Detailed Action
Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 15, 17 and 29 are pending and are examined.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 15, 17, and 29 have been elected. Claims 7-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected claim set, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The office agrees that the Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 2026-05-12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 15, 17 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Step 1 of the eligibility analysis asks is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter (See MPEP § 2106.03, subsections I and II). Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 15, and 17 are directed to a computer-implemented method (i.e., process). Claim 29 is directed to a computer-implemented system (i.e., machine, and manufacture). Therefore, these claims fall within the four statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A, Prong One
Prong One asks does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon (MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1)). Claims 1 and 29 under a broadest reasonable interpretation recite an abstract idea because the claims describe processing payment transactions, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection II). The claim limitations reciting the abstract idea are grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas because the limitations describe commercial or legal interactions, including advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors of payments between payers and payees.
The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
Claim 1:
A payment method based on an Ultra-Wideband (UWB), comprising: a UWB chip of a payer terminal receiving payment request information sent by a payee terminal through a UWB channel, wherein the payment request information is configured to request the payer terminal to complete a target transaction, and the target transaction is to make payment from the payer terminal to the payee terminal;
the UWB chip of the payer terminal encrypting the payment request information with a first key, so as to obtain encrypted information;
the UWB chip of the payer terminal transmitting the encrypted information to a security element of the payer terminal through a secure channel;
the security element of the payer terminal, verifying the target transaction according to the encrypted information, and generating a payment result;
the security element of the payer terminal returning the payment result to the UWB chip of the payer terminal; and
the UWB chip of the payer terminal sending the payment result to the payee terminal through the UWB channel.
Claim 29:
A payer terminal, comprising: a UWB chip, a secure element, and a secure channel; wherein the secure channel is connected to the UWB chip and the secure element;
the UWB chip is configured to receive payment request information sent by a payee terminal through a UWB channel, wherein the payment request information is configured to request the payer terminal to complete a target transaction, and the target transaction is to make payment from the payer terminal to the payee terminal;
the UWB chip is further configured to encrypt the payment request information with a first key, so as to obtain encrypted information, transmit the encrypted information to the secure element through the secure channel, receive a payment result returned by the secure element, and send the payment result to the payee terminal through the UWB channel; and
the secure element is configured to verify the target transaction according to the encrypted information, generate the payment result, and return the payment result to the UWB chip.
Step 2A, Prong Two
Prong Two asks does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(2)). Here, the additional elements of a UWB chip, a secure element, and a payer/payee terminal, individually and in combination, are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional elements merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)) and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). The description of the additional elements evidences that they are generic and conventional elements used as tools to perform the abstract idea. The UWB chip may be a generic and conventional UWB chip (See Spec. pg. 11). The secure element may be a generic and conventional secure element (See Spec. pg. 12). The payer/payee terminal may be a generic and conventional payer/payee terminal (See Spec. pg. 12).
Step 2B
Step 2B determines whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP § 2106.05). Evaluating additional elements to determine whether they amount to an inventive concept requires considering them both individually and in combination to ensure that they amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Individually, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As discussed previously, the description of the additional elements evidences that they are generic and conventional elements used as tools to perform the abstract idea (See Spec. 0013, 0016, 0020, and 0075). As such, the additional elements merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The ordered combination recites no more than the individual elements do. Thus, the additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claims are directed to the abstract idea identified above without significantly more. The claims are not eligible, warranting a rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility and concluding the eligibility analysis.
Dependent Claims
Claims 2-6, 8, 10, 15, 17 have also been analyzed. However, the subject matter of these claims also fails to recite patent eligible subject matter for the following reasons:
Claim 2 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes the same abstract idea as claim 1. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
wherein the UWB chip of the payer terminal encrypting the payment request information with a first key, so as to obtain encrypted information comprises: the UWB chip of the payer terminal invoking the first key corresponding to the secure channel, wherein the first key is pre-stored in a UWB chip of the payer terminal; and the UWB chip of the payer terminal encrypting the payment request information with the first key, so as to obtain the encrypted information.
Claim 3 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes the same abstract idea as claim 1. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
wherein a key type of the first key comprises one of following: an elliptic curve encryption algorithm key and a Rivest-Shamir-Adleman (RSA) algorithm key.
Claim 4 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes the same abstract idea as claim 1. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
wherein the secure channel comprises at least one of following: an Inter-Integrated Circuit (I2C) bus and a Serial Peripheral Interface (SPI) bus.
Claim 5 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes the same abstract idea as claim 1. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
wherein the payment request information comprises at least one of following: identity information of the payee terminal, authentication information, a collection amount, and a network state of the payee terminal.
Claim 6 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes the same abstract idea as claim 1. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
wherein the security element of the payer terminal returning the payment result to the UWB chip of the payer terminal comprises: the security element of the payer terminal returning a digital currency string to the UWB chip of the payer terminal in a case that the payee terminal is not connected to an Internet, wherein the payment result comprises the digital currency string generated by the secure element according to the encrypted information; and the security element of the payer terminal returning payment state information to the UWB chip of the payer terminal in a case that the payee terminal is connected to the Internet, wherein the payment result comprises the payment state information, and the payment state information is configured to describe whether the payer terminal completes the payment to the payee terminal.
Claim 8 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes the same abstract idea as claim 1. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
wherein the security element of the payer terminal verifying the target transaction according to the encrypted information, and generating a payment result comprise: the security element of the payer terminal invoking a second key corresponding to the secure channel, wherein the second key is pre-stored in a secure element, and matches the first key; the security element of the payer terminal decrypting the encrypted information through the second key, so as to obtain the payment request information; and the security element of the payer terminal verifying the target transaction according to the payment request information, and generating the payment result.
Claim 10 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes the same abstract idea as claim 1. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
wherein the security element of the payer terminal verifying the target transaction according to the payment request information, and generating the payment result comprise: the security element of the payer terminal generating a digital currency string corresponding to the target transaction according to the payment request information in a case that the payee terminal is not connected to an Internet, wherein the payment result comprises the digital currency string; and the security element of the payer terminal generating payment state information corresponding to the target transaction according to the payment request information in a case that the payee terminal is connected to the Internet, wherein the payment result comprises the payment state information, and the payment state information is configured to describe whether the payment to the payee terminal is completed.
Claim 15 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes the same abstract idea as claim 1. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
wherein the security element of the payer terminal verifying the target transaction according to the encrypted information, and generating a payment result comprise: invoking, by the secure element of the payer terminal, a second key corresponding to the secure channel, wherein the second key is pre-stored in the secure element, and matches the first key; decrypting, by the secure element of the payer terminal, the encrypted information through the second key, so as to obtain the payment request information; and verifying, by the secure element of the payer terminal, the target transaction according to the payment request information, and generating the payment result.
Claim 17 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes the same abstract idea as claim 1. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
wherein the secure element of the payer terminal verifying the target transaction according to the payment request information, and generating the payment result comprise: generating, by the secure element of the payer terminal, a digital currency string corresponding to the target transaction according to the payment request information in a case that the payee terminal is not connected to an Internet, wherein the payment result comprises the digital currency string; and generating, by the secure element of the payer terminal, payment state information corresponding to the target transaction according to the payment request information in a case that the payee terminal is connected to the Internet, wherein the payment result comprises the payment state information, and the payment state information is configured to describe whether the payment to the payee terminal is completed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 15, 17 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US20200082370A1) (hereinafter “Yang”) in view of Lee et al. (US20210312424A1) (hereinafter “Lee”).
As per Claim 1 and 29, Yang teaches:
A payment method based on an Ultra-Wideband (UWB), comprising: a UWB chip of a payer terminal receiving payment request information sent by a payee terminal through a UWB channel, wherein the payment request information is configured to request the payer terminal to complete a target transaction, and the target transaction is to make payment from the payer terminal to the payee terminal; (“The UWB communication circuitry performs ranging with an external electronic device, receives a first UWB signal including a medium access control (MAC) header and a MAC payload from the external electronic device, and determines, based at least on MAC payload information included in the MAC payload, whether to forward information included in the MAC payload information element to the secure element.” (Abstract); “For example, the POS terminal 202 may transmit a UWB signal including information associated with payment.” (Para. 0059); “the payment information may further include additional information such as a purchase amount, the information (e.g., a business name) of the POS terminal 202, and/or product information. The user may allow the payment after identifying the payment information, so the user may be provided with the payment service ensured in safety.” (Para. 0061))
the UWB chip of the payer terminal transmitting the encrypted information to a security element of the payer terminal through a secure channel; (“the UWB communication circuitry 391 may transmit data, which is received from an external electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 102 of FIG. 1) to the processor 320 (e.g., the OS run by the processor 320 or the application on the OS) or the secure element 340 (e.g., an application on the secure element 340).” (Para. 0069); “the UWB communication circuitry 391 may transmit the information received through the first UWB signal to the secure element 340.” (Para. 0165); See also Fig. 15.
the security element of the payer terminal, verifying the target transaction according to the encrypted information, and generating a payment result; (“the secure element 340 may run a specified program (e.g., a payment application) based on the transmitted information and may perform payment authentication (e.g., biometric authentication or the input of a password) based on the payment procedure of the payment application.” (Para. 0165); “the secure element 340 may execute a specified program based on the transmitted information and the program may generate response information using the received information.” (Para. 0208))
the security element of the payer terminal returning the payment result to the UWB chip of the payer terminal; and (“when the payment authentication is successfully achieved, the secure element 340 may transmit the response information to the UWB communication circuitry 391 in operation 540.” (Para. 0165); “the secure element 340 may transmit the generated response information to the UWB communication circuitry 391.” (Para. 0208); See also Claim 8.
the UWB chip of the payer terminal sending the payment result to the payee terminal through the UWB channel. (“the UWB communication circuitry 391 may transmit the second UWB signal including response information.” (Para. 0166); “the second UWB signal may be a UWB signal including the response information serving as the MAC payload IE (e.g., USS IE).” (Para. 0209); “the UWB communication circuitry may be configured to transmit a second UWB signal including the response information to the external electronic device.” (Para. 0243))
Yang does not disclose:
“the UWB chip of the payer terminal encrypting the payment request information with a first key, so as to obtain encrypted information; ” (claim 1).
However, as per Claim 1, Lee in the analogous art of ultra-wideband-enabled devices and systems, teaches: “the UWB chip of the payer terminal encrypting the payment request information with a first key, so as to obtain encrypted information;”. (“The UWB anchor 220 establishes (244) a secure communication channel 222 with the UWB-enabled device 210 and communicates (246) the transaction related information to the UWB chip 225 of the UWB-enabled device 210 over the secure communication channel 222.” (Para. 0028); “In the illustrated implementation, the transaction related information includes, a terminal identifier, EMV data preference, amount, and merchant information. The EMV data preference (e.g., preferred format for payment transaction under the EMV data standards managed by EMVCo). Example preferences can include EMV format of DE 55 data, UCAF format of DE 55 data, AEVV format of DE 55 data, or CAVV format of DE 55 data (where UCAF, AEVV, or CAVV fields supply a cryptogram to derive the data).” (Para. 0028); “A devoted memory and processor can be included as part of the UWB chip 108. Accordingly, a UWB chip 108 may include circuitry, a transceiver, an antenna (its own or shared) and storage.” (Para. 0016))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the method of Yang with the technique of Lee to include to include the UWB chip encrypting the payment-request information with the first cryptographic key before forwarding the resulting encrypted information for secure processing. Therefore, the incentives of protecting sensitive transaction information within the payer terminal and maintaining cryptographic protection between the UWB interface and secure payment environment provided a reason to make an adaptation, and the invention resulted from application of the prior knowledge in a predictable manner.
As per Claim 2, Yang teaches:
The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the UWB chip of the payer terminal encrypting the payment request information with a first key, so as to obtain encrypted information comprises: the UWB chip of the payer terminal invoking the first key corresponding to the secure channel, wherein the first key is pre-stored in a UWB chip of the payer terminal; and the UWB chip of the payer terminal encrypting the payment request information with the first key, so as to obtain the encrypted information. (“the UWB communication circuitry 391 may transmit data, which is received from an external electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 102 of FIG. 1) to the processor 320 (e.g., the OS run by the processor 320 or the application on the OS) or the secure element 340 (e.g., an application on the secure element 340), based on information stored at the upper layer 303.” (Para. 0069); “the upper layer 303 may store a routing table or mapping information to route data.” (Para. 0070); “the UWB communication circuitry 391 may transmit the information received through the first UWB signal to the secure element 340.” (Para. 0165))
As per Claim 3, Yang teaches:
The method as claimed in claim 2, wherein a key type of the first key comprises one of following: an elliptic curve encryption algorithm key and a Rivest-Shamir-Adleman (RSA) algorithm key. (“The processor 320 may communicate with the secure element 340 through a trusted execution environment (TEE) of the processor 320. For example, the TEE may be used for processing information requiring higher security such as, for example, and without limitation, Digital Rights Management (DRM), a financial service, and/or authentication, etc. In addition, the TEE may be an execution environment driven in parallel to an operating system (OS).” (Para. 0065); “The secure element 340 may execute a specified security application (e.g., a payment application) and may store information sensitive to security.” (Para. 0066); “the secure element 340 may run a specified program (e.g., a payment application) based on the transmitted information, and may perform payment authentication (e.g., biometric authentication or the input of a password) based on the payment procedure of the payment application.” (Para. 0165))
As per Claim 4, Yang teaches:
The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the secure channel comprises at least one of following: an Inter-Integrated Circuit (I2C) bus and a Serial Peripheral Interface (SPI) bus. (“the UWB communication circuitry 391 may communicate with the secure element 340 through an inter-integrated chip (I2C) bus. The UWB communication circuitry 391 may communicate with the processor 320 through a serial peripheral interface (SPI).” (Para. 0071).
As per Claim 5, Yang teaches:
The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the payment request information comprises at least one of following: identity information of the payee terminal, authentication information, a collection amount, and a network state of the payee terminal. (“the payment information may further include additional information such as a purchase amount, the information (e.g., a business name) of the POS terminal 202, and/or product information. The user may allow the payment after identifying the payment information, so the user may be provided with the payment service ensured in safety.” (Para. 0061); “the information associated with the payment service may include an ID (e.g., the USSID) associated with the payment service. For example, the information associated with the payment service may further include information on an amount to be paid, information on a payment target (e.g., a business name), and/or information of an item to be paid.” (Para. 0133); “the USSID 496 and the Additional Information 497 may provide information on the transaction. For example, the information on the transaction may include user information and information used for authentication.” (Para. 0101))
As per Claim 6, Yang teaches:
The method as claimed in claim 5, wherein the security element of the payer terminal returning the payment result to the UWB chip of the payer terminal comprises: the security element of the payer terminal returning a digital currency string to the UWB chip of the payer terminal in a case that the payee terminal is not connected to an Internet, wherein the payment result comprises the digital currency string generated by the secure element according to the encrypted information; and the security element of the payer terminal returning payment state information to the UWB chip of the payer terminal in a case that the payee terminal is connected to the Internet, wherein the payment result comprises the payment state information, and the payment state information is configured to describe whether the payer terminal completes the payment to the payee terminal. (“the secure element 340 may execute a specified program based on the transmitted information and the program may generate response information using the received information. For example, the secure element 340 may transmit the generated response information to the UWB communication circuitry 391.” (Para. 0208); “in operation 545, the UWB communication circuitry 391 may transmit the second UWB signal including response information. For example, the second UWB signal may be a UWB signal including the response information serving as the MAC payload IE (e.g., USS IE).” (Para. 0209).
As per Claim 8, Yang teaches:
The method as claimed in claim 1,wherein the security element of the payer terminal verifying the target transaction according to the encrypted information, and generating a payment result comprise: the security element of the payer terminal invoking a second key corresponding to the secure channel, wherein the second key is pre-stored in a secure element, and matches the first key; the security element of the payer terminal decrypting the encrypted information through the second key, so as to obtain the payment request information; and the security element of the payer terminal verifying the target transaction according to the payment request information, and generating the payment result. (“the secure element 340 may be a component including, for example, and without limitation, a secure data storage, to provide security to the electronic device 101.” (Para. 0066); “The secure element 340 may execute a specified security application (e.g., a payment application) and may store information sensitive to security.” (Para. 0066); “the secure element 340 may run a specified program (e.g., a payment application) based on the transmitted information, and may perform payment authentication (e.g., biometric authentication or the input of a password) based on the payment procedure of the payment application.” (Para. 0165))
As per Claim 10 and 17, Yang teaches:
The method as claimed in claim 1,wherein the security element of the payer terminal verifying the target transaction according to the payment request information, and generating the payment result comprise: the security element of the payer terminal generating a digital currency string corresponding to the target transaction according to the payment request information in a case that the payee terminal is not connected to an Internet, wherein the payment result comprises the digital currency string; and the security element of the payer terminal generating payment state information corresponding to the target transaction according to the payment request information in a case that the payee terminal is connected to the Internet, wherein the payment result comprises the payment state information, and the payment state information is configured to describe whether the payment to the payee terminal is completed. (“when the authentication procedure is successfully performed, the UWB communication circuitry 391 may transmit the information received through the first UWB signal to the secure element 340. According to an embodiment, the secure element 340 may run a specified program (e.g., a payment application) based on the transmitted information, and may perform payment authentication (e.g., biometric authentication or the input of a password) based on the payment procedure of the payment application. Although the authentication procedure of the payment application is omitted, those skilled in the art may understand that the authentication is performed based on a typical authentication procedure of the payment application. For example, when the payment authentication is successfully achieved, the secure element 340 may transmit the response information to the UWB communication circuitry 391 in operation 540.” (Para. 0165); “the secure element 340 may execute a specified program based on the transmitted information and the program may generate response information using the received information.” (Para. 0208).
As per Claim 15, Yang teaches:
The method as claimed in claim 1,wherein the security element of the payer terminal verifying the target transaction according to the encrypted information, and generating a payment result comprise: invoking, by the secure element of the payer terminal, a second key corresponding to the secure channel, wherein the second key is pre-stored in the secure element, and matches the first key; decrypting, by the secure element of the payer terminal, the encrypted information through the second key, so as to obtain the payment request information; and verifying, by the secure element of the payer terminal, the target transaction according to the payment request information, and generating the payment result. (“the secure element 340 may be a component including, for example, and without limitation, a secure data storage, to provide security to the electronic device 101.” (Para. 0066); “The secure element 340 may execute a specified security application (e.g., a payment application) and may store information sensitive to security. For example, the secure element 340 may be implemented in the form of a chip separate from the processor 320. According to an embodiment, the secure element 340 may be a secure element (eSE) embedded in the electronic device 101.” (Para. 0066); “the secure element 340 may run a specified program (e.g., a payment application) based on the transmitted information, and may perform payment authentication (e.g., biometric authentication or the input of a password) based on the payment procedure of the payment application. Although the authentication procedure of the payment application is omitted, those skilled in the art may understand that the authentication is performed based on a typical authentication procedure of the payment application. For example, when the payment authentication is successfully achieved, the secure element 340 may transmit the response information to the UWB communication circuitry 391.” (Para. 0165))
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US20180349653A1 (Al-Kadi), discussing “According to a first aspect of the present disclosure, a mobile device for facilitating a transaction is provided, comprising: a secure element configured to contain transaction-related data; an ultra-wideband radio unit operatively coupled to the secure element and configured to carry out ultra-wideband radio communication with an external reader; wherein the ultra-wideband radio unit is configured to operate as an interface between the secure element and said external reader. According to a second aspect of the present disclosure, a reader for facilitating a transaction is provided, comprising: an ultra-wideband communication and tracking unit configured to communicate with at least one external mobile device having an ultra-wideband radio unit and to track said mobile device; a processing unit operatively coupled to the ultra-wideband communication and tracking unit, said processing unit being configured to process at least one transaction. According to a third aspect of the present disclosure, a corresponding method for facilitating a transaction using a reader is conceived.” (Abstract).
/Justin Jimenez/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3697
/JOHN W HAYES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3697