DETAILED ACTION
INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/13/2025, 07/24/2025 & 03/20/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
FOREIGN PRIORITY
A claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C § 119 (a) - (d), which was contained in the Declaration and Power of Attorney filed on 02/13/2025 has been acknowledged. Acknowledgement of claimed foreign priority and receipt of priority documents is reflected in form PTO-326 Office Action Summary.
DOUBLE PATENTING
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of copending Application No. 19/106,058 in view of Gupta (U.S. Publication 2007/0022078). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented. See tabulation below for the claim analysis.
As to claims 1 & 8-9, instant application discloses an information processing device comprising a storage medium storing a computer-readable instruction and a processor coupled to the storage medium, the processor executing the computer-readable instruction to (Co-pending U.S. Publication – 19/106,058 - Claims 1 & 8): acquire a captured image obtained by capturing an image of the vicinity of a movement position of a moving object using a camera (Co-pending U.S. Publication – 19/106,058 - Claims 1 & 6); detect one or more targets included in the captured image and a spatial relationship between the one or more targets (Co-pending U.S. Publication – 19/106,058 - Claim 2);
19/106,058 is silent to add general knowledge information to at least any of the detected one or more targets or spatial relationship; and determine the movement position of the moving object on the basis of a result of addition of the general knowledge information.
However, Gupta discloses add general knowledge information to at least any of the detected one or more targets or spatial relationship ([0006, 0013, 0030-0032, 0036])
; and determine the movement position of the moving object on the basis of a result of addition of the general knowledge information. ([0042, 0045-0048])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify copending Application No. 19/106,058 to include the above limitations in order to improve the primary references candidate area evaluation using both observed environmental information and generally applicable concerning objects and their locations.
As to claims 2-7, these claims are rejected due to their dependence on claim 1 and are rejected for the same reasons.
CLAIM REJECTIONS - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 & 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Zhao et al. (U.S. Publication 2020/0401835) in view of Wandzel et al. (U.S. Publication 2021/0347046)
As to claims 1 & 8-9, Zhao discloses acquire an information processing device comprising a storage medium storing a computer-readable instruction and a processor coupled to the storage medium, the processor executing the computer-readable instruction to ([0010, 0017]): a captured image obtained by capturing an image of the vicinity of a movement position of a moving object using a camera ([0028]); detect one or more targets included in the captured image and a spatial relationship between the one or more targets ([0029-0030, 0037]); add general knowledge information to at least any of the detected one or more targets or spatial relationship ([0031, 0038, 0065, 0067]);
Zhao is silent to determine the movement position of the moving object on the basis of a result of addition of the general knowledge information.
However, Wandzel discloses determine the movement position of the moving object on the basis of a result of addition of the general knowledge information. ([0031, 0037, 0040-0041])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Zhao’s disclosure to include the above limitations in order to improve the reliability of the robot’s navigation within the perceived environment.
As to claim 3, Zhao in view of Wandzel discloses everything as disclosed in claim 1. In addition, Zhao discloses wherein the processor detects the one or more targets from the captured image as objects in a scene graph, and detects the spatial relationship as a spatial relationship between the objects. ([0033, 0037-0040])
As to claim 4, Zhao in view of Wandzel discloses everything as disclosed in claim 3. In addition, Zhao discloses wherein the processor adds the general knowledge information to at least any of the one or more objects or spatial relationships in the scene graph. ([0065-0069])
As to claim 5, Zhao in view of Wandzel discloses everything as disclosed in claim 1. In addition, Wandzel discloses wherein the processor determines the movement position by specifying a position to which the moving object is able to move among the one or more targets with reference to the result of addition of the general knowledge information. ([0037, 0040-0041, 0081])
As to claim 6, Zhao in view of Wandzel discloses everything as disclosed in claim 1. In addition, Wandzel discloses wherein the processor determines the movement position by specifying a priority order of positions to which the moving object is able to move among the one or more targets with reference to the result of addition of the general knowledge information. ([0063, 0090-0091])
As to claim 7, Zhao in view of Wandzel discloses everything as disclosed in claim 1. In addition, Zhao discloses wherein the processor further causes the moving object to travel to the determined movement position. ([0040, 0046])
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (U.S. Publication 2020/0401835) in view of Wandzel et al. (U.S. Publication 2021/0347046) as applied above further in view of Gupta (U.S. Publication 2007/0022078)
As to claim 2, Zhao in view of Wandzel discloses everything as disclosed in claim 1 but is silent to wherein the general knowledge information is information that defines in advance rules related to traveling of the moving object.
However, Gupta discloses wherein the general knowledge information is information that defines in advance rules related to traveling of the moving object. ([0006, 0047-0048])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Zhao in view of Wandzel’s disclosure to include the above limitations in order to provide enhance environmental rules to determine where an autonomous robot should navigate in performing a task.
CONCLUSION
Stephen P. Coleman
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2675
/STEPHEN P COLEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2675