DETAILED ACTION
The following Non-Final Office Action is in response to the application filed 2/14/2025.
Status of the claims: Claims 1-5 are hereby examined below.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, lines 5-6 recites “the each slat”. Examiner presumes this should read – each slat --.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 4, lines 4-5 recites “a slat” and “the side”. Examiner presumes this should read – each slat – and – a side -- .
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5, line 2 recites “at the ends” and “the usage position”. Examiner presumes this should read – at ends – and – a usage position -- .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shreiner US 4,877,672 in view of DE 20214105735.
In regard to claim 1, Shreiner ‘672 disclose a roll-up modular doormat comprising a plurality of slats (10, Fig. 2) that can be coupled to one another by coupling means (14,20 Fig. 2) located on sides of the plurality of slats (10), wherein each slat (10) of the plurality of slats is formed by a body (12, Fig. 2) comprising an upper covering surface that has a cleaning surface (13, Fig. 3),
Shreiner ‘672 fails to disclose wherein the coupling means allow the plurality of slats (1) to be detached from one another by rotating each slat of the plurality of slats relative to an adjoining slat according to a predetermined minimum detachment angle.
DE ‘735 discloses wherein the coupling means (8,9 Fig. 1) allow the plurality of slats (2) to be detached from one another by rotating each slat (2) of the plurality of slats relative to an adjoining slat according to a predetermined minimum detachment angle. (specification states “The members can be detached from each other by means of a pivoting movement and be connected to each other again, wherein the circular spring is guided through the opening into or out of the round-shaped groove receiving, without the members against each other, must be moved along the link length. For this purpose, in particular a relative pivoting movement of at least 90 ° is necessary. The axis about which the links can pivot relative to each other is referred to herein as the hinge axis. It is defined by the geometry of the articulated joint comprising the first and second hinge parts.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Shreiner ‘672 to use the coupling means of DE ‘735 for the purpose of providing a connection that will allow the release of two sections in a simple manner for the purpose of repair or maintenance as is stated by DE ‘735.
In regard to claim 2, Shreiner ‘672 as modified by DE ‘735 discloses the predetermined minimum detachment angle (8) between the slats (1) is greater than or equal to 90°. (specification states that “Preferred is a predetermined maximum pivot angle of 90 ° to 120 ° “)
In regard to claim 3, Shreiner ‘672 as modified by DE ‘735 disclose wherein the coupling means (8,9 as taught by DE ‘735) are configured to allow an inward roll-up of the doormat with the cleaning surface (13, Shreiner ‘6725) facing the outside. (as shown in Fig. 3, the slats have an inward roll)
In regard to claim 4, Shreiner ‘672 as modified by DE ‘735 disclose wherein that the coupling means (8,9 as taught by DE ‘735) are in the form of two hooks (8,9) complementary to one another between one side of a slat (1) and the side of the adjoining slat (1).
In regard to claim 5, Shreiner ‘672 discloses wherein the plurality of slats (12) located at the ends of the doormat in the usage position have terminations (36, Fig. 2) configured to be adapted to the surface on which they are placed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JEREMY C RAMSEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634