DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is responsive to claims filed for App. 19/104,301 on February 17, 2025. Claims 1-14 are pending.
America Invents Act
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 17, 2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites therein “substantially taught state”. Respectfully, Examiner feels there is an issue here and should recite “taut”. Appropriate correction is appreciated, thank you.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ding
( CN 101887660 A ).
Ding teaches in Claim 1:
Adaptable video displays comprised of one or more flexible display panels, each panel comprising:
a flexible, foldable and rollable substrate having edges with corners ( Figures 1 and 5, [0025] disclose a rolling display splicing plate 1 which is flexible to enable the rolling/folding );
stretcher connectors disposed at each corner on a back side of said substrate ( Figures 1 and 5, [0026] disclose a reel/drum 6 on the backside to roll out the device );
at least two stretching members configured to extend between opposite stretcher connectors to hold said substrate in a flat, substantially taught state ( Figures 1 and 5, [0026] disclose a coiling roller shaft 7 on each side and configured to extend the plate 1 in a flat, substantially taut state );
flexible LED strips disposed on a front side of said substrate forming an array of LED pixels along the front side surface of said substrate ( Figures 1, 5 and 9 disclose strips 2 and 4 on a front side. Each strip has a plurality of LEDs 3 );
panel-to-panel connectors along each panel edge ( Figures 1 and 5, [0027] disclose hinges 5 which connect each of the strips 2 and 4 ); and
one or more data and power links communicating with said flexible LED strips. ( [0020] disclose display control device and electrical connections. Respectfully, it is inherent to have data and power to provide content, etc, to the LEDs )
Ding teaches in Claim 2:
The display of claim 1, wherein said panel-to-panel connectors comprise at least one of hook and loop fasteners and reinforced openings. ( Figures 1 and 5 show the hinges are at invervals along each adjacent strips, i.e. reinforced openings )
Ding teaches in Claim 3:
The display of claim 1, wherein said at least two stretching members are rotatably pinned together. ( Figures 1 and 5, [0026] disclose the coiling rolling shaft can rotate together to extend and contract the strips )
Ding teaches in Claim 7:
The display of claim 1, further comprising at least one power supply communicating with the LED strips of at least one said flexible display panel through said data and power links. ( Respectfully, a power supply is inherent for providing power to a display device )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 3, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding
( CN 101887660 A ).
As per Claim 4:
Ding does not explicitly teach “wherein said stretcher connectors comprise pockets.”
However, the current invention notes in [0024] the stretcher connectors can be configured as loops of cord or webbing or as other types of socket devices. In a similar sense, Ding teaches of a roller shaft is a loop which can roll the device. Either way, this is a design choice as to how the stretching aspects work, again, given Ding teaches of being able to stretch as well.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the types of roller shaft, with the motivation that it is a design choice to do so.
As per Claim 9:
Ding does not explicitly teach “wherein: each flexible display panel is approximately 1.6 m high×2 m wide; one power supply communicates with each flexible display panel; and each said storage and transport dolly is configured to contain forty-four rolled up display panels and forty-four power supplies.”
Respectfully, the dimensions of each display panel is a design choice. Ding clearly teaches of the strips 2 and 4 and exact dimensions can be variably set by the user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the dimensions of the display panels, with the motivation that it is a design choice to do so.
As per Claim 10:
Ding does not explicitly teach “wherein each said dolly is not larger than approximately 2166 mm high×3000 mm wide×1143 mm deep.”
Respectfully, the dimensions of each display panel is a design choice and as such, so is the size of the dolly which carry the display panels. Ding clearly teaches of the strips 2 and 4 and exact dimensions can be variably set by the user. This reasoning is also applied to the carrying dollies.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the dimensions of the dollies, with the motivation that it is a design choice to do so.
10. Claims 5 and 6, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding ( CN 101887660 A ), as applied to Claim 4, further in view of Taylor et al.
( US 2017/0221392 A1 ).
As per Claim 5:
Ding does not explicitly teach “wherein said flexible, foldable, rollable substrate comprises a fabric material.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, Taylor teaches of a billboard with a plurality of panels which attach together, ( Taylor, Figure 1, [0067] ). Notably, the billboard can be covered with a graphic wrap 12 which can be a fabric or any other suitable material, as detailed in [0067].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement a fabric material, as taught by Taylor, with the motivation that fabric can be used to provide image content, ( Taylor, [0115], which is useful in billboard uses.
Taylor teaches in Claim 6:
The display of claim 5, wherein the fabric material comprises one or more of polyester, canvas, nylon, polyethylene and polypropylene. ( [0115] discloses polyethylene material )
Ding teaches in Claim 11:
A method for deploying a video display ( Figures 1 and 5, [0025] disclose a rolling display splicing plate 1 which is flexible to enable the rolling/folding ), comprising:
providing a plurality of flexible display panels, each said flexible display panel having a flexible LED array on a front side ( Figures 1, 5 and 9 disclose strips 2 and 4 on a front side. Each strip has a plurality of LEDs 3 ) and stretcher connectors in corners on a back side ( Figures 1 and 5, [0026] disclose a reel/drum 6 on the backside to roll out the device );
expanding and stiffening each flexible display panel by placing stretching members in opposed stretcher connectors on each said flexible panel ( Figures 1 and 5, [0026] disclose a coiling roller shaft 7 on each side and configured to extend the plate 1 in a flat, substantially taut state );
connecting the flexible display panels along panel edges to form a video display comprised of an array of the plurality of flexible display panels ( Figures 1 and 5, [0027] disclose hinges 5 which connect each of the strips 2 and 4 ); but
Ding does not explicitly teach of “positioning said video display as a drape across a plurality of stadium or theater seats, or alternatively hanging said video display in a vertical configuration from a support structure.”
However, using Ding’s device in a stadium, theater, etc, is a design choice issue. However, please note the alternative claim language as well.
In the same field of endeavor, Taylor teaches of a billboard with a plurality of panels which attach together, ( Taylor, Figure 1, [0067] ). Notably, the billboard can be covered with a graphic wrap 12 which can be a fabric or any other suitable material, as detailed in [0067]. Please note the vertical configuration from a support structure in this case, i.e. a billboard. Still, the invention could be applied in a variety of intended use situations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement in a billboard, as taught by Taylor, with the motivation that fabric can be used to provide image content, ( Taylor, [0115], which is useful for advertising, etc.
Ding teaches in Claim 12:
The method of claim 11, further comprising connecting power supplies to said flexible display panels using data and power links. ( [0020] disclose display control device and electrical connections. Respectfully, it is inherent to have data and power to provide content, etc, to the LEDs )
11. Claim 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding
( CN 101887660 A ), as applied to Claim 4, further in view of Opsomer
( US 2014/0239139 A1 ).
Ding teaches in Claim 8:
An adaptable video display system, comprising:
a plurality of flexible display panels according to any of claims 1-6, said panels joinable along panel edges in an array to form a video display ( Figures 1 and 5 show a plurality of strips 2 and 4 and together, they form a video display );
a plurality of power supplies, each power supply connectable with at least one said flexible display panel via said data and power links ( Respectfully, a power supply is inherent for providing power to a display device ); but
Ding does not explicitly teach of “a plurality of storage and transport dollies, each dolly mounted on wheels and configured to carry thirty to sixty rolled up flexible display panels and power supplies for at least every two flexible display panels carried by the dolly.”
As for the dolly, in the same field of endeavor, video display systems, Opsomer teaches of a winch dolly 401 which can provide packing and lifting of the multiple display unit, ( Opsomer, Figure 3, [0056] ). As shown, the video display subcomponents can be lifted and packed into the dolly and other support equipment (such as the power supplies, etc). Respectfully, the number of power supplies is a design choice and based on the number and size of the display panels being used.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the dolly, as taught by Opsomer, with the motivation that the dolly can provide storage and transportation, ( Opsomer, [0056], [0061] ).
12. Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding
( CN 101887660 A1 ) and Taylor et al. ( US 2017/0221392 A1 ), as applied to Claim 4, further in view of Opsomer ( US 2014/0239139 A1 ).
As per Claim 13:
Ding and Taylor do not explicitly teach of “further comprising disassembling said video display for transport or storage, said disassembling comprising: disconnecting the connected flexible display panels; disconnecting the power supplies and data and power links; removing the stretching members from the stretcher connectors; rolling each flexible display panel around removed stretching members; placing a plurality of rolled flexible display panels on a storage and transport dolly; and placing power supplies disconnected from the flexible display panels on the storage and transport dolly also on said storage and transport dolly.”
As for the dolly, in the same field of endeavor, video display systems, Opsomer teaches of a winch dolly 401 which can provide packing and lifting of the multiple display unit, ( Opsomer, Figure 3, [0056] ). As shown, the video display subcomponents can be lifted and packed into the dolly and other support equipment (such as the power supplies, etc). Respectfully, the number of power supplies is a design choice and based on the number and size of the display panels being used. Furthermore, in order to store and transport using the dolly, Opsomer teaches of subcomponents which are detachably engaged with one another and teaches of assembly, as shown in Figures 2A-2B, etc. Figure 4 shows the attachment aspects and it is clear there is a reverse process given the detachment teachings.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the dolly, as taught by Opsomer, with the motivation that the dolly can provide storage and transportation, ( Opsomer, [0056], [0061] ).
13. Claim 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding
( CN 101887660 A ) and Taylor et al. ( US 2017/0221392 A1 ), as applied to Claim 11, further in view of Opsomer ( US 2014/0239139 A1 ).
As per Claim 14:
Ding does not explicitly teach of “transporting plural said storage and transport dollies to a new display location; removing said rolled flexible display panels and said power supplies from the storage and transport dollies at the new display location; and repeating said providing, expanding and stiffening, connecting and positioning steps at said new location.”
As for the dolly, in the same field of endeavor, video display systems, Opsomer teaches of a winch dolly 401 which can provide packing and lifting of the multiple display unit, ( Opsomer, Figure 3, [0056] ). As shown, the video display subcomponents can be lifted and packed into the dolly and other support equipment (such as the power supplies, etc). Respectfully, the number of power supplies is a design choice and based on the number and size of the display panels being used. By using the dolly to store and transport, the device of Ding can be positioned at a new location as well.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the dolly, as taught by Opsomer, with the motivation that the dolly can provide storage and transportation, ( Opsomer, [0056], [0061] ).
Conclusion
/DENNIS P JOSEPH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621