DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 10 recite the limitations “r” and “x coordinate” and “y coordinate,” however these terms should be defined and made clear as to what the terms are referring to. It is not clear if for example the x and y coordinates are the same as the “two-dimensional coordinate” defined in claim 1, or if it is a different set belonging to a different point in the image. For this reason, the claims are unclear and indefinite. Claims 11-13 and 16 are also indefinite by virtue of their dependence on indefinite claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0278197 ("Tokimitsu").
Regarding claim 1, Tokimitsu discloses a light detection device comprising:
an imaging device (1, 2, Fig. 1) that captures the measurement range (5, Fig. 1) in which a projection image having a pattern determined in advance is projected (Fig. 1, paragraphs [0021]-[0022]); and
a signal processing unit (3, Fig. 1) that generates three-dimensional distance data for the measurement range on the basis of captured image data captured by the imaging unit (paragraph [0024]),
wherein the signal processing unit (3, Fig. 1) includes a distortion correction unit (implied, Fig. 1, paragraph [0042]) that corrects distortion of a two-dimensional coordinate based on the captured image data (paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 2, Tokimitsu discloses the light detection device according to claim 1, further comprising a projection unit (4, Fig. 1) that projects the projection image (paragraph [0021]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 17, Tokimitsu discloses a light detection system comprising:
a projection device (4, Fig. 1) that projects a projection pattern (paragraph [0025]) determined in advance in a measurement range (5, Fig. 1) via a projection optical system (42, 44, Fig. 1);
an imaging device (1, 2, Fig. 1) that captures the measurement range (5, Fig. 1) in which the projection pattern (paragraph [0021]) is projected via an imaging optical system (14, 24, Fig. 1); and
a processing device (3, Fig. 1) that generates three-dimensional distance data for the measurement range on the basis of captured image data captured by the imaging device (paragraph [0024]),
wherein the processing device (3, Fig. 1) includes a distortion correction unit (implied, Fig. 1, paragraph [0042]) that corrects distortion of a two-dimensional coordinate based on the captured image data (paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 19, Tokimitsu discloses a light detection system comprising:
a projection device (4, Fig. 1) that projects a projection pattern (paragraph [0025]) determined in advance in a measurement range (5, Fig. 1) via a projection optical system (42, 44, Fig. 1);
a first imaging device (1, Fig. 1) that captures the measurement range (5, Fig. 1) in which the projection pattern is projected via a first imaging optical system (14, Fig. 1, paragraph [0023]); and
a second imaging device (2, 3, form second imaging device, Fig. 1) that captures the measurement range (5, Fig. 1) in which the projection pattern is projected via a second imaging optical system (24, Fig. 1, paragraph [0023]), wherein:
the second imaging device (2, 3, Fig. 1) includes a signal processing unit (3, Fig. 1) that generates three-dimensional distance data for the measurement range on the basis of first captured image data captured by the first imaging device and second captured image data captured by the second imaging device (paragraph [0024]); and
the signal processing unit (3, Fig. 1) includes a distortion correction unit (implied, see paragraph [0042]) that corrects distortion of a two-dimensional coordinate of the first captured image data and a two-dimensional coordinate of the second captured image data (paragraph [0042]).
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0052821 ("Berner").
Regarding claim 1, Berner discloses a light detection device comprising:
an imaging unit (202, Fig. 2a) that captures a measurement range (Fig. 2a) in which a projection image (paragraph [0101]) having a pattern determined in advance is projected (line pattern, paragraph [0102]); and
a signal processing unit (204, Fig. 2a) that generates three-dimensional distance data for the measurement range on the basis of captured image data captured by the imaging unit (202, Fig. 2a, paragraph [0128]),
wherein the signal processing unit (204, Fig. 2a) includes a distortion correction unit (implied, paragraph [0102]) that corrects distortion of a two-dimensional coordinate based on the captured image data (paragraph [0120]).
Regarding claim 2, Berner discloses the light detection device according to claim 1, further comprising a projection unit (201, Fig. 2a) that projects the projection image (209, Fig. 21).
Claims 1 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2004/0233280 ("Aoyama").
Regarding claim 1, Aoyama discloses a light detection device comprising:
an imaging unit (Cr, CL, Fig. 1) that captures a measurement range (Fig. 3, paragraph [0040], [0043], [0076]) in which a projection image having a pattern determined in advance is projected (for example, checkered pattern, Fig. 2, paragraph [0049] or see paragraph [0077]: “colored circular mark on a white background”); and
a signal processing unit (10, 20, 30, 40, 50, form processing unit, Fig. 1, paragraph [0073]) that generates three-dimensional distance data (paragraph [0068], [0071]-[0072], [0080]) for the measurement range on the basis of captured image data captured by the imaging unit (Cr, CL, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0080]-[0081]),
wherein the signal processing unit (10-50, Fig. 1) includes a distortion correction unit (20/31, Fig. 1, paragraph [0046]) that corrects distortion of a two-dimensional coordinate (u.sub.R, v.sub.R, paragraph [0060]) based on the captured image data (paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 15, Aoyama discloses the light detection device according to claim 1, wherein:
the signal processing unit (10-50, Fig. 1) further includes a distance measurement unit (paragraph [0042]) that generates the three-dimensional distance data on the basis of the captured image data (paragraphs [0014], [0017], [0047]); and the distortion correction unit (20/31, Fig. 1, paragraph [0046]) corrects a two-dimensional coordinate of the three-dimensional distance data such that an epipolar line at the two-dimensional coordinate approximates to a straight line (paragraphs [0049], [0076]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berner in view of Tokimitsu.
Regarding claim 3, Berner discloses the light detection device according to claim 2, wherein: the projection unit (201, Fig. 2a) includes a projection optical system (paragraph [0090]) ; and an optical axis (202c, Fig. 2a) of the imaging optical system (202, Fig. 2a) and an optical axis (201c, Fig. 2a) of the projection optical system (201, Fig. 2a) are parallel (see Fig. 2a, paragraph [0100]).
Berner does not disclose that the imaging unit includes an imaging optical system.
However, Tokimitsu discloses an imaging device (1, 2, Fig. 1) includes an imaging optical system (14, 24, Fig. 1).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use a lens on the imaging device as disclosed by Tokimitsu in the device of Berner in order to manipulate the incoming light in a desirable manner to facilitate the measurements.
Regarding claim 5, Berner in view of Tokimitsu discloses the light detection device according to claim 3, and Tokimitsu further discloses that the signal processing unit further includes a distance measurement unit that generates three-dimensional distance data for the measurement range on the basis of the captured image data that have been subjected to a distortion correction process by the distortion correction unit (paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use corrected image data for distance measurements as disclosed by Tokimitsu in the device of Berner in order to obtain a more accurate distance measurement.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokimitsu in view of Japanese Patent Publication No. JP-2021131377-A ("Mizuno").
Regarding claim 14, Tokimitsu discloses the light detection device according to claim 1, but does not disclose a region-of-interest reading unit that restricts a range of image data, wherein the signal processing unit generates three-dimensional distance data for the measurement range in the restricted range.
However, Mizuno discloses a region-of-interest reading unit that restricts a range of image data (300, Fig. 3), wherein the signal processing unit generates three-dimensional distance data for the measurement range in the restricted range (“captured images in a region of the pair of captured images having parallax whose reliability is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold value.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to restrict a range of image data as disclosed by Mizuno in the device of Tokimitsu in order to restrict a range of image data as disclosed by Mizuno in the device of Tokimitsu in order to reduce the amount of processing/memory required for the calculations.
Claims 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokimitsu in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0073753 ("Yamauchi").
Regarding claim 18, Tokimitsu discloses the light detection system according to claim 17, but does not disclose that: an optical axis of the projection optical system and an optical axis of the imaging optical system are parallel; and the distortion correction unit corrects the captured image data such that an epipolar line approximates to a straight line.
However, Yamauchi discloses an optical axis of the projection optical system (15, Fig. 1) and an optical axis of the imaging optical system (16, Fig. 1) are parallel (paragraph [0127]); and the distortion correction unit corrects the captured image data such that an epipolar line approximates to a straight line (see Fig. 9, paragraph [0127]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrange the system in such a manner, such as having an optical axis of the projection optical system and an optical axis of the imaging optical system parallel to each other as disclosed by Yamauchi in the device of Tokimitsu in order to facilitate the distortion correction.
Regarding claim 20, Tokimitsu discloses the light detection system according to claim 19, but does not disclose that an optical axis of the first imaging optical system and an optical axis of the second imaging optical system are parallel; and the distortion correction unit corrects the first captured image data and the second captured image data such that an epipolar line approximates to a straight line.
However, Yamauchi discloses an optical axis of the projection optical system (15, Fig. 1) and an optical axis of the imaging optical system (16, Fig. 1) are parallel (paragraph [0127]); and the distortion correction unit corrects the captured image data such that an epipolar line approximates to a straight line (see Fig. 9, paragraph [0127]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrange the system in such a manner, such as having an optical axis of the projection optical system and an optical axis of the imaging optical system parallel to each other as disclosed by Yamauchi in the device of Tokimitsu in order to facilitate the distortion correction.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berner in view of Tokimitsu further in view of Aoyama.
Regarding claim 6, Berner in view of Tokimitsu discloses the light detection device according to claim 5, and Tokimitsu further discloses that the distortion correction unit corrects the captured image data [using an epipolar constraint] ().
Berner in view of Tokimitsu does not explicitly disclose that an epipolar line approximates to a straight line.
However, Aoyama discloses correcting distance data such that an epipolar line at the two-dimensional coordinate approximates to a straight line (paragraphs [0049], [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use corrected image data for distance measurements as disclosed by Aoyama in the device of Berner in view of Tokimitsu in order to obtain a more accurate distance measurement.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The invention as claimed, specifically in combination with a second distortion correction unit that has a high computation speed and a suppressed correction accuracy compared to the first distortion correction unit; and the distortion correction unit performs distortion correction by selecting one of the first distortion correction unit and the second distortion correction unit in accordance with a predetermined condition.
Claims 4 and 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The invention as claimed, specifically in combination with: performing correction in accordance with r to the second power based on an x coordinate of the captured image data to the second power and a y coordinate of the captured image data to the second power; or performing distortion correction in accordance with r to the second power based on an x coordinate of the captured image data to the second power and a y coordinate of the captured image data to the second power; the first distortion correction unit performs distortion correction on the basis of r to the second power, r to the fourth power, and r to the sixth power; and the second distortion correction unit performs distortion correction on the basis of r to the second power and r to the fourth power, are not taught or made obvious by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/MONICA T TABA/Examiner, Art Unit 2878