Election/Restriction
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claim(s) 1-17, drawn to a packaging insert.
Group II, claim(s) 18-21, drawn to a packaging assembly.
Group III, claim(s) 22-23, drawn to a method for producing a packaging insert.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups I and II lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of claim 1, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Jobe (US 20180229917). Jobe discloses a three-section pad 70 (packaging insert) comprising: a solid panel 50 of a foam material made of paper pulp [see P. 0047-0049] forming plates 52 (plurality of cellulose-based solid foam substrates) each having a first main side and a second main side opposite to the first main side; a paper sheet 60 (first paper-based sheet) attached to the first main sides of the plates 52 (plurality of cellulose-based solid foam substrates); and a paper sheet 60 (second paper-based sheet) [P. 0084 & 0058] attached to the second main sides of the plates 52 (plurality of cellulose-based solid foam substrates), wherein edges of consecutive plates 52 (cellulose-based solid foam substrates) of the plates 52 (plurality of cellulose-based solid foam substrates) facing each other are beveled edges and form an angle between each other that is less than 90 degrees; and at least one hinge section interposed between the beveled edges of the consecutive plates 52 (cellulose-based solid foam substrates), wherein the three-section pad 70 (packaging insert) is configured to fold in the at least one hinge section (see annotated fig. 3E below and fig. 3G, 3C, 3I).
Groups I and III lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of claim 1, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Jobe (US 20180229917). Jobe discloses a three-section pad 70 (packaging insert) comprising: a solid panel 50 of a foam material made of paper pulp [see P. 0047-0049] forming plates 52 (plurality of cellulose-based solid foam substrates) each having a first main side and a second main side opposite to the first main side; a paper sheet 60 (first paper-based sheet) attached to the first main sides of the plates 52 (plurality of cellulose-based solid foam substrates); and a paper sheet 60 (second paper-based sheet) [P. 0084 & 0058] attached to the second main sides of the plates 52 (plurality of cellulose-based solid foam substrates), wherein edges of consecutive plates 52 (cellulose-based solid foam substrates) of the plates 52 (plurality of cellulose-based solid foam substrates) facing each other are beveled edges and form an angle between each other that is less than 90 degrees; and at least one hinge section interposed between the beveled edges of the consecutive plates 52 (cellulose-based solid foam substrates), wherein the three-section pad 70 (packaging insert) is configured to fold in the at least one hinge section (see annotated fig. 3E above and fig. 3G, 3C, 3I).
Groups II and III lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of claim 1, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Jobe (US 20180229917). Jobe discloses a three-section pad 70 (packaging insert) comprising: a solid panel 50 of a foam material made of paper pulp [see P. 0047-0049] forming plates 52 (plurality of cellulose-based solid foam substrates) each having a first main side and a second main side opposite to the first main side; a paper sheet 60 (first paper-based sheet) attached to the first main sides of the plates 52 (plurality of cellulose-based solid foam substrates); and a paper sheet 60 (second paper-based sheet) [P. 0084 & 0058] attached to the second main sides of the plates 52 (plurality of cellulose-based solid foam substrates), wherein edges of consecutive plates 52 (cellulose-based solid foam substrates) of the plates 52 (plurality of cellulose-based solid foam substrates) facing each other are beveled edges and form an angle between each other that is less than 90 degrees; and at least one hinge section interposed between the beveled edges of the consecutive plates 52 (cellulose-based solid foam substrates), wherein the three-section pad 70 (packaging insert) is configured to fold in the at least one hinge section (see annotated fig. 3E above and fig. 3G, 3C, 3I).
During a telephone conversation with Patrick Smith on 28 January 2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-13 and 16. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 18-23 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with C.F.R 1.84(u) because the different views must be numbered in consecutive Arabic numerals, starting with 1, independent of the numbering of the sheets and, if possible, in the order in which they appear on the drawing sheet(s). Partial views intended to form one complete view, on one or several sheets, must be identified by the same number followed by a capital letter. View numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation "FIG." Where only a single view is used in an application to illustrate the claimed invention, it must not be numbered and the abbreviation "FIG." must not appear. MPEP 608.02 V.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with C.F.R 1.84(t) because the sheets of drawings should be numbered in consecutive Arabic numerals, starting with 1, within the sight as defined in paragraph (g) of this section. These numbers, if present, must be placed in the middle of the top of the sheet, but not in the margin. The numbers can be placed on the right-hand side if the drawing extends too close to the middle of the top edge of the usable surface. The drawing sheet numbering must be clear and larger than the numbers used as reference characters to avoid confusion. The number of each sheet should be shown by two Arabic numerals placed on either side of an oblique line, with the first being the sheet number and the second being the total number of sheets of drawings, with no other marking MPEP 608.02 V.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 C.F.R. 1.84(q) because lead lines must not cross each other. MPEP 608.02 V.
The drawings are objected to for failing to comply with 37 C.F.R. 1.84 (p)(3) because numbers, letters, and reference characters should not be placed in the drawing so as to interfere with its comprehension. Therefore, they should not cross or mingle with the lines. See MPEP 608.02 V. See F2 fig. 7.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 C.F.R. 1.84(q) because lead lines must originate in the immediate proximity of the reference character and extend to the feature. MPEP 608.02 V. See 12A and 12B whose lead lines do not extend to the corners of the insert.
The drawings are objected to because no single reference character may be used for a given part and a modification of such part. MPEP 608.02(e). See at least 10 which has been used to designate multiple different inserts.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: W, S2. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because reference character “12A” and “12” have been used to designate corners of the insert and corners of the packaging.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the second cellulose-based air-laid or solid foam substrates” of lines 9-10 should be corrected to “the second cellulose-based air-laid or solid foam substrate”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the first cellulose-based air-laid or solid foam substrates” of line 3 should be corrected to “the first cellulose-based air-laid or solid foam substrate”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the second cellulose-based air-laid or solid foam substrates” of line 5 should be corrected to “the second cellulose-based air-laid or solid foam substrate”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the third cellulose-based air-laid or solid foam substrates” of line 7 should be corrected to “the third cellulose-based air-laid or solid foam substrate”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jobe (US 20180229917).
Claim 1: Jobe discloses a three-section pad 70 (packaging insert) comprising: a solid panel 50 of a foam material made of paper pulp [see P. 0047-0049] forming plates 52 (plurality of cellulose-based solid foam substrates) each having a first main side and a second main side opposite to the first main side; a paper sheet 60 (first paper-based sheet) attached to the first main sides of the plates 52 (plurality of cellulose-based solid foam substrates); and a paper sheet 60 (second paper-based sheet) [P. 0084 & 0058] attached to the second main sides of the plates 52 (plurality of cellulose-based solid foam substrates), wherein edges of consecutive plates 52 (cellulose-based solid foam substrates) of the plates 52 (plurality of cellulose-based solid foam substrates) facing each other are beveled edges and form an angle between each other that is less than 90 degrees; and at least one hinge section interposed between the beveled edges of the consecutive plates 52 (cellulose-based solid foam substrates), wherein the three-section pad 70 (packaging insert) is configured to fold in the at least one hinge section (see annotated fig. 3E below and fig. 3G, 3C, 3I).
Claim 3: Jobe discloses wherein the beveled edges form an angle between each other that is less than 90 degrees when the plates 52 (cellulose-based solid foam substrates) of the plates 52 (plurality of cellulose-based solid foam substrates) are arranged one after another along a longitudinal axis of the three-section pad 70 (packaging insert) (see annotated fig. 3E above and 3G).
Claim 4: Jobe discloses wherein the plates 52 (cellulose-based solid foam substrates) of the plates 52 (plurality of cellulose-based solid foam substrates) are sandwiched between the paper sheet 60 (first paper-based sheet) and the paper sheet 60 (second paper-based sheet) (see fig. 3A-3B).
Claim 5: Jobe discloses wherein the edges of the consecutive plates 52 (cellulose-based solid foam substrates) are cut [P. 0098] at an angle that is less than 45 degrees relative to a normal of the first main side and the second main sides (see annotated fig. 3E above).
Claim 7: Jobe discloses wherein the three-section pad 70 (packaging insert) comprises: a plate 52 (first cellulose-based solid foam substrate), a plate 52 (second cellulose-based solid foam substrate), and a plate 52 (third cellulose-based solid foam substrate), wherein edges of the plate 52 (first cellulose-based solid foam substrate) and the plate 52 (second cellulose-based solid foam substrate) facing each other are beveled edges and form the angle that is less than 90 degrees; and wherein edges of the plate 52 (second cellulose-based solid foam substrate) and the plate 52 (third cellulose-based solid foam substrate) facing each other are beveled edges and form an angle that is less than 90° (see fig. 3G and annotated fig. 3E above).
Claim 8: Jobe discloses wherein the plate 52 (first cellulose-based solid foam substrate) comprises a straight edge and a beveled edge; wherein the plate 52 (second cellulose-based solid foam substrate) comprises two beveled edges; and wherein the plate 52 (third cellulose-based solid foam substrate) comprises a straight edge and a beveled edge (see fig. 3G and annotated fig. 3E above).
Claim 9: Jobe discloses wherein an end portion of the paper sheet 60 (first paper-based sheet) extends beyond a last plate 52 (cellulose-based solid foam substrates) of the plates 52 (plurality of cellulose-based solid foam substrates); wherein an end portion of the paper sheet 60 (second paper-based sheet) extends beyond the last plate 52 (cellulose-based solid foam substrates); and wherein the end portions of the paper sheet 60 (first paper-based sheet) and the end portion of the paper sheet 60 (second paper-based sheet) are attached to each other (see fig. 3A and 3G).
Claim 10: Jobe discloses wherein a front portion of the paper sheet 60 (first paper-based sheet) extends beyond a front plate 52 (cellulose-based solid foam substrates) of the plates 52 (plurality of cellulose-based solid foam substrates); a front portion of the paper sheet 60 (second paper-based sheet) extends beyond the front plate 52 (cellulose-based solid foam substrates); and the front portions of the paper sheet 60 (first paper-based sheet) and the front portion of the paper sheet 60 (second paper-based sheet) are attached to each other (see fig. 3A and 3G).
Claim 11: Jobe discloses wherein the paper sheet 60 (first paper-based sheet) comprises an adhesive coated onto at least a portion of a main side of the paper sheet 60 (first paper-based sheet) and attached to the first main sides of the plates 52 (plurality of cellulose-based solid foam substrates) with the main side of the paper sheet 60 (first paper-based sheet) facing the first main sides of the plates 52 (plurality of cellulose-based solid foam substrates); and wherein the paper sheet 60 (second paper-based sheet) comprises an adhesive coated onto at least a portion of a main side of the paper sheet 60 (second paper-based sheet) and attached to the second main sides of the plates 52 (plurality of cellulose-based solid foam substrates) with the main side (42) of the paper sheet 60 (second paper-based sheet) facing the second main sides of the plates 52 (plurality of cellulose-based solid foam substrates) (see fig. 3A and P. 0064).
Claim 12: Jobe discloses wherein the paper sheet 60 (first paper-based sheet) and the paper sheet 60 (second paper-based sheet) are each selected from a group consisting of: paper sheets (see P. 0058).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jobe (US 20180229917) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wilgus (US 4010865).
Claim 6: Jobe discloses the claimed invention except wherein the angle is selected within an interval of from 45 degrees up to but not including 90 degrees.
Wilgus teaches a box having sides 10-15 with sloping panel surfaces 25, 26 at a 46 degree angle with respect to a liner 19, resulting in an angle between the sloping panel surfaces 25, 26 of 88 degrees (see fig. 1-2 and C. 2 L. 44-49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have made the angle be 88 degrees in order to form an air tight seal and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)
Examiner notes that no criticality has been established for the claimed range.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jobe (US 20180229917) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sollie (US 20190359414).
Claim 13: Jobe discloses the claimed invention except wherein the first paper-based sheet and the second paper-based sheet are each selected from a group consisting of: Kraft paper sheets, cardboard sheets, cartonboard sheets, and corrugated board sheets.
Sollie teaches a liner panel assembly 2150 having an insulative batt 2010 captured between an inner panel 2075 and an outer panel 2070 formed of kraft paper (see P. 0051 and fig. 8-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have made the paper sheet 60 (first paper-based sheet) and the paper sheet 60 (second paper-based sheet) out of kraft paper, as taught by Sollie, due to its enhanced strength and tear resistance and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jobe (US 20180229917) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Vance (US 20220204245).
Claim 16: Jobe discloses the claimed invention except where the plurality of the cellulose-based air-laid or solid foam substrates comprises cellulose-based air-laid substrates.
Vance teaches an insulated pad 30 (cellulose-based air-laid substrate) made of cotton using an airlay machine (see P. 0064).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have made the plates 52 (plurality of cellulose-based solid foam substrates) using an airlay machine resulting in cellulose-based air-laid substrates, as taught by Vance, in order to isotropically orient webs to enhance strength, durability, and dimensional stability.
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 13, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vance (US 20220204245) further in view of Hotta (US 4509645) and Wilgus (US 4010865).
Claim 1: Vance discloses a packaging insert comprising: an insulated pad 50 (cellulose-based air-laid substrate) made of cotton using an airlay machine [see P. 0064] having a first main side and a second main side opposite to the first main side; a lamination of kraft paper (first paper-based sheet) [see P. 0068 and fig. 28] attached to the first main sides of the insulated pad 50 (cellulose-based air-laid substrate); and a lamination of kraft paper (second paper-based sheet) [see P. 0010 & 0068] attached to the second main sides of the insulated pad 50 (cellulose-based air-laid substrate), wherein the packaging insert is configured to fold (see annotated fig. 28 below).
Vance does not disclose a plurality of cellulose-based air-laid or solid foam substrates, a first paper-based sheet attached to the first main sides of the plurality of cellulose-based air-laid or solid foam substrates; a second paper-based sheet attached to the second main sides of the cellulose-based air-laid or solid foam substrates, wherein edges of consecutive cellulose-based air-laid or solid foam substrates of the plurality of cellulose-based air-laid or solid foam substrates facing each other are beveled edges and form an angle between each other that is less than 90 degrees; and at least one hinge section interposed between the beveled edges of the consecutive cellulose-based air-laid or solid foam substrates, wherein the packaging insert is configured to fold in the at least one hinge section.
Hotta teaches a box body 10 having a bottom wall 1 and side walls 2-5 formed of adiabatic material and covered at the outer surfaces with an external sheet 6 and at the inner surface with an internal sheet 7 stuck by an adhesive, wherein edges of consecutive walls 1-5 facing each other are beveled edges and form an angle between each other and hinge sections are interposed between the beveled edges of the walls 1-5, wherein the box body 10 is configured to fold in the hinge sections (see annotated fig. 13 below, fig. 14-15, and C. 6-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the insulated pad 50 (cellulose-based air-laid substrate) to have beveled edges forming hinge sections at locations where the insulated pad 50 (cellulose-based air-laid substrate) will be folded, as taught by Hotta, in order to permit easier folding of the packaging insert.
Wilgus teaches a box having sides 10-15 with sloping panel surfaces 25, 26 at a 46 degree angle with respect to a liner 19, resulting in an angle between the sloping panel surfaces 25, 26 of 88 degrees (see fig. 1-2 and C. 2 L. 44-49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have made the angle formed by the beveled edges to be 88 degrees in order to form an air tight seal and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)
Examiner notes that no criticality has been established for the claimed range.
The combination discloses the insulated pad 50 (cellulose-based air-laid substrate) forming a plurality of cellulose-based air-laid or solid foam substrates, the lamination of kraft paper (first paper-based sheet) attached to the first main sides of the plurality of cellulose-based air-laid or solid foam substrates; the lamination of kraft paper (first paper-based sheet) attached to the second main sides of the cellulose-based air-laid or solid foam substrates, wherein the packaging insert is configured to fold in the at least one hinge section.
Claim 2: The combination discloses wherein the at least one hinge section comprises a wedge-shaped channel defined by the beveled edges of the consecutive cellulose-based air-laid substrates and the lamination of kraft paper (first paper-based sheet) and the lamination of kraft paper (second paper-based sheet) (see annotated fig. 13 above).
Claim 6: The combination discloses wherein the edges of the consecutive cellulose-based air-laid substrates being cut at an angle of 44 degrees (less than 45 degrees) relative to a normal of the first main side and the second main side (see fig. 1-2 ‘865 and C. 2 L. 44-49 ‘865).
Claim 13: The combination discloses wherein the lamination of kraft paper (first paper-based sheet) and the lamination of kraft paper (second paper-based sheet) are each selected from a group consisting of: Kraft paper sheets (see P. 0068 and fig. 28).
Claim 16: The combination discloses where the insulated pad 50 (cellulose-based air-laid substrate) made of cotton using an airlay machine forms the plurality of the cellulose-based air-laid or solid foam substrates comprising cellulose-based air-laid substrates (see P. 0064).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20210221595 and US 20210394993 are considered pertinent to claim 2 and a first sheet forming part of the channel of the hinge section.
/ALLAN D STEVENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736