DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,5-8,10-14 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goto et al. (JP 2022-314A). Regarding claims 1,2,11-13 and 16-18, Goto discloses a rolling mill vision system (2,3,4,5; Fig. 1) and a rolling mill metal processing method comprising an infrared camera (4) included in the vision system configured to detect a metal substrate (steel strip, 10) and acquire image data comprising an intensity distribution of infrared rays ([0021], lines 1-2) which is an image of the steel strip ([0021], lines 7-9) in a harsh environment where a vapor fume (steam) makes it difficult to visually recognize the steel strip. Goto discloses that the harsh environment including the steam vapor fume is a mill operating condition ([0007], lines 10-12) and Goto discloses that the steam vapor fume ([0021], lines 10-11) is the mill operation condition that affects visible camera operation, but the infrared intensity distribution obtained from the infrared camera (4) is not easily scattered by the vapor fume ([0016], [0021], lines 6-9).
Regarding claims 3,6,14 and 19, Goto discloses a long wave infrared camera with a wavelength of 3-1000 µm ([0023], lines 8-10).
Regarding claim 5, the Examiner’s position is that a rolling mill environment can be considered a harsh environment when compared to a clean room or particle free environment, but the rolling mill harsh environment described by Applicant as a fume or mist is read as normal rolling mill operation conditions since vapor fume steam from hot rolling during spray cooling is a normal operating condition in the rolling mill of Goto that requires the use of the infrared camera.
Regarding claim 7, Goto discloses that the vision system (2,3,4,5; [0026], lines 1-5) comprises a controller (6,7) communicatively coupled with the camera (4; Fig. 1), the controller (6,7) is configured to receive the visual camera data, perform calculation and generate a control signal (calculated roll opening difference; [0029], lines 1-2).
Regarding claims 8,10 and 20 Goto discloses that the controller (6,7; [0027],[0028]) is configured to control a piece of metal processing equipment (rolling mill; F7) by calculating a strip characteristic including meandering amount and performing leveling control ([0029], lines 7-10) during rolling mill operation ([0021], lines 6-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4,9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto et al. (JP 2022-314) in view of Boku et al. (JP 11-156424). Goto does not disclose a short wave infrared camera wavelength. Regarding claims 4 and 15, Boku teaches a CCD camera (1) comprising a short-wave infrared camera [0010] having a wavelength sensitivity in the near-infrared range of 0.8 to 2.0 µm ([0008], lines 7-9) for imaging ([0009], lines 3-5) the surface of a metal substrate (steel plate) and detecting a condition of the steel sheet surface by imaging with the camera in rolling mill operating conditions where water droplets affect vision ([0005], lines 8-10). Regarding claim 9, Boku teaches an image processing device (2) to processes the image signal, which is a result of detecting the condition of the steel sheet surface and a processor with output (4) that calculates a difference of the image signal with a threshold value, and outputs to a display device (3) which has a display screen ([0020], lines 9-12) to alert an operator of an image displayed on the video monitor display screen [0025].
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the infrared camera of Goto to be a short wave infrared camera as taught by Boku so that infrared wavelength sensitivity in the near-infrared region is used to detect and output a thermal image of the surface of the metal strip.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/EDWARD T TOLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725