DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the above identified application filed on August 20, 2026. The application contains claims 1-22, wherein:
Claims 9 and 10 were previously cancelled
Claims 1, 2, 11, 12, 19, and 20 are amended
Claims 1-8 and 11-22 are pending
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed on August 20, 2026, have been fully considered and the objections and rejections are updated accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the new limitations introduced with the amendments are addressed with new prior art and rationale.
Please refer to the updated 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections as set forth below for details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 11-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elieson et al. (US 10558693 B1) in view of OGAWA et al. (US 20200356608 A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Elieson teaches
a method for data query (Abstract), comprising:
receiving a data query request triggered by a user through a conversation interface of an instant messaging session (Fig. 2; Col. 8, lines 3-60: the conversation bot 228 may be configured to optimally obtain input from a user and analyze that input in order to conduct searches to meet user needs, wherein the conversation bot teaches "a conversation interface of an instant messaging sessions");
obtaining feedback information corresponding to the data query request (Fig. 5; Fig. 6; Col. 14, lines 16-30: in conversation window 602, the conversation bot may provide an initial prompt 604 to the user to solicit user input. The prompt 604 may include a selection input field 606 that includes a number of attributes that may be selected);
Elieson does not teach
outputting, based on the feedback information including a plurality of data source options corresponding to the data query request, a response message in the instant messaging session, wherein the response message comprises an interactive control that is configurable by the user to adjust a query scope of the data query request by selecting at least one of the plurality of data source options from the conversation interface of the instant messaging session.
OGAWA teaches
outputting, based on the feedback information including a plurality of data source options corresponding to the data query request, a response message in the instant messaging session, wherein the response message comprises an interactive control that is configurable by the user to adjust a query scope of the data query request by selecting at least one of the plurality of data source options from the conversation interface of the instant messaging session (Fig. 14, block 1402; [0195]: the data enablement platform creates each search bot that searches a different data source to fulfill the directive (the user query). This can be done automatically or semi-automatically. For example, a user can select, via a UI, the data sources to be searched, which in turn determines the type of search bots. The user can also adjust parameters of the assigned search bots, thereby customizing the search bots, wherein in the semi-automatic scenario, the data sources are presented on the UI in response to the user query for the user to select before a search is conducted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Elieson to incorporate the teachings of OGAWA to output, based on the feedback information including a plurality of data source options corresponding to the data query request, a response message in the instant messaging session, wherein the response message comprises an interactive control that is configurable by the user to adjust a query scope of the data query request by selecting at least one of the plurality of data source options from the conversation interface of the instant messaging session. Doing so would adjust parameters of the assigned search bots to customize the search bots and provide other input for a given search bot to use in their searching computations as taught by OGAWA ([0195]).
Regarding claim 2,
As discussed in claim 1, Elieson and OGAWA teach all the limitations therein.
OGAWA further teaches
the method of claim 1,
wherein the method further comprises:
in response to a data source selection operation of the user based on the plurality of data source options, outputting a query result in the instant messaging session, wherein the query result is obtained, based on the data query request, from a data source selected by the user (Fig. 14, block 1402; [0195]: see the explanation in the parent claim).
Regarding claim 3,
As discussed in claim 1, Elieson and OGAWA teach all the limitations therein.
Elieson further teaches
the method of claim 1, wherein
in accordance with a determination that the feedback information comprises a plurality of query results, the interactive control comprises a plurality of options corresponding to the plurality of query results for the user to select, from the plurality of options, a target query result for displaying details (Fig. 5; Col. 12, lines 51-67: the conversation window may be used to present a number of search results 508 returned by the search engine for the user to select from).
Regarding claim 4,
As discussed in claim 1, Elieson and OGAWA teach all the limitations therein.
Elieson further teaches
the method of claim 1, wherein
in accordance with a determination that the feedback information comprises a plurality of query results, the interactive control comprises one or more filtering condition setting controls, wherein the one or more filtering condition setting controls are configured to further filter a query result from the feedback information (Fig. 6; Col. 14, lines 16-41: an adjustment indicator 607 included in the selection input field 606 corresponds to "the one or more filtering condition setting controls").
Regarding claim 5,
As discussed in claim 4, Elieson and OGAWA teach all the limitations therein.
Elieson further teaches
the method of claim 4, wherein a filtering condition corresponding to the one or more filtering condition setting controls comprises one or more of the following:
a creator of a data record; a creation time of a data record; values of one or more fields in a data record (Fig. 6; Col. 14, lines 16-41: an adjustment indicator 607 included in the selection input field 606, for example, color or construction material, corresponds to “values of one or more fields in a data record”).
Regarding claim 6,
As discussed in claim 1, Elieson and OGAWA teach all the limitations therein.
Elieson further teaches
the method of claim 1, wherein the data query request comprises:
a conversation message that comprises a predetermined character and is sent by the user in the instant messaging session; or
a data query request that is entered to a page associated with a predetermined control after the user triggers the predetermined control in the instant messaging session (Fig. 6: after selecting input fields shown in 606, the user uses the “Submit” button to enter “a data query request”, wherein the “Submit” button teaches “a predetermined control”).
Regarding claim 7,
As discussed in claim 6, Elieson and OGAWA teach all the limitations therein.
OGAWA further teaches
the method of claim 6, wherein in accordance with a determination that the data query request comprises the conversation message that comprises the predetermined character and is sent by the user in the instant messaging session,
the data query request is triggered after a chatbot is added as a member of the instant messaging session, the conversation message is a conversation message that mentions the chatbot and comprises a keyword for a query (Fig. 14, block 1402; [0195]: the user directive or query is run by a search bot after the search bot has been selected and provisioned based on the user input).
Regarding claim 8,
As discussed in claim 7, Elieson and OGAWA teach all the limitations therein.
OGAWA further teaches
the method of claim 7, wherein obtaining the feedback information corresponding to the data query request comprises:
sending, to a server, a query information comprising the keyword and at least one of an identifier of the chatbot or an identifier of the instant messaging session;
receiving feedback information for the query information from the server, the feedback information is obtained from a data set associated with at least one of the chatbot or the instant messaging session (Fig. 14, block 1402; [0195]: the data enablement platform creates each search bot that searches a different data source to fulfill the directive (the user query). This can be done automatically or semi-automatically. For example, a user can select, via a UI, the data sources to be searched, which in turn determines the type of search bots. The user can also adjust parameters of the assigned search bots, thereby customizing the search bots, wherein the “feedback information” to the user directive is obtained from the data source specifically selected for the chosen search bot).
Regarding claim 11,
Elieson teaches
an electronic device comprising a memory and a processor (Fig. 2: processor(s) 210 and memory 214), the memory having executable code stored therein, and when executing the executable code, the processor performs acts comprising:
receiving a data query request triggered by a user through a conversation interface of an instant messaging session (Fig. 2; Col. 8, lines 3-60: the conversation bot 228 may be configured to optimally obtain input from a user and analyze that input in order to conduct searches to meet user needs, wherein the conversation bot teaches "a conversation interface of an instant messaging sessions");
obtaining feedback information corresponding to the data query request (Fig. 5; Fig. 6; Col. 14, lines 16-30: in conversation window 602, the conversation bot may provide an initial prompt 604 to the user to solicit user input. The prompt 604 may include a selection input field 606 that includes a number of attributes that may be selected);
Elieson does not teach
outputting, based on the feedback information including a plurality of data source options corresponding to the data query request, a response message in the instant messaging session, wherein the response message comprises an interactive control that is configurable by the user to adjust a query scope of the data query request by selecting at least one of the plurality of data source options from the conversation interface of the instant messaging session.
OGAWA teaches
outputting, based on the feedback information including a plurality of data source options corresponding to the data query request, a response message in the instant messaging session, wherein the response message comprises an interactive control that is configurable by the user to adjust a query scope of the data query request by selecting at least one of the plurality of data source options from the conversation interface of the instant messaging session (Fig. 14, block 1402; [0195]: the data enablement platform creates each search bot that searches a different data source to fulfill the directive (the user query). This can be done automatically or semi-automatically. For example, a user can select, via a UI, the data sources to be searched, which in turn determines the type of search bots. The user can also adjust parameters of the assigned search bots, thereby customizing the search bots, wherein in the semi-automatic scenario, the data sources are presented on the UI in response to the user query for the user to select before a search is conducted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Elieson to incorporate the teachings of OGAWA to output, based on the feedback information including a plurality of data source options corresponding to the data query request, a response message in the instant messaging session, wherein the response message comprises an interactive control that is configurable by the user to adjust a query scope of the data query request by selecting at least one of the plurality of data source options from the conversation interface of the instant messaging session. Doing so would adjust parameters of the assigned search bots to customize the search bots and provide other input for a given search bot to use in their searching computations as taught by OGAWA ([0195]).
Regarding claim 12,
As discussed in claim 11, Elieson and OGAWA teach all the limitations therein.
OGAWA further teaches
the electronic device of claim 11,
wherein the acts further comprise:
in response to a data source selection operation of the user based on the plurality of data source options, outputting a query result in the instant messaging session, wherein the query result is obtained, based on the data query request, from a data source selected by the user (Fig. 14, block 1402; [0195]: see the explanation in the parent claim).
Regarding claim 13,
As discussed in claim 11, Elieson and OGAWA teach all the limitations therein.
Elieson further teaches
the electronic device of claim 11, wherein
in accordance with a determination that the feedback information comprises a plurality of query results, the interactive control comprises a plurality of options corresponding to the plurality of query results for the user to select, from the plurality of options, a target query result for displaying details (Fig. 5; Col. 12, lines 51-67: the conversation window may be used to present a number of search results 508 returned by the search engine for the user to select from).
Regarding claim 14,
As discussed in claim 11, Elieson and OGAWA teach all the limitations therein.
Elieson further teaches
the electronic device of claim 11, wherein
in accordance with a determination that the feedback information comprises a plurality of query results, the interactive control comprises one or more filtering condition setting controls, wherein the one or more filtering condition setting controls are configured to further filter a query result from the feedback information (Fig. 6; Col. 14, lines 16-41: an adjustment indicator 607 included in the selection input field 606 corresponds to "the one or more filtering condition setting controls").
Regarding claim 15,
As discussed in claim 14, Elieson and OGAWA teach all the limitations therein.
Elieson further teaches
the electronic device of claim 14, wherein a filtering condition corresponding to the one or more filtering condition setting controls comprises one or more of the following:
a creator of a data record; a creation time of a data record; values of one or more fields in a data record (Fig. 6; Col. 14, lines 16-41: an adjustment indicator 607 included in the selection input field 606, for example, color or construction material, corresponds to “values of one or more fields in a data record”).
Regarding claim 16,
As discussed in claim 11, Elieson and OGAWA teach all the limitations therein.
Elieson further teaches
the electronic device of claim 11, wherein the data query request comprises:
an electronic message that comprises a predetermined character and is sent by the user in the instant messaging session; or
a data query request that is entered to a page associated with a predetermined control after the user triggers the predetermined control in the instant messaging session (Fig. 6: after selecting input fields shown in 606, the user uses the “Submit” button to enter “a data query request”, wherein the “Submit” button teaches “a predetermined control”).
Regarding claim 17,
As discussed in claim 16, Elieson and OGAWA teach all the limitations therein.
OGAWA further teaches
the electronic device of claim 16, wherein in accordance with a determination that the data query request comprises the electronic message that comprises the predetermined character and is sent by the user in the instant messaging session,
the data query request is triggered after a chatbot is added as a member of the instant messaging session, the electronic message is an electronic message that mentions the chatbot and comprises a keyword for a query (Fig. 14, block 1402; [0195]: the user directive or query is run by a search bot after the search bot has been selected and provisioned based on the user input).
Regarding claim 18,
As discussed in claim 17, Elieson and OGAWA teach all the limitations therein.
OGAWA further teaches
the electronic device of claim 17, wherein obtaining the feedback information corresponding to the data query request comprises:
sending, to a server, a query information comprising the keyword and at least one of an identifier of the chatbot or an identifier of the instant messaging session;
receiving feedback information for the query information from the server, the feedback information is obtained from a data set associated with at least one of the chatbot or the instant messaging session (Fig. 14, block 1402; [0195]: the data enablement platform creates each search bot that searches a different data source to fulfill the directive (the user query). This can be done automatically or semi-automatically. For example, a user can select, via a UI, the data sources to be searched, which in turn determines the type of search bots. The user can also adjust parameters of the assigned search bots, thereby customizing the search bots, wherein the “feedback information” to the user directive is obtained from the data source specifically selected for the chosen search bot).
Regarding claim 19,
Elieson teaches
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having a computer program stored thereon, wherein when being executed in a computer (Fig. 2), the computer program causes the computer to perform acts comprising:
receiving a data query request triggered by a user through a conversation interface of an instant messaging session (Fig. 2; Col. 8, lines 3-60: the conversation bot 228 may be configured to optimally obtain input from a user and analyze that input in order to conduct searches to meet user needs, wherein the conversation bot teaches "a conversation interface of an instant messaging sessions");
obtaining feedback information corresponding to the data query request (Fig. 5; Fig. 6; Col. 14, lines 16-30: in conversation window 602, the conversation bot may provide an initial prompt 604 to the user to solicit user input. The prompt 604 may include a selection input field 606 that includes a number of attributes that may be selected);
Elieson does not teach
outputting, based on the feedback information including a plurality of data source options corresponding to the data query request, a response message in the instant messaging session, wherein the response message comprises an interactive control that is configurable by the user to adjust a query scope of the data query request by selecting at least one of the plurality of data source options from the conversation interface of the instant messaging session.
OGAWA teaches
outputting, based on the feedback information including a plurality of data source options corresponding to the data query request, a response message in the instant messaging session, wherein the response message comprises an interactive control that is configurable by the user to adjust a query scope of the data query request by selecting at least one of the plurality of data source options from the conversation interface of the instant messaging session (Fig. 14, block 1402; [0195]: the data enablement platform creates each search bot that searches a different data source to fulfill the directive (the user query). This can be done automatically or semi-automatically. For example, a user can select, via a UI, the data sources to be searched, which in turn determines the type of search bots. The user can also adjust parameters of the assigned search bots, thereby customizing the search bots, wherein in the semi-automatic scenario, the data sources are presented on the UI in response to the user query for the user to select before a search is conducted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Elieson to incorporate the teachings of OGAWA to output, based on the feedback information including a plurality of data source options corresponding to the data query request, a response message in the instant messaging session, wherein the response message comprises an interactive control that is configurable by the user to adjust a query scope of the data query request by selecting at least one of the plurality of data source options from the conversation interface of the instant messaging session. Doing so would adjust parameters of the assigned search bots to customize the search bots and provide other input for a given search bot to use in their searching computations as taught by OGAWA ([0195]).
Regarding claim 20,
As discussed in claim 19, Elieson and OGAWA teach all the limitations therein.
OGAWA further teaches
the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 19,
wherein the acts further comprise:
in response to a data source selection operation of the user based on the plurality of data source options, outputting a query result in the instant messaging session, wherein the query result is obtained, based on the data query request, from a data source selected by the user (Fig. 14, block 1402; [0195]: see the explanation in the parent claim).
Regarding claim 21,
As discussed in claim 19, Elieson and OGAWA teach all the limitations therein.
Elieson further teaches
the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 19, wherein
in accordance with a determination that the feedback information comprises a plurality of query results, the interactive control comprises a plurality of options corresponding to the plurality of query results for the user to select, from the plurality of options, a target query result for displaying details (Fig. 5; Col. 12, lines 51-67: the conversation window may be used to present a number of search results 508 returned by the search engine for the user to select from).
Regarding claim 22,
As discussed in claim 19, Elieson and OGAWA teach all the limitations therein.
Elieson further teaches
the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 19, wherein
in accordance with a determination that the feedback information comprises a plurality of query results, the interactive control comprises one or more filtering condition setting controls, wherein the one or more filtering condition setting controls are configured to further filter a query result from the feedback information (Fig. 6; Col. 14, lines 16-41: an adjustment indicator 607 included in the selection input field 606 corresponds to "the one or more filtering condition setting controls").
Conclusion
/XIAOQIN HU/Examiner, Art Unit 2168
/CHARLES RONES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2168