DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 32 and 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claim 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 32 recites the limitation "an agitator drive unit". Claim 26 previously recited “an agitator drive unit” therefore it is unclear if this agitator drive unit recited in claim 32 is the same as claimed in claim 26 or if this is an additional agitator drive unit.
Claims 34-36 are rejected as they are dependent upon claim 32.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 9-11, 15, 18, 20, 25-26, 28-31 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) in view of Boos (US 2001/0043848) and further in view of Politi et al. (US 2008/0111269). Boos (US 2001/0043848) incorporates the teachings of Schade (CH 686343) by reference. English translations of Schade (CH 686343) have been provided herein.
Regarding claim 1, Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) teaches a granulate production device (Paragraph 0001 lines 1-7) comprising:
a granulator (Fig. 1 #2) comprising an agitator (Paragraph 0025 lines 1-5 “high-shear granulator”) driven by an agitator drive unit (Paragraph 0025 lines 1-5 “high-shear granulator” driven by a drive unit to produce high-shear), which granulator has at least one granulator inlet for feeding the raw materials (Fig. 1 see granulator inlet for feeding materials above granulator #2),
a screening device (Fig. 1 #4) connected to the granulator (Fig. 1 #4 connected to #2) via a granulate feed line (Fig. 3 #109), which screening device comprises a screen chamber (Fig. 3 see chamber inside #108) confined by a screen housing (Fig. 3 #108), which screen chamber is subdivided by a screen (Fig. 3 #111) into a granulate chamber (Fig. 3 chamber above #111) for receiving the granules discharged from the granulator (Fig. 3 chamber above #111 receives granules through #109) and a screen product chamber (Fig. 3 chamber below #111) for receiving the screened granules (Fig. 3 chamber below #111 receives granules screened by #111), the screen product chamber being connected to a transfer gas feed line (Fig. 3 chamber below #111 connected to gas line connected to #116) comprising a feed line inlet (Fig. 3 #116), and
a processing apparatus (Fig. 1 #3) which is connected to the screen product chamber (Figs. 1, 3 #3 connected to chamber below #111) of the screening device via a granulate transfer line (Fig. 1 #5) comprising a transfer line outlet (Fig. 1 outlet of #5 at #3) and which comprises a processing chamber (Fig. 1 chamber within #3),
wherein a transfer gas (Fig. 3 gas input at #116) can be conveyed by the conveyor device arrangement (Paragraph 0025 lines 1-7) on a transfer gas conveyor path (Figs. 1, 3 gas input at #116 is conveyed out at #110 and through #5) extending from the feed line inlet (Fig. 3 #116) to the transfer line outlet (Fig. 1 outlet of #5 at #3), which is further suitable for conveying the screened granules by means of the transfer gas via the granulate transfer line (Fig. 1 #5, Paragraph 0034 lines 8-15) from the screen product chamber (Fig. 3 chamber below #111) of the screening device into the processing chamber (Fig. 1 chamber within #3) of the processing apparatus (Paragraph 0034 lines 8-15).
Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) lacks teaching a processing apparatus which comprises a processing chamber through which a process gas conveyed by a conveyor device arrangement can flow on a processing path from a processing chamber to a processing chamber outlet, and wherein the granulation-producing device further comprises a measuring device which is suitable for detecting a physical parameter of the transfer gas selected from the group consisting of flow rate, mass flow and flow velocity on the transfer gas conveyor path.
Boos (US 2001/0043848) teaches a granulate production device (Paragraph 0001 lines 1-2, Paragraph 0010 lines 1-5) comprising a processing apparatus (Fig. 1 #5) which comprises a processing chamber (Fig. 1 #16) through which a process gas conveyed by a conveyor device arrangement (Paragraph 0035 lines 1-7) can flow on a processing path from a processing chamber to a processing chamber outlet (Paragraph 0035 lines 1-7, Fig. 1 process gas flows from within #16 to “exhaust air system” of #16).
Boos (US 2001/0043848) explains that each container has a separate air inlet and exhaust air system so that the process air can be automatically controlled and individual drying stages can be optimally managed and adapted to the specific product characteristics (Paragraph 0035 lines 1-7).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) to include a processing apparatus which comprises a processing chamber through which a process gas conveyed by a conveyor device arrangement can flow on a processing path from a processing chamber to a processing chamber outlet as taught by Boos (US 2001/0043848) in order to automatically control the drying stage for optimal management adapted to the specific product characteristics.
Politi et al. (US 2008/0111269) teaches a granulate production device (Paragraph 0001 lines 1-2) comprising a measuring device (Fig. 7 #703) which is suitable for detecting a physical parameter of the transfer gas selected from the group consisting of flow rate, mass flow and flow velocity (Paragraph 0176 lines 7-18, Paragraph 0194 lines 4-9) on the transfer gas conveyor path (Fig. 7 #701).
Politi et al. (US 2008/0111269) explains that the carrier gas flow rate is adjusted so that acceptable granules with desired flow characteristics start flowing out of the system, as too little gas flow causes the proportion of fine particles to increase in the mass of accepted granules whereas too high a gas flow causes a large proportion of acceptable granules to be re-processed, and setup of the optimal gas flow may be done manually or automatically using real-time measurement of flow of accepted granules (Paragraph 0176 lines 7-18).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) to include a measuring device which is suitable for detecting a physical parameter of the transfer gas selected from the group consisting of flow rate, mass flow and flow velocity on the transfer gas conveyor path as taught by Politi et al. (US 2008/0111269) in order to set up the optimal transfer gas flow such that the acceptable granules with desired flow characteristics start flowing out of the system.
Regarding claim 2, Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) lacks teaching the granulation production device according to claim 1, wherein the measuring device comprises a meter for detecting the physical parameter of the transfer gas at the transfer gas conveyor path, arranged at a transfer gas conveyor line portion associated with the transfer gas feed line.
Politi et al. (US 2008/0111269) teaches a granulate production device (Paragraph 0001 lines 1-2) wherein the measuring device (Fig. 7 #703) comprises a meter (Paragraph 0176 lines 14-18) for detecting the physical parameter of the transfer gas at the transfer gas conveyor path (Fig. 7 #701, Paragraph 0194 lines 4-9), arranged at a transfer gas conveyor line portion (Fig. 7 continuation of #701) associated with the transfer gas feed line (Paragraph 0176 lines 7-18, Paragraph 0194 lines 7-12).
Politi et al. (US 2008/0111269) explains that the carrier gas flow rate is adjusted so that acceptable granules with desired flow characteristics start flowing out of the system, and setup of the optimal gas flow may be done manually or automatically using real-time measurement of flow of accepted granules (Paragraph 0176 lines 7-18), wherein the control logic of the system may adjust the gas flow rate of the system based on the information created by the flow sensors (Paragraph 0194 lines 7-12).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) to include wherein the measuring device comprises a meter for detecting the physical parameter of the transfer gas at the transfer gas conveyor path, arranged at a transfer gas conveyor line portion associated with the transfer gas feed line as taught by Politi et al. (US 2008/0111269) in order to set up the optimal transfer gas flow such that the acceptable granules with desired flow characteristics start flowing out of the system.
Regarding claim 3, Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) lacks teaching the granulate production device according to claim 2, wherein the meter is a thermal mass flow meter, a Coriolis flow meter, an electromagnetic flow meter, an ultrasonic flow meter, a vortex meter, a differential pressure meter, or a flow monitor.
Politi et al. (US 2008/0111269) teaches a granulate production device (Paragraph 0001 lines 1-2) wherein the meter (Paragraph 0176 lines 14-18) is a thermal mass flow meter, a Coriolis flow meter, an electromagnetic flow meter, an ultrasonic flow meter, a vortex meter, a differential pressure meter, or a flow monitor (Paragraph 0176 lines 14-18, Paragraph 0194 lines 5-9).
Politi et al. (US 2008/0111269) explains that the carrier gas flow rate is adjusted so that acceptable granules with desired flow characteristics start flowing out of the system, and setup of the optimal gas flow may be done manually or automatically using real-time measurement of flow of accepted granules (Paragraph 0176 lines 7-18), wherein the control logic of the system may adjust the gas flow rate of the system based on the information created by the flow sensors (Paragraph 0194 lines 7-12).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) to include wherein the meter is a thermal mass flow meter, a Coriolis flow meter, an electromagnetic flow meter, an ultrasonic flow meter, a vortex meter, a differential pressure meter, or a flow monitor as taught by Politi et al. (US 2008/0111269) in order to set up the optimal transfer gas flow such that the acceptable granules with desired flow characteristics start flowing out of the system.
Regarding claim 7, Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) teaches the granulation production device according to claim 1, wherein a rotor disc (Fig. 3 #114) is arranged in the screen product chamber (Fig. 3 #114 arranged in chamber inside #108) of the screening device, which is drivable via a rotor disc drive unit designed as a motor (Fig. 3 ‘M’ drives #114).
Regarding claim 9, Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) teaches the granulation production device according to claim 1, wherein the transfer gas feed line (Fig. 3 gas line connected to #116) is arranged tangentially on a sidewall of the screen housing (Fig. 3 #116 arranged tangentially on side wall #107).
Regarding claim 10, Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) teaches the granulate production device according to claim 1, wherein the granulate transfer line (Fig. 1 #5) is arranged tangentially on a sidewall of the screen housing (Figs. 1, 3 #5 is connected at outlet #110 wherein #110 is arranged tangentially on side wall #107).
Regarding claim 11, Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) teaches the granulate production device according to claim 1, wherein the granulate transfer line (Figs. 1, 3 #110 connected to #5) is arranged above the transfer gas feed line (Fig. 3 #116) on the screen housing (Paragraph 0032 lines 13-18).
Regarding claim 15, Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) teaches the granulate production device according to claim 1, wherein the conveyor device arrangement (Paragraph 0025 lines 1-7) comprises a process gas conveyor device and/or a transfer gas conveyor device (Fig. 3 see transfer gas conveyed through conduit attached at #116).
Regarding claim 18, Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) lacks teaching the granulate production device according to claim 1, wherein the granulate production device comprises a control device which comprises a closed loop control functionality and which, taking into account the detected physical parameter of the transfer gas, open-loop and/or closed-loop controls the granulator.
Politi et al. (US 2008/0111269) teaches a granulate production device (Paragraph 0001 lines 1-2) wherein the granulate production device comprises a control device (Paragraph 0194 lines 1-9 “control logic”) which comprises a closed loop control functionality (Paragraph 0176 lines 14-17) and which, taking into account the detected physical parameter of the transfer gas (Paragraph 0176 lines 14-16, “real-time measurement of flow”), open-loop and/or closed-loop controls the granulator (Paragraph 0194 lines 7-12).
Politi et al. (US 2008/0111269) explains that the carrier gas flow rate is adjusted so that acceptable granules with desired flow characteristics start flowing out of the system, and setup of the optimal gas flow may be done manually or automatically using real-time measurement of flow of accepted granules (Paragraph 0176 lines 7-18), wherein the control logic of the system may adjust the gas flow rate of the system based on the information created by the flow sensors (Paragraph 0194 lines 7-12).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) to include wherein the granulate production device comprises a control device which comprises a closed loop control functionality and which, taking into account the detected physical parameter of the transfer gas, open-loop and/or closed-loop controls the granulator as taught by Politi et al. (US 2008/0111269) in order to set up the optimal transfer gas flow such that the acceptable granules with desired flow characteristics start flowing out of the system.
Regarding claim 20, Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) lacks teaching the granulate production device according to claim 18, wherein the control device is configured to set a speed of the agitator drive unit and/or to open or close the granulator outlet closing device.
Politi et al. (US 2008/0111269) teaches a granulate production device (Paragraph 0001 lines 1-2) wherein the control device (Paragraph 0194 lines 1-9 “control logic”) is configured to set a speed of the agitator drive unit (Paragraph 0167 lines 12-20, Paragraph 0194 lines 7-12) and/or to open or close the granulator outlet closing device.
Politi et al. (US 2008/0111269) explains that the carrier gas flow rate is adjusted so that acceptable granules with desired flow characteristics start flowing out of the system, and setup of the optimal gas flow may be done manually or automatically using real-time measurement of flow of accepted granules (Paragraph 0176 lines 7-18), wherein the control logic of the system may adjust the operating parameters of the system, such as the size of the granules produced by the crushing screen, based on the information created by the flow sensors (Paragraph 0194 lines 7-12). Politi et al. (US 2008/0111269) additionally explains that the compaction force of the compactor may be adjusted by altering the rotating speed of the rolls of the roller compactor to achieve the desired properties of the compacted mass, such as the proportion of the fine particles and/or small granules (Paragraph 0176 lines 7-20).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) to include wherein the control device is configured to set a speed of the agitator drive unit and/or to open or close the granulator outlet closing device as taught by Politi et al. (US 2008/0111269) in order to set the optimal parameters to produce the desired granule size within the system.
Regarding claim 25, Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) lacks teaching the granulate production device according to claim 1, wherein the granulate production device comprises a plurality of processing apparatuses and a plurality of granulate transfer lines, each processing apparatus being connected to the screening device by means of a granulate transfer line in order to achieve a quasi-continuous granulate production process.
Boos (US 2001/0043848) teaches a granulate production device (Paragraph 0001 lines 1-2, Paragraph 0010 lines 1-5) wherein the granulate production device comprises a plurality of processing apparatuses (Fig. 1 #16, 17, 18) and a plurality of granulate transfer lines (Fig. 1 #15, 19), each processing apparatus being connected to the screening device by means of a granulate transfer line (Fig. 1 #16, 17, 18 connected to #14 by #15, 19) in order to achieve a quasi-continuous granulate production process (Paragraph 0012 lines 1-8, Paragraph 0033 lines 1-8).
Boos (US 2001/0043848) explains that the multicell apparatus is suitable for the continuous processing of batches following one another in rapid succession for the preparation of readily flowable granules (Paragraph 0012 lines 1-8). Boos (US 2001/0043848) explains that each container has a separate air inlet and exhaust air system so that the process air can be automatically controlled and individual drying stages can be optimally managed and adapted to the specific product characteristics (Paragraph 0035 lines 1-7).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) to include wherein the granulate production device comprises a plurality of processing apparatuses and a plurality of granulate transfer lines, each processing apparatus being connected to the screening device by means of a granulate transfer line in order to achieve a quasi-continuous granulate production process as taught by Boos (US 2001/0043848) in order to automatically control individua drying stages such that the individual stages are optimally managed and adapted to the specific product characteristics and in order to provide continuous processing of batches of granules.
Regarding claim 26, Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) teaches a method for open-loop and/or closed-loop control of a granulate production device (Paragraph 0001 lines 1-7),
having a granulator (Fig. 1 #2) comprising an agitator (Paragraph 0025 lines 1-5 “high-shear granulator”) driven by an agitator drive unit (Paragraph 0025 lines 1-5 “high-shear granulator” driven by a drive unit to produce high-shear), which granulator has at least one granulator inlet for feeding the raw materials (Fig. 1 see granulator inlet for feeding materials above granulator #2),
having a screening device (Fig. 1 #4) connected to the granulator (Fig. 1 #4 connected to #2) via a granulate feed line (Fig. 3 #109), which screening device comprises a screen chamber (Fig. 3 see chamber inside #108) confined by a screen housing (Fig. 3 #108), which screen chamber is subdivided by a screen (Fig. 3 #111) into a granulate chamber (Fig. 3 chamber above #111) for receiving the granules discharged from the granulator (Fig. 3 chamber above #111 receives granules through #109) and a screen product chamber (Fig. 3 chamber below #111) for receiving the screened granules (Fig. 3 chamber below #111 receives granules screened by #111), the screen product chamber being connected to a transfer gas feed line (Fig. 3 chamber below #111 connected to gas line connected to #116) comprising a feed line inlet (Fig. 3 #116), and
with a processing apparatus (Fig. 1 #3) which is connected to the screen product chamber (Figs. 1, 3 #3 connected to chamber below #111) of the screening device via a granulate transfer line (Fig. 1 #5) comprising a transfer line outlet (Fig. 1 outlet of #5 at #3) and which comprises a processing chamber (Fig. 1 chamber within #3), and
wherein a transfer gas (Fig. 3 gas input at #116) is conveyed by the conveyor device arrangement (Paragraph 0025 lines 1-7) on a transfer gas conveyor path (Figs. 1, 3 gas input at #116 is conveyed out at #110 and through #5) extending from the feed line inlet (Fig. 3 #116) to the transfer line outlet (Fig. 1 outlet of #5 at #3), which is further suitable for conveying the screened granules by means of the transfer gas via the granulate transfer line (Fig. 1 #5, Paragraph 0034 lines 8-15) from the screen product chamber (Fig. 3 chamber below #111) of the screening device into the processing chamber (Fig. 1 chamber within #3) of the processing apparatus (Paragraph 0034 lines 8-15).
Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) lacks teaching a processing apparatus which comprises a processing chamber through which a process gas conveyed by a conveyor device arrangement flows on a processing path from a processing chamber to a processing chamber outlet, and wherein the granulation-producing device comprises a measuring device which, during a granulate transfer process, detects a physical parameter of the transfer gas selected from the group consisting of flow rate, mass flow and flow velocity on the transfer gas conveyor path.
Boos (US 2001/0043848) teaches a method for open-loop and/or closed-loop control of a granulate production device (Paragraph 0001 lines 1-2, Paragraph 0010 lines 1-5) comprising a processing apparatus (Fig. 1 #5) which comprises a processing chamber (Fig. 1 #16) through which a process gas conveyed by a conveyor device arrangement (Paragraph 0035 lines 1-7) flows on a processing path from a processing chamber to a processing chamber outlet (Paragraph 0035 lines 1-7, Fig. 1 process gas flows from within #16 to “exhaust air system” of #16).
Boos (US 2001/0043848) explains that each container has a separate air inlet and exhaust air system so that the process air can be automatically controlled and individual drying stages can be optimally managed and adapted to the specific product characteristics (Paragraph 0035 lines 1-7).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) to include a processing apparatus which comprises a processing chamber through which a process gas conveyed by a conveyor device arrangement flows on a processing path from a processing chamber to a processing chamber outlet as taught by Boos (US 2001/0043848) in order to automatically control the drying stage for optimal management adapted to the specific product characteristics.
Politi et al. (US 2008/0111269) teaches a method for open-loop and/or closed-loop control of a granulate production device (Paragraph 0001 lines 1-2) wherein the granulation-producing device comprises a measuring device (Fig. 7 #703) which, during a granulate transfer process (Fig. 7 flow through #701), detects a physical parameter of the transfer gas selected from the group consisting of flow rate, mass flow and flow velocity (Paragraph 0176 lines 7-18, Paragraph 0194 lines 4-9) on the transfer gas conveyor path (Fig. 7 #701).
Politi et al. (US 2008/0111269) explains that the carrier gas flow rate is adjusted so that acceptable granules with desired flow characteristics start flowing out of the system, as too little gas flow causes the proportion of fine particles to increase in the mass of accepted granules whereas too high a gas flow causes a large proportion of acceptable granules to be re-processed, and setup of the optimal gas flow may be done manually or automatically using real-time measurement of flow of accepted granules (Paragraph 0176 lines 7-18).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) to include wherein the granulation-producing device comprises a measuring device which, during a granulate transfer process, detects a physical parameter of the transfer gas selected from the group consisting of flow rate, mass flow and flow velocity on the transfer gas conveyor path as taught by Politi et al. (US 2008/0111269) in order to set up the optimal transfer gas flow such that the acceptable granules with desired flow characteristics start flowing out of the system.
Regarding claim 15, Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) lacks teaching the method according to claim 26, wherein the granulate production device comprises a control device comprising a closed loop control functionality, to which the detected physical parameter is forwarded for further processing during the granulate transfer process.
Politi et al. (US 2008/0111269) teaches a method for open-loop and/or closed-loop control of a granulate production device (Paragraph 0001 lines 1-2) wherein the granulate production device comprises a control device (Paragraph 0194 lines 1-9 “control logic”) comprising a closed loop control functionality (Paragraph 0176 lines 14-17) to which the detected physical parameter (Paragraph 0176 lines 14-16, “real-time measurement of flow”), is forwarded for further processing during the granulate transfer process (Paragraph 0194 lines 7-12).
Politi et al. (US 2008/0111269) explains that the carrier gas flow rate is adjusted so that acceptable granules with desired flow characteristics start flowing out of the system, and setup of the optimal gas flow may be done automatically using real-time measurement of flow of accepted granules (Paragraph 0176 lines 7-18), wherein the control logic of the system may adjust the gas flow rate of the system based on the information created by the flow sensors (Paragraph 0194 lines 7-12).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) to include wherein the granulate production device comprises a control device comprising a closed loop control functionality, to which the detected physical parameter is forwarded for further processing during the granulate transfer process as taught by Politi et al. (US 2008/0111269) in order to set up the optimal transfer gas flow such that the acceptable granules with desired flow characteristics start flowing out of the system.
Regarding claim 38, Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) lacks teaching the method according to claim 26, wherein the granulation production device comprises a plurality of processing apparatuses and a plurality of granulate transfer lines, each processing apparatus being connected to the screening device by means of a granulate transfer line in order to carry out a quasi-continuous granulate production process.
Boos (US 2001/0043848) teaches a granulate production device (Paragraph 0001 lines 1-2, Paragraph 0010 lines 1-5) wherein the granulate production device comprises a plurality of processing apparatuses (Fig. 1 #16, 17, 18) and a plurality of granulate transfer lines (Fig. 1 #15, 19), each processing apparatus being connected to the screening device by means of a granulate transfer line (Fig. 1 #16, 17, 18 connected to #14 by #15, 19) in order to carry out a quasi-continuous granulate production process (Paragraph 0012 lines 1-8, Paragraph 0033 lines 1-8).
Boos (US 2001/0043848) explains that the multicell apparatus is suitable for the continuous processing of batches following one another in rapid succession for the preparation of readily flowable granules (Paragraph 0012 lines 1-8). Boos (US 2001/0043848) explains that each container has a separate air inlet and exhaust air system so that the process air can be automatically controlled and individual drying stages can be optimally managed and adapted to the specific product characteristics (Paragraph 0035 lines 1-7).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) to include wherein the granulation production device comprises a plurality of processing apparatuses and a plurality of granulate transfer lines, each processing apparatus being connected to the screening device by means of a granulate transfer line in order to carry out a quasi-continuous granulate production process as taught by Boos (US 2001/0043848) in order to automatically control individua drying stages such that the individual stages are optimally managed and adapted to the specific product characteristics and in order to provide continuous processing of batches of granules.
Regarding claim 29, Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) lacks teaching the method according to claim 28, wherein the control device comprises an evaluation device which, taking into account the detected physical parameter of the transfer gas, carries out further processing of the detected physical parameter of the transfer gas.
Politi et al. (US 2008/0111269) teaches a method for open-loop and/or closed-loop control of a granulate production device (Paragraph 0001 lines 1-2), wherein the control device (Paragraph 0194 lines 1-9 “control logic”) comprises an evaluation device (Paragraph 0176 lines 7-18) which, taking into account the detected physical parameter of the transfer gas (Paragraph 0176 lines 7-18, Paragraph 0194 lines 7-12), carries out further processing of the detected physical parameter of the transfer gas (Paragraph 0176 lines 7-18).
Politi et al. (US 2008/0111269) explains that the carrier gas flow rate is adjusted so that acceptable granules with desired flow characteristics start flowing out of the system such that the carrier gas flow rate is not too little nor too high, and setup of the optimal gas flow may be done automatically using real-time measurement of flow of accepted granules (Paragraph 0176 lines 7-18), wherein the control logic of the system may adjust the gas flow rate of the system based on the information created by the flow sensors (Paragraph 0194 lines 7-12).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) to include wherein the control device comprises an evaluation device which, taking into account the detected physical parameter of the transfer gas, carries out further processing of the detected physical parameter of the transfer gas as taught by Politi et al. (US 2008/0111269) in order to set up the optimal transfer gas flow such that the acceptable granules with desired flow characteristics start flowing out of the system.
Regarding claim 30, Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) lacks teaching the method according to claim 28, wherein the processing apparatus comprises an apparatus inlet closing device, the control device open-loop and/or closed-loop controls the apparatus inlet closing device before the granulate transfer process, so that the latter is moved from a closing position into an opening position.
Boos (US 2001/0043848) teaches a method for open-loop and/or closed-loop control of a granulate production device (Paragraph 0001 lines 1-2, Paragraph 0010 lines 1-5) wherein the processing apparatus (see Schade (CH 686343) incorporated by reference #11, 12, 13) comprises an apparatus inlet closing device (see Schade (CH 686343) #37), the control device (see Schade (CH 686343) #71) open-loop and/or closed-loop controls the apparatus inlet closing device (see Schade (CH 686343) Paragraph 0063 lines 1-9, Paragraph 0167 lines 1-6) before the granulate transfer process, so that the latter is moved from a closing position into an opening position (see Schade (CH 686343) Paragraph 0109 lines 1-5).
Boos (US 2001/0043848) incorporates Schade (CH 686343) by reference. Schade (CH 686343) explains that the process computer of the control device can be designed and programmed to determine durations during which a batch of material should remain in a granulation unit, and then the duration which a batch should remain in a vortex chamber such that the batch of materials has the intended properties (Paragraph 0139 lines 8-12).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) to include wherein the processing apparatus comprises an apparatus inlet closing device, the control device open-loop and/or closed-loop controls the apparatus inlet closing device before the granulate transfer process, so that the latter is moved from a closing position into an opening position as taught by Schade (CH 686343) (incorporated by reference in Boos (US 2001/0043848)) in order to control the duration of time which the material remains in each stage of the system, therefore controlling the properties of the granulates.
Regarding claim 31, Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) lacks teaching the method according to claim 28, wherein the processing apparatus comprises a process gas feed line in which a process gas flow control device is arranged, the control device open-loop and/or closed-loop controls the process gas flow control device before and/or during the granulate transfer process, so that a vacuum is formed on the transfer gas conveyor path for conveying the screened granules from the screen product chamber into the processing apparatus.
Boos (US 2001/0043848) teaches a method for open-loop and/or closed-loop control of a granulate production device (Paragraph 0001 lines 1-2, Paragraph 0010 lines 1-5) wherein the processing apparatus (see Schade (CH 686343) #11, 12, 13) comprises a process gas feed line (see Schade (CH 686343) Fig. 1 #47) in which a process gas flow control device (see Schade (CH 686343) Fig. 1 #51, 53) is arranged, the control device (see Schade (CH 686343) Fig. 1 #71) open-loop and/or closed-loop controls the process gas flow control device before and/or during the granulate transfer process (see Schade (CH 686343) Paragraph 0084 lines 1-16, Paragraph 0085 lines 1-11), so that a vacuum is formed on the transfer gas conveyor path for conveying the screened granules from the screen product chamber into the processing apparatus (see Schade (CH 686343) Paragraph 0084 lines 1-16).
Boos (US 2001/0043848) incorporates Schade (CH 686343) by reference. Schade (CH 686343) explains that this system and its process for operation make is possible to quickly granulate a batch of material and then quickly transport it into the first vortex chamber and thoroughly swirl it there (Paragraph 0116 lines 1-3), and the flow setpoints of the flow control valves may be adjusted in a suitable manner, in order to set process parameters by operating controls of the control device (Paragraph 0117 lines 1-4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) to include wherein the processing apparatus comprises a process gas feed line in which a process gas flow control device is arranged, the control device open-loop and/or closed-loop controls the process gas flow control device before and/or during the granulate transfer process, so that a vacuum is formed on the transfer gas conveyor path for conveying the screened granules from the screen product chamber into the processing apparatus as taught by Schade (CH 686343) (incorporated by reference in Boos (US 2001/0043848)) in order to quickly transport granulates between stages of the granulate production device and set process parameters for the operation.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) in view of Boos (US 2001/0043848), Politi et al. (US 2008/0111269) and further in view of Thies et al. (US 2018/0325828).
Regarding claim 5, Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) lacks teaching the granulation production device according to claim 1, wherein the agitator drive unit comprises a substantially constant drive torque over its speed range.
Thies et al. (US 2018/0325828) teaches a granulation production device (Paragraph 0002 lines 1-4), wherein the agitator drive unit comprises a substantially constant drive torque over its speed range (Paragraph 0011 line 1-Paragraph 0012 line 4).
Thies et al. (US 2018/0325828) explains that the consistently high drive torque has the surprising result that the granulate properties (size) of the product can be influenced and directly adjusted while the process is running and allows the shear forces to be changed or varied in the granulation process such that the granulate properties can be adjusted directly (Paragraph 0012 lines 1-13).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) to include wherein the agitator drive unit comprises a substantially constant drive torque over its speed range as taught by Thies et al. (US 2018/0325828) in order to directly adjust the granulate properties while the process is running.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) in view of Boos (US 2001/0043848), Politi et al. (US 2008/0111269) and further in view of Shimono et al. (US 9631869).
Regarding claim 13, Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) lacks teaching the granulate production device according to claim 1, wherein the transfer gas feed line is connected to a process gas feed line so that process gas can be used as transfer gas.
Shimono et al. (US 9631869) teaches a granulate production device (Col. 1 lines 6-10), wherein the transfer gas feed line (Fig. 1 #32) is connected to a process gas feed line (Fig. 1 #32 connected to #34) so that process gas can be used as transfer gas (Col. 7 lines 52-56, Col. 8 lines 19-26).
Shimono et al. (US 9631869) explains that the internal pressure gas and the carrier gas are the same gas species, and the gas generator supplies gas to the carrier gas main pipe and the internal pressure gas supply (Col. 8 lines 6-11).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thies et al. (US 2020/0316647) to include wherein the transfer gas feed line is connected to a process gas feed line so that process gas can be used as transfer gas as taught by Shimono et al. (US 9631869) in order to use the same gas species for both the transfer gas and the process gas.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 32 and 34-36 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 32 recites “wherein the control device carries out a comparison with a first threshold value stored in the control device for the physical parameter during the further processing of the detected physical parameter of the transfer gas in order to open-loop and/or closed-loop control the granulate production device wherein the control device sends an open-loop and/or closed-loop signal to an agitator drive unit and/or granulator outlet closing device in order to set a speed of the agitator drive unit and/or to open or close the granulator outlet closing device” wherein this limitation, in combination with the remaining limitations in claims 26, 28 and 32, was not seen in the searched prior art. The prior art commonly used valves or control operations to adjust air flow in a drying apparatus to ensure the air flow is “optimal” or meets a certain setpoint.
Claims 34-36 would be allowed as they are dependent upon claim 32.
Conclusion
/MOLLY K DEVINE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3653