Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “coned disc spring”, alone or in combination with a helical spring, recited in claim 8, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 3, applicant claims a “second guide member”, which presumes that a first guide member is claimed. However, claim 3 does not include a first guide member. Therefore, it is not clear if claim 3 requires two guide members or only one guide member.
In claim 4, line 2, “the first guide member” lacks antecedent basis in the claim. The first guide member has antecedent in claim 2, but claim 4 does not depend on claim 2, so it is not clear if applicant intended for claim 3 and/or claim 4 to depend on claim 2.
In claim 11, “a first band member”, “a second band member”, and “a fastening device” constitute double inclusions of those terms since they were earlier recited in claim 1. The same is the case in claim 15.
In claim 18, line 22, “the first guide member” lacks clear antecedent basis in the claim, as discussed with respect to claim 4, above.
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 11-20 are method claims that depend on an apparatus claim. Since methods are only limited to the claimed structure in as much structure is needed to carry out the method steps, method claim 11 fails to includes all of the limitations of the claims from which it depends as required by 112(d). Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN217396237 to Di et al.
Regarding claim 1, Di teaches fastening device for fastening a first and a second container (Hydrogen gas bottles stored in spaces 101 and 102 (Figure 1) to a structure of a vehicle (“gas bottle fixed on the vehicle body or frame”; page 1, first para of “Background”), the fastening device 420
Regarding claim 2, the guide arrangement comprises a first guide member, being provided with a through hole concentrically with the axis, wherein the second abutment extends around the through hole, and wherein the resilient compressible member and the holed member are arranged at least partially within the first guide member (holed member/nut at the lower end of the elongated member 421 is inside of first guide member 410, as seen in Figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, the guide arrangement of Di comprises a second guide member (downwardly curved portions of the bands 200, 300, on either side of the fastener 420, as seen in Figure 2), and wherein the displaceable member (flat, horizontal portions of bands 200, 300, positioned between the tops of binding members 200, 300, as broadly recited) is arranged at least partially within the second guide member.
Regarding claim 8, the resilient compressible member (spring 422) comprises a helical spring (helical spring, seen in Figures 1 and 2) and/or a coned-disc spring.
Regarding claim 9, the guide arrangement (flat surfaces of bands 200, 300, that connect to fastener 421) comprises at least two support surfaces each of which is configured for supporting one of the first and second containers (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 10, the holed member (nut that connects to the lower end of bolt fastener 421) is rotationally locked in relation to the guide arrangement 410 (the support frame 410 is welded with a nut”; page 5, first full paragraph).
Regarding claim 11, Di teaches a gas fuel storage assembly (hydrogen gas storage tanks mounted in areas 101 and 201, seen in Figure 2; page 4, fourth full paragraph); comprising; at least a first container and a second container configured for storing gas (hydrogen gas); a bracket 100, 600, 800
Regarding claim 12, Di teaches the guide arrangement 410 of the fastening device is secured to the bracket 100 between the first and second containers (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 13, Di teaches the first and second band members 200, 300, are connected to the bracket 110, 600, 800 (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 14, Di teaches a vehicle (“new energy vehicle”, see title, for example)
Regarding claim 15, Di teaches a method for assembly of a gas fuel storage assembly comprising at least a first container (at 101) and a second container (at 102) configured for storing gas, a bracket 100, 600, 800; a first band member 200, a second band member 300, and a fastening device 420th full paragraph; “support frame 410 and base member 100 are relatively fixed”, “the support frame 410 connected with the base”); positioning the first and second containers against the bracket 100 (Figure 2);th full paragraph); securing the first and second band members 200, 300, to the fastening device 420 and to the bracket 100 (Figure 2); and engaging the elongated member 421 of the fastening device 420 with the holed member (nut at the lower end of elongated member 421) of the fastening device 420
Regarding claim 16, the guide arrangement 410 comprises a first guide member (top horizontal surface of guide member 410, as seen in Figure 2), being provided with a through hole (fastener 421 extends through a hole in guide member 410) concentrically with the axis (vertical axis of fastener 421, as seen in Figure 2), wherein the second abutment extends around the through hole, and wherein the resilient compressible member 422 and the holed member (nut) are arranged at least partially within the first guide member 410 (the nut at the lower end of fastening bolt 321 is inside of first geode member 410).
Regarding claim 17, the guide arrangement of Di comprises a second guide member (downwardly curved portions of the bands 200, 300, on either side of the fastener 420, as seen in Figure 2), and wherein the displaceable member (flat, horizontal portions of bands 200, 300, positioned between the tops of binding members 200, 300, as broadly recited) is arranged at least partially within the second guide member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di et al. (CN217396237).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Di lacks a distance member between the first guide member and the second guide member. However, it would have been a matter of obvious engineering design to provide a distance member, in the forms of a spacer or shim, between the guide members of Di, to properly space or adjust the spacing between the guide members, for optimal tensioning of the fastening device around the tanks.
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Di teaches a first abutment that is illustrated as a disc and that is described as a “retaining ring”, rather than a “sleeve” as claimed. However, it would have been a matter of obvious engineering design before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the retaining ring as a sleeve rather than a disc, to provide reinforcement for the elongated member against bending or breakage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Suess, Norris, KR10-2023-0079585, CN118906803, Choi, and DE102017002211 teach tank fasteners.
/ANNE MARIE M BOEHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/ab/