DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . All the claims have been examined on the basis of the merit of the claims.
Priority
The present application is a 371 of PCT/JP2023028735 filed 08/07/2023 which claims foreign priority from JP2022132278 filed 08/23/2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-12, filed 04/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, and 15-16 under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sekikawa reference. New title and amendment to the specification filed 04/24/2026 are accepted and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al. (US-20240253687-A1, hereinafter as WANG) in view of Sekikawa et al. (US-20220306104-A1, hereinafter as Sekikawa).
In regard to claims 1, 15-16, WANG discloses an information processing apparatus, an information processing method, at least one non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to execute a process: a function setting unit that sets a function to be carried out by an operation unit (referring to figs. 3-b, 4-a, 6 and others, touch display unit of the steering wheel which comprises an intelligent digital vehicle platform and the associated processing units and memory units. Para 0223, the touchscreen (402, 412) provided in embodiments of this application may display the operation interface and may receive an operation instruction of the user. By performing an operation on the touchscreen (402, 412), the user can control the vehicle and/or a vehicle-mounted device), on a basis of a setting condition based on at least one of a state of a vehicle and a state of an occupant of the vehicle (only one limitation, state of a vehicle, para 0240-0241, includes vehicle information or vehicle status though Wang teaches both the limitations because driving status at para 0242, para 0070 is disclosed which teaches the state of an occupant or a state of a driver or user of the vehicle); a display control unit that controls display, on the operation unit, of function information regarding the function set for the operation unit (displays the operation interface that matches the scenario, fig.6).
Wang does not disclose a learning unit that learns characteristics of the occupant on a basis of a history of use of the function by the occupant, wherein the function setting unit sets the function to be carried out by the operation unit, on a basis of the setting condition and the history of the use of the function by the occupant.
Sekikawa discloses a learning unit that learns characteristics of the occupant on a basis of a history of use of the function by the occupant, wherein the function setting unit sets the function to be carried out by the operation unit, on a basis of the setting condition and the history of the use of the function by the occupant (figs. 2-3, para 0108, the personal space estimator 110 according to the second embodiment transmits information regarding the feature of the occupant to the management server 400 and acquires the personal space based on the feature of the occupant from the management server 400. The personal space estimator 110 performs the driving control using the acquired personal space or stores the personal space in the storage 190 to manage the personal space. The personal space estimator 110 according to the second embodiment may change the personal space in real time based on the content of the driving control of the vehicle M or the state of the occupant. The HMI controller 180 according to the second embodiment transmits at least the feature information of the occupant and the driving history 196 stored in the storage 190 to the management server 400 at a predetermined timing. Further, para 0109 describes the processor 450 performs this machine learning process based on driving histories of the occupant(s) to estimate the personal space in accordance with each sex or age of an occupant or other features).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the invention, to use Sekikawa’s teachings to perform driving control (for example setting the function of personal space) in accordance with the feature of the occupant as well as the driving history of the occupant to estimate the function of personal space in Wang’s invention as an additional feature.
In regard to claim 2, WANG as modified by Sekikawa discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the function setting unit sets each of functions to be carried out by a plurality of operation regions of the operation unit on the basis of the setting condition, and the display control unit controls display of the function information on each of the operation regions (each of the touch display screen displays various operation regions (UI objects), fig.5-a, WANG).
In regard to claim 3, WANG as modified by Sekikawa discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the operation unit is variable in arrangement of the operation regions, the function setting unit divides the operation unit into the plurality of operation regions, and sets the function to be carried out by each of the operation regions, on the basis of the setting condition, and the display control unit controls display of each of the operation regions, and display of the function information on each of the operation regions (fig. 5-a, para 0006, Diversified operation interfaces and an adaptive interface adjustment mechanism are provided, so that the user may obtain an operation interface that is more suitable for the user's requirement. The operation interface is divided in several UI object icons to carry out specific functions and the operation interface when selected by user performs the corresponding functions that is displayed thereon, WANG).
In regard to claim 4, WANG as modified by Sekikawa discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the operation unit includes a touchscreen panel (touch display unit 402, fig. 4-a, WANG).
In regard to claim 5, WANG as modified by Sekikawa discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the state of the occupant includes any one of a state of enjoying content, a state of playing a game, and another state (interpreted according to current guidelines of the Technology Center 2600, one of A or B and C: which is interpreted as (A and C) or (B and C); table 1: entertainment scenario includes a game mode in which the game operation interface is displayed and another state such as cinema, WANG).
In regard to claim 6, WANG as modified by Sekikawa discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the function includes a function related to an operation of content, a function related to an operation of a game, and a function related to driving of the vehicle (content of the specific scenarios, para 0230, game operation table 1, driving status para 0018, WANG).
In regard to claim 7, WANG as modified by Sekikawa discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the state of the vehicle includes any one of a state of being during manual driving, a state of being during automated driving, and a parked state (para 0137, in addition to the instructions 153, the memory 152 may further store data, such as a road map, route information, a location, a direction, a speed, and other vehicle data of the vehicle, and other information. This information may be used by the vehicle 100 and the computing platform 150 during operation of the vehicle 100 in an autonomous mode, a semi-autonomous mode, and/or a manual mode, WANG).
In regard to claim 8, WANG as modified by Sekikawa discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the function information includes at least one of a name or abbreviation of the function, a description of the function, an image representing the function (any one of figs. 5a-5f, any one of functions as displayed by an UI object icon or a name or abbreviation of the function, WANG), and an operating method of the function (and corresponding to these functions are associated respective operation methods in the processing unit of WANG. The limitation does not claim that any operating method is displayed on the touch display unit, WANG).
In regard to claim 9, WANG as modified by Sekikawa discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the operation unit is operated by a driver (touch display unit 402 is operated by a user or a driver, WANG).
In regard to claim 10, WANG as modified by Sekikawa discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the operation unit is disposed on a steering wheel of the vehicle (touch display unit of the steering wheel, fig. 4-a, WANG).
In regard to claim 11, WANG as modified by Sekikawa discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the operation unit is disposed on an information processing terminal that is used to operate the vehicle (touch display unit formed on the steering wheel 400, WANG).
In regard to claim 12, WANG as modified by Sekikawa discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a learning unit that learns characteristics of the occupant on a basis of an operation history of the occupant and a history of use of the function by the occupant, wherein the function setting unit sets the function to be carried out by the operation unit, on a basis of the setting condition and the characteristics of the occupant (para 0288, when a new user uses a vehicle, the user can create a user account and save related user setting information (saved profiles are used to learn the characteristics of the driver to generate the driving scenarios. This would be equivalent subject matter to that of operation history of the occupant). In a possible implementation, a method for creating a user account may include the following steps: creating a user account, where the user account is bound to user identity information (user identify discloses characteristics of the user and his driving profile, WANG and para 0108 of Sekikawa which teaches history of use of the personal space function)).
In regard to claim 13, WANG as modified by Sekikawa discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the function setting unit sets the function to be carried out by the operation unit in each of the setting conditions, on a basis of a user operation (user sets and operates the functions of scenarios in which the operation interface contains function icons to be operated, figs. 5a-5f, and fig. 6, para 0224-0231, WANG).
In regard to claim 14, WANG as modified by Sekikawa discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: the operation unit (touch display unit 402, fig. 4-a, WANG).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEEPROSE SUBEDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627