DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tondello et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 20100067012) in view of Xu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 20180100797).
Claims 1, 11 and 14 are grouped together because claims 11 and 14 recite an apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 1 and the claims contain substantially the same limitations directed to measuring gas concentration using first and second electromagnetic radiations along collinear paths. Accordingly the claims are rejected together based on the teachings of Tondello et al. in view of Xu et al.
As per claims 1, 11 and 14, Tondello et al. disclose a method and corresponding apparatus comprising:
transmitting first electromagnetic radiation of a first wavelength along a first radiation path across the said container, wherein the first wavelength corresponds to the wavelength of an absorption line of the first gas species (paras. [0024-0028]);
transmitting second electromagnetic radiation of a second wavelength along a second radiation path across the container, wherein the second radiation path is collinear with the first radiation path in a section of the first radiation path and wherein the section extends at least across the interior space of the container (para. [0053] - additional collinear laser);
receiving transmitted first electromagnetic radiation and determining a first characteristic of the received first electromagnetic radiation (paras. [0025-0027; 0033-0034]);
receiving transmitted second electromagnetic radiation and determining a second characteristic of the received second electromagnetic radiation (para. [0053]);
determining the concentration of the first gas species in function of the first characteristics and of the second characteristics (para. [0047-0054]).
Tondello et al. do not explicitly disclose a method/apparatus wherein the second wavelength corresponds to the wavelength of an absorption line of a second gas species.
Xu teaches transmitting radiation at a wavelength corresponding to an absorption line of a second gas species, measuring the absorption of the second gas through the container and using the second gas measurement to determine the optical path length for calculating the concentration of the first gas species (paras. [0081-0085; 0092-0094]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the method and apparatus of Tondello et al. to use a second wavelength corresponding to a wavelength of an absorption line of a second gas species. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to determine the optical path length through a container and improve the accuracy of the first gas concentration determination as suggested by Xu (paras. [0081-0085; 0092-0094]).
As per claims 2-3, Tondello et al. as modified above, disclose a method wherein the transmitting first electromagnetic radiation and/or the transmitting second electromagnetic radiation is performed by an electromagnetic radiation source, with a tunable emission frequency and wherein the emission frequency is periodically swept over a spectral range covering the absorption line of the first gas species or over a spectral range covering the absorption line of the second gas species, respectively, wherein the radiation source has a spectral bandwidth narrower than the spectral range (paras. [0028-0029]; Fig. 3).
As per claims 4-6, Tondello et al. as modified above, disclose a method wherein the first and the second gas species are selected from the list of: oxygen, water vapor, carbon dioxide (paras. [0027; 0036; 0040-0041; 0054-0063]).
As per claims 7-9, Tondello et al. as modified above, disclose a method wherein the first gas species is oxygen and wherein the second gas species is carbon dioxide (paras. [0027; 0034; 0036-0037]).
Claims 12-13 further recite wherein the section is delimited by at least one dichroic beam splitter and wherein the first transmitter, the second transmitter, the first receiver and the second receiver are encapsulated in an interior of a housing having a window, wherein the space is located in an exterior of the housing and wherein the first and the second radiation path cross the window.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to further modify the apparatus Tondello et al. such that it incorporated the aforementioned limitations. One would have been motivated to make such modification(s) to ensure wavelength separation through the use of dichroic mirrors and to protect optical components and provide a compact, portable measuring apparatus.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tondello et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 20100067012) and Xu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 20180100797) in view of Bachur et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 20030111607).
As per claim 15, Tondello et al. as modified in view of Xu et al. disclose a method of claim 1 but do not explicitly disclose a method wherein the first gas species is oxygen and the second gas species is carbon dioxide, and in addition to a concentration of oxygen, also a concentration of carbon dioxide is determined; and
detecting the presence or absence of microbiological activity based on the determined concentrations of oxygen and carbon dioxide.
Bachur et al. teach determining oxygen and carbon dioxide concentrations using respective laser absorption measurements (para. [0052), detecting microbial growth based on increasing carbon dioxide concentration (para. [0062]) and decreasing oxygen concentration (para. [0066]) and combining oxygen and carbon dioxide measurements to enhance microbial growth detection (para. [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to further modify the method of Tondello et al. to use determined oxygen and carbon dioxide concentrations to detect microbiological activity. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to enhance microbial growth detection as suggested by Bachur et al. (paras. [0062; 0066; 0072]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As per claim 10, the Examiner found no reference in the prior art that disclosed or rendered obvious a method, wherein the method comprises
a calibration procedure performing all the steps of method for determining the concentration of the first gas species in an interior space of the container, the method comprising:
transmitting the first electromagnetic radiation of the first wavelength along the first radiation path across the container;
transmitting the second electromagnetic radiation of the second wavelength along the second radiation path across the container;
receiving the transmitted first electromagnetic radiation and determining a first characteristic of the received first electromagnetic radiation;
receiving the transmitted second electromagnetic radiation and determining a second characteristic of the received second electromagnetic radiation; and
determining the concentration of the first gas species in function of the first characteristics and of the second characteristics with a first container containing a known concentration of a second gas species and
a measuring procedure performing all the steps of the method with a second container, wherein a background contribution of a first gas species is determined based on the calibration procedure, wherein a provisional concentration of the first gas species in the second container is determined based on the measuring procedure and wherein the background contribution is subtracted from the provisional concentration of the first gas species in order to determine the concentration of the first gas species in the second container.
Conclusion
/COURTNEY D THOMAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884