DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The specification is objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because it fails to include a brief description of the drawings.
Appropriate correction is required.
Content of Specification
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION: See 37 CFR 1.72(a) and MPEP § 606. The title of the invention should be placed at the top of the first page of the specification unless the title is provided in an application data sheet. The title of the invention should be brief but technically accurate and descriptive, preferably from two to seven words. It may not contain more than 500 characters.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCES TO RELATED APPLICATIONS: See 37 CFR 1.78 and MPEP § 211 et seq.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT: See MPEP § 310.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT. See 37 CFR 1.71(g).
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM: The specification is required to include an incorporation-by-reference of electronic documents that are to become part of the permanent United States Patent and Trademark Office records in the file of a patent application. See 37 CFR 1.77(b)(5) and MPEP § 608.05. See also the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System posted on the USPTO website (https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/2019LegalFrameworkPES.pdf) and MPEP § 502.05
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR. See 35 U.S.C. 102(b) and 37 CFR 1.77.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(c). The specification should set forth the Background of the Invention in two parts:
(1) Field of the Invention: A statement of the field of art to which the invention pertains. This statement may include a paraphrasing of the applicable U.S. patent classification definitions of the subject matter of the claimed invention. This item may also be titled “Technical Field.”
(2) Description of the Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98: A description of the related art known to the applicant and including, if applicable, references to specific related art and problems involved in the prior art which are solved by the applicant’s invention. This item may also be titled “Background Art.”
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(d). A brief summary or general statement of the invention as set forth in 37 CFR 1.73. The summary is separate and distinct from the abstract and is directed toward the invention rather than the disclosure as a whole. The summary may point out the advantages of the invention or how it solves problems previously existent in the prior art (and preferably indicated in the Background of the Invention). In chemical cases it should point out in general terms the utility of the invention. If possible, the nature and gist of the invention or the inventive concept should be set forth. Objects of the invention should be treated briefly and only to the extent that they contribute to an understanding of the invention.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S): See MPEP § 608.01(f). A reference to and brief description of the drawing(s) as set forth in 37 CFR 1.74.
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(g). A description of the preferred embodiment(s) of the invention as required in 37 CFR 1.71. The description should be as short and specific as is necessary to describe the invention adequately and accurately. Where elements or groups of elements, compounds, and processes, which are conventional and generally widely known in the field of the invention described, and their exact nature or type is not necessary for an understanding and use of the invention by a person skilled in the art, they should not be described in detail. However, where particularly complicated subject matter is involved or where the elements, compounds, or processes may not be commonly or widely known in the field, the specification should refer to another patent or readily available publication which adequately describes the subject matter.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS: See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP § 608.01(m). The claim or claims must commence on a separate sheet or electronic page (37 CFR 1.52(b)(3)). Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. There may be plural indentations to further segregate subcombinations or related steps. See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP 608.01(i) - (p).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE: See 37 CFR 1.72 (b) and MPEP § 608.01(b). The abstract is a brief narrative of the disclosure as a whole, as concise as the disclosure permits, in a single paragraph preferably not exceeding 150 words, commencing on a separate sheet following the claims. In an international application which has entered the national stage (37 CFR 1.491(b)), the applicant need not submit an abstract commencing on a separate sheet if an abstract was published with the international application under PCT Article 21. The abstract that appears on the cover page of the pamphlet published by the International Bureau (IB) of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is the abstract that will be used by the USPTO. See MPEP § 1893.03(e).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING: See 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825 and MPEP §§ 2421 - 2431. The requirement for a sequence listing applies to all sequences disclosed in a given application, whether the sequences are claimed or not. See MPEP § 2422.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The specification does not include a description of the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 6-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the rear lenses". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the mirror". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the filters". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the camera and the microspectrometer". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the rear chamber". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the upper rear part". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D1 (CN 109425588 A).
With regards to claim 1, D1 discloses a handheld device comprising: an entry opening 50; a conduit 20 (tubular area of the body) connected to the entry; a front chamber 20 (inner body) connected to the conduit; a rear chamber (inner area of handle) in the handle 10 or grip; an activation button 30 located in the handle and connected to a control module 60 and a screen 70.
With regards to claim 3, D1 discloses lenses 22, 23, 25, 27 located in the entry of the device, the conduit, and the front chamber, as claimed.
With regards to claim 9, D1 discloses a power source 11 in the rear chamber.
With regards to claim 10, D1 discloses a screen 70 on the upper rear part of the device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, and 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1.
With regards to claim 2, D1 discloses a handheld spectroscopic device including a light source 21, but does not teach wherein the light source comprises two LEDs. Nevertheless, such a modification would have been known and considered obvious. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the two LEDs at the entry opening in order to provide more uniform sample illumination thus producing more reliable spectral results.
With regards to claims 4 and 5, D1 does not specify the claimed optical elements and their claimed arrangements. However, beam splitters and mirrors were well known optical components routinely employed in spectroscopic instruments to divide optical beams for simultaneous analysis and reduce optical paths, respectively. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed configurations in view of the recited benefits.
With regards to claim 6, D1 does not expressly teach the two filters as claimed. However, the use of filters in spectrometers was well known. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed filters in order to suppress unwanted wavelengths to optimize spectral acquisition for a desired wavelength range.
With regards to claim 7, D1 discloses a handheld spectrometer comprising MEMS technology (which suggests a microspectrometer), but does not specifically teach the claimed camera. However, since cameras were well known imaging devices routinely integrated into portable analytical instruments, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed camera and configuration to provide visual documentation of the sample.
With regards to claim 8, D1 discloses wherein the signal processing system 60 is connected to a detector 28 (Fig. 2), but doe not teach the claimed configuration. However, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 such that a control module is connected to a camera and a microspectrometer in order to properly process signals generated by the camera and microspectrometer as is necessary for the operation of portable spectroscopic instruments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MARCUS H TANINGCO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884