DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 6, “the inner arc” lacks antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurtz et al. (5,873,647) in view of Fan (7,401,936).
With respect to claims 1, 4, 5, and 9, Kurtz teaches a spray gun light (10), characterized by comprising: a lamp body (14 and 26) and a handle (first item 16); the lamp body is rotatably connected to the handle (column 2, lines 26-27); the lamp body includes a lighting component, wherein an inner arc of the lighting component is configured to fit securely against and clamp onto a spray gun (12) when mounted (Fig. 2).
Kurtz does not explicitly teach the lamp body includes a C-shaped lighting component and a baffle, the C-shaped lighting component having an opening on one side, the baffle is movably connected to one side of the opening and is configured to rotate toward the inner arc of the C-shaped lighting component (claim 1); characterized in that: a spray gun fixing component is located on the inner wall of the C-shaped lighting component, and the spray gun fixing component is made of a highly elastic polymer material with reversible deformation properties (claim 4); characterized in that: the spray gun fixing component protrudes from the inner wall of the C-shaped lighting component, and the end face of the spray gun fixing component inside the C-shaped lighting component is connected to a spring (claim 5); characterized in that: the baffle is connected to one side of the opening of the C-shaped lighting component via a pin (claim 9).
As for claim 1, Fan also drawn to lights securely connected to cylindrical devices, teaches the lamp body (1) includes a C-shaped lighting component (2) and a baffle (64), the C-shaped lighting component having an opening on one side, the baffle is movably connected to one side of the opening and is configured to rotate toward the inner arc of the C-shaped lighting component (Fig. 5B).
As for claim 4, Fan teaches a spray gun fixing component (13) is located on the inner wall of the C-shaped lighting component (Fig. 2), and the spray gun fixing component is made of a highly elastic polymer material with reversible deformation properties (column 2, line 63).
As for claim 5, Fan teaches the spray gun fixing component protrudes from the inner wall of the C-shaped lighting component, and the end face of the spray gun fixing component inside the C-shaped lighting component is connected to a spring (61; via 63 and 64).
As for claim 9, Fan teaches the baffle (64) is connected to one side of the opening of the C-shaped lighting component via a pin (63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to use the C-shape, the baffle, fixing component, spring, and pin of Fan in the light of Kurtz, in order to provide good mounting for a longer period of time (column 1, lines 23-42 of Kurtz).
As for claim 6, Kurtz further teaches a control knob (second item 16) is provided on the outer wall of the lighting component (Fig. 3), the control knob locks the spray gun fixing component (third item 16) and adjusts the height at which the spray gun fixing component protrudes from the inner wall of the lighting component (Fig. 3).
As for claim 8, Kurtz teaches the lamp body (14 and 26) is configured to rotate relative to the handle (first item 16) around a rotation axis, so that the light-emitting side of the lamp body faces the material spraying direction of the spray gun when mounted, while the handle remains perpendicular to the lamp body (Fig. 3).
As for claim 10, Kurtz teaches the side of the handle (first item 16) is provided with anti-slip patterns (column 2, lines 26-27; *note that threads on a screw are a pattern and reasonably interpreted as anti-slip patterns).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurtz and Fan, as is applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Fukerson et al. (2018/0274778).
With respect to claim 3, Kurtz and Fan teach all of the claimed elements, as is discussed above, as well as Kurtz further teaches a dirt-proof cover (18/20) is mounted on the light-emitting side of the lighting component (Fig. 3).
Kurtz and Fan do not explicitly teach the dirt-proof cover is connected to the lighting component via a snap-fit connection (claim 3).
As for claim 3, Fukerson also drawn to spray gun lights, teaches the dirt-proof cover is connected to the lighting component via a snap-fit connection (paragraph 74).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to use the snap-fit connection of Fukerson with the dirt-proof cover of Kurtz, in order to facilitate quick and secure attachment and detachment (paragraph 74 of Fukerson).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 7, and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 2, the prior art does not teach or suggest the baffle, after rotating toward the inner arc, can automatically spring back when no external force is applied; along with the other limiting elements of claims 1 and 2.
As for claim 7, the prior art does not teach or suggest the lamp body includes a fixing portion; the fixing portion is connected to the outer wall of the C-shaped lighting component, positioned on the side opposite to the side where the baffle is located; the end of the handle is provided with a groove, and the fixing portion is disposed within the groove and movably connected to the handle via a pin; along with the other limiting elements of claims 1 and 7.
As for claim 11, the prior art does not teach or suggest the handle includes a charging port; one side of the handle is equipped with a power switch and function adjustment buttons; along with the other limiting elements of claims 1 and 11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Mlakar et al. (12,472,516); see: Figs.1-2
Fulkerson et al. (2018/0274778); see: Figs. 2-3
Lucas (9,409,196); see: Figs. 1-5
Li (8,444,104); see: Fig. 1
/WILLIAM J CARTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 8/26/2026