DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This is a non-final rejection in response to the communication filed 02/19/2026. Claims 26-47 are currently pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: reference characters 130, 140a and 140b of figure 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 33-34 and 38-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 33 recites the limitation "an electrical wire" in last line of the claim. It is unclear if reference is being made to the “a first electrical wire” earlier in the claim or if a new wire is being introduced.
Claim 33 also recites the limitations “a second electrical terminal” and “a first electrical terminal” of electrical components of the propeller and it is unclear if reference is being made to the terminals established in claim 26 or if new terminals are being introduced.
Claim 34 recites the limitation "the respective apertures" in last line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears the limitation was introduced in claim 32.
Claim 38 recites “a second electrical terminal of the electrical power source” and “a first electrical terminal of the electrical power source” in line 7-9. It is unclear if the first and second electrical terminals are in reference to the first and second electrical terminals of an electrical power source earlier in the claim or if new terminals are being introduced.
Claims 39-46 are indefinite based on their dependency on claim 38.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 26-30, 33, 35-37and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 10,116,187 to Wishart (Wishart).
In Reference to Claim 26
Wishart discloses a power transmission system for a propeller hub of an aircraft, the power transmission system comprising:
a hollow insulating cylinder (Fig. 2, 135 for instance) configured to be mounted to a rotatable shaft (60 for instance);
a first conductive element (121 for instance) positioned on a first end surface of the insulating cylinder (a top end surface of 135 for instance); and
a second conductive element (123 for instance) positioned on a second end surface of the insulating cylinder (bottom end surface of 135 for instance);
wherein the first conductive element is configured to be connectable to a second electrical terminal of electrical components on a propeller of the aircraft, and the second conductive element is configured to be connectable to a first electrical terminal of electrical components of a propeller of the aircraft (121 and 123 connectable to different terminals, via 115 for instance, to different terminals to propeller rotational member 80 for instance).
In Reference to Claim 27
Wishart discloses the power transmission system as claimed in claim 26, wherein the insulating cylinder comprises a first recess within the first end surface of the insulating cylinder housing the first conductive element (at top of 135 to house 121 for instance), and a second recess within the second end surface of the insulating cylinder housing the second conductive element (at bottom of 135 to house 123 for instance).
In Reference to Claim 28
Wishart discloses the power transmission system as claimed in claim 27, wherein the first recess and second recess are both sized such that the first conductive element and second conductive element is flush with the respective end surface of the insulating cylinder (121 and 123 flush with 135 at left and right area for instance).
In Reference to Claim 29
Wishart discloses the power transmission system as claimed in claim 27, wherein the first recess and second recesses (top and bottom of 135 for instance) are located at a radial position which is proximate the outer circumference of the respective end surfaces (top and bottom of 135 for instance).
In Reference to Claim 33
Wishart discloses the power transmission system as claimed in claim 26, wherein the first conductive element is connectable to a second electrical terminal of electrical components of the propeller by a first electrical wire, and the second conductive element is connectable to a first electrical terminal of electrical components of the propeller by an electrical wire (121 and 123 connectable to different terminals, via 115 for instance, to different terminals to propeller rotational member 80 for instance).
In Reference to Claim 35
Wishart discloses the power transmission system as claimed in claim 26, wherein the first conductive element is a first conductive ring (121 for instance) and the second conductive element is a second conductive ring (123 for instance).
In Reference to Claim 36
Wishart discloses the power transmission system as claimed in claim 26, comprising an inner cylinder (inner portion of 135 adjacent 60 for instance) concentric with the insulating cylinder (outer portion of 135 not adjacent to 60 for instance) and located radially inwardly of the insulating cylinder (as seen in figure 2).
In Reference to Claim 37
Wishart discloses the power transmission system as claimed in claim 36, wherein the insulating cylinder is configured to be mounted to the rotatable shaft via the inner cylinder (the assembly of 35 as mounted to rotatable shaft 60 for instance).
In Reference to Claim 47
Wishart discloses the a method for providing electrical power to a propeller using a power transmission system as claimed in claim 26, the method comprising: mounting an insulating cylinder (Fig. 2, 135 for instance) to a rotatable shaft (60 for instance) for transmission of mechanical power to the propeller hub (15 for instance); providing a first conductive element (121 for instance) on a first end surface of the insulating cylinder (a top end surface of 135 for instance); providing a second conductive element (123 for instance) on a second end surface of the insulating cylinder (bottom end surface of 135 for instance); connecting the first conductive element to a second electrical terminal of electrical components on a propeller of the aircraft; and connecting the second conductive element to a second electrical terminal of the propeller of the aircraft (121 and 123 connected to different terminals, via 115 for instance, to different terminals to propeller rotational member 80 for instance).
Claim(s) 26-31, 33, and 35-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 3,509,512 to Rizzolo (Rizzolo).
In Reference to Claim 26
Rizzolo discloses a power transmission system (abstract, slip ring assembly for instance) for a propeller hub of an aircraft (intended use, see note below), the power transmission system comprising:
a hollow insulating cylinder (Fig. 7, 1, 3 and 10 for instance configured to be mounted to a rotatable shaft (capable of given the cylindrical hole in 1 for instance);
a first conductive element (4 at left side for instance) positioned on a first end surface of the insulating cylinder (left end for instance); and
a second conductive element (4 at right end for instance) positioned on a second end surface of the insulating cylinder (right end for instance);
wherein the first conductive element is configured to be connectable to a second electrical terminal of electrical components (connectable using 6 for instance, see figure 6, and as capable of for instance) on a propeller of the aircraft (intended use, see note below, as claimed as connectable for instance), and the second conductive element is configured to be connectable to a first electrical terminal of electrical components (connectable using 6 for instance, see figure 6, and as capable of for instance) of a propeller of the aircraft (intended use, see note below, as claimed as connectable for instance).
Examiner notes that it has been held that ‘A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.’ Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987); MPEP 2114(II).
It has also been held that, “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established”. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2112.01. As Rizzolo teaches substantially identical structure as the claimed invention, Claim 26 is rejected as anticipated.
In Reference to Claim 27
Rizzolo discloses the power transmission system as claimed in claim 26, wherein the insulating cylinder (Fig. 7, 1, 3 and 10 for instance) comprises a first recess within the first end surface of the insulating cylinder housing the first conductive element (recess of 3 and 10 and housing 4 at left for instance), and a second recess within the second end surface of the insulating cylinder housing the second conductive element (recess of 3 and 10 and housing 4 at right for instance).
In Reference to Claim 28
Rizzolo discloses the power transmission system as claimed in claim 27, wherein the first recess and second recess are both sized such that the first conductive element and second conductive element (4 at left and right end) is flush with the respective end surface of the insulating cylinder (flush with 1 and 3 for instance).
In Reference to Claim 29
Rizzolo discloses the power transmission system as claimed in claim 27, wherein the first recess and second recesses are located at a radial position which is proximate the outer circumference of the respective end surfaces (as seen in figure 7 for instance).
In Reference to Claim 30
Rizzolo discloses the power transmission system as claimed in claim 27, wherein the first recess and second recess are spaced radially inwardly from the outer circumference of the respective end surface (as seen in figure 6 for instance).
In Reference to Claim 31
Rizzolo discloses the power transmission system as claimed in claim 27, wherein the first end of the insulating cylinder comprises a first flange providing the first end surface and the second end of the insulating cylinder comprises a second flange providing the second surface, wherein first recess and second recess are within the respective end surfaces provided by the respective flanges.
In Reference to Claim 33
Rizzolo discloses the power transmission system as claimed claim 26, wherein the first conductive element (4 at left for instance) is connectable to a second electrical terminal of electrical components of the propeller by a first electrical wire (intended use as being connectable, see note in claim 26, but use wires 6 for instance), and the second conductive element (4 at right for instance) is connectable to a first electrical terminal of electrical components of the propeller by an electrical wire (intended use as being connectable, see note in claim 26, but use wires 6 for instance).
In Reference to Claim 35
Rizzolo discloses the power transmission system as claimed in claim 26, wherein the first conductive element is a first conductive ring and the second conductive element is a second conductive ring (Fig. 7, 4 at left and right for instance).
In Reference to Claim 36
Rizzolo discloses the power transmission system as claimed in claim 26, comprising an inner cylinder (Fig. 7, 1 for instance) concentric with the insulating cylinder and located radially inwardly of the insulating cylinder (concentric with 3 and 10 for instance).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 10,116,187 to Wishart (Wishart) in view of US Patent 4,180,300 to Fort et al. (Fort).
In Reference to Claim 34
Wishart discloses the power transmission system as claimed in claim 33, wherein each of the first conductive element and second conductive element are connectable to the respective electrical terminals by an electrical wire (121 and 123 connectable to terminals and with wires 115 for instance) but does not teach “... via the respective apertures ....”
Fort is related to a power transmission system for a hollow shaft (figure 1), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein each of the a conductive element (one 22 for instance) and a second conductive element (24 for instance) are connectable to respective electrical terminals by an electrical wire (by 50 and 52 at 22 and 24 for instance) via an aperture (opening in 20 for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Fort wherein each of the first conductive element and second conductive element are connectable to the respective electrical terminals by an electrical wire (of Wishart) via the respective apertures (provide an aperture, as taught by Fort, to the respective wires of Wishart for instance), so as to use an art known technique (of using apertures for routing of wires and there connections to terminals as taught by Fort) into the system of Wishart and predictably route the wires in the system.
Claim(s) 38-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 10,116,187 to Wishart (Wishart) in view of US Patent 12,139,262 to Majumder et al. (Majumder).
Examiner notes that the applied reference, US Patent 12,139,262 to Majumder et al. (Majumder), has a common assignee and one common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This applied reference might be overcome (i.e. disqualified as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)) by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
In Reference to Claim 38
Wishart discloses a propulsion system for a propeller of an aircraft (abstract) comprising:
a rotatable shaft (Fig. 2, 60 for instance) for transmission of mechanical power extending from an aircraft end (60 at 50 for instance) to a propeller end (60 at top for instance); and wherein the propulsion system further comprises: a power transmission system as claimed in claim 26 (above), but does not teach “... aircraft end electrical connection at the aircraft end of the rotatable shaft for connection to first and second electrical terminals of an electrical power source, wherein the shaft comprises an inner conductive shaft connectable to a second electrical terminal of the electrical power source, an outer conductive shaft connectable to a first electrical terminal of the electrical power source, and an insulator positioned between the inner conductive shaft and the outer conductive shaft ...”, or teaches the power transmission system “... at the propeller end of the rotatable shaft configured to provide electrical connection to the first and second electrical terminals for supplying power to electrical components of the propeller from the electrical power source ....”
Majumder is related to a propulsion system for a propeller of an aircraft (abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches a rotatable shaft with a aircraft end electrical connection at the aircraft end of the rotatable shaft for connection to first and second electrical terminals of an electrical power source, wherein the shaft comprises an inner conductive shaft connectable to a second electrical terminal of the electrical power source, an outer conductive shaft connectable to a first electrical terminal of the electrical power source, and an insulator positioned between the inner conductive shaft and the outer conductive shaft (see claim 1), and power transmission system (Fig. 3, 14 and 15 for instance) at the propeller end of the rotatable shaft (1, 2, 3 for instance) configured to provide electrical connection to the first and second electrical terminals for supplying power to electrical components of the propeller from the electrical power source (see claim 1 and col 7, ll 23-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Wishart, a deicing system (as taught by Majumder) and wherein an aircraft end electrical connection at the aircraft end of the rotatable shaft for connection to first and second electrical terminals of an electrical power source, wherein the shaft comprises an inner conductive shaft connectable to a second electrical terminal of the electrical power source, an outer conductive shaft connectable to a first electrical terminal of the electrical power source, and an insulator positioned between the inner conductive shaft and the outer conductive shaft (as taught by Majumder), and the power transmission system (of Wishart) is configured at the propeller end of the rotatable shaft configured to provide electrical connection to the first and second electrical terminals for supplying power to electrical components of the propeller from the electrical power source (as taught by Majumder), so as to use an art known technique (of having a deice system in propeller blades and providing power to that system from a source of the aircraft as taught by Majumder) into the system of Wishart and predictably provide a deice system, to deice propeller blades, and provide power to the deice system.
In Reference to Claim 39
Wishart, as modified by Majumder, discloses the propulsion system as claimed in claim 38, wherein the power transmission system is arranged to provide a first electrical pathway between the first electrical terminal of the power source at the aircraft end of the rotatable shaft and the first electrical terminal of the electrical components of the propeller (Majumder claim 1 and figure 3, from power supply to 14 for instance), and a second electrical pathway between the second electrical terminal of the power source at the aircraft end of the rotatable shaft and the second electrical terminal of the electrical components of the propeller (Majumder claim 1 and figure 3, from power supply to 15 for instance).
In Reference to Claim 40
Wishart, as modified by Majumder, discloses the propulsion system as claimed in claim 38, comprising an electrically conductive propeller mounting component configured to mount the propeller to the rotatable shaft and provide an electrical connection between the outer conductive shaft of the rotatable shaft and the second conductive element (Majumder figure 3, element 12 for instance).
In Reference to Claim 41
Wishart, as modified by Majumder, discloses the propulsion system as claimed in claim 38, wherein the electrically conductive propeller mounting component is arranged in direct contact with the outer conductive shaft of the rotatable shaft and the second conductive element (Majumder col 7, ll 23-27, so as to direct current to deicer for instance).
In Reference to Claim 42
Wishart, as modified by Majumder, discloses the propulsion system as claimed in claim 38, wherein the electrically conductive propeller mounting component is arranged to rotate with the rotatable shaft in use such that the relative position of the electrically conductive propeller mounting component and the second conductive element remains constant (Majumder col 7, ll 23-27, so as to direct current to deicer for instance).
In Reference to Claim 43
Wishart, as modified by Majumder, discloses the propulsion system as claimed in claim 38, comprising an electrically conductive cap mounted at an axial end of the rotatable shaft proximate the propeller end (Majumder, 16 for instance), wherein the electrically conductive cap is arranged to provide an electrical connection between the inner conductive shaft of the rotatable shaft and the first conductive element (Majumder, claim 1).
In Reference to Claim 44
Wishart, as modified by Majumder, discloses the propulsion system as claimed in claim 43, wherein the inner conductive shaft extends to an axial end beyond the axial end of the outer conductive shaft, wherein the electrically conductive cap is arranged direct contact with the axial end of the inner conductive shaft and the first conductive element (Majumder, see figure 3).
In Reference to Claim 45
Wishart, as modified by Majumder, discloses the propulsion system as claimed in claim 43, wherein the electrically conductive cap comprises a first surface arranged in contact with the axial end of the inner conductive shaft, and a flange portion extending parallel to a longitudinal direction of the rotatable shaft in contact with the first conductive element (Majumder, see figure 3).
In Reference to Claim 46
Wishart, as modified by Majumder, discloses the propulsion system as claimed in claim 44, wherein the conductive cap comprises a cavity arranged to house the axial end of the inner conductive shaft (Majumder, see figure 3).
Claim(s) 32 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 3,509,512 to Rizzolo (Rizzolo) in view of US Patent 2,961,385 to McGall (McGall).
In Reference to Claim 32
Rizzolo discloses the power transmission system as claimed in claim 31, except, “... wherein an aperture is provided through an inner surface of each of the first and second recesses to provide access to the respective first and second conductive elements ....”
McGall is related to a power transmission system (slip ring assembly for instance), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein an aperture (Figs. 1-2, 13 in an insulator 10 for instance) is provided through an inner surface (see figure 2) of each of first and second recesses (12 for instance) to provide access to respective first and second conductive elements (to slip rings 22, see figure 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Rizzolo wherein an aperture (as taught by McGall) is provided through an inner surface of each of the first and second recesses (of Rizzolo) to provide access (as taught by McGall) to the respective first and second conductive elements (of Rizzolo), so as to use an art known technique (of the connection of conductors to conductive elements as taught by McGall and using apertures) into the system of Rizzolo and predictably provide a conduction path within the system.
In Reference to Claim 34
Rizzolo discloses the power transmission system as claimed in claim 33, wherein each of the first conductive element and second conductive element (4 for instance) are connectable to the respective electrical terminals by an electrical wire (as seen in figure 5), except, “... via the respective apertures ....”
McGall is related to a power transmission system (slip ring assembly for instance), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein conductive elements (Fig. 8, 22 for instance) are connectable to respective electrical terminals by an electrical wire (15 for instance, see 2) via apertures (13 for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Rizzolo wherein each of the first conductive element and second conductive element (of Rizzolo) are connectable to the respective electrical terminals by an electrical wire (of Rizzolo) via the respective apertures (as taught by McGall), so as to use an art known technique (of the connection of conductors to conductive elements as taught by McGall and using apertures) into the system of Rizzolo and predictably provide a conduction path within the system.
Claim(s) 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 3,509,512 to Rizzolo (Rizzolo) in view of US Patent 4,992,691 to Mlynarz (Mlynarz).
In Reference to Claim 37
Rizzolo discloses the power transmission system as claimed in claim 36, except, “... wherein the insulating cylinder is configured to be mounted to the rotatable shaft via the inner cylinder ....”
Mlynarz is related to a power transmission system (abstract, slip ring assembly for instance), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein an insulating cylinder (Fig. 2, 30 for instance) is configured to be mounted to a rotatable shaft (34 for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Rizzolo wherein the insulating cylinder (of Rizzolo) is configured to be mounted to the rotatable shaft (as taught by Mlynarz) via the inner cylinder (of Rizzolo), so as to use an art known technique (of routing or transmittance of power in a rotatable system as taught by Mlynarz) into the system of Rizzolo and predictably provide the means to transmit power.
Claim(s) 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 3,509,512 to Rizzolo (Rizzolo) in view of US Patent 2,402,770 to Poekel (Poekel).
In Reference to Claim 47
Rizzolo discloses a method for providing electrical power (abstract, using slip ring assembly for instance) using a power transmission system (abstract) as claimed in claim 26, the method comprising: providing a first conductive element on a first end surface of the insulating cylinder (Fig. 7, 4 on left end of cylinder 1, 3, 10 for instance); providing a second conductive element on a second end surface of the insulating cylinder (4 on right end of the cylinder for instance); connecting the first conductive element to a second electrical terminal of electrical components (using conductor 6 for instance, see figure 5); and connecting the second conductive element to a second electrical terminal (using conductor 6 for instance, see figure 5).
Rizzolo does not teach “... to a propeller ...;” “... mounting an insulating cylinder to a rotatable shaft for transmission of mechanical power to the propeller hub ...;” or “... on a propeller of the aircraft ....”
Poekel is related to a power transmission system (Fig. 1, 23, 25 for instance) to propeller (22 for instance), as the claimed invention, and teaches mounting an insulating cylinder (insulator alternate slip ring 23 for instance, not labeled) to a rotatable shaft (shaft 11 as connected to hub 10 for instance) for transmission of mechanical power to the propeller hub (to hub 10 from shaft 11 for instance); connecting a first conductive element to a second electrical terminal of electrical components on a propeller of an aircraft (one of 23 connected to component of propeller 22 for instance); and connecting a second conductive element to a second electrical terminal of the propeller of the aircraft (another of 23 connected to another terminal of propeller component for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Rizzolo wherein the method includes providing electrical power (of Rizzolo) to a propeller (as taught by Poekel) using a power transmission system (of Rizzolo), such that the method includes mounting an insulating cylinder (of Rizzolo) to a rotatable shaft for transmission of mechanical power to the propeller hub (as taught by Poekel); connecting the first conductive element to a second electrical terminal of electrical components (of Rizzolo) on a propeller of the aircraft (as taught by Poekel); and connecting the second conductive element to a second electrical terminal (of Rizzolo) of the propeller of the aircraft (as taught by Poekel), so as to use an art known technique (of routing or transmittance of power in a rotatable system as taught by Poekel) into the system of Rizzolo and predictably provide the means to transmit power.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, as cited in the Notice of References Cited, are cited to show power transmission systems including insulator and conductive elements, rotary systems using power transmission, and deice systems in rotary blades.
Conclusion
/WAYNE A LAMBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745