DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-9, 12, and 19-26are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhavaraju et al. (US 2016/0190810) in view of Chettiar et al. (US 2021/0218251 A1) further in view of Shin (US 2019/0052097 A1).
Re Claim 1: Bhavaraju teaches an apparatus (see 4 fig.1 para 0020) comprising: a first energy storage unit to store a first amount of energy at a utility-scale to be provided to a power distribution network (see 24, 4 fig.1 para 0023); a first inverter to connect the first energy storage unit to the power distribution network (see 26, 4 fig.1 para 0023);; a second energy storage unit to store a second amount of energy at the utility-scale to be provided to the power distribution network (see 24 fig.1 para 0023; although only a single energy storage device 24 and a single ES inverter 26 are shown in the illustrated embodiment, it will be understood that a greater number of such components may also be used); a second inverter to connect the second energy storage unit to the power distribution network (see 26 fig.1 para 0023; although only a single energy storage device 24 and a single ES inverter 26 are shown in the illustrated embodiment, it will be understood that a greater number of such components may also be used, similarly as 12-1, 12-4 each PV has separate converter);
Bhavaraju doesn’t expressly teach a switch disposed between the first energy storage unit and the second energy storage unit, wherein the switch converts the first energy storage unit and the second energy storage unit between a line interactive state and an online state.
In an analogous art Chettiar teaches a switch disposed between the first energy storage unit and the second energy storage unit (see 106/108/110/112 fig. 1A/1B/8A/8B, 9 para 0055-0088);
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to use the switching configuration between multiple energy storage units of Chettiar in the invention of Bhavaraju to reconfigure multiple energy storage units between different electrical connection states, thereby allowing flexible control of energy delivery and predictable optimization of system operation within a utility-scale inverter architecture.
In an analogous art Shin teaches wherein the switch converts the first energy storage unit and the second energy storage unit between a line interactive state and an online state (see current control vs voltage control mode para 0030-0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed the grid-connected and independent operational state control of Shin in the combined system of Chettiar and Bhavaraju to manage transitions between different operating modes of the energy storage system, thereby providing predictable state control and seamless operational switching between grid-interactive and independent modes.
Re Claim 19 : Bhavaraju teaches method comprising: storing a first amount of energy at a utility-scale in a first energy storage unit(see 24, 4 fig.1 para 0023);; storing a second amount of energy at the utility-scale in a second energy storage unit (see 24 fig.1 para 0023; although only a single energy storage device 24 and a single ES inverter 26 are shown in the illustrated embodiment, it will be understood that a greater number of such components may also be used);, wherein the first amount of energy and the second amount of energy are to be provided to a power distribution network (see 4, multiple 24, 26, 18, 8, fig.1 para 0021-0023, 24 outputting DC power ); connecting the first energy storage unit to the power distribution network via a first inverter (see 26, 4 fig.1 para 0023); connecting the second energy storage unit to the power distribution network via a second inverter (see 26 fig.1 para 0023; although only a single energy storage device 24 and a single ES inverter 26 are shown in the illustrated embodiment, it will be understood that a greater number of such components may also be used, similarly as 12-1, 12-4 each PV has separate converter);
Bhavaraju doesn’t expressly teach converting the first energy storage unit and the second energy storage unit between a line interactive state and an online state with a switch connecting the first energy storage unit and the second energy storage unit.
In an analogous art Chettiar teaches a switch connecting the first energy storage unit and the second energy storage unit. (see 106/108/110/112 fig. 1A/1B/8A/8B, 9 para 0055-0088);
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to use the switching configuration between multiple energy storage units of Chettiar in the invention of Bhavaraju to reconfigure multiple energy storage units between different electrical connection states, thereby allowing flexible control of energy delivery and predictable optimization of system operation within a utility-scale inverter architecture.
In an analogous art Shin teaches converting the first energy storage unit and the second energy storage unit between a line interactive state and an online state (see current control vs voltage control mode para 0030-0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed the grid-connected and independent operational state control of Shin in the combined system of Chettiar and Bhavaraju to manage transitions between different operating modes of the energy storage system, thereby providing predictable state control and seamless operational switching between grid-interactive and independent modes.
Re Claim 2: Combination of Bhavaraju, Chettiar and Shin teach invention set forth above, Shin further teaches wherein the switch is open in the line interactive state (see 140, 120, 130 fig.1-2 para 0042-0044).
Re Claim 3: Combination of Bhavaraju, Chettiar and Shin teach invention set forth above, Bhavaraju further teaches wherein the first inverter and the second inverter are connected to the power distribution network in parallel (see 12-1, 12-4, , 16, 18 multiple 26 fig.1 para, 0021-0023).
Re Claim 4: Combination of Bhavaraju, Chettiar and Shin teach invention set forth above, Chettiar further teaches wherein the switch is closed (see 106/108/110/112 fig. 1A/1B/8A/8B, 9 para 0055-0088); Shin further teaches the online state (voltage control mode para 0030-0034).
Re Claim 5: Combination of Bhavaraju, Chettiar and Shin teaches invention set forth above, Bhavaraju further teaches wherein the first inverter is connected to a power source of the power distribution network (see 2, 6, 10, 18, 8 fig.1 para 0020) Shin further teaches and the second inverter is connected to a load of the power distribution network in the online state (see 110, 120, 130, 140 fig. para 0030, 033, 0041-0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the dual‑inverter utility‑scale ESS of Bhavaraju, with the source/load online operation of Shin to achieve controlled source isolation and continued load supply in an expected manner.
Re Claim 8: Combination of Bhavaraju, Chettiar and Shin teach invention set forth above, Bhavaraju further teaches wherein the first energy storage unit receives energy from the power distribution network to charge the first energy storage unit (see 24, 26, 30, 18 fig.1 para 0020-0023, 0038, 0041, 0043).
Re Claim 9: Combination of Bhavaraju, Chettiar and Shin teach invention set forth above, Bhavaraju further teaches wherein the second energy storage unit receives energy from the power distribution network to charge the second energy storage unit (see 24, 26, 30, 18 fig.1 para 0020, 0023, 0038, 0041, 0043).
Re Claim 12: Combination of Bhavaraju, Chettiar, and Shin teach invention set forth above, Bhavaraju further teaches wherein the first energy storage unit has a capacity is of at least 2.4 megawatt-hours (see 24, 4, fig.1 para 0024 utility scale battery).
The recited capacity “at least 2.4 megawatt hours” represents merely a result effective variable and a routine design choice for the utility scale energy storage device 24 of Bhavaraju. Once Bhavaraju teaches a utility scale ESS that must support feeder level voltage, frequency, and ramp rate control, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to select an appropriate MWh capacity from within the known utility scale range based on desired power rating and duration, including 2.4 MWh and higher, with no change in the underlying operation of the system. The claim does not attribute any new or unexpected result to the specific 2.4 MWh threshold beyond what Bhavaraju already achieves with utility scale storage (see 24 fig.1, Para 0007, 0020, 0025, 0041–0042).
Re Claim 20: Combination of Bhavaraju, Chettiar and Shin teach invention set forth above, Shin further teaches wherein converting to the line interactive state comprises opening the switch (see 140, 120, 130 fig.1-2 para 0042-0044).
Re Claim 21: Combination of Bhavaraju, Chettiar and Shin teach invention set forth above, Bhavaraju further teaches further comprising connecting the first inverter and the second inverter to the power distribution network in parallel in the line interactive state (see 12-1, 12-4, , 16, 18 multiple 26 fig.1 para, 0021-0023).
Re Claim 22: Combination of Bhavaraju, Chettiar and Shin teach invention set forth above, Chettiar further teaches comprises closing the switch (see 106/108/110/112 fig. 1A/1B/8A/8B, 9 para 0055-0588); Shin further teaches converting to the online state (voltage control mode para 0030-0034).
Claim 23: Combination of Bhavaraju, Chettiar and Shin teaches invention set forth above, Bhavaraju further teaches further comprising connecting the first inverter to the power distribution network (see 2, 6, 10, 18, 8 fig.1 para 0020) Shin further teaches and the second inverter to a load of the power distribution network in the online state (see 110, 120, 130, 140 fig. para 0030, 033, 0041-0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the dual‑inverter utility‑scale ESS of Bhavaraju, with the source/load online operation of Shin to achieve controlled source isolation and continued load supply in an expected manner.
Re Claim 24: Combination of Bhavaraju, Chettiar and Shin teach invention set forth above, Bhavaraju further teaches further comprising charging the first energy storage unit with the power distribution network (see 24, 26, 30, 18 fig.1 para 0020-0023, 0038, 0041, 0043).
Re Claim 25: Combination of Bhavaraju, Chettiar and Shin teach invention set forth above, Bhavaraju further teaches further comprising charging the second energy storage unit with the power distribution network (see 24, 26, 30, 18 fig.1 para 0020, 0023, 0038, 0041, 0043).
Re Claim 26: Combination of Bhavaraju, Chettiar and Shin teach invention set forth above, Bhavaraju further teaches further comprising controlling the switch remotely (see SCADA para 0039; known to remotely control power systems, 24, 26, 32 fig.7).
Claim(s) 13-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhavaraju et al. (US 2016/0190810) in view of Chettiar et al. (US 2021/0218251 A1) further in view of Shin (US 2019/0052097 A1) further in view of Smith (US 2023/0106707 A1).
Re Claim 13: Bhavaraju teaches a system (see 4 fig.1 para 0020) comprising: an energy source (see 10/6 fig.1 para 0020-0021); a transmission line to carry a current from the energy source to a load (see 18, 2 fig.1 para 0022); an energy storage apparatus comprising: a first energy storage unit to store energy at a utility-scale to be provided to the load (see 4, 24, 8, 18 para 0023); a first inverter to connect the first energy storage unit to the load via the transmission line (see 4, 24, 8, 18 para 0023); a second energy storage unit to store energy at the utility-scale to be provided to the load (see 24 fig.1 para 0023; although only a single energy storage device 24 and a single ES inverter 26 are shown in the illustrated embodiment, it will be understood that a greater number of such components may also be used); a second inverter to connect the second energy storage unit to the load via the transmission line(see 26 fig.1 para 0023; although only a single energy storage device 24 and a single ES inverter 26 are shown in the illustrated embodiment, it will be understood that a greater number of such components may also be used, similarly as 12-1, 12-4 each PV has separate converter);;
Bhavaraju doesn’t expressly teach a mobile energy storage apparatus; and a switch disposed between the first energy storage unit and the second energy storage unit, wherein the switch converts the mobile energy storage apparatus between a line interactive state and an online state;
In an analogous art Chettiar teaches and a switch disposed between the first energy storage unit and the second energy storage unit (see 106/108/110/112 fig. 1A/1B/8A/8B, 9 para 0055-0088).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to use the switching configuration between multiple energy storage units of Chettiar in the invention of Bhavaraju to reconfigure multiple energy storage units between different electrical connection states, thereby allowing flexible control of energy delivery and predictable optimization of system operation within a utility-scale inverter architecture.
In an analogous art Shin teaches wherein the switch converts the energy storage apparatus between a line interactive state and an online state (see current control vs voltage control mode para 0030-0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed apply the grid-connected and independent operational state control of Shin in the combined system of Chettiar and Bhavaraju to manage transitions between different operating modes of the energy storage system, thereby providing predictable state control and seamless operational switching between grid-interactive and independent modes.
In an analogous art Smith teaches a mobile energy storage apparatus (see 100 fig.1 para 0041) and a connector to connect the mobile energy storage apparatus to the transmission line, wherein the mobile energy storage apparatus is to supplement the current to the load from the energy source (see 104, 232, 236, 220 fig.1, 3 para 61-64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to implement energy storage system of a Chettiar, Bhavaraju and Shin as a mobile energy storage apparatus taught by smith to allow flexible deployment of utility scale storage at varying rid location; thereby improving system adaptability and load support efficiency.
Re Claim 14: Combination of Bhavaraju, Chettiar, Shin and Smith teach invention set forth above, Shin further teaches wherein the switch is open in the line interactive state (see 140, 120, 130 fig.1-2 para 0042-0044) Bhavaraju further teaches and wherein the connector comprises a first port to connect the first inverter to the transmission line (see 12-1, 16-1, 8 fig.1 para 0022) and a second port to connect the second inverter to the transmission line (see 12-2, 16-2/26, 30, 8 fig.1 para 0024).
Re Claim 15: Combination of Bhavaraju, Chettiar, Shin and Smith teach invention set forth above, Bhavaraju wherein the first port and the second port are connected to the transmission line in parallel (see 12-1 to 12-4, 16-1 to 16-4, 18 multiple 26, multiple 24 fig.1 para, 0021-0023).
Re Claim 16: Combination of Bhavaraju, Chettiar, Shin and Smith teach invention set forth above, Chettiar teaches wherein the switch is closed in the online state (see 106/108/110/112 fig. 1A/1B/8A/8B, 9 para 0055-0088) and making the connection series (see fig. 2a, 6a para 0063-0064, 0067-0068); Bhavaraju further teaches and wherein the connector comprises a first port and a second port to connect the mobile energy storage apparatus to the transmission line (see 24, 26, 16, 18 fig.1 para 0022-0024) Shin further teaches the online state (voltage control mode para 0030-0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to connect the mobile ESS’s series path Chettiar via a two-terminal connector (first/second port) inserted in series into Bhavaraju’s transmission line 18, so current passes through the ESS before the load when the switch is closed in the online state. This is a predictable alternative to paralleling, using Cherriar’s series configuration to condition line current.
Conclusion
/AQEEL H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2849