DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/14/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings [Figs.] are objected to because the Examiner may require and is requiring descriptive text labels, “1. In bracket 1, insert the reason for the objection, for example the drawings do not show every feature of the invention specified in the claims-- or --the unlabeled rectangular box(es) shown in the drawings should be provided with descriptive text labels” [MPEP 608.02(b) examiner note]. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
As to claim 10, it is unclear what is or is not included in the listings because of the multiple and/or within a list. It is believed Applicant is treating these as two separate sets of optional structures but the series of elements can be read in multiple ways. Example one of optical monitoring or control and that selection having at least one of a camera or sensor. Or it could be read having modifying only the control system, such that it is one of optical monitoring or a control that has at least one of a camera or sensor.
As to claim 2, similar claim construction ambiguity around the lists using and/or as claim 10 and the portion “the charging or fueling station and the vehicle that enables the energy transfer or media transfer.” it is unclear what the “and” modifies into the listing with what elements because of the two “or”s.
As to claim 6-10, and “standard interface” it is unclear if this is standard like something standardized by a technology body or how this is standard even given plug in claim 6 is that a standardized plug or is the standardization being a plug.
As to claim 3, “preferably” makes it unclear if that is required or merely a best mode disclosure.
As to claims 1-5, the interchange between “said” and “the” with “connection enabling” makes it unclear if these are different or the same because “the” and “said” imply the same thing, but picking different articles implies the writer wanted them different.
As to claims 6-10, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: The claims are a list of components without the linking between how the components work together.
Conforms with 35 USC § 101
The presently examined claims were evaluated for a 101 Alice type rejection. The conclusion from going through the Alice/Mayo test is that the independent claims are integrated into a practical application (or cannot be performed merely with the human mind) and are therefore patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101. See MPEP §2106, subsection III and MPEP §2106.04, subsection II(A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20180143035 A1 hereinafter Ricci.
As to claim 1, Ricci discloses a method for autonomous charging or fueling of a vehicle, [Ricci: Fig. 7] comprising the steps of
(S1) detecting an autonomous charging or fueling of a vehicle in a charging or fueling position at a charging or fueling station, [Ricci: Fig. 7 implied that the vehicle is detected because the arm moves to charging and a communication is established 0051-0053.]
(S2) exchanging data between the vehicle and the charging or fueling station and translating the data into control instructions for the charging or fueling station,[Ricci: 0081, 0046, Fig. 3]
(S3) establishing a connection between the charging or fueling station and the vehicle, said connection enabling an energy transfer or media transfer, [Ricci: Fig. 7, 0051-0053]
(S4) performing the charging or fueling process, and[Ricci: Fig. 7, 0051-0053]
(S5) disconnecting the connection between the charging or fueling station and the vehicle, said connection enabling the energy transfer or media transfer. [Ricci: Fig. 7, implied because the fueling is completed the arm is fixed and the vehicle is mobile.]
As to claim 2, Ricci discloses wherein, an optical monitoring and/or control system, comprising at least one camera and/or a sensor, is used in particular for detecting the vehicle and/or establishing the connection between the charging or fueling station and the vehicle that enables the energy transfer or media transfer. [Ricci: Fig. 21]
As to claim 3, Ricci discloses wherein in that a suitable charging or fueling position of the vehicle is found with the aid of an electronic guidance system, which is preferably automatically activated when an autonomous charging or fueling vehicle approaches the charging or fueling station. [Ricci: 0157-0159, 0046, Fig. 20]
As to claim 4, Ricci discloses wherein in that the connection between the charging or fueling station and the vehicle that enables the energy transfer or media transfer is established with a robotic arm. [Ricci: Fig. 7, 0051-0053]
As to claim 5, Ricci discloses wherein in that after performing the charging or fueling operation, a payment operation is performed, preferably wherein data is exchanged between the charging or fueling station and the vehicle via an electronic interface. [Ricci: 0120]
As to claim 6, Ricci discloses an autonomous charging or fueling vehicle comprising [Ricci: Fig. 7]
an energy store, [Ricci: battery, 0100]
a standard interface connected to the energy store via a line, in the form of a plug receptacle [Ricci: 0045 e.g., plug] or a tank filler neck, which is accessible from the outside and/or includes fiducial marks and/or fiducial structures, [Ricci: 0045 e.g., plug] and
an electronic interface for communicating the vehicle with a charging or fueling station. [Ricci: 0141 makes reservations via connection, 0120 makes payment via connection or identification linked to account]
As to claim 7, Ricci discloses wherein the vehicle has an identifier that identifies the vehicle to the charging or fueling station as an autonomous charging or fueling vehicle. [Ricci: 0080]
As to claim 8, Ricci discloses a charging or fueling station for an autonomous charging or fueling vehicle, [Ricci: Fig. 7] comprising
a standard interface for energy transfer or media transfer from the charging or fueling station to the vehicle, [Ricci: 0045 e.g., plug or location standard Fig. 3 collum 310B]
an electronic interface for communication between the charging or fueling station and the vehicle. [Ricci: 0141 makes reservations via connection, 0120 makes payment via connection or identification linked to account]
As to claim 9, Ricci discloses wherein in that the standard interface is arranged on a movable arm. [Ricci: Fig. 7]
As to claim 10, Ricci discloses further comprising an optical monitoring and/or control system having at least one camera and/or sensor. [Ricci: Fig. 21]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20220134893 A1 A wireless autonomous electric vehicle charging system and method, the system including a charging station configured to receive electrical energy from an external source, a plurality of charging pads, each charging pad including a rechargeable battery and configured to be charged by the charging station, and to be placed under an EV for wireless charging of a battery of the EV, and an autonomous robot, the autonomous robot configured to retrieve one or more charging pads from the charging station and deliver the charging pad to an EV, wherein upon placement of the charging pad under the EV the charging pad wirelessly charges the battery of the EV.
US 20200276909 A1 systems and methods for fueling (or charging) communication, for example between a hydrogen fueling station and a hydrogen powered vehicle (or an electric vehicle and charging station) may utilize near field communication as well as vehicle to infrastructure communication. Safety information, fueling or charging information, payment information, and other information may be transmitted, and the redundant nature of the communication permits fault recovery and improved process monitoring. In this manner, fueling and/or recharging is made safer, faster, and more efficient.
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicant should consider the entire prior art as applicable as to the limitations of the claims. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Inquiry
/FREDERICK M BRUSHABER/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3665
/FREDERICK M BRUSHABER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665