DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-20, 23-17,34 & 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Strothmann et al. (US patent application publication 2013/0293173) (hereinafter Strothmann).
Regarding claim 16, Strothmann discloses An adjustment device for a piece of furniture, comprising: a first component (1); a second component (3); and a multi-layered dampening element (42, 43), wherein the second component is in contact with the first component via at least parts of the dampening element; wherein the dampening element includes at least one outer layer (43) and at least one dampening layer (42); and wherein the at least one outer layer comprises an elastomer material and the at least one dampening layer comprises a dampening material being softer than the elastomer material of the outer layer ([0042-0043]).
Regarding claim 17, Strothmann discloses an adjustment device wherein the adjustment device includes a static component (32), and wherein the first component, the second component and the dampening element are movable with respect to the static component.
Regarding claim 18, Strothmann discloses an adjustment device further comprising: a static component (32), wherein the first component is mounted movably to the static component.
Regarding claim 19, Strothmann discloses an adjustment device further comprising: a telescopic support column (3), wherein at least the first component is part of the telescopic support column.
Regarding claim 20, Strothmann discloses an adjustment device wherein at least one of the elastomer material comprises rubber and the dampening material comprises a polyurethane elastomer (0042-0043]).
Regarding claim 23, Strothmann discloses an adjustment device wherein the at least one dampening layer is arranged between the outer layer and the first component (Fig. 4b).
Regarding claim 24, Strothmann discloses an adjustment device wherein the first component comprises a sensor (41).
Regarding claim 25, Strothmann discloses an adjustment device wherein the outer layer includes a protrusion extending through the dampening layer, and the protrusion is in contact with the sensor (Fig. 4b).
Regarding claim 26, Strothmann discloses an adjustment device wherein the outer layer includes a protrusion extending through the dampening layer (Fig. 4b).
Regarding claim 27, Strothmann discloses an adjustment device wherein the dampening element includes at least one of a through hole and a cutout (Fib. 4b).
Regarding claim 34, Strothmann discloses an adjustable piece of furniture comprising the adjustment device of claim 16 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 35, Strothmann discloses an adjustment device wherein the piece of furniture comprises at least one of a tabletop and a beam fixed to the second component (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 & 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strothmann.
Regarding claim 21, Strothmann discloses the adjustment device as claimed. Strothmann does not disclose an adjustment device wherein the elastomer material of the at least one outer layer has a hardness between 50 to 70 Shore A. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the of the filing to modify Strothmann wherein the elastomer material of the at least one outer layer has a hardness between 50 to 70 Shore A., since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 22, Strothmann discloses the adjustment device as claimed. Strothmann does not disclose an adjustment device wherein the dampening material has a hardness between 5 and 50 Shore A. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the of the filing to modify Strothmann wherein the dampening material has a hardness between 5 and 50 Shore A., since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 28-33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it gives a general state of the art.
/DANIEL J ROHRHOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637