DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 13, 16 and 17 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites: “a voltage of a portion the conductive path between the first port and the switch”. The phrase “a portion the conductive path” lacks proper grammatical structure. Examiner believes this is a typographical error and will interpret this limitation as “a portion of the conductive path.”
Claim 13 recites “operate in a second operating” The phrase “second operating” is incomplete and lacks a noun (e.g., “mode”).
Claim 17 recites: “one or more processers”. The term “processers” appears to be a typographical error. It is unclear whether the intended term is “processors.”
Claim 16 recites the limitation “power from the conductive path unit” " in line 10. Since no conductive path unit is mentioned in the specification or drawings, examiner believes this is a typographical error and will interpret this limitation as " the conductive path".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akashi et al. (US 2024/0313765 A1) in view of Rothleitner et al. (US 2002/0140293 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Akashi teaches a backup power supply system configured to be connected between a power supply and a load, the backup power supply system comprising [see (Abstract; Fig. 1; para. 0001), backup power supply system supplies power to a load when main power supply is defective, Akashi teaches a system interposed between a power supply and a load] a first port configured to be connected to the power supply; [see (Fig. 1, T1; para. 0035), main power supply 2 is configured to be connected to first connection terminal T1, Akashi teaches a first port connected to a power supply] a second port configured to be connected to the load; [see (Fig. 1, T2; load 4; para. 0035), load 4 is configured to be connected to second connection terminal T2, Akashi teaches a second port connected to a load] a conductive path connects the first port to the second port [see (Fig. 1, SW1; para. 0036), first field-effect transistor SW1 is connected between first connection terminal T1 and second connection terminal T2, Akashi teaches a conductive path connecting the first and second ports]; a power storage unit [see (Fig. 1, power storage device 3; para. 0035), Akashi teaches a power storage unit]; a charging path provides in a first path connecting the conductive path to the power storage unit, the charging path being configured to charge the power storage unit with power from the conductive path [see (Fig. 1, RT1; para. 0037-0042), charging path RT1… current flows from main power supply 2 to power storage device 3 through SW1, SW2, and SW3, Akashi teaches a first path connecting the conductive path to the power storage unit and charging functionality] “provided in a first path connecting the conductive path to the power storage unit” taught by RT1, which provides a path from the conductive path (via SW1 between T1-T2) to the power storage device 3; “configured to charge the power storage unit with power from the conductive path” taught by current flow from main power supply 2 through RT1 to power storage device 3; a discharging path provides in a second path connecting the conductive path to the power storage unit, the discharging path being configured to discharge power stored in the power storage unit to the conductive path [see (Fig. 1, RT2; para. 0037-0043), backup path RT2… current flows from power storage device 3 to load 4, Akashi teaches a second path and discharging functionality] “provided in a second path connecting the conductive path to the power storage unit” taught by RT2, which provides a path between the power storage device 3 and the conductive path via the load connection (T2), “configured to discharge power stored in the power storage unit to the conductive path” taught by current flow from power storage device 3 through RT2 to the load; a switch provided in the conductive path between the first port and the charging circuit and between the first port and the discharging circuit, the switch being configured to make the conductive path electrically conductive or electrically non-conductive; [see (Fig. 1, SW1-SW3; para. 0036-0038), switching elements… control conduction paths, Akashi teaches switching elements controlling current flow] “a switch provided in the conductive path” taught by SW1 “Configured to make the conductive path electrically conductive or electrically non-conductive” taught by switching operation Akashi uses multiple switching elements SW1-SW3 to control conduction relative to both charging and discharging paths; and a control circuit configured to control the switch [see (Fig. 1, controller 10; para. 0018-0019), controller… controls switching based on power state, Akashi teaches a control circuit controlling switching behavior]
Akashi doesn’t expressly teach “a charging circuit” corresponding to the first path, as recited and “a discharging circuit” corresponding to the second path, as recited; that a switching arrangement in the conductive path is positioned to control conduction between the first port and both the charging path and the discharging path, as recited; and the controller configured to control the charging circuit, and the discharging circuit.
In an analogous art Rothleitner teaches “a charging circuit” corresponding to the first path, as recited [see (Fig. 1; para. 0015-0017), backup power source charging circuit 16… boost converter control and driver circuit 20… controls charging, Rothleitner teaches circuitry configured to charge a backup power source] and “a discharging circuit” corresponding to the second path, as recited [see (Fig. 1; para. 0018), backup power supply control and driver circuit 24… uses backup power supply switching device 26 to switch the source of power… to the backup power source… during a loss of power, Rothleitner teaches circuitry that connects the backup source such that it supplies power to the load] and that a switching arrangement in the conductive path is positioned to control conduction between the first port and both the charging path and the discharging path, as recited [see (Fig. 1; para. 0018), backup power supply switching device 26… switches the source of power, Rothleitner teaches a switching device for controlling power flow] and the controller configured to control the charging circuit, and the discharging circuit [see (Fig. 1; para. 0015-0018), boost converter control and driver circuit 20 and backup power supply control and driver circuit 24, Rothleitner teaches control circuitry for charging and discharging operations].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the charging circuitry, discharge control, and switching architecture of Rothleitner in the invention of Akashi to enable independent regulation of charging and discharging operations and centralized switching between main and backup power paths, thereby improving reliability during transitions and preventing unintended simultaneous charge and discharge conditions, with predictable results.
Re Claim 3, combination of Akashi and Rothleitner teaches invention set forth above, regarding wherein the control circuit is configured to obtain at least one of voltage information and status information, and to control the switch, the charging circuit, and the discharging circuit based on the at least one of the voltage information and the status information obtained, the voltage information relating to an output voltage of the power supply, the status information indicating whether or not power does not need to be supplied from the power storage unit to the load when the power supply is defective. Akashi teaches [see (Fig. 1; Fig. 21-22; para. 0018-0019, 0037-0043), controller… controls switching based on power state… acquire load information… voltage comparisons, Akashi partially teaches a control circuit that controls switching and power flow based on sensed system conditions, including voltage comparisons and system operating conditions].
Akashi doesn’t expressly teach obtaining both “voltage information” and “status information” as explicitly defined inputs and controlling all recited circuits based on those inputs as recited.
Rothleitner further teaches [see (Fig. 1; para. 0015-0019), main power monitoring circuit… monitors magnitude of voltage… control and driver circuits respond to conditions, Rothleitner supports voltage monitoring and controller-based control based on sensed voltage conditions]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the control of Akashi using voltage-related information and system status information as supported by Rothleitner in order to improve responsiveness and accuracy of control over switching, charging, and discharging operations, with predictable results.
Re Claim 4, combination of Akashi and Rothleitner teaches invention set forth above, Akashi further teaches comprising a voltage measurement circuit configured to measure a voltage of a portion the conductive path between the first port and the switch, wherein the control circuit is configured to obtain the voltage information by obtaining a result of measurement performed by the voltage measurement circuit [see (Fig. 1; para. 0037-0040), voltage measurement circuit 8… measures the voltage of conductive path 41… more specifically… between first port P1 and switch SW, and control circuit uses the measured voltage as voltage information, Akashi teaches a voltage measurement circuit configured to measure voltage at a portion of the conductive path between the first port and the switch and to provide that measured voltage to the control circuit].
Re Claim 5, combination of Akashi and Rothleitner teaches invention set forth above, Akashi further teaches wherein the status information is an ignition signal obtained from a vehicle having the backup power supply system installed thereto, an ON state of the ignition signal indicates a state in which power needs to be supplied from the power storage unit to the load when the power supply is defective, and an OFF state of the ignition signal indicates a state in which power does not need to be supplied from the power storage unit to the load when the power supply is defective [see (para. 0038-0041), status information… indicated by ON and OFF statuses of an ignition signal (IG signal)… ON = vehicle runs… power needs to be supplied… OFF = vehicle stops… power does not need to be supplied, Akashi teaches an ignition signal used as status information, where ON and OFF states correspond to whether power is to be supplied from the power storage unit to the load when the power supply is defective].
Re Claim 6, combination of Akashi and Rothleitner teaches invention set forth above, regarding wherein a state in which power needs to be supplied from the power storage unit to the load when the power supply is defective is a state in which a vehicle having the backup power supply system installed thereto runs, and a state in which power does not need to be supplied from the power storage unit to the load when the power supply is defective is a state in which the vehicle stops. Akashi teaches [see (Abstract; Fig. 10; para. 0001, 0035-0036), backup power supply system for a vehicle… supply of power based on system condition, Akashi partially teaches a vehicle-mounted system in which power supply behavior is controlled based on system operating conditions].
Akashi does not expressly teach: mapping the supply/no-supply condition explicitly to vehicle running and stopped states as recited.
Rothleitner further teaches [see (para. 0021), ignition terminal… voltage present when automobile is running, Rothleitner supports the use of ignition-based signals corresponding to vehicle operating states for control purposes].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to relate the control of power supply in Akashi to vehicle operating states such as ignition-based running or non-running conditions as supported by Rothleitner, since such operating states are fundamental control inputs in vehicle systems and are routinely used to determine when power should be supplied to loads, with predictable results.
Re Claim 8, combination of Akashi and Rothleitner teaches invention set forth above, regarding wherein the charging circuit includes one of a boost circuit and a step-down circuit, and the discharging circuit includes another of the boost circuit and the step-down circuit; Akashi teaches [see (para. 0034), charging circuit 6 may be, for example, a boost and step-down DC-DC converter, Akashi teaches that the charging circuit may be implemented using boost and step-down converter configurations].
However, Akashi does not expressly teach that the discharging circuit is implemented using the complementary one of a boost circuit and a step-down circuit relative to the charging circuit, as recited.
In an analogous art Rothleitner teaches [see (para. 0015-0019), converter-based circuitry for charging and discharging a backup power source, Rothleitner teaches power conversion circuitry configured to step voltage up or down depending on operating condition].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the charging and discharging circuits of Akashi using known complementary power conversion circuits such as boost and step-down converters, as taught by Rothleitner, since such converter topologies are well-known for transferring power between sources operating at different voltage levels, with predictable results.
Re Claim 9, combination of Akashi and Rothleitner teaches invention set forth above, regarding wherein while power does not need to be supplied from the power storage unit to the load when the power supply is defective, if an output voltage of the power supply is within a predetermined voltage range and a voltage stored in the power storage unit is neither lower than nor equal to a threshold voltage, the control circuit is configured to: turn on the switch; control the charging circuit to prevent the power storage unit from being charged with an output power of the power supply; and control the discharging circuit to discharge the power stored in the power storage unit to the conductive path. Akashi teaches [see (Fig. 21-22; para. 0037-0043), voltage condition comparisons… threshold comparisons… SOC conditions… switching paths… stopping discharge under certain conditions, Akashi partially teaches threshold-based decision making and control of discharge behavior based on voltage and state-of-charge conditions].
Akashi doesn’t expressly teach the specific combination of output voltage within a predetermined range, storage voltage relative to a threshold, and the combined actions of turning on the switch, preventing charging, and causing discharge, as recited.
Rothleitner further teaches [see (para. 0006; 0015-0019), control ensures charging circuit does not operate while supplying power… monitoring of voltage and controlled switching, Rothleitner supports condition-based coordination of charging and discharging operations, including preventing charging during discharge].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the threshold-based decision logic of Akashi with the condition-based coordination of charging and discharging operations supported by Rothleitner in order to regulate operation of the power storage device and prevent improper simultaneous charging and discharging, with predictable results.
Re Claim 10, combination of Akashi and Rothleitner teaches invention set forth above, regarding wherein, while power does not need to be supplied from the power storage unit to the load when the power supply is defective, if the output voltage of the power supply is within the predetermined voltage range and the voltage of the power storage unit is lower than or equal to the threshold voltage, the control circuit is configured to: turn on the switch; control the charging circuit to prevent the power storage unit from being charged with the output power of the power supply; and control the discharging circuit to prevent the power stored in the power storage unit from being discharged to the conductive path; Akashi teaches [see (Fig. 21-22; para. 0037-0043), threshold conditions… stopping discharge under certain conditions, Akashi partially teaches threshold-based disabling of discharge based on system conditions].
Akashi does not expressly teach the specific combination of voltage range condition, threshold condition, and the simultaneous prevention of both charging and discharging as recited.
Rothleitner further teaches [see (para. 0006; 0015-0019), control and driver circuit… prevents charging or discharging under certain operating conditions, Rothleitner supports condition-based disabling of charging and discharging operations].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the threshold-based control of Akashi with the condition-based coordination of Rothleitner to control both charging and discharging based on voltage and threshold conditions in order to protect the power storage device and maintain proper system operation, with predictable results.
Re Claim 11, combination of Akashi and Rothleitner teaches invention set forth above, regarding wherein, while power does not need to be supplied from the power storage unit to the load when the power supply is defective, if the output voltage of the power supply is within the predetermined voltage range, the control circuit is configured to: turn on the switch; control the charging circuit to charge the power storage unit with the output power of the power supply; and control the discharging circuit to prevent the power stored in the power storage unit from being discharged to the conductive path; Akashi teaches [see (Fig. 21-22; para. 0037-0043), voltage condition comparisons… threshold-based decision making… switching paths, Akashi partially teaches conditional control of charging and discharging operations based on voltage-related and state-of-charge conditions].
Akashi does not expressly teach the specific combination of (i) output voltage within a predetermined voltage range together with (ii) charging enabled and (iii) discharging prevented as recited.
Rothleitner further teaches [see (para. 0006; 0015-0019), control ensures charging circuit operates under appropriate conditions and prevents conflicting discharge, Rothleitner supports condition-based coordination of charging and discharging operations].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the threshold-based decision logic of Akashi with the condition-based coordination of charging and discharging operations supported by Rothleitner to enable charging while preventing discharge under defined voltage conditions, thereby improving energy management, with predictable results.
Re Claim 12, combination of Akashi and Rothleitner teaches invention set forth above, regarding wherein, while power needs to be supplied from the power storage unit to the load when the power supply is defective, if the output voltage of the power supply is not within the predetermined voltage range, the control circuit is configured to: turn off the switch; control the charging circuit to prevent the power storage unit from being charged with the output power of the power supply; and control the discharging circuit to discharge the power stored in the power storage unit to the conductive path; Akashi teaches [see (Fig. 21-22; para. 0037-0043), defective-state logic… switching behavior… discharge paths, Akashi partially teaches conditional discharge control and switching behavior based on system conditions].
Akashi does not expressly teach the specific combination of (i) output voltage not within a predetermined voltage range together with (ii) switch OFF and (iii) coordinated prevention of charging and enabling of discharge as recited.
Rothleitner further teaches [see (para. 0006; 0015-0019), charging disabled while supplying power, Rothleitner supports condition-based coordination of charging and discharging operations].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the conditional control of Akashi with the coordinated charge/discharge behavior supported by Rothleitner to disable charging and enable discharge under out-of-range voltage conditions, thereby ensuring reliable backup operation, with predictable results.
Re Claim 13, combination of Akashi and Rothleitner teaches invention set forth above, Akashi further teaches wherein, the backup power supply system is configured to: operate in a first operating mode in which the control circuit turns off the switch, controls the charging circuit to prevent the power storage unit from being charged with an output power of the power supply, and controls the discharging circuit to discharge the power stored in the power storage unit to the conductive path; Akashi teaches[see (Fig. 21-22; para. 0037-0043), switching control… stopping charging… discharge path from power storage device to load, Akashi partially teaches a system state in which the switch is turned off, charging is prevented, and discharge from the power storage device to the conductive path is performed] ;and operate in a second operating in which the control circuit turns on the switch, controls the charging circuit to prevent the power storage unit from being charged with the output power of the power supply, and controls the discharging circuit to discharge the power stored in the power storage unit to the conductive path [see (Fig. 21-22; para. 0037-0043), switching control… alternative conduction state… discharge operation, Akashi partially teaches a different system state in which the switch is turned on and discharge from the power storage device to the conductive path is performed, with control of charging behavior based on system conditions]; and when the discharging circuit discharges the power stored in the power storage unit to the conductive path, a discharge voltage of the discharging circuit in the first operating mode is different from the discharge voltage of the discharging circuit in the second operating mode [see (Fig. 21-22; para. 0037-0043), different switching configurations… different conduction paths, Akashi partially teaches that different switching states define different conduction paths between the power storage device and the conductive path].
Akashi does not expressly teach that the discharge voltage differs between the first and second operating modes as recited; however, such different conduction paths would have been understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to affect discharge conditions, including voltage characteristics, depending on circuit configuration.
Rothleitner further teaches [see (para. 0015-0019), control and driver circuits… regulated power deliver, Rothleitner supports controlled variation of output characteristics depending on operating condition].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the system of Akashi to operate in different operating modes corresponding to different switching configurations, and to further provide differing discharge characteristics as supported by the coordinated control and regulated power delivery of Rothleitner, because different switching configurations and regulated output control would have predictably affected discharge conditions, including voltage characteristics, with predictable results.
Re Claim 15, combination of Akashi and Rothleitner teaches invention set forth above, Akashi further teaches movable object comprising: the backup power supply system according to claim 1; the power supply; the load; and a movable body having the backup power supply system, the power supply, and the load installed thereto; [ see (para. 0001, 0206), backup power supply system… applied to a vehicle, Akashi teaches a movable object (vehicle) including a power supply, a load, and a backup power supply system installed in the vehicle body].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the backup power supply system of Akashi in a movable object such as a vehicle, as expressly suggested by Akashi, with predictable results.
Claim(s) 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akashi et al. (US 2024/0313765 A1) in view of Baker et al. (US 2008/0111423 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Akashi teaches method for controlling a backup power supply system connected between a power supply and a load, the method comprising: [see (Abstract; Fig. 1; para. 0001), backup power supply system… supplies power to a load when main power supply is defective, Akashi teaches a backup power supply system connected between a power supply and a load]; providing the backup power supply system including a first port connected to the power supply, a second port connected to the load, a conductive path connecting the first port to the second port, a power storage unit [see (Fig. 1, T1, T2, SW1; para. 0035-0036), first connection terminal T1, second connection terminal T2, SW1 between T1 and T2, power storage device 3, Akashi teaches a first port, second port, conductive path, and power storage unit]; a charging path provided in a first path connecting the conductive path to the power storage unit, the charging path being configured to charge the power storage unit with power from the conductive path unit [see (Fig. 1, RT1; para. 0037-0042), charging path RT1… current flows from main power supply 2 to power storage device 3 through SW1, SW2, and SW3, Akashi teaches a first path and charging functionality] “provided in a first path connecting the conductive path to the power storage unit” taught by RT1, which provides a path from the conductive path (via SW1 between T1-T2) to the power storage device 3, “configured to charge the power storage unit with power from the conductive path” taught by current flow from main power supply 2 through RT1; a discharging path provided in a second path connecting the conductive path to the power storage unit, the discharging path being configured to discharge power stored in the power storage unit to the conductive path [see (Fig. 1, RT2; para. 0037-0043), backup path RT2… current flows from power storage device 3 to load 4, Akashi teaches a second path and discharging functionality] “provided in a second path connecting the conductive path to the power storage unit” taught by RT2, which provides a path between the power storage device 3 and the conductive path via the load connection (T2) “configured to discharge power stored…” taught by current flow from the storage device to the load; and a switch provided in the conductive path between the first port and the charging circuit and between the first port and the discharging circuit to make the conductive path electrically conductive or electrically non-conductive; [see (Fig. 1, SW1-SW3; para. 0036-0038), switching elements… control conduction paths, Akashi teaches switching elements controlling conduction] “a switch provided in the conductive path” taught by SW1 “to make the conductive path electrically conductive or electrically non-conductive” taught by switching operation and controlling the switch, the charging circuit, and the discharging circuit by a control circuit, and controlling the switch, [see (Fig. 1, controller 10; para. 0018-0019), controller… controls switching based on power state, Akashi teaches controlling switching behavior] wherein said controlling comprises, when discharging the power stored in the power storage unit, charging the power supply with the stored power and suppling the stored power to the load [see (Fig. 1; para. 0037-0043), backup path RT2… current flows from power storage device 3 to load 4, Akashi teaches discharging stored power and supplying the load] Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, the conductive path electrically connects both the load and the power supply node (T1–T2). Thus, discharging stored power onto this common conductive path inherently supplies energy toward both nodes, corresponding to “charging the power supply with the stored power.”
Akashi doesn’t expressly teach “a charging circuit” corresponding to the first path, as recited and “a discharging circuit” corresponding to the second path, as recited; that a switching arrangement in the conductive path is positioned to control conduction between the first port and both the charging path and the discharging path, as recited; controlling the charging circuit and the discharging circuit by a control circuit; and by discharging the power stored in the power storage unit to the conductive path via the discharging circuit while the charging circuit stops.
In an analogous art Baker teaches “a charging circuit” corresponding to the first path, as recited [see (Fig. 1-3; para. 0003-0005), charging and discharging circuits… switching between them, Baker teaches charging and discharging circuits associated with the storage device and controlled by a controller]; and “a discharging circuit” corresponding to the second path, as recited [see (Fig. 1-3; para. 0003-0005), charging and discharging circuits… switching between them, Baker teaches charging and discharging circuits associated with the storage device and controlled by a controller]; that a switching arrangement in the conductive path is positioned to control conduction between the first port and both the charging path and the discharging path, as recited [see (Fig. 1-3; para. 0003-0005), switching between charge and discharge circuits, Baker teaches switching arrangements controlling operation of charge and discharge paths]; controlling the charging circuit and the discharging circuit by a control circuit [see (Fig. 1-3; para. 0003-0005), control of charging and discharging circuits… switching between modes, Baker teaches control of charging and discharging circuits]; and by discharging the power stored in the power storage unit to the conductive path via the discharging circuit while the charging circuit stops [see (Abstract; para. 0003-0005), charging and discharging circuits… switching between them, Baker teaches switching between charge and discharge modes such that one operates while the other is disabled].
Both Akashi and Baker are directed to systems that manage charging and discharging of an energy storage device relative to a power source and a load. Akashi teaches a backup power supply system that discharges stored energy to a load during a defective state but does not expressly teach coordinated control that disables charging during discharge. Baker teaches charging and discharging circuits associated with the storage device and controlled by a controller that switches between charge and discharge modes such that one operates while the other is disabled, thereby preventing simultaneous operation and conflicting current flow (Abstract; para. 0003-0005). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Baker’s charge/discharge mode control into Akashi’s system to coordinate discharge of stored energy while disabling charging during discharge, thereby improving efficiency and preventing unintended current flow, with predictable results as a straightforward application of known mode-switching control to a known backup power architecture.
Re Claim 17, Combination of Akashi and Baker teaches invention set forth above, Akashi further teaches a program for causing one or more processers to execute the method for controlling the backup power supply system according to claim 16 [see (10 controller, para 0123)].
Akashi discloses that control circuit 10 may be implemented by a microcomputer or processor-based system that performs control operations for the backup power supply system (see para. 0123), thereby indicating that the control functions are performed via programmable processing. Baker discloses controller-based switching between charging and discharging modes of a backup power system [(see para. 0003-0005)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the control method of claim 16 as a program executable by one or more processors, using the known processor-based control architecture of Akashi in view of Baker, in order to perform the recited control operations in a flexible and programmable manner, with predictable results.
Claim 2 and 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akashi et al. (US 2024/0313765 A1) in view of Rothleitner et al. (US 2002/0140293 A1), further in view of Baker et al. (US 2008/0111423 A1).
Re Claim 2, Combination of Akashi and Rothleitner teaches invention set forth above, regarding wherein, when discharging the power stored in the power storage unit, the control circuit is configured to charge the power supply with the power stored in the power storage unit and supply the power stored in the power storage unit to the load by causing the power stored in the power storage unit to be discharged to the conductive path via the discharging circuit while stopping the charging circuit. Akashi teaches [see (Fig. 1-2; para. 0037-0043), backup path RT2… current flows from power storage device 3 to load 4, charging operation is stopped during discharge…, Akashi teaches discharging stored power to the load via the conductive path while preventing charging of the power storage unit].
Combination of Akashi and Rothleitner does not expressly teach charging the power supply with the power stored in the power storage unit during the discharge operation, as recited.
In an analogous art Baker teaches [see (Abstract; para. 0003-0005), bi-directional power flow… energy transfer between the supercapacitor and system node (Vcc) a single circuit for charging and discharging; Baker teaches that stored energy can be transferred from the storage device back to the system node corresponding to the power supply, thereby charging the power supply].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the bidirectional power transfer of Baker in the system of Akashi and Rothleitner to enable stored energy to be supplied back to the power supply while discharging to the load, thereby improving energy efficiency and reuse of stored energy, with predictable results.
Re Claim 7, Combination of Akashi and Rothleitner teaches invention set forth above, combination doesn’t expressly teach, wherein the charging circuit and the discharging circuit are implemented by a single charging and discharging circuit.
In an analogous art Baker teaches [see (Abstract; para. 0003), a single circuit for charging and discharging of a supercapacitor, Baker teaches implementing both charging and discharging functions using a single circuit].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the charging and discharging circuits of Akashi in view of Rothleitner as a single circuit as taught by Baker in order to reduce component count, simplify circuit design, and improve efficiency, with predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Re Claim 14, combination of Akashi and Rothleitner teaches invention set forth above, Combination doesn’t expressly teach wherein the backup power supply system is configured to: operate in a first operating mode in which the control circuit turns off the switch, controls the charging circuit to prevent the power storage unit from being charged with an output power of the power supply, and controls the discharging circuit to discharge the power stored in the power storage unit to the conductive path; and operate in a second operating mode in which the control circuit turns on the switch, controls the charging circuit to prevent the power storage unit from being charged with the output power of the power supply, and controls the discharging circuit to discharge the power stored in the power storage unit to the conductive path, and when the discharging circuit discharges the power stored in the power storage unit to the conductive path, an upper limit value of a discharge current of the discharging circuit in the first operating mode is different from an upper limit value of the discharge current of the discharging circuit in the second operating mode.
Hence claim 14 will be deemed allowable if written in independent form.
Conclusion
/AQEEL H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2849