DETAILED ACTION
Claim Notes
All claims should be accompanied by proper status identifiers. Normally, a lack of proper status identifiers would result in a Non-Compliant filing, but in the instant case the lack of proper identifiers was not noticed until after the examination process took place, and it would simply delay prosecution, to file a Non-compliant office action without properly rejecting the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are:
Regarding claim 1, the claim is directed to a man hole cover but never actually positively recites a manhole cover or structure used as a manhole cover. The only items positively recited are “at least one locking device” and “a monitoring device”, but there is not manhole cover itself or a relationship between the locking device, monitoring device, and the manhole cover.
Since all claims are either dependent from claim 1, or are short hand notation to include claim 1, all claims 1-13 are therefore rejected for the reasons stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 101692806 B1 to Kim (See translation) in view of EP 1 867 791 B1 to Schlueter.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a manhole cover (10, Fig.7) for a manhole covering comprising at least one locking device (50) for locking the manhole cover to a shaft frame (90) of the manhole covering, wherein the locking device has a latch (121) which is movable between an unlocking position (Fig.5) and a locking position (Fig.6 and 7), wherein the latch is movable from the locking position (Fig.7) into a pressing position (Fig.8) in order to press the manhole cover firmly against the shaft frame during use (Fig.8).
Kim does not disclose a monitoring device for monitoring the locking, wherein the monitoring device is designed to detect the unlocking position, the locking position, and the pressing position of the latch.
Schlueter discloses providing a manhole cover with a monitoring device for monitoring the locking, wherein the monitoring device is designed to detect the unlocking position, the locking position, and the position of the lid (Paragraph [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the manhole assembly of Kim with a monitoring device as taught by Schlueter so to enable one to both monitor the placement and safety of the manhole cover from a distance and also to allow access to the manhole cover, thereby preventing unwanted access to the manhole cover.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses wherein the locking device has at least one screw (130, Fig.7) actuatable from an outer side (top of Fig.7) of the manhole cover, which in use moves the latch between the locking position (Fig.7) and the pressing position (Fig.8).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses wherein the screw is adapted to move the latch between the unlocking position and the locking position (screw 130 is turned to loosen, grooves 111 in screw housing are used to turn to unlock).
Regarding claim 4 Kim discloses wherein the locking device has a stop (40 and 41, Fig.4) in each case for the latch in the unlocking position and in the locking position.
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses wherein the manhole cover has at least two locking devices (Fig. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses wherein the locking devices are arranged distributed in the circumferential direction (Fig. 5) of the manhole cover.
Regarding claim 7, Schlueter discloses wherein the monitoring device has at least one sensor (20, 22; Paragraph [0035]) for detecting the position of the latch.
Regarding claim 8, Schlueter discloses wherein the monitoring device has an antenna (10) in order to transmit the information about the position of the latch wirelessly to a monitoring center (Paragraphs [0017] and [0031]).
Regarding claim 10, Schlueter discloses wherein the monitoring device is arranged in a protected housing (Paragraph [0035]) on an inner side of the manhole cover.
Regarding claim 11, Kim in view of Schlueter disclose a manhole covering having a manhole cover according to claim 1 (See claim 1 above), and Kim also discloses a shaft frame (90) for receiving the manhole cover (Fig.4 and 7), wherein the manhole cover rests on a support surface (91, Fig.7) of the shaft frame.
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses wherein the latch (121) of the locking device in the locking position engages behind the shaft frame (Fig.7), and in the pressing position presses against the shaft frame (Fig.8), so that the manhole cover is pressed firmly against the support surface of the shaft frame (Fig.8).
Regarding claim 13, Kim in view of Schlueter disclose a monitoring system having at least one manhole covering according to claim 11 (See claim 11 above) and a monitoring center (Paragraphs [0017] and [0031]), wherein the monitoring center is designed to receive the information about the position of the latch from the monitoring device and to visualize the position of the latch (Paragraphs [0017] and [0031]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 101692806 B1 to Kim (See translation) in view of EP 1 867 791 B1 to Schlueter in view of Lanham et al.
Regarding claim 9, although Schlueter discloses the use of electronic locks, and also teaches using devices such as antennas, sensors, etc.; Kim in view of Schlueter do not specifically disclose wherein the monitoring device has at least one energy storage device for autonomous energy supply.
Lanham et al. disclose wherein the monitoring device has at least one energy storage device (64) for autonomous energy supply.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided a battery source to the assembly of Kim in view of Schlueter as taught by Lanham et al. so to provide a power source to the assembly without the need for hard wiring or other ele3ctronic means, thereby making the assembly more portable and less prone to larger, more expensive issues if damaged.
Conclusion
RDK
/RYAN D KWIECINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635