DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN202310506064.8, filed on 5/06/2023.
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 4/21/2026, which are in response to USPTO Office Action mailed 2/17/2026. Applicant’s arguments have been considered with the results that follow: THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7 and 9-21 are currently pending in the present application. Claim 8 is currently cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMADA (US PGPUB No. 2023/0078682; Pub. Date: Mar. 16, 2023) in view of Otsuhata (US PGPUB No. 2022/0091705; Pub. Date: Mar. 24, 2022).
Regarding independent claim 1,
YAMADA discloses a method for improving display of page tools, comprising: obtaining a search result matching search information and a plurality of tool buttons associated with at least one of the search information or the search result in response to receiving the search information via a search input box displayed on a graphical user interface,
and displaying a tool consumption page corresponding to a tool after one of the plurality of tool buttons is triggered on the search result page without receiving additional search information corresponding to the tool via the search input box. See FIG. 9B & Paragraph [0118], (A user may select a tool from tool list 713 to be added to a designated tool bar 70.) See Paragraph [0137], (Designated tool bar 70 is transmitted to server device 30 and associated with a to-be-worked-on document.) See Paragraph [0167], (Worker terminal 20b may receive the designated tool bar 70. Note [0074]-[0078] which describe a plurality of tool functionalities associated with tool icons 70a-70d of a designated tool bar, i.e. displaying a tool consumption page corresponding to a tool after one of the plurality of tool buttons is triggered on the search result page (e.g. ) without receiving additional search information corresponding to the tool via the search input box (e.g. ).)
YAMADA does not disclose the step wherein the plurality of tool buttons are determined based on at least one mounting dimension, and wherein the at least one mounting dimension comprises a content dimension indicating a correlation between the plurality of tool buttons and at least one of the search information or the search result;
simultaneously displaying the search result and the plurality of tool buttons in a search result page on the graphical user interface;
Otsuhata discloses the step wherein the plurality of tool buttons are determined based on at least one mounting dimension, and wherein the at least one mounting dimension comprises a content dimension indicating a correlation between the plurality of tool buttons and at least one of the search information or the search result; See Paragraphs [0063]-[0066], (Disclosing a system for acquiring menu screen configuration information stored in an electronic device. Configuration file storage 241 stores menu screen configuration information for configuring a customized screen including only setting items set in a wireless device 200, i.e. wherein the plurality of tool buttons (e.g. the setting items ) are determined based on at least one mounting dimension (e.g. the menu screen configuration information). Control unit 250 comprises search unit 252 configured to search for information stored in storage unit 241 for menu screen configuration information to determine search results of menu screen configuration information for presentation at an information processing device 100, i.e. and wherein the at least one mounting dimension comprises a content dimension indicating a correlation between the plurality of tool buttons and at least one of the search information or the search result (e.g. Note [0079] wherein menu screen configuration information relates to a customized screen in which buttons are placed. Search unit 252 searches for menu screen configuration information to present a desired arrangement of buttons at a corresponding device);)
simultaneously displaying the search result and the plurality of tool buttons in a search result page on the graphical user interface; See FIG. 2 & Paragraph [0039], (FIG. 2 illustrates a graphical user interface comprising two areas AR1 and AR2 wherein AR1 comprises a plurality of setting items that may be searched. AR2 comprises a plurality of setting item areas AR21, AR22, AR23, i.e. simultaneously displaying the search result and the plurality of tool buttons in a search result page on the graphical user interface;)
YAMADA and Otsuhata are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, toolbar management. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to recognize that FIG. 9B of YAMADA illustrates the search system as a popup window overlaid on top of another graphical user interface. Therefore, the tool addition menu 71 of YAMADA may be displayed over an interface such as that of Otsuhata for allowing display of search items and setting items while also including functionality for placing additional tools in a designated tool bar. Paragraph [0090] of Otsuhata discloses that the method of providing a customized screen including only required items allows users to more easily find buttons for changing settings, which represents an improvement in user experience and operability.
Regarding independent claim 9,
The claim is analogous to the subject matter of independent claim 1 directed to a device or apparatus and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding independent claim 10,
The claim is analogous to the subject matter of independent claim 1 directed to a non-transitory, computer readable medium and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 2, 11 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMADA in view of Otsuhata as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Maiti et al. (US PGPUB No. 2019/0340281; Pub. Date: Nov. 7, 2019).
Regarding dependent claim 2,
As discussed above with claim 1, YAMADA-Otsuhata discloses all of the limitations.
YAMADA-Otsuhata does not disclose the step wherein the mounting dimension is determined according to: determining at least one mounting dimension corresponding to the search result according to a content type of search content in the search result and an association relationship between a preset content type and the mounting dimension.
Maiti discloses the step wherein the mounting dimension is determined according to: determining at least one mounting dimension corresponding to the search result according to a content type of search content in the search result and an association relationship between a preset content type and the mounting dimension. See Paragraph [0109], (Disclosing a search system configured to activate a subset of widgets that satisfy a condition based on the search results and determining a view for each activated widget. The system comprises a widget content rules system 710 configured to tailor each widget of a graphical user interface based on a type of search results, i.e. determining at least one mounting dimension corresponding to the search result according to a content type of search content in the search result (e.g. Note [0107] wherein widget content rules system 710 may determine the number of search results for each type of search results and assigns a particular widget that best fits the type and number of search results for each type of search results) and an association relationship between a preset content type and the mounting dimension (e.g. the selected widgets are tailored to provide an optimal display/presentation experience).)
YAMADA, Otsuhata and Maiti are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, graphical user interface optimization. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of YAMADA-Otsuhata to include the method of tailoring widget selections based on search result characteristics as disclosed by Maiti. Paragraph [0088] of Maiti discloses that the mapping system may automatically determine a manner in which search results are displayed on the display interface in order to optimize the presentation of search results, which represents an improvement in the user experience.
Regarding dependent claim 11,
The claim is analogous to the subject matter of dependent claim 2 directed to a device or apparatus and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 17,
The claim is analogous to the subject matter of dependent claim 2 directed to a non-transitory, computer readable medium and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 3, 12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMADA in view of Otsuhata as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Almecija et al. (US PGPUB No. 2018/0365025; Pub. Date: Dec. 20, 2018).
Regarding dependent claim 3,
As discussed above with claim 1, YAMADA-Otsuhata discloses all of the limitations.
YAMADA-Otsuhata does not disclose the step wherein the mounting dimension comprises a daily consumption dimension, and the tool button in the daily consumption dimension is determined according to: selecting a first tool button from a preset tool button according to a correlation between a preset tool corresponding to each preset tool button and at least one selected from the group consisting of the search information and the search result; and determining the tool button from the first tool button according to a usage amount of the preset tool corresponding to each first tool button within a preset time period.
Almecija discloses the step wherein the mounting dimension comprises a daily consumption dimension, See Paragraph [0067], (Dynamic shortcuts comprise dynamic toolbars of buttons including UI tools that are most likely to be used by a user to interact with a displayed GUI. Note [0087] wherein historical usage factors are provided to a neural network as input for determining a user's UI preferences, i.e. wherein the mounting dimension comprises a daily consumption dimension (e.g. the historical usage factors associated with a user).)
and the tool button in the daily consumption dimension is determined according to: selecting a first tool button from a preset tool button according to a correlation between a preset tool corresponding to each preset tool button and at least one selected from the group consisting of the search information and the search result; See Paragraph [0087], (The system may predict user actions on a graphical user interface based on input factors including current usage of the user interface as well as historical usage factors including what tasks a user has performed, i.e. the tool button in the daily consumption dimension is determined according to: selecting a first tool button from a preset tool button according to a correlation between a preset tool corresponding to each preset tool button (e.g. the system generates predictions based on current and previous usage of a user interface) and at least the search information (e.g. the user's interactions with a GUI of a software application.)
The examiner notes that while Almecija is not explicitly directed to a search system, the method may be directed to any type of software application that a user may interact with to accomplish tasks. YAMADA is directed to a software application for searching products in a product database as discussed with regard to claim 1 above and therefore includes "search information".
and determining the tool button from the first tool button according to a usage amount of the preset tool corresponding to each first tool button within a preset time period. See Paragraph [0087], (The system may predict user actions on a graphical user interface based on input factors including current usage of the user interface as well as historical usage factors including what tasks a user has performed, i.e. determining the tool button from the first tool button according to a usage amount of the preset tool corresponding to each first tool button within a preset time period (e.g. historical usage factors include what tasks a user has performed. Note [0043] wherein the system may detect intervals between button clicks and speed of mouse travel to determine usage patterns).)
YAMADA, Otsuhata and Almecija are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, graphical user interface optimization. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of YAMADA-Otsuhata to include the method of dynamically arranging tools for a user as disclosed by Almecija. Paragraph [0108] of Almecija discloses that the system may improve computer technology by reducing user interface load times, making more efficient usage of UI assets, minimizing CPU cycles to operate a user interface, saving system power, and may offload UI management to remote servers on the Internet.
Regarding dependent claim 12,
The claim is analogous to the subject matter of dependent claim 3 directed to a device or apparatus and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 18,
The claim is analogous to the subject matter of dependent claim 3 directed to a non-transitory, computer readable medium and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 4, 13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMADA in view of Otsuhata as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pellow et al. (US PGPUB No. 2020/0142945; Pub. Date: May 7, 2020) and Maiti et al. (US PGPUB No. 2019/0340281; Pub. Date: Nov. 7, 2019).
Regarding dependent claim 4,
As discussed above with claim 1, YAMADA-Otsuhata discloses all of the limitations.
Pellow further discloses the step of selecting a third tool button matching a historical search behavior from the second tool button according to each historical search behavior related to the search information and obtained upon authorization; See Paragraph [0116], (FIG. 12 depicts a graphical user interface including a query tool 1204 including controls for running an automated query inquiry including a "previous button" 1206 which backs up to a previous query, i.e. selecting a third tool button matching a historical search behavior from the second tool button according to each historical search behavior related to the search information and obtained upon authorization (e.g. Note [0148] wherein a user may access search diagnostic tools based on authorization information);
Pellow-Almecija does not disclose the step wherein the mounting dimension comprises a content dimension,
and the tool button in the content dimension is determined according to: selecting a second tool button from a preset tool button according to a correlation between a preset tool corresponding to each preset tool button and search content in the search result;
determining target information flow content with views greater than a preset threshold according to the views of each piece of information flow content within a preset time period;
and selecting the tool button from the third tool button according to a correlation between each third tool button and the target information flow content.
Maiti discloses the step wherein the mounting dimension comprises a content dimension, See Paragraph [0109], (Disclosing a search system configured to activate a subset of widgets that satisfy a condition based on the search results and determining a view for each activated widget. The system comprises a widget content rules system 710 configured to tailor each widget of a graphical user interface based on a type of search results, i.e. wherein the mounting dimension comprises a content dimension (e.g. a type of search result).)
and the tool button in the content dimension is determined according to: selecting a second tool button from a preset tool button according to a correlation between a preset tool corresponding to each preset tool button and search content in the search result; See Paragraph [0108], (Widget content rules system 710 may tailor the manner in which search results are displayed within widgets that are to be activated based on a number of search results of different types. Note [0101] wherein widgets may include buttons, check boxes, containers, labels, scroll bars, menu bars, toolbars, ribbons, graphs, windows, and a variety of other features that may be considered necessary or desirable to accurately and appropriately display the search results, i.e. the tool button in the content dimension is determined according to: selecting a second tool button from a preset tool button according to a correlation between a preset tool corresponding to each preset tool button and search content in the search result (e.g. the system may determine a particular widget, which may be embodied as a button, based on characteristics of a search result/search result set based on a search result type and number of search results).)
determining target information flow content with views greater than a preset threshold according to the views of each piece of information flow content within a preset time period; See FIG. 9 & Paragraph [0119], (FIG. 9 illustrates method 900 comprising step 910 wherein widget content rules system 710 determines whether a number of search results of a first type is greater than a first threshold, i.e. determining target information flow content with views greater than a preset threshold according to the views of each piece of information flow content within a preset time period (e.g. the search results are retrieved at a current time in response to a submitted user query).)
The examiner is interpreting the term "view" within the context of the claim to refer to a piece of information such as a search result. The method of Maiti may determine whether an amount of search results of a given type exceed a threshold number, i.e. information flow content with views greater than a preset threshold).)
and selecting the tool button from the third tool button according to a correlation between each third tool button and the target information flow content. See FIG. 9, (Method 900 comprises steps 915, 930 and 935 of selecting different widgets based on determinations made relating to at least first and second thresholds, i.e. selecting the tool button (e.g. the system selects a widget type based on determinations made during method 900. Note [0101] wherein widgets may include buttons, check boxes, containers, labels, scroll bars, menu bars, toolbars, ribbons, graphs, windows, and a variety of other features that may be considered necessary or desirable to accurately and appropriately display the search results.) from the third tool button according to a correlation between each third tool button and the target information flow content (e.g. the widget is selected based on characteristics of search results including a number of search results for each type of a plurality of types of search results).)
Pellow, Almecija and Maiti are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, graphical user interface optimization. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Pellow-Almecija to include the method of tailoring widget selections based on search result characteristics as disclosed by Maiti. Paragraph [0088] of Maiti discloses that the mapping system may automatically determine a manner in which search results are displayed on the display interface in order to optimize the presentation of search results, which represents an improvement in the user experience.
Regarding dependent claim 13,
The claim is analogous to the subject matter of dependent claim 4 directed to a device or apparatus and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 19,
The claim is analogous to the subject matter of dependent claim 4 directed to a non-transitory, computer readable medium and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 5-7, 14-16 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMADA in view of Otsuhata as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pellow et al. (US PGPUB No. 2020/0142945; Pub. Date: May 7, 2020).
Regarding dependent claim 5,
As discussed above with claim 1, YAMADA-Otsuhata discloses all of the limitations.
YAMADA-Otsuhata does not disclose the step wherein the mounting dimension comprises a functional dimension, and the tool button in the functional dimension is determined according to: selecting a fourth tool button from a preset tool button according to a search time period when the search information is input and according to a pre-established mapping relationship between a time period and a tool button; and selecting a tool button with a preset function from the fourth tool button according to a function of a preset tool corresponding to each fourth tool button.
Pellow discloses the step wherein the mounting dimension comprises a functional dimension, See Paragraph [0124], (A user may submit an input indicating the start of an automated query inquiry, i.e. wherein the mounting dimension comprises a functional dimension (e.g. the system displays query tool 1204 in response to a user request for an automated query inquiry wherein the automated query inquiry and its associated information represent a functional dimension).)
and the tool button in the functional dimension is determined according to: selecting a fourth tool button from a preset tool button according to a search time period when the search information is input and according to a pre-established mapping relationship between a time period and a tool button; See Paragraph [0117], (Controls for running an automated query allow a user to perform specific queries as well as reverse, pause or proceed with playback for any of the queries associated with query tool 1204, i.e. the tool button in the functional dimension (e.g. tool elements associated with query tool 1204) is determined according to: selecting a fourth tool button from a preset tool button according to a search time period when the search information is input (e.g. previous queries are executed at a previous time. The system may play back previously executed queries based on user interactions with the query tool control inputs) and according to a pre-established mapping relationship between a time period and a tool button (e.g. play button 1210 is associated with a current time period, previous button 1206 is associated with executing previous queries).)
and selecting a tool button with a preset function from the fourth tool button according to a function of a preset tool corresponding to each fourth tool button. See Paragraph [0117], (Query tool 1204 includes a plurality of controls that allow a user to control which queries are executed and when via the plurality of interface buttons of the query tool as in FIG. 12, i.e. selecting a tool button with a preset function from the fourth tool button according to a function of a preset tool corresponding to each fourth tool button (e.g. any of the buttons of query tool 1204 have an associated function).)
YAMADA, Otsuhata and Pellow are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, graphical user interface optimization. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of YAMADA-Otsuhata to include the method of dynamically arranging tools for a user as disclosed by Pellow. Paragraphs [0021] & [0038] of Pellow discloses that the system facilitates and improves searches designed to find content across multiple sources such as by allowing a search query to be modified to rank/re-rank search results.
Regarding dependent claim 6,
As discussed above with claim 1, YAMADA-Otsuhata discloses all of the limitations.
YAMADA-Otsuhata does not disclose the step wherein after the displaying the search result and the plurality of tool buttons in a search result page, the method further comprises: in response to triggering a first tool button of the tool buttons, displaying a tool consumption page of a tool corresponding to the first tool button, and displaying an associated tool button associated with the tool at a preset position of the tool consumption page, wherein the associated tool button is determined according to at least one selected from the group consisting of a tool category and a function of the tool.
Pellow discloses the step wherein after the displaying the search result and the plurality of tool buttons in a search result page, the method further comprises: in response to triggering a first tool button of the tool buttons, displaying a tool consumption page of a tool corresponding to the first tool button, See FIG. 11, Paragraphs [0110] & [0112], (FIG. 11 illustrates the method comprising step 1112 of receiving an indication of modification to the search query such as via a user utilizing a tool of the search diagnostic tools. Steps 1114-1116 comprise generating and transmitting a modified search query to the search engine, which may return information relating to the modified search query, i.e. in response to triggering a first tool button of the tool buttons, displaying a tool consumption page of a tool corresponding to the first tool button (e.g. the displayed modified search results are generated based on a user interaction with a search diagnostic tool).)
and displaying an associated tool button associated with the tool at a preset position of the tool consumption page, See FIG. 10, (FIG. 10 illustrates a graphical user interface including a plurality of search results and search diagnostic tool icons. Each product is presented as having four search diagnostic tool icons arranged vertically on the left side of the thumbnail representing each product, i.e. displaying an associated tool button associated with the tool at a preset position of the tool consumption page)
wherein the associated tool button is determined according to at least one selected from the group consisting of a tool category and a function of the tool. See FIG. 10 & Paragraph [0099], (FIG. 10 illustrates a graphical user interface presenting an explain dialogue 1006 wherein the explanation tool is represented by a "?" icon, i.e. wherein the associated tool button is determined according to at least a function of the tool.)
YAMADA, Otsuhata and Pellow are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, graphical user interface optimization. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of YAMADA-Otsuhata to include the method of dynamically arranging tools for a user as disclosed by Pellow. Paragraphs [0021] & [0038] of Pellow discloses that the system facilitates and improves searches designed to find content across multiple sources such as by allowing a search query to be modified to rank/re-rank search results.
Regarding dependent claim 7,
As discussed above with claim 1, YAMADA-Otsuhata discloses all of the limitations.
YAMADA-Otsuhata does not disclose the step wherein the displaying the search result and the plurality of tool buttons in a search result page comprises: displaying the search result and the tool buttons in a result display area of the search result page; or displaying the search result in a result display area of the search result page, and displaying a tool entrance corresponding to each of the tool buttons in a recommendation area for displaying recommended search terms in the search result page, wherein the tool entrance is used to replace the recommended search terms displayed in the recommendation area.
Pellow discloses the step wherein the displaying the search result and the plurality of tool buttons in a search result page comprises: displaying the search result and the tool buttons in a result display area of the search result page; or displaying the search result in a result display area of the search result page, and displaying a tool entrance corresponding to each of the tool buttons in a recommendation area for displaying recommended search terms in the search result page, wherein the tool entrance is used to replace the recommended search terms displayed in the recommendation area. See FIG. 11, Paragraphs [0110] & [0112], (FIG. 11 illustrates the method comprising step 1112 of receiving an indication of modification to the search query such as via a user utilizing a tool of the search diagnostic tools. Steps 1114-1116 comprise generating and transmitting a modified search query to the search engine, which may return information relating to the modified search query, i.e. displaying the search result and the tool buttons in a result display area of the search result page; (e.g. FIG. 10 illustrates a graphical user interface including an explain dialogue 1006 triggered by an explanation tool of the search diagnostic tools. Explain dialogue 1006 is displayed simultaneously with search results and search diagnostic tools.)
YAMADA, Otsuhata and Pellow are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, graphical user interface optimization. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of YAMADA-Otsuhata to include the method of dynamically arranging tools for a user as disclosed by Pellow. Paragraphs [0021] & [0038] of Pellow discloses that the system facilitates and improves searches designed to find content across multiple sources such as by allowing a search query to be modified to rank/re-rank search results.
Regarding dependent claim 14,
The claim is analogous to the subject matter of dependent claim 5 directed to a device or apparatus and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 15,
The claim is analogous to the subject matter of dependent claim 6 directed to a device or apparatus and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 16, The claim is analogous to the subject matter of dependent claim 7 directed to a device or apparatus and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 20,
The claim is analogous to the subject matter of dependent claim 5 directed to a non-transitory, computer readable medium and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 21,
The claim is analogous to the subject matter of dependent claim 6 directed to a non-transitory, computer readable medium and is rejected under similar rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments & amendments with regard to the rejection of claims 1, 9 and 10 under 35 USC 101 have been considered and are persuasive. As currently presented, independent claims 1, 9 and 10 recite an improvement in the field of user interfaces and includes limitations that may not be performed either mentally or aided by pen & paper such as:
Regarding independent claim 1,
simultaneously displaying the search result and the plurality of tool buttons in a search result page on the graphical user interface;
and displaying a tool consumption page corresponding to a tool after one of the plurality of tool buttons is triggered on the search result page without receiving additional search information corresponding to the tool via the search input box.
Independent claims 1, 9 and 10 are directed to improvements in the art and include limitations that are not representative of the abstract idea of a mental process.
Therefore claims 1, 9 and 10 are eligible. The corresponding rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 and 9-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s amendments have modified the scope of the claimed invention, which necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office Action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FMMV/Examiner, Art Unit 2159 /AMRESH SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2159