DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-6, 15, 16, 20, 22, 27-29, in the reply filed on 10/7/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 30, 31, 33, 34, 36, 37 and 39 are withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, an anchor frame expanded against lumen walls upstream of the device in claim 28; and the anchor wire of claim 29 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. In claim 28, the drawings illustrate anchoring sections (772, 782) as being a part of the device and not upstream of the device. Instead, the anchoring section appears to be upstream of the debris traps and will be interpreted as such.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 27-29 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 6, a period should be after the letter “c” in line 7 and “the Vena Cava” should recite - - a Venca Cava - -.
In claim 27, “the Vena Cava” should recite - - a Vena Cava - -.
In claims 28 and 29, the phrase “the device is anchored” should instead recite - - the device is configured to be anchored - - as claim 1 is directed to an apparatus claim and not a method claim. Any recitations directed to how the device is to be used should be written in a functional manner (adapted to, configured to be, configured for, etc.) Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 15, 16, 20, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “the mesh debris traps” multiple times. However, claim 4, from which claim 6 is dependent upon, recites “one or more mesh debris traps”. Therefore, at a minimum, claim 4 only requires one mesh debris trap. It is therefore unclear in claim 6 if more than one mesh debris trap is required as claim 6 refers to the traps in its plural form.
Claim 6 recites “at least some of the mesh debris traps are arranged to be controlled to open and close separately from at least some other mesh debris traps” in section “a”. Claim 4, from which claim 6 is dependent upon, only required one mesh at a minimum. Therefore, in the instance of a single mesh debris trap, the scope of section “a” would be unclear as there is no other mesh debris traps to compare to. Further, it is unclear if “some other” mesh debris traps is in reference to the “one or more mesh debris traps” from claim 4 or another mesh debris trap.
Claim 6 further recites in sections “e” and “f” that the mesh debris traps comprises mesh leaves. Due to the indefiniteness as discussed above, it is further unclear if each mesh traps must comprise mesh leaves (plural), or if at a minimum, there is a plurality of mesh debris traps, wherein the traps each comprise a mesh leaf, therefore resulting in mesh leaves (plural) due to the plurality of mesh debris traps when viewed in totality.
Claim 6 further recites “the mesh debris traps are arranged such that mesh debris trap openings are distributed at different distances along a direction of blood flow through the device” in sections “g” and “h”. Applicant has not defined the mesh debris traps comprises mesh debris traps openings. It is unclear where or what the mesh debris trap openings are in relation to. It is further unclear if each mesh debris trap must comprise a plurality of mesh debris trap openings, or if each mesh debris trap (when assuming there is a plurality of traps), comprises a mesh debris trap openings and therefore there is a plurality of mesh debris trap openings when viewed in totality.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the mesh debris trap levels" in section “h”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites “in a range between 3000-2000-1000 and 30 microns” in section “h”. The bounds of the range is unclear as it is not understood what is meant by the dashed lines between the number. For example, it is unclear if the range is 3000-2000 microns, 2000-1000 microns, or 3000-30 microns, etc, in which case it is customary to recite the lower bound of the range first followed by the upper bound of the range.
Claim 15 recites “mesh traps openings”. It is unclear for the same reasons as claim 6 what the mesh debris trap openings are in relation to. It is not understood if this is referring to all mesh debris trap openings in one mesh debris trap or all mesh debris traps, or a singular mesh debris trap opening from each mesh debris trap when there is a plurality of mesh debris traps (which is a plurality of openings when viewed in totality), etc.
Claim 15 recites “being distributed at different distance along a direction of blood flow comprise different sizes of mesh pore openings”. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation as the phrase appears to be grammatically incorrect.
Claim 15 recites “the mesh debris traps” in section “c” and “the mesh debris trap” in section “d”. This is unclear for the same reason as claim 6, as claim 4 recited “one or more mesh debris traps”. It is therefore unclear how many mesh debris traps are required by claim 15.
Claim 16 recites “the mesh debris traps” and is unclear as to how many traps are required for the same reason as claim 6. Claim 16 recites the limitation "the different sizes of mesh pore opening”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the plurality of mesh debris traps”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 22 recites “the mesh debris traps” in each section and is unclear as to how many traps are required for the same reason as claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 15, 20, 22, 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Broome et al (US 2004/0082967).
Broome et al discloses the following limitations:
Claim 1. A device (10) for capturing debris from blood flow in a blood vessel (Figs. 1, 2; [0004]), the device comprising:
an expandable frame (12) shaped and sized to expand against walls of a blood vessel (Fig. 1; [0019], [0021])
a debris obstacle (16, 18) attached to the frame ([0021], [0026]); and
a control wire (22, 24) attached to the debris obstacle, configured to control opening of the debris obstacle ([0029], [0032]),
wherein the control wire extends from the debris obstacle upstream (leftward in Figs. 1-2) in relation to a direction of blood flow in the blood vessel ([0032]).
Claim 2. The device according to claim 1, wherein the blood vessel is capable of being the Vena Cava (the device is sized for vessels and therefore can be placed in the Vena Cava).
Claim 3. The device according to claim 1, wherein the debris obstacle comprises a mesh with holes (32) sized to allow blood through and not allow debris above a specific size through ([0027]).
Claim 4. The device according to claim 1, wherein the debris obstacle comprises one or more mesh debris traps (16, 18) ([0026]).
Claim 5. The device according to claim 1, wherein the debris obstacle is arranged to be controlled to open and close by the control wire from outside a patient's body ([0030]).
Claim 6. The device according to claim 4, wherein he following is true: at least some of the mesh debris traps (16) are arranged to be controlled to open and close separately from at least some other mesh debris traps (18) (Fig. 3; [0029], [0032]); the mesh debris traps are arranged to be normally closed even when the device is expanded against walls of the body lumen (the term ‘normally’ is not defined and therefore in its broadest reasonable interpretation is interpreted by the Examiner as being closed by the user via control wires 22, 24).
Claim 15. The device according to claim 6, wherein mesh debris trap openings (32) are defined by: being at same distances along a direction of blood flow ([0028) comprise different sizes of mesh pore openings ([0027], [0041]); comprising a loop for threading a control wire therethrough (Figs. 1 and 3; the openings 32 extend throughout the circumferential surface of the membranes 16/18 and therefore any line of openings can be considered the claimed loop, capable of accepting a control wire therethrough).
Claim 20. The device according to claim 6, wherein when the plurality of mesh debris traps are opened, the opened mesh debris traps cover an entire area of a cross section of a lumen defined by the expandable frame across a direction of blood flow (Fig. 1; [0022]).
Claim 22. The device according to claim 6, wherein the following is true: the mesh debris traps comprises a filtration mesh ([0027]).
Claim 27. The device according to claim 1, wherein expansion of the frame against walls of the Vena Cava is capable of anchoring the device to resist movement along a direction of blood flow ([0019], [0022]). The device spans across the entire vessel and can be seen making contact in Fig. 1 with the vessel wall and is therefore capable of anchoring the device to resist movement due to this contact.
Claim 28. The device according to claim 1, wherein the device is configured to be anchored to resist movement along a direction of blood flow by connection to an anchor frame (see annotated figure below) expanded against lumen walls upstream of the debris traps. Applicant’s “anchor frame” appears to be an anchoring “section”, specifically anchoring or fixation sections (772, 782) of the expandable frame and not an element/structure separate from the anchor frame as discussed in paragraphs [0436], [0440] and [0453] of the published specification. Therefore, this annotated section contains a maximum diameter portion that makes contact with the vessel wall is similarly considered the anchoring frame (section) in Broome et al as annotated below. This contact with the vessel wall is capable of resisting movement along a direction of blood flow.
Claim 29. The device according to claim 1, wherein the device is anchored to resist movement along a direction of blood flow by connection to an anchor wire (14) which extends to an outside of a patient's body ([0031]; guidewire 14 controls placement of the device and therefore where the device anchors and thus contributes to the anchoring capabilities of the device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Broome et al in view of Pal et al (US 2007/0088383) in view of Gera et al (US 2016/0120636).
Claim 16. Broome et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed above, including the mesh debris traps (16, 18) are arranged longitudinally along the device such that, when open, openings of open mesh debris traps overlap, as viewed along a direction of blood flow (Fig. 1).
Broome et al fails to disclose wherein the different sizes of mesh pore openings are arranged such that larger pore sizes are upstream of smaller pore sizes and comprising at least three levels of mesh pore size: 1000 microns, 400 microns and 200 microns. However, in the same field of endeavor, Pal et al teaches a device for capturing debris from blood flow in a blood vessel ([0012]), the device comprising three levels of mesh debris traps (26a, 26b, 26c) arranged such that larger pore sizes are upstream of smaller pore sizes ([0069], [0070]; Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Broome et al such that there are three sizes of mesh pore openings arranged across three mesh debris traps, with the larger pore sizes upstream of smaller pore sizes, as taught by Pal et al to achieve a reduction in the cross-sectional area of the device as the traps distribute the debris that has been caught amongst the different levels ([0071]).
The combination fails to disclose the three levels of mesh pore size are 1000 microns, 400 microns and 200 microns. In the same field of endeavor, Gera et al teaches mesh pore sizes for capturing debris from blood flow in a blood vessel can range from 50 microns to 1000 microns ([0005], [0012], [0014], [0079]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the three levels to the claimed size, based upon the range taught by Gera et al, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Furthermore, Applicant has not provided evidence of the criticality of the exact three claimed pore size levels in the instant specification. In paragraph [0089] of the published instant specification, Applicant discloses exemplary sizes of the device such as 3000 microns, 2000 microns, 1000 microns, 400 microns and 200 microns. However, Applicant has not provided evidence, such as how the claimed levels of exactly 1000 microns, 400 microns and 200 microns have unexpected results over the prior art. It is the Examiner's position that one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have known the approximate variation in sizes of debris to be caught and determined the necessary pore sizes of the device to successfully capture the debris. Therefore, the claimed sizes are merely values discoverable by routine skill in the art and fails to patentably distinct the claimed invention of claim 16 from the prior art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 15, 16, 20, 22, 27-29 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 10, 16, 18, 21, 22, 25 of copending Application No. 19/104,248 (reference application) in view of Broome et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application claims are broader in some respects and merely add an obvious feature absent from the claims of the reference application in other respects. Instant claim 1 recites the additional feature of the control wire extending from the debris obstacle (mesh debris trap in reference application) upstream in relation to a direction of blood flow in the blood vessel absent from reference application claim 1. However, in the same field of endeavor, Broome et al teaches a device (10) for capturing debris from blood flow in a blood vessel (Figs. 1, 2; [0004]), the device comprising: an expandable frame (12) shaped and sized to expand against walls of a blood vessel (Fig. 1; [0019], [0021]); a plurality of mesh debris traps (16, 18) attached to the frame ([0021], [0026]); and a control wire (22, 24) attached to the debris obstacle, configured to control opening of the debris obstacle ([0029], [0032]), wherein the control wire extends from the debris obstacle upstream (leftward in Figs. 1-2) in relation to a direction of blood flow in the blood vessel ([0032]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reference application claim 1 to include the features of the control wire extending from the debris obstacle upstream in relation to a direction of blood flow in the blood vessel such that a user can actuate and control the debris obstacle from outside a patient’s body ([0030]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/KATHERINE M SHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771