels as taught by de Mesentier Silva for the purpose of generating content that’s tailored for exploration for each player (de Mesentier Silva, [0015]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2020/0316470 A1) in view of Feng (WO 2021/249134 A1), in view of Wang (US 2020/0298116 A1), and in further view of Fortnite, “Supply Drop (Battle Royale)”, Fortnite Wiki, June 2022 [retrieved on 2026-09-04], Retrieved from the internet: <URL: https://web.archive.org/web/20220625070559/https:/fortnite.fandom.com/wiki/Supply_Drop_(Battle_Royale)#Strategy_Guide>.
Regarding Claim 11, Yang is not relied upon disclosing wherein adjusting the display form of the supply area identifier comprises: filling the supply area identifier corresponding to the virtual supply displayed in the map area corresponding to the target scene area in the scene thumbnail map with a target color according to a time progress of the countdown displayed in the timing control; wherein the time progress of the countdown is correlated with a filling area of the supply area identifier, and the target color is determined according to a level of the virtual supply dropped in the target scene area.
Fortnite teaches filling the supply area identifier corresponding to the virtual supply displayed in the map area corresponding to the target scene area in the scene thumbnail map with a target color according to a time progress of the countdown displayed in the timing control; wherein the time progress of the countdown is correlated with a filling area of the supply area identifier, and the target color is determined according to a level of the virtual supply dropped in the target scene area (Pg. 2 Loot Pool Table – Legendary, Epic, Rare, Uncommon, and Common (rarity levels) items have different color coding).
Yang and Fortnite are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of shooting games. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention to modify a game control method as disclosed by Yang, further including wherein the time progress of the countdown is correlated with a filling area of the supply area identifier, and the target color is determined according to a level of the virtual supply dropped in the target scene area as taught by Fortnite for the purpose of high tier weapons, consumables, and materials (Fortnite, Pg. 1 Lines 2-5).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2020/0316470 A1) in view of Feng (WO 2021/249134 A1), in view of Wang (US 2020/0298116 A1), in view of de Mesentier Silva et al. (US 2022/0118364 A1), and in further view of Li (CN 111991800 A).
Regarding Claim 20, Yang is not relied upon disclosing wherein display form of the differentiated display includes at least one of the following items: display brightness, display shape, filled color and filled pattern.
Li teaches wherein display form of the differentiated display includes at least one of the following items: display brightness, display shape, filled color and filled pattern ([n0083] For example, this can be achieved by adjusting the transparency value, color value, or size)
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2020/0316470 A1) in view of Feng (WO 2021/249134 A1), in view of Wang (US 2020/0298116 A1), and in further view of Li (CN 111991800 A).
Regarding Claim 21, Yang discloses in response to detecting that the virtual object is eliminated, deleting the virtual object identifier corresponding to the virtual object from the scene thumbnail map ([0129] the marked location point (identifier) set by the player in the map of the birth region is removed (deleted after the current controlled object gets on an airplane)).
However, Yang is not relied upon disclosing displaying virtual object identifiers corresponding to multiple other virtual objects which belong to a same camp with the virtual object.
Li teaches displaying virtual object identifiers corresponding to multiple other virtual objects which belong to a same camp with the virtual object ([n0008] the first graphic identifier includes at least two of the sub-identifiers, [n0161] the first graphic identifier includes at least two sub-identifiers, wherein the sub-identifiers are used to indicate the location information of the target virtual object).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pan et al. (US 2021/0294472 A1) is in the field of methods and apparatus for controlling virtual objects to drop virtual items and a medium for doing so (Abstract).
/HAMID TARIQ HAFIZ/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/ROBERT J UTAMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715