DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHENG et al. (US 2020/0314763 A1, "CHENG") in view of Fakoorian et al. (US 2024/0032040 A1, "Fakoorian").
Regarding claim 7, CHENG teaches a terminal (node 200 as a UE, FIG. 2, ¶ [0100]; UE includes a mobile terminal, ¶ [0022]) comprising:
a receiver (receiver 224, ¶ [0101]) that receives first information and second information for power control (DCI format 2_2 carrying a first TPC command for a first antenna panel, e.g., SRS resource set #0, and a second TPC command for a second antenna panel, e.g., SRS resource set #1, at base-station-configured panel-specific bit positions, ¶ [0062]–[0066]; see also ¶ [0068]–[0072]) of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission with multiple panels (closed-loop power control for PUSCH/PUCCH in multi-panel transmission, ¶ [0006], [0027]–[0028]; DCI format 2_2 procedures applied to PUCCH power control, ¶ [0098]); and
a processor (processor 226 executing instructions 232, ¶ [0106]–[0108]) that controls transmission power of a first PUCCH based on the first information and controls transmission power of a second PUCCH based on the second information (first TPC command, e.g., +3 dB, applied to the first panel's power control adjust state and second TPC command, e.g., +1 dB, applied to the second panel's, ¶ [0065]–[0066], [0071]; for PUCCH, ¶ [0098]; see also ¶ [0040]).
CHENG is silent to teaching that wherein the simultaneous physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission with multiple panels to a plurality of transmission and reception points (TRPs); and the first PUCCH to a first TRP among the TRPs and the second PUCCH to a second TRP among the TRPs.
In the same field of endeavor, Fakoorian teaches a terminal (UE 106) performing simultaneous physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission with multiple panels to a plurality of transmission and reception points (TRPs); and the first PUCCH to a first TRP among the TRPs and the second PUCCH to a second TRP among the TRPs (a first PUCCH transmission 112 through a first antenna panel 108 to a first TRP 102 and, simultaneously, a second PUCCH transmission 114 through a second antenna panel 110 to a second TRP 104; FIG. 1; ¶ [0028], [0046], [0049]–[0051], [0080]; FIG. 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHENG's terminal to transmit its multi-panel PUCCH simultaneously through the first and second panels to first and second TRPs, as taught by Fakoorian. In the modified terminal, CHENG's first and second information would control the transmission power of the PUCCH through the respective panel, i.e., the PUCCH to the first TRP and the PUCCH to the second TRP. The motivation would have been to obtain higher reliability and lower latency than consecutive (TDM) PUCCH transmission to different TRPs (Fakoorian ¶ [0026]–[0027]).
The modification also combines known elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. CHENG's per-panel TPC commands continue to adjust each panel's closed-loop power, as CHENG intends for PUCCH in multi-panel transmission (¶ [0006], [0028]). Fakoorian's panels continue to carry PUCCH to their respective TRPs. The result is TRP-specific PUCCH power control. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success. Both references address NR multi-panel PUCCH on comparable UE hardware (CHENG FIG. 2; Fakoorian FIG. 20). CHENG maintains a separate TPC field and power control adjust state for each panel (¶ [0055], [0062]–[0066]), so its control applies to each simultaneously transmitting panel without changing CHENG's principle of operation.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of CHENG and Fakoorian teaches the terminal according to claim 7, wherein whether or not to apply the first information and the second information is configured per PUCCH resource (CHENG teaches associating PUCCH power control with individual PUCCH resources. Each configured PUCCH resource is associated with an antenna panel (SRS resource set index, antenna panel index, or TCI), and the power control adjust value is applied to the panel corresponding to the PUCCH resource; ¶ [0037]–[0040]).
Regarding claim 9, CHENG teaches a radio communication method for a terminal (node 200 as a UE, FIG. 2, ¶ [0100]; UE includes a mobile terminal, ¶ [0022]), comprising:
receiving first information and second information for power control (DCI format 2_2 carrying a first TPC command for a first antenna panel, e.g., SRS resource set #0, and a second TPC command for a second antenna panel, e.g., SRS resource set #1, at base-station-configured panel-specific bit positions, ¶ [0062]–[0066]; see also ¶ [0068]–[0072]) of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission with multiple panels (closed-loop power control for PUSCH/PUCCH in multi-panel transmission, ¶ [0006], [0027]–[0028]; DCI format 2_2 procedures applied to PUCCH power control, ¶ [0098]); and
controlling transmission power of a first PUCCH based on the first information and controls transmission power of a second PUCCH based on the second information (first TPC command, e.g., +3 dB, applied to the first panel's power control adjust state and second TPC command, e.g., +1 dB, applied to the second panel's, ¶ [0065]–[0066], [0071]; for PUCCH, ¶ [0098]; see also ¶ [0040]).
CHENG is silent to teaching that wherein the simultaneous physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission with multiple panels to a plurality of transmission and reception points (TRPs); and the first PUCCH to a first TRP among the TRPs and the second PUCCH to a second TRP among the TRPs.
In the same field of endeavor, Fakoorian teaches a method (UE 106) performing simultaneous physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission with multiple panels to a plurality of transmission and reception points (TRPs); and the first PUCCH to a first TRP among the TRPs and the second PUCCH to a second TRP among the TRPs (a first PUCCH transmission 112 through a first antenna panel 108 to a first TRP 102 and, simultaneously, a second PUCCH transmission 114 through a second antenna panel 110 to a second TRP 104; FIG. 1; ¶ [0028], [0046], [0049]–[0051], [0080]; FIG. 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHENG's terminal to transmit its multi-panel PUCCH simultaneously through the first and second panels to first and second TRPs, as taught by Fakoorian. In the modified terminal, CHENG's first and second information would control the transmission power of the PUCCH through the respective panel, i.e., the PUCCH to the first TRP and the PUCCH to the second TRP. The motivation would have been to obtain higher reliability and lower latency than consecutive (TDM) PUCCH transmission to different TRPs (Fakoorian ¶ [0026]–[0027]).
The modification also combines known elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. CHENG's per-panel TPC commands continue to adjust each panel's closed-loop power, as CHENG intends for PUCCH in multi-panel transmission (¶ [0006], [0028]). Fakoorian's panels continue to carry PUCCH to their respective TRPs. The result is TRP-specific PUCCH power control. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success. Both references address NR multi-panel PUCCH on comparable UE hardware (CHENG FIG. 2; Fakoorian FIG. 20). CHENG maintains a separate TPC field and power control adjust state for each panel (¶ [0055], [0062]–[0066]), so its control applies to each simultaneously transmitting panel without changing CHENG's principle of operation.
Regarding claim 10, CHENG teaches a base station (node 200 as a BS, ¶ [0100]; gNB, ¶ [0023]) comprising:
a transmitter (transmitter 222, ¶ [0101]) that transmits first information and second information for power control of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission with multiple panels (base station configures panel-specific TPC bit positions and transmits DCI format 2_2 carrying a TPC command for each panel, ¶ [0029], [0064]–[0065], [0074]; applied to PUCCH, ¶ [0098]); and
a processor (processor 226, ¶ [0106]–[0108]) that indicates to control transmission power of a first PUCCH by using the first information and indicates to control transmission power of a second PUCCH by using the second information (per-panel TPC commands indicating the adjustment the UE applies to each respective panel, ¶ [0062]–[0066], [0098]).
CHENG is silent to teaching that wherein the simultaneous physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission with multiple panels to a plurality of transmission and reception points (TRPs); and the first PUCCH to a first TRP among the TRPs and the second PUCCH to a second TRP among the TRPs.
In the same field of endeavor, Fakoorian teaches a BS (gNB 2100, FIG. 21, ¶ [0104]–[0107]; TRPs 102/104 at base station(s), ¶ [0046]) performing simultaneous physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission with multiple panels to a plurality of transmission and reception points (TRPs); and the first PUCCH to a first TRP among the TRPs and the second PUCCH to a second TRP among the TRPs (a first PUCCH transmission 112 through a first antenna panel 108 to a first TRP 102 and, simultaneously, a second PUCCH transmission 114 through a second antenna panel 110 to a second TRP 104; FIG. 1; ¶ [0028], [0046], [0049]–[0051], [0080]; FIG. 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHENG's terminal to transmit its multi-panel PUCCH simultaneously through the first and second panels to first and second TRPs, as taught by Fakoorian. In the modified terminal, CHENG's first and second information would control the transmission power of the PUCCH through the respective panel, i.e., the PUCCH to the first TRP and the PUCCH to the second TRP. The motivation would have been to obtain higher reliability and lower latency than consecutive (TDM) PUCCH transmission to different TRPs (Fakoorian ¶ [0026]–[0027]).
The modification also combines known elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. CHENG's per-panel TPC commands continue to adjust each panel's closed-loop power, as CHENG intends for PUCCH in multi-panel transmission (¶ [0006], [0028]). Fakoorian's panels continue to carry PUCCH to their respective TRPs. The result is TRP-specific PUCCH power control. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success. Both references address NR multi-panel PUCCH on comparable UE hardware (CHENG FIG. 2; Fakoorian FIG. 20). CHENG maintains a separate TPC field and power control adjust state for each panel (¶ [0055], [0062]–[0066]), so its control applies to each simultaneously transmitting panel without changing CHENG's principle of operation.
Regarding claim 11, CHENG teaches a system comprising:
a terminal; and a base station (network including at least one BS and at least one UE, ¶ [0021]; node 200 as a UE or a BS, ¶ [0100]), wherein the terminal comprises:
a receiver (receiver 224, ¶ [0101]) that receives first information and second information for power control (DCI format 2_2 carrying a first TPC command for a first antenna panel, e.g., SRS resource set #0, and a second TPC command for a second antenna panel, e.g., SRS resource set #1, at base-station-configured panel-specific bit positions, ¶ [0062]–[0066]; see also ¶ [0068]–[0072]) of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission with multiple panels (closed-loop power control for PUSCH/PUCCH in multi-panel transmission, ¶ [0006], [0027]–[0028]; DCI format 2_2 procedures applied to PUCCH power control, ¶ [0098]); and
a processor (processor 226 executing instructions 232, ¶ [0106]–[0108]) that controls transmission power of a first PUCCH based on the first information and controls transmission power of a second PUCCH based on the second information (first TPC command, e.g., +3 dB, applied to the first panel's power control adjust state and second TPC command, e.g., +1 dB, applied to the second panel's, ¶ [0065]–[0066], [0071]; for PUCCH, ¶ [0098]; see also ¶ [0040]), and
the base station (gNB 2100, FIG. 21, ¶ [0104]–[0107]; TRPs 102/104 at base station(s), ¶ [0046]) comprises:
a transmitter (transmitter 222, ¶ [0101]) that transmits first information and second information for power control of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission with multiple panels (base station configures panel-specific TPC bit positions and transmits DCI format 2_2 carrying a TPC command for each panel, ¶ [0029], [0064]–[0065], [0074]; applied to PUCCH, ¶ [0098]); and
a processor (processor 226, ¶ [0106]–[0108]) that indicates to control transmission power of a first PUCCH by using the first information and indicates to control transmission power of a second PUCCH by using the second information (per-panel TPC commands indicating the adjustment the UE applies to each respective panel, ¶ [0062]–[0066], [0098]).
CHENG is silent to teaching that wherein the simultaneous physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission with multiple panels to a plurality of transmission and reception points (TRPs); and the first PUCCH to a first TRP among the TRPs and the second PUCCH to a second TRP among the TRPs.
In the same field of endeavor, Fakoorian teaches a BS (gNB 2100, FIG. 21, ¶ [0104]–[0107]; TRPs 102/104 at base station(s), ¶ [0046]) performing simultaneous physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission with multiple panels to a plurality of transmission and reception points (TRPs); and the first PUCCH to a first TRP among the TRPs and the second PUCCH to a second TRP among the TRPs (a first PUCCH transmission 112 through a first antenna panel 108 to a first TRP 102 and, simultaneously, a second PUCCH transmission 114 through a second antenna panel 110 to a second TRP 104; FIG. 1; ¶ [0028], [0046], [0049]–[0051], [0080]; FIG. 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHENG's terminal to transmit its multi-panel PUCCH simultaneously through the first and second panels to first and second TRPs, as taught by Fakoorian. In the modified terminal, CHENG's first and second information would control the transmission power of the PUCCH through the respective panel, i.e., the PUCCH to the first TRP and the PUCCH to the second TRP. The motivation would have been to obtain higher reliability and lower latency than consecutive (TDM) PUCCH transmission to different TRPs (Fakoorian ¶ [0026]–[0027]).
The modification also combines known elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. CHENG's per-panel TPC commands continue to adjust each panel's closed-loop power, as CHENG intends for PUCCH in multi-panel transmission (¶ [0006], [0028]). Fakoorian's panels continue to carry PUCCH to their respective TRPs. The result is TRP-specific PUCCH power control. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success. Both references address NR multi-panel PUCCH on comparable UE hardware (CHENG FIG. 2; Fakoorian FIG. 20). CHENG maintains a separate TPC field and power control adjust state for each panel (¶ [0055], [0062]–[0066]), so its control applies to each simultaneously transmitting panel without changing CHENG's principle of operation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2025/0267592.
/WEN W HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648