DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Zuo, CN 105886147.
Zuo, CN 105886147, discloses a laundry detergent comprising 1-5 parts of sodium chloride, 0.5-2 parts of complex enzymes, 1-5 parts of an emulsifier, 0.5-2 parts of a chelating agent, 5-10 parts of an organic solvent, 0.1-0.5 parts of polyvinylpyrrolidone, 0.1-0.5 parts of hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose, 0.1-0.5 parts of essences, 1-5 parts of a thickening agent, 1-3 parts of sorbitol and 50-100 parts of deionized water (see abstract and page 4, lines 11-18). It is further taught by Zuo that suitable essences include jasmine oil (see page 5, lines 22-23), that suitable thickening agents include carrageenan (see page 5, lines 25-26), and that the laundry detergent is used in a process to clean fabrics (see page 3, lines 13-31), per the requirements of the instant invention. Specifically, note Embodiments 1-4 and Tables 1-2. Therefore, instant claims 14-29 are anticipated by Zuo, CN 105886147.
In the alternative that the above disclosure is insufficient to anticipate the above listed claims, it would have nonetheless been obvious to the skilled artisan to produce the claimed composition, as the reference teaches each of the claimed ingredients within the claimed proportions for the same utility.
Claims 14-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Stenger, US 2021/0108159, discloses a detergent composition comprising 1-60% by weight of a surfactant, 0.001-4% by weight of an anti-foam, 0.01-2.5% by weight of a structurant, and 1-30% by weight of a linear alkylbenzene sulfonate (see abstract and paragraph 11). It is further taught by Stenger that the composition contains 35-99% by weight of water (see paragraph 19), that suitable structurants include carrageenan and xanthan gum (see paragraph 156), that suitable adjunct materials include enzymes (see paragraphs 185-186), fabric shading agents (see paragraphs 191-199), up to 2% by weight of sodium chloride (see paragraph 195), 0.0001-5% by weight of particulate materials and perfumes (see paragraphs 200-205), and polymers (see paragraphs 207-213), wherein the composition is in the form of a unit dose containing a polyvinyl alcohol film (see paragraph 215), and is used in a process to treat fabrics (see paragraphs 216-228), per the requirements of the instant invention. Specifically, note Examples C-D in Table 2.
Although Stenger generally discloses a detergent composition containing 0.01-2.5% by weight of a structurant, such as carrageenan, and up to 2% by weight of sodium chloride, the reference does not require such detergent compositions containing these components with sufficient specificity to constitute anticipation.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have formulated a detergent composition, as taught by Stenger, which contained 0.01-2.5% by weight of a structurant, such as carrageenan, and up to 2% by weight of sodium chloride, because such detergent compositions fall within the scope of those taught by Stenger. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success, because such a detergent composition containing 0.01-2.5% by weight of a structurant, such as carrageenan, and up to 2% by weight of sodium chloride is expressly suggested by the Stenger disclosure and therefore is an obvious formulation.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xie, CN 108441347, discloses a laundry sheet containing 2-4 parts of thickeners, up to 40 parts of water per layer of sheet, and adjunct ingredients (see abstract).
Han, CN 106497707, discloses a liquid detergent containing 67-95 parts of water, 2-8 parts of a thickening agent, coloring agents, and adjunct ingredients (see abstract).
/BRIAN P MRUK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
Brian P Mruk
August 25, 2026