DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim 7 function: ‘a fixing section’ secures the embolic protection device to the blood vessel wall by compression stress between a metal wire and the blood vessel.
Corresponding structure: [0023]; (107; Fig. 2). The claim is construed to cover this structure and equivalents.
If applicant believes ‘fixing section’ connotes sufficient structure, applicant is invited to amend or provide evidence that the term is understood as structural by a POSITA. If the specification lacks structure linked to the function, claim 7 is further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite for failure to disclose corresponding structure for a §112(f) limitation. See MPEP § 2181(II)(B).”
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: please change “can become” to “is configured to be”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: please change “will recover” to “is configured to”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: please change “can be deployed” to “is configured to be deployed”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: please change “can be introduced” to “is configured to be introduced”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the single wire" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the preset shape" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the single wire" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the target blood vessel" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the material’s elasticity" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the expected shape" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the purpose" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 is rejected as failing to define the invention in the manner required by 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
The claim(s) are narrative in form and replete with indefinite language. The structure which goes to make up the device must be clearly and positively specified. The structure must be organized and correlated in such a manner as to present a complete operative device. The claim(s) must be in one sentence form only. Note the format of the claims in the patent(s) cited.
Example of claim: The device of claim 1, the embolic protection device is configured to be deployed in a tubular object and configured to be introduced into a target blood vessel through the tubular object, the embolic protection device comprising: an elastic material that is configured to recover to the expected shape to intercept thrombi.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the expected result" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the endothelialization rate" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the blood vessel wall" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "metal wire" in line 4. It is not clear if this term is referencing the flat superelastic metal wire or another metal wire.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the target thrombus" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the central intercepting section" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 is rejected as failing to define the invention in the manner required by 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
The claim(s) are narrative in form and replete with indefinite language. The structure which goes to make up the device must be clearly and positively specified. The structure must be organized and correlated in such a manner as to present a complete operative device. The claim(s) must be in one sentence form only. Note the format of the claims in the patent(s) cited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Buiser et al. (US 2007/0142893A1, “Buiser”).
Regarding claims 1-4, as best understood, Buiser discloses an embolic protection device including a metal wire or strip (a ribbon 18 is known to be a flat strip,10;[0014, 0054, 0072]) having a flat cross-section [0011]. The wire is preformed into a coaxial multi-turn spiral or vortex configuration (Fig. 1, 4). The wire is capable of being in a straight line (Fig. 3A) in a constrained state within a tubular object (50, catheter) and recovering to a preset shape in a free state (Fig. 3B, 3C) in response to being formed of superelastic material (shape memory material, e.g. nitinol; [0060]). The cross-section of the wire is flat (Fig. 1A).
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yodfat et al. (US 2015/0297241A1, “Yodfat”).
Regarding claims 1-4, as best understood, Yodfat discloses an embolic protection device including a metal wire or strip having a flat cross-section (Fig. 10). The wire is preformed [0023] into a coaxial multi-turn spiral or vortex configuration (Fig. 10, 11). The wire is capable of being in a straight line (Fig. 10A) in a constrained state within a tubular object (102, needle) and recovering to a preset shape in a free state (Fig. 10C) in response to being formed of superelastic material (shape memory material, e.g. nitinol; [0023]). The cross-section of the wire is flat (Fig. 9A).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Donald et al. (US 2008/0195139A1, “Donald”).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Donald discloses an embolic protection device (10)including a spiral line formed by a flat (ribbon) superelastic metal wire (nitinol; [0041]; Fig. 1) including a fixing section, wherein the device includes a section in which the surface area promotes clotting of blood, thus providing means for securing the device within the blood vessel [0008].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinar et al. (US 2017/0367808A1, “Shinar”) in view of Yodfat et al. (US 2015/0297241A1, “Yodfat”).
Regarding claims 5-6, Shinar discloses an embolic protection device including a spiral line (2) that formed of superelastic metal wire [0031]. A connecting ring (4) connects the device with a retract wire (3) that is configured to withdraw the device if implantation does not achieve an expected result or fails after deployment (Figs. 5). The connecting ring is capable of being endothelialized at a greater rate than degradation by being provided with a medicated coating to induce endothelial cell growth such that the embolic protection device is secured at its location. However, Shinar does not disclose that the spiral line is flat.
In the same field of endeavor, embolic protection devices, Yodfat teaches a flat ribbon or strip formed of nitinol (Fig. 10, 11; [0023]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the metal wire of Shinar with the flat metal wire, as taught by Yodfat, as this modification involves the simple substitution of one metal wire for another for the predictable result of providing a spiral line for embolic protection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lorenzo et al. (US 2006/0200190A1, “Lorenzo”) discloses an embolic protection device including a flat wire.
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771