DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed 09/10/2026. Claims 1, 2, 4, and 6-8 have been amended, claims 3 and 5 have been canceled, and claims 9-14 have been added. Claims 1, 2, 4, and 6-14 are pending, of which claims 1 and 9 are independent.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes claim limitations that use the word "means" and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because they use a generic placeholder coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function. Such claim limitations are:
"means for reversibly supporting the stem of a surgical retractor blade" in claims 1 and 9, corresponding to the cavity (2) defined in the upper half-body (11), and equivalents thereof;
"constraining means adapted to reversibly block movement of the stem" in claims 1 and 9, corresponding to the quick release clamp with eccentric cam lever (3), and equivalents thereof; and
"reciprocal clamping means of said upper half-body and lower half-body" in claims 1 and 9, corresponding to the vertical-axis screw (13) that passes through the upper half-body (11) and engages a female thread in the lower half-body (12), and equivalents thereof.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have these limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitations to avoid them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitations recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 6-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Concerning claims 1 and 9, the preamble recites "a surgical retractor blade" and "a surgical ring retractor," and the body again recites "an outer ring of a surgical ring retractor" and "the stem of a surgical retractor blade." It is unclear whether the body recitations refer to the ring retractor and retractor blade introduced in the preamble or to additional ones. For examination purposes, the body recitations are interpreted as referring to the ring retractor and retractor blade of the preamble (e.g., "the surgical ring retractor" and "the surgical retractor blade"). Clarification is required.
Concerning claims 4 and 11, the limitation "the engaged position" lacks sufficient antecedent basis. The engaged position is introduced in claims 2 and 10, but claims 4 and 11 depend from claims 1 and 9, respectively. For examination purposes, claims 4 and 11 are interpreted as depending from claims 2 and 10, respectively.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nowak et al. (U.S. 11,123,056 B2).
Concerning claim 1, Nowak discloses a device for supporting and positioning a surgical retractor blade on a surgical ring retractor (see Fig. 1, retractor system 1 having ring frame 70), said retractor blade comprising a stem (i.e., retractor 20 having blade 220 (see Fig. 2A) is carried by retractor arm 40 having elongated shaft 406 (see Fig. 4), the shaft 406 serving as the stem of the blade), said device comprising: a clamp (see Figs. 8-9, element 80) adapted to connect reversibly with an outer ring of a surgical ring retractor (i.e., clamp 80 is loosened and tightened on ring frame 70 by adjustment screw 870, and the ring is inserted and removed laterally through opening 843B; see Fig. 17) and comprising means for reversibly supporting the stem (406) of a surgical retractor blade (i.e., first aperture 830A of first segment pair 822A; see Fig. 11) protruding inwardly from the ring of the retractor (see Fig. 1, retractors 20 positioned within ring frame 70 at surgical site 6), wherein said clamp comprises a mutually cooperating upper half-body (i.e., segments 820A, 820B, and 820C; see Figs. 10-11) and lower half-body (i.e., segment 820D) respectively adapted to surround superiorly and inferiorly the surgical retractor ring (i.e., upper jaw 839C and lower jaw 839D clamp against the top and bottom surfaces of the ring frame; see Fig. 17), and wherein said clamp is traversed longitudinally by a cavity (830A) adapted to accommodate the stem (406) of said surgical retractor blade (i.e., aperture 830A passes through the side surfaces of the clamp along its longitudinal axis; see Fig. 11), said cavity being defined in the upper half-body (i.e., in segments 820A, 820B) of said clamp, said clamp includes constraining means adapted to reversibly block movement of the stem of said retractor blade (i.e., first set of jaws 832A, which engage and apply a clamping force to the outer surface of shaft 406 when tightened and decrease or remove that force when loosened; see Fig. 11), and wherein said clamp includes reciprocal clamping means (i.e., adjustment screw 870; see Figs. 10-11) of said upper half-body and lower half-body, the upper half-body and the lower half-body forming a prismatic pair (i.e., pin 825B and bore 827B prevent segment 820C from rotating relative to segment 820D about axis AD while permitting movement along axis AD; see Fig. 10 and col. 12, lines 38-54) so that, by acting on said reciprocal clamping means, one of said half-body can be moved with translatory motion with respect to the other (i.e., rotating adjustment screw 870 draws segment 820D toward head 871 along axis AD; see col. 11, lines 31-50).
[AltContent: textbox (Prismatic pair – see col. 12, lines 38-54)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Reciprocal Clamping Means )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Constraining Means )][AltContent: textbox (Cavity )][AltContent: textbox (Upper Half Body )][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Lower Half Body )]
With respect to the limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), aperture 830A and adjustment screw 870 are the same structures as the cavity (2) and vertical-axis screw (13) of the instant specification. Jaws 832A perform the identical function of reversibly blocking movement of the stem, in substantially the same way (constricting about the lateral surface of the stem), with substantially the same result as the cam lever clamp (3) of the instant specification. Further, Nowak expressly identifies screw-type and lever-type clamps as interchangeable for clamp 80 (see col. 3, lines 63 col. 4, line 6), evidencing that one of ordinary skill would have recognized the interchangeability of the two structures. See MPEP § 2183.
Concerning claim 2, wherein said constraining means (832A) are movable between a resting position, in which said retractor blade is free to translate with respect to said clamp and to rotate with respect to its longitudinal axis (i.e., loosening adjustment screw 870 disengages jaws 832A from the generally cylindrical shaft 406 received in aperture 830A, such that the shaft can slide through and rotate within the aperture; see Figs. 4 and 11), and an engaged position, in which said constraining means prevent movement of said retractor blade with respect to said clamp (i.e., tightening adjustment screw 870 causes jaws 832A to clamp shaft 406).
Concerning claim 6, wherein said reciprocal clamping means comprise a vertical-axis screw (870, along vertical axis AD) that passes through the upper half-body (820A-820C, via bore 840) forming a turning pair with it (i.e., upper portion 874 of shaft 872 mates with and rotates within bore 840 of segments 820A, 820B), engaging a corresponding female thread (842) defined in the lower half-body (820D) (see Figs. 10-11).
Concerning claim 7, wherein a lower portion of the upper half-body (i.e., the aperture portion of segment 820C) and an upper portion of the lower half-body (i.e., the aperture portion of segment 820D) are each conformed as a portion of the lateral surface of a cylinder (i.e., aperture 830B has a generally cylindrical shape defined by mirror-image aperture portions in segments 820C and 820D, each defining roughly half of the aperture; see Fig. 17). Additionally, each of segments 820A-820D has a cylindrical shape with a circular base (see Figs. 10-11).
Concerning claim 9, Nowak discloses each limitation of claim 9, as set forth above with respect to claim 1. Claim 9 differs from claim 1 only in omitting the prismatic-pair limitation.
Concerning claims 10, 12, and 13, see the rejections of claims 2, 6, and 7 above, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 8, 11, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nowak et al. (U.S. 11,123,056 B2) in view of Farley et al. (U.S. 2017/0042527 A1).
Concerning claims 4 and 11 as best understood, Nowak discloses the invention of claims 2 and 9 except for explicitly disclosing that said constraining means comprise a quick release clamp comprising an eccentric cam lever and, in the engaged position, said quick release clamp is tightened around the lateral surface of the stem of said surgical retractor blade. Nowak does, however, state that clamp 80 can be implemented using a lever-type clamp similar to the clamps described in U.S. Pub. 2017/0042527, i.e., Farley (see col. 3, line 63 – col. 4, line 6).
Farley discloses a quick release clamp (see Figs. 3-5, element 21) comprising an eccentric cam lever (58) having a cam head (85) with an eccentric outer edge (100) (see Fig. 6), wherein, in the clamping position, the clamp is tightened around the lateral surface of a rod received in its cylindrical passages (70, 72), including the retractor arm (44) of a retractor blade (34, 36) (see Figs. 1 and 14; par. 0037), in the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the constraining means of Nowak as a quick release clamp comprising an eccentric cam lever that, in the engaged position, is tightened around the lateral surface of the stem, as taught by Farley, in order to lock and release the stem by pivoting a lever rather than rotating a screw. This is a simple substitution of one known clamp actuator for another to obtain predictable results, and Nowak itself expressly suggests using Farley's lever-type clamp in place of its screw-type clamp.
Concerning claims 8 and 14, Nowak discloses the invention of claims 1 and 9 except for explicitly disclosing wherein it is made of material suitable for being sterilized. Farley discloses that surgical retractor system components are conventionally made of stainless steel because stainless steel is easily sterilized, and that the system must be sterilized before use for the protection of the patient (see par. 0002), in the same field of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the device of Nowak of material suitable for being sterilized, such as stainless steel, as taught by Farley, in order to permit the device to be sterilized before surgical use for the protection of the patient.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 09/10/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELLEN C HAMMOND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773