DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 (as well as claims 2-9 due to their dependency from claim 1) and claim 4 are rendered indefinite because it is unclear whether the carbon content recited in claims 1 and 4 are based on weight, mole, etc.
Claim Interpretation
For the purpose of examination, the carbon content is understood to be based on weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 / 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Endo (WO 2020/255984).
Note: since WO 2020/255984 was not published in the English language, citations in this action refer to US 2022/0319839 - which is the printed application of the US national stage application of WO 2020/255984.
Endo teaches a resist underlayer composition comprising a solvent and a heterocyclic compound having a dicyanostyryl group (paragraph 0016). The compound comprising the structure (paragraphs 0021-0029):
wherein B may be an ether or ester linkage, m may be 2, and L is:
This structure reads on the compound of claim 2 represented by formula (2) with divalent group X11 corresponding to -Q-, since both A and B may be direct bonds and m may be 2. The heterocyclic compound is preferably triazinetrione, R is preferably hydrogen, and Y is preferably an ether or ester linkage (paragraph 0081). The carbon content of the compound illustrated in Example 1 (paragraph 0116) with m being 2 would be about 60 wt%.
The resist underlayer composition is used to pattern a substrate by applying the composition to a substrate, subjecting to exposure to form a resist pattern, removing the portion between the pattern, plating with copper, then removing the pattern (paragraphs 0043-0049). An inorganic resist underlayer is applied over the inventive resist underlayer (paragraph 0166), corresponding to the light transmissive support substrate of claim 6 while the inventive underlayer corresponds to the adhesive layer of claim 7. The pattern is formed using a laser (paragraph 0169).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have immediately envisaged an embodiment wherein m is two based on the limited number (four) of values for m. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a heterocyclic compound wherein m is two based on the explicit teaching by Endo that m may be two.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugita (WO 2022/102691).
Note: since WO 2022/102691 was not published in the English language, citations in this action refer to EP 4,227,378 - which is the printed application of the European national stage application of WO 2022/102691.
Sugita is directed to an electronic component formed by arranging a chip component on a curable adhesive layer provided on a support tape, performing irradiation from the surface of the support tape having the chip component, applying a stimulus from the opposite surface of the support tape to transfer the chip component to a member, wherein the curable adhesive layer is formed from a polymerizable polymer and a reaction initiator (paragraph 0009). The stimulus is preferably provided by a laser (paragraph 0022). The curable adhesive comprises a UV absorber (paragraph 0043), such as ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate (paragraph 0049). Ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate has a carbon content of about 74 wt% and a structure that reads on formula (1) of claim 1, wherein X1 is an ether bond, n1=n2=zero, R1 is hydrogen, and R2 is -COO-. Since the adhesive is applied to the support tape as a solution (paragraph 0085), it must also contain a solvent.
Although Sugita does not illustrate an embodiment employing an adhesive comprising ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art based on the explicit teachings of Sugita that ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate may be added to the adhesive as a UV absorber.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugita (WO 2022/102691) in view of Kirschner (US 2007/0249060).
Sugita teaches all the limitations of claim 5, as outlined above, except for the presence of the compound recited in the claim. However, Sugita does teach the addition of ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate as a UV absorber.
Kirschner discloses that a-cyano-4-hydroxycinnamic acid is known in the art as UV absorbing molecule (paragraph 0054). The compound a-cyano-4-hydroxycinnamic acid reads on the compound of claim 5, wherein X1 is an ether bond, n1=n2=zero, R1 is -CN, and R2 is -COO-.
It would have been obvious to use a-cyano-4-hydroxycinnamic acid as the UV absorber of Sugita since the courts have held the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination (ee MPEP 2144.07). Kirschner discloses that it is known that a-cyano-4-hydroxycinnamic acid is suitable for use as a UV absorber.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 18/881,140 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because limitations in the preamble represent a statement of purpose or use since the body of the claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all the limitations of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2111.02. The courts have held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed product is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed product from a prior art product satisfying the claimed structural limitations. See MPEP 2114.
As such, there is no patentably distinction between the composition recited in the claims of copending Application No. 18/881,140 as being "for forming a gap-filling material" and the composition of the instant claims directed to a "release agent composition."
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/RAMSEY ZACHARIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787