DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the pelvic rotation axis" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 10-12, 15, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (CN 110465924 A) in view of Tung et al. (WO 2018/090047 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Xiao et al. disclose an exoskeleton configured to be worn by a user in order to support and transfer a load carried by the user comprising a hip module (403-410) connected to two leg modules (5, 6) each connected to two foot modules (3) respectively, wherein said exoskeleton is adapted to be maintained on the body of the user and follow the user's movements (“Background” section on page 2 of attached translation) and wherein said exoskeleton is configured in such a way as to transfer to the load carried by the user from the hip module down to the ground via the leg modules and the foot modules when the exoskeleton is in use (“Summary of the Invention” section on pages 2-3 of attached translation), and wherein each leg module comprises an upper leg member (5) connected to said hip module (at hip joint 1)and a lower leg member (6) connected to said foot module (at ankle joint 3), wherein: each upper leg member and lower leg member are connected by a knee section (2) configured to be fitted around the knee of the user in order to allow the lower leg member to follow the movements of the lower leg of the user with respect to the upper leg (second to last paragraph of page 3 of attached translation), each knee section comprises knee flexion/extension connections (202, 203) in the form of a polycentric mechanism on at least one of the right and left sides of the user's knee (Figs 1 and 3), but Xiao et al. do not disclose that each foot module comprises an ankle fork and a foot support platform rotatable and detachably connected by foot release mechanisms wherein said foot release mechanisms are configured to unfasten the exoskeleton. Tung et al., however, disclose an exoskeleton having an ankle fork (links 613-615 in Fig 16) and a foot support platform (183; Fig 18) rotatable [00209-00210] and detachably (via 189) connected by foot release mechanisms wherein said foot release mechanisms are configured to unfasten the exoskeleton [00202]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to modify the invention of Xiao et al. in view of the teachings of Tung et al. to have rotatable and releasable foot support platforms from corresponding ankle forks in order to allow the feet of the user to move freely and naturally while also allowing easy removal of the exoskeleton foot supports easily without assistance.
With respect to claim 2, wherein said hip module comprises a plurality of hip links (409) positioned on each side of the user's body and connected to a lumbar element (406), wherein each of said plurality of hip links is rotatably connected to an adjacent hip link and/or said lumbar element via hip link rotation elements (404).
With respect to claim 3, wherein said hip link rotation elements (404) are in the form of hinge joints having a hip link rotation axis (fore-aft direction) that is parallel to the pelvic rotation axis (pelvis can band left and right around axis) of the user in order to bear the load while allowing free torso and pelvis movement to the user.
With respect to claim 4, wherein the number of hip links (409) on each side of the user's body is between one and eight (Fig 5).
With respect to claim 5, wherein the number of hip links on each side of the user's body is three (as shown in Figs 5, each of the hip links comprises an L-shaped link (409) and two adjusting plates (407) adjustable by slide holes (410) and screws (408).
With respect to claim 8, wherein at least one of the polycentric mechanisms of the knee flexion/extension connections is a four-bar linkage mechanism (Fig 3).
With respect to claim 10, wherein the upper leg member is configured to have a height that is adjustable by an upper leg adjustment means (screw holes in upper leg member 5 shown in Fig 6) of said hip module.
With respect to claim 11, wherein the lower leg member is configured to have a height that is adjustable by a lower leg adjustment means (screw holes in plate 301 in Fig 4) of said leg module.
With respect to claim 12, wherein said leg module comprises an ankle connection element (503 of Tung et al.) attached to said lower leg member (via 108) whereby said leg module is connected to said ankle fork of said foot module and wherein said ankle connection element provides a degree of freedom around an ankle rotation axis (Fig 16).
With respect to claim 15, wherein said foot support platform is configured to be inserted around the footwear of the user whereby said exoskeleton is configured to be used with any footwear (Fig 18 of Tung et al.).
With respect to claim 16, wherein said exoskeleton comprises a back module (401) connected to said hip module.
With respect to claim 20, Xiao et al. do not disclose wherein said exoskeleton comprises at least one potential energy storage element in at least one joint area of said exoskeleton configured to store energy during certain phases of motion and release said stored energy to augment or support joint movement during other phases of motion. Tung et al., however, disclose wherein an exoskeleton comprises at least one potential energy storage element (108) in at least one joint area of said exoskeleton is configured to store energy during certain phases of motion and release said stored energy to augment or support joint movement during other phases of motion. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to modify the invention of Xiao et al. in view of the teachings of Tung et al. to have at least one potential energy storage element in order to make efficient use of load absorbed by the exoskeleton to aid the user’s mobility.
Claims 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (CN 110465924 A) in view of Tung et al. (WO 2018/090047 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 16 as discussed above, and further in view of Singla (EP 4595939 A1).
With respect to claim 17, the combination of Xiao et al. and Tung et al. discloses the claimed invention discussed above but does not disclose wherein said back module comprises a shoulder member configured to be fitted onto a shoulder of the user, connected to a back assembly, wherein said back assembly comprises a load carrying member and a height adjustment module configured to adjust the length of the load carrying member based on the height of the user. Singla, however, discloses a back module that comprises a shoulder member (24) configured to be fitted onto a shoulder of the user, connected to a back assembly, wherein said back assembly comprises a load carrying member (23, 27) and a height adjustment module (60) configured to adjust the length of the load carrying member based on the height of the user (Fig 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to further modify the invention of Xiao et al. in view of the teachings of Singla to have a shoulder member connected to an adjustable-length back member so that the exoskeleton can fit a variety of sized users while distributing the load across the entire user’s body.
With respect to claim 18, wherein said load carrying member comprises a hip connection means (21) configured to be rotatably and slidably attached to a housing of a lumbar element of said hip module (Fig 5 of Singla; slidable via length regulation means 61).
Claim 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (CN 110465924 A) in view of Tung et al. (WO 2018/090047 A1) and Singla (EP 4595939 A1), as applied to claims 1, 16, and 17 as discussed above, and further in view of Belanger-Desbiens et al. (WO 2019/129855 A1).
With respect to claim 19, the combination of Xiao et al., Tung et al., and Singla discloses the claimed invention discussed above but does not disclose wherein said load carrying member is preloaded to counter act bending loads imposed on the torso of users while carrying any kind of loads placed on shoulder member. Belanger-Desbiens et al., however, disclose a load carrying member (19) that is preloaded to counter act bending loads imposed on the torso of users while carrying any kind of loads placed on shoulder member (1st and 2nd paragraphs of page 9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to further modify the invention of Xiao et al. in view of the teachings of Belanger-Desbiens et al. to have a preloaded load carrying member in order to further absorb some of the load to the user’s back.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, 9, 13, 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
DREW BROWN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/DREW J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617