DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is in response to U.S. Patent Application No.: 19/104,191 filed on 2/14/2025
with effective filing date 8/17/2022. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo et al. US 2022/0053189 in view of Zhang et al. US 2022/0038706.
Per claims 1, 9 & 17, Koo et al. a video signal decoding apparatus comprising a processor, wherein the processor is configured to: determine a first prediction mode of a current block (para: 61, e.g. the intra predictor 222 may predict the current block by referring to samples in the current picture); generate a prediction block of the current block, based on the first prediction mode (para: 61, e.g. referred samples may be located in the neighbor of or apart from the current block according to the prediction mode).
Koo et al. fails to explicitly disclose the remaining claim limitation.
Zhang et al. however in the same field of endeavor teaches generate a residual block of the current block, based on a transform matrix set determined based on a second prediction mode (para: 73 & 77, e.g. as shown in FIG. 6, ALWIP takes two averages along each axis of the boundary. The resulting four input samples enter the matrix vector multiplication); and reconstruct the current block, based on the prediction block and the residual block (para: 361, e.g. wherein the multiple blocks are generated by partitioning a video unit using a partition pattern, and wherein the set of neighboring blocks is determined based on the partition pattern; and reconstructing the current block of video data using the bitstream).
Therefore, in view of disclosures by Zhang et al., it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine Koo et al. and Zhang et al. in order to determine a manner in which information for an MIP coding technique is coded in the bitstream representation for a conversion between the block of a video and the bitstream representation of the video.
Per claims 2, 10 & 18, Zhang et al. further teaches the video signal decoding apparatus of claim 1, wherein the transform matrix set at least one of a transform matrix set of a Multiple Transform Set (MTS) and/or a transform matrix set of Low Frequency Non-Separable Transform (LFNST) (para: 100, e.g. a Multiple Transform Selection (MTS) scheme is used for residual coding both inter and intra coded blocks. It uses multiple selected transforms from the DCT8/DST7).
Per claim 3, 11 & 19, Zhang et al. further teaches the video signal decoding apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first prediction mode and the second prediction mode are different from each other (para: 90, e.g. The prediction directions used in QR-BDPCM can be vertical and horizontal prediction modes).
Per claims 4 & 12, Zhang et al. further teaches the video signal decoding apparatus of claim 3, wherein the first prediction mode is one of a planar mode based on a horizontal direction or a planar mode based on a vertical direction (para: 90, e.g. The prediction directions used in QR-BDPCM can be vertical and horizontal prediction modes).
Per claims 5 & 13, Koo et al. further teaches the video signal decoding apparatus of claim 4, wherein the planar mode based on the horizontal direction is a prediction mode based on a value of a block at position (-1, y) and a value of a block at position (W, -1), the planar mode based on the vertical direction is a prediction mode based on a value of a block at position (x, -1) and a value of a block at position a position of a top left block of the current block is (0, 0), and a position of the prediction block is (x, y) (para: 94, e.g. the horizontal transform may represent a transform for horizontal components of the target block, and the vertical transform may represent a transform for vertical components of the target block. The vertical transform kernel/horizontal transform kernel may be adaptively determined based on a prediction mode and/or a transform index of a target block (CU or sub-block) including a residual block).
Per claims 6, 14 & 20, Koo et al. further teaches the video signal decoding apparatus of claim 4, wherein i) the first prediction mode is the planar mode based on the horizontal direction, and the second prediction mode is a vertical direction angular mode, or ii) the first prediction mode is the planar mode based on the vertical direction, and the second prediction mode is a horizontal direction angular mode (para: 94-95, e.g. then a vertical transform kernel and a horizontal transform kernel for a target block may be selected from among the transform kernels, a vertical transform for the target block may be performed based on the vertical transform kernel, and a horizontal transform for the target block may be performed based on the horizontal transform kernel).
Per claims 7 & 15, Koo et al. further teaches the video signal decoding apparatus of claim 4, wherein the first prediction mode is a linear prediction mode (para: 64 & 111, e.g. a No. 67 intra prediction mode may be further used, and the No. 67 intra prediction mode may represent a linear model (LM) mode).
Per claims 8 & 16, Koo et al. further teaches the video signal decoding apparatus of claim 4, wherein the first prediction mode is indicated by a syntax element included in a bitstream, wherein whether the syntax element is parsed is determined based on a size of the current block (para: 64, e.g. the transform process may be applied to square pixel blocks having the same size or may be applied to blocks having a variable size rather than the square one).
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Said et al. US 2017/0238013 A1, e.g. performing, by the video decoder, a multi-pass non-separable inverse transformation on the plurality of values to derive residual data that represents pixel differences between the current block of the video data and a predictive block of the video data; and reconstructing, by the video decoder, the current block of the video data based on the residual data and the predictive block of the video data.
Cho et al. US 2021/0084290 A1, e.g. a prediction block for a target block is generated by predicting the target block using a prediction network, and a reconstructed block for the target block is generated based on the prediction block and a reconstructed residual block. The prediction network includes an intra-prediction network and an inter-prediction network and uses a spatial reference block and/or a temporal reference block when it performs prediction.
/Irfan Habib/Examiner, Art Unit 2485