DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 12-17, it is unclear exactly what is being claimed since it seems the claims are simply directed to a flat sheet capable of being folded. Each of the portions are simply portions of a flat sheet and therefore does not appear that the claims are actually requiring anything other than a flat sheet.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/228638 A1 to Stants in view of US 6,341,460 B1 to Lalvani.
Regarding claim 1, Stants discloses a folded architectural panel (10) folded from a flat sheet (Fig.2(a)), the panel having opposite first (24) and second (26) longitudinal ends extending in a width direction, opposite first and second lateral sides (20a and 20b) extending in a length direction and a depth (z-axis) perpendicular to the width and length directions, the panel including: a first end fold along a first end fold-line (12) adjacent the first longitudinal end, extending in the width direction, and having opposite fold ends (12a, 12b) at the respective first and second lateral sides of the panel; a second end fold along a second end fold-line (14) adjacent the second longitudinal end, extending in the width direction, and having opposite fold ends (14a and 14b) at the respective first and second lateral sides of the panel; and a main wall (16, 18) extending between the first end fold-line and the second end fold-line through an intermediate portion (28) of the panel; wherein the first end fold-line and the second end fold-line are configured to enable, with contraction of the first and second end fold-lines towards each other, the main wall to pivot about the first end fold-line, to pivot about the second end fold-line and to form a depth with an increase in the depth of the panel at the intermediate portion (Fig.2a to 2b; 4a to 4b, etc.); and wherein the panel further includes a first side fold along a respective first side fold-line (30a, 32a) extending between the respective fold ends at the first lateral side of the first and second end fold-lines and a second side fold along a respective second side fold- line (30b, 32b) not connecting with the first side fold-line and extending between the respective fold ends at the second lateral side of the first and second end fold-lines such that, as a consequence of the contraction of the first and second end fold-lines towards each other, a respective section of the first lateral side between the two respective fold ends is contracted inwardly towards a respective section of the second lateral side between the two respective fold ends and a respective sidewall is formed on each of the respective first and second lateral sides of the panel extending from the first and second side folds respectively in the depth direction (Fig.2a to 2b, etc.).
Stants discloses the folded panel having all of the recited fold lines but does not disclose wherein the lines are curved and the depth forms an arc.
Lalvani discloses providing curved fold lines which in turn causes other panels to form curved arcs (Fig.2, 6, 8, 10, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided curved fold lines to the panels of Stants as taught by Lalvani so to provide the formed panels with the desired smooth aesthetics as desired.
Regarding claim 2, Stants discloses wherein the intermediate portion extends in a width-wise direction parallel with the first and second end fold- lines (Fig.2a).
Regarding claim 3, Stants discloses wherein the intermediate portion extends in a direction angled relative to the first and second end fold-lines (Fig.2a).
Regarding claim 4, Stants discloses wherein at least a center of the intermediate portion in the width direction is mid-way in the length direction between the first and second end fold-lines (Fig.4a).
Regarding claim 5, Stants discloses wherein at least the center of the intermediate portion in the width direction is mid-way in the width direction between the first and second lateral sides (Fig.4a).
Regarding claim 6, Stants discloses wherein the respective sections curve inwardly towards each other (Fig.2b).
Regarding claim 7, Stants discloses wherein the respective inward most point of each respective section is mid-way between the fold ends of the first and second end fold-lines (Fig.4b).
Regarding claim 8, Stants discloses wherein a first portion between the first longitudinal end and the first end fold-line and a second portion between the second longitudinal end and the second end fold-line are both respectively folded to extend in a direction opposite to the height of the intermediate portion and are both respectively configured to be coupled to a carrier so as to suspend the folded architectural panel (Fig.15, 17, 19).
Regarding claim 9, Stants discloses further including an additional portion (36a, Fig.19 and 20) adjacent at least one of the first portion and the second portion, the additional portion being joined by a fold-line to said at least one of the first portion and the second portion and foldable against said at least one of the first portion and the second portion so as to form a folded portion to be supported by a carrier member for suspending the folded architectural panel (Fig.19).
Regarding claim 10, Stants discloses a folded architectural panel assembly including first and second folded architectural panels (Fig.17), each of the first and second folded architectural panels being configured in accordance with the folded architectural panel of claim 8 (Fig.17; see claim 8 above), wherein the first folded architectural panel includes a first shortened additional portion (36AS; Fig.21) adjacent the first portion of the first folded architectural panel having, by a predetermined amount, an extent less in the length direction than the extent of the first portion of the first folded architectural panel from the first end fold line of the first folded architectural panel to the first longitudinal end of the first folded architectural panel so as, when folded against the first portion of the first folded architectural panel, to define a space against the first portion of the first folded architectural panel to receive the second portion of the second folded architectural panel shortened to have an extent of substantially said predetermined amount from the respective second end fold line of the second folded architectural panel to the second longitudinal end of the second folded architectural panel (Fig.21a).
Regarding claim 11, Stants discloses a folded architectural panel assembly including first and second folded architectural panels (10, Fig.17), each of the first and second folded architectural panels being configured in accordance with the folded architectural panel of claim 8 (Fig.17; see claim 8 above), wherein the second portion of the first folded architectural panel has a shortened extent (38s) of a predetermined amount in the length direction from the second end fold line of the first folded architectural panel to the second longitudinal end of the first folded architectural panel and less than the extent of the first portion of the first folded architectural panel from the first end fold line of the first folded architectural panel to the first longitudinal end of the first folded architectural panel so as to define a space to receive a first shortened additional portion of the second folded architectural panel adjacent to and folded against the respective first portion of the second architectural panel and having an extent in the length direction less than the extent of the first portion of the second folded architectural panel by substantially the predetermined amount (Fig.21a).
Regarding claim 12, Stants discloses a flat sheet formed with respective portions of shape and size to form parts of the folded architectural panel of claim 1 (Fig.2a; see claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 13, Stants discloses a flat sheet formed with respective portions of shape and size to form respective parts of a plurality of folded architectural panels, each architectural panel of the plurality of folded architectural panels being configured in accordance with the folded architectural panel of claim 1 (Fig.2a; see claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 14, Stants discloses wherein: at the otherwise free respective first longitudinal end of a respective architectural panel of the plurality of folded architectural panels at one end of the sheet, there is provided a first shortened additional portion (36as) adjacent the respective first portion of the respective architectural panel having, by a predetermined amount, an extent less in the length direction than the extent of the respective first portion from the respective first end fold line to the respective first longitudinal end, the first shortened additional portion being joined by a fold line to the respective first portion and foldable against the respective first portion so as to form a folded portion to be supported by a carrier member for suspending the respective architectural panel; the respective second portion of the respective architectural panel at the other end of the sheet has a shortened extent (38s) from the respective second end fold line to the respective second longitudinal end of substantially the predetermined amount; and the first shortened additional portion folded onto the respective first portion defines a space to receive a shortened second portion of an architectural panel of another flat sheet (Fig.21a).
Regarding claim 15, Stants discloses wherein the first longitudinal end of one architectural panel of the plurality of folded architectural panels is integral with the second longitudinal end of an adjacent architectural panel of the plurality of folded architectural panels and a fold line is provided where the first longitudinal end of the one architectural panel is integrally connected with the second longitudinal end of the adjacent architectural panel (Fig.15).
Regarding claim 16, Stants discloses wherein the first portion of the one architectural panel is folded onto the second portion of the adjacent architectural panel so as to form a folded portion which may be supported by a carrier member (Fig.15 and 17).
Regarding claim 17, Stants discloses further including recesses in a thickness of the sheet defining the respective fold-lines (Page 5, lines 30-33).
Regarding claim 18, Stants discloses an architectural panel system including a folded architectural panel according to claim 1 (See claim 1 above) and a clip member (52) configured to attach to the opposite first and second lateral sides of the folded architectural panel and restrict the relative spacing between the opposite first and second lateral sides to a maximum predetermined distance whereby the folded architectural panel is maintained in the folded state (Fig.17).
Conclusion
RDK
/RYAN D KWIECINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635