DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Pursuant to communications filed on 17 February 2025, this is a First Action Non-Final Rejection on the Merits. Claims 1-10 and 12-21 are currently pending in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 17 February 2025, 11 July 2025, 03 April 2026 and 27 April 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yun et al (US 2018/0039275 A1, hereinafter Yun).
Regarding claim 1, Yun teaches a robot escape method, comprising:
acquiring a historical running trajectory of a robot (Figures 6A-6B; at least as in paragraphs 0099-0111, wherein “the controller 1800 may store information related to a movement history of the main body in the memory”);
according to the historical running trajectory of the robot, obtaining a driving-in position and a driving-in angle of the robot entering a narrow region through a preset narrow passage (Figures 6A-6B; at least as in paragraphs 0099-0111, wherein “The controller 1800 may detect the rotation angle every time the main body rotates immediately after the start of the wall following or detect the rotation angle only after it is determined that the main body has entered the obstacle region using the analysis result of the movement history”);
according to the driving-in position and the driving-in angle, determining a driving-out position and a driving-out angle of the robot driving out of the narrow region through the preset narrow passage (Figures 6A-6B; at least as in paragraphs 0099-0111, wherein “the controller 1800 may set an escape path for moving the main body of the robot cleaner 100 to the outside of the obstacle region, on the basis of the information related to the obstacle detected by the sensing unit 1400. In another embodiment, the controller 1800 may set an escape path for moving the main body of the robot cleaner 100 to the outside of the obstacle region, on the basis of the information related to the movement history stored in the memory 1700”); and
controlling the robot to drive out of the narrow region based on the driving-out position and the driving-out angle (Figures 6A-6B; at least as in paragraphs 0099-0111, wherein “the controller 1800 may control the driving unit 1300 to move the main body within the shortest distance from a current position to the point where the main body has entered the obstacle region, based on coordinate information related to a time point of entering the obstacle region”, and further wherein “the controller 1800 may set an escape path 603 of the robot cleaner 100 to be different from an approach path 601. Thus, the controller 1800 may prevent the robot cleaner 100 from entering the obstacle region again. In addition, when it is determined that the main body has escaped from the obstacle region, the controller 1800 may control the driving unit 1300 to perform the wall following again”).
Regarding claim 6, Yun further teaches wherein according to the driving-in position and the driving-in angle, determining the driving-out position and the driving-out angle of the robot driving out of the narrow region through the preset narrow passage comprises:
acquiring a trapped duration of the robot (Figures 6A-6B; at least as in paragraphs 0099-0111, wherein “the controller 1800 may determine whether or not the main body has entered the obstacle region based on an area value corresponding to a movement range for a specific time interval”); and
in a case that the trapped duration is greater than a predetermined duration, according to the driving-in position and the driving-in angle, determining the driving-out position and the driving-out angle of the robot driving out of the narrow region through the preset narrow passage (Figures 6A-6B; at least as in paragraphs 0099-0111, wherein “The controller 1800 may analyze the movement history for the specific time interval up to a current time point based on the information related to the movement history. When the analysis result shows that the area value corresponding to the movement range for the specific time interval is smaller than a reference area, the controller may determine that the main body has entered the obstacle region” and further wherein “the controller 1800 may set an escape path for moving the main body of the robot cleaner 100 to the outside of the obstacle region, on the basis of the information related to the movement history stored in the memory 1700”).
Regarding claim 9, Yun teaches a robot escape apparatus, comprising:
a first acquisition unit, configured to acquire a historical running trajectory of a robot (Figures 6A-6B; at least as in paragraphs 0099-0111, wherein “the controller 1800 may store information related to a movement history of the main body in the memory”);
a second acquisition unit, configured to: according to the historical running trajectory of the robot, obtain a driving-in position and a driving-in angle of the robot entering a narrow region through a preset narrow passage (Figures 6A-6B; at least as in paragraphs 0099-0111, wherein “The controller 1800 may detect the rotation angle every time the main body rotates immediately after the start of the wall following or detect the rotation angle only after it is determined that the main body has entered the obstacle region using the analysis result of the movement history”);
a determination unit, configured to: according to the driving-in position and the driving- in angle, determine a driving-out position and a driving-out angle of the robot driving out of the narrow region through the preset narrow passage (Figures 6A-6B; at least as in paragraphs 0099-0111, wherein “the controller 1800 may set an escape path for moving the main body of the robot cleaner 100 to the outside of the obstacle region, on the basis of the information related to the obstacle detected by the sensing unit 1400. In another embodiment, the controller 1800 may set an escape path for moving the main body of the robot cleaner 100 to the outside of the obstacle region, on the basis of the information related to the movement history stored in the memory 1700”); and
a control unit, configured to: control the robot to drive out of the narrow region based on the driving-out position and the driving-out angle (Figures 6A-6B; at least as in paragraphs 0099-0111, wherein “the controller 1800 may control the driving unit 1300 to move the main body within the shortest distance from a current position to the point where the main body has entered the obstacle region, based on coordinate information related to a time point of entering the obstacle region”, and further wherein “the controller 1800 may set an escape path 603 of the robot cleaner 100 to be different from an approach path 601. Thus, the controller 1800 may prevent the robot cleaner 100 from entering the obstacle region again. In addition, when it is determined that the main body has escaped from the obstacle region, the controller 1800 may control the driving unit 1300 to perform the wall following again”).
Regarding claim 12, Yun teaches a robot, comprising: one or more processors, a memory, and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory, and when the one or more programs are executed by the one or more processors, the one or more processors are caused to execute the steps of the method according to claim 1 (Figure 4; at least as in paragraphs 0044 & 0058-0059; and as provided above with respect to the claim 1).
Regarding claim 13, Yun further teaches wherein the robot is a sweeping robot (Figures 6A-6B; at least as in paragraphs 0099-0111, wherein the robot is a “robot cleaner”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 7-8, 10 and 14-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 – Notice of References Cited form. Examiner additionally notes the following prior art references, in the same field of endeavor as the instant invention, and also appears to read on some of the currently provided claim limitations above;
US 2008/0009965 A1, issued to Bruemmer et al, which is directed towards a mobile robotic platform that tracks its movement within an area and performs one or more obstacle avoidance maneuvers to avoid collisions and execute an unstuck behavior when said mobile robotic platform enters a narrow area/region.
US 2021/0089040 A1, issued to Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al, which is directed towards a mobile robotic cleaner that traverses an environment and executes a backtracking maneuver to avoid being stuck in an area within said environment.
/JONATHAN L SAMPLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657